Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To CTGAA10:  "This is a very serious matter..no one can get away with what this individual has done..I won't pass many more comments for fear that it becomes a criminal matter..not sure about the club ban,this would stop all the players from playing who have nothing to do with this stupidity..it is I'm my opinion a very serious asssult..I take it apart from local Gaa investigation that gardai have to be involved??what i can't understand is no one seemed to tackle the individual who seems to have been involved.."
Probably because he pushed him and pushing of an official is not taken seriously enough.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/09/2022 16:04:32    2439335

Replying To Ulsterman:  "After a thorough investigation Tyrone and Armagh will probably get a 6 month ban."
This isn't a topic for your poor mouthing. A referee was seriously assaulted.
I haven't seen the video, but was the perpetrator a coach of one of the teams?
If so, how a lunatic like that was appointed to coach young lads is baffling.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 01/09/2022 16:21:00    2439336

Replying To WanPintWin:  "This isn't a topic for your poor mouthing. A referee was seriously assaulted.
I haven't seen the video, but was the perpetrator a coach of one of the teams?
If so, how a lunatic like that was appointed to coach young lads is baffling."
A selector apparently. I heard he was shoved but don't know how that ends up with an ambulance being needed.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/09/2022 17:00:04    2439341

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Probably because he pushed him and pushing of an official is not taken seriously enough."
How do you know he was pushed? I've seen the video and to me being 'out for the count' is a bit more than a push... more like a box was thrown. Either way a ban for the individual and the club would sort that behaviour out. The Gardai should be involved also... there's lots of witnesses available to collaborate.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 01/09/2022 17:06:09    2439342

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "A selector apparently. I heard he was shoved but don't know how that ends up with an ambulance being needed."
The mitigation has begun, "sure there was nothin in it". There is a tolerance of this in only 2 other counties. Sure we are supposed to see nothing wrong with a player bringing a bag of blood into a pre match talk.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 01/09/2022 17:29:00    2439346

Replying To Square_B:  "How do you know he was pushed? I've seen the video and to me being 'out for the count' is a bit more than a push... more like a box was thrown. Either way a ban for the individual and the club would sort that behaviour out. The Gardai should be involved also... there's lots of witnesses available to collaborate."
How may "witnesses" will trot out the oul "honestly I didn't see it" line.?
Hopefully the Co Board and Club involved go by Ref's report and do the right thing....ban that lug for life.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 01/09/2022 17:30:48    2439347

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "A selector apparently. I heard he was shoved but don't know how that ends up with an ambulance being needed."
I have been pushed or shoved on a football field many times during my playing days as I'm sure we all have. I have never, however, been knocked out cold and needing an ambulance and hospital treatment after it

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 145 - 01/09/2022 17:44:38    2439353

Replying To martinjoe:  "The mitigation has begun, "sure there was nothin in it". There is a tolerance of this in only 2 other counties. Sure we are supposed to see nothing wrong with a player bringing a bag of blood into a pre match talk."
No mitigation at all. I've previously agreed with a poster that the perpetrator should be banned. Hands on the ref should be dealt with severely.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 01/09/2022 18:02:04    2439356

Talking to those in attendance he got a nasty fall on his head after the forceful push, he required hospital treatment with concussion. Wishing Kevin Naughton a speedy recovery a real decent fella and gentleman as you are ever likely to meet.

As for the so called Aidans "mentor" his days on the side line should be over if any justice is done here.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 01/09/2022 18:35:34    2439360

Any truth to the rumours all club games are off at the weekend?

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 02/09/2022 08:00:30    2439373

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Disagree with you here re club ban. Clubs are responsible for putting underage coaches in place and monitoring their behaviour. If they don't do this then they should face a ban. If GAA make an example of this club it will make other clubs sit up and take notice."
a ban what has society come to when a man is assaulted and all you can talk of is a ban . this is common assault and deserves a jail sentence , but not a hope of that . plenty of people see nothing

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1802 - 02/09/2022 08:52:32    2439378

The only part of it what is shocking is that people are shocked.
I am not at all shocked.
Up and down the country, from u8 to senior inter county, people are shouting abuse at referees from the 1st minute to the last, blaming referees for defeats, its always that brutal referee who cost the team the match. Now ignore the litany of wides, bad passes, fouls, etc which the team committed. It is the referee's fault.
At inter county level, we have a disciplinary system which is NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE. I think GAA authorities love the leaky, loophole filled system because woe betide they might need to make a big call which means a player misses an All-Ireland final for decapitating somebody, after all he is "not that kind of player"........
County boards have a lot to answer for too. They defend players when they know they were rightly sent off. How can they then have a double standard when disciplining at club level?
I can't wait for the tipping point where referees say no more. Watch the GAA squirm when the one person the games can't go ahead without say enough is enough. It will serve the GAA authorities right.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 02/09/2022 09:06:30    2439380

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2022/0831/1319863-gaa-games-off-in-roscommon-as-refs-withdraw-services/

Fair play. It's time that someone took a stand.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 02/09/2022 09:29:10    2439387

Replying To mickcunningham:  "a ban what has society come to when a man is assaulted and all you can talk of is a ban . this is common assault and deserves a jail sentence , but not a hope of that . plenty of people see nothing"
In fairness, he's talking about what the GAA can do. A lifetime ban from any GAA activity. The GAA can't sentence someone to jail.
The Gardaí have to deal with the assault and the courts with whatever charges follow.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 02/09/2022 11:38:19    2439406

Replying To WanPintWin:  "In fairness, he's talking about what the GAA can do. A lifetime ban from any GAA activity. The GAA can't sentence someone to jail.
The Gardaí have to deal with the assault and the courts with whatever charges follow."
Can the GAA even enforce a ban? Remember the Mayo supporter who was banned after his antics. I think he said in the media some time later that he was still going to games in disguise. Sure it was all treated as a laugh.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 02/09/2022 12:24:57    2439414

Why is part of the video clearly missing. What really happened???

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 02/09/2022 14:54:05    2439429

Replying To Thejampot:  "Why is part of the video clearly missing. What really happened???"
Cant say why part of the Video is missing.

The truth of the matter is the backroom member of St Aidans entered the field of play and heavily pushed the Ref who wasn't in a stance to protect himself. This resulted in him making extremely hard contact with hard ground and was out cold. Nobody should ever touch a ref and he should be heavily punished but thats what really happened.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 02/09/2022 16:33:47    2439445

The end of a tumultuous week for Roscommon GAA. First of all hopefully the referee is okay and makes a full recovery and hopefully does return to reffing.

Secondly no abuse of any official is acceptable and the person involved will face a long ban. Whether there is any additional legal matters that should be left to the authorities to deal with. The amount of coverage it received was staggering considering we have seen similar events elsewhere and not a quarter of the coverage nor national media coverage like this received. The amount of fake news, rumours and misinformation circulated and anyone who posted or shared videos is as guilty as anyone regarding that side of things. Our local journalists or radio station certainly jumped the gun without doing their due diligence it appears.

In addition our county board were incompetent at best and let the story get ahead of them running wild. A statement in font of the cameras or microphones yesterday morning would have killed a lot of the rumours by saying they were currently investigating an incident and people should refrain from posting or circulating videos until the full facts are known. This morning they should have issued a statement locally that they were engaging with refs to see could the weekend action take place. Personally I think it's best there is a bit of breathing room for refs and players.

Back to the football scene and it looks like every county is getting sorted bar Roscommon. Media repirt tonight that Don Connellan is now the No.1 candidate. No management experience at county level whatsoever and I see monaghan players rejected Ger Brennan for that reason. Apparently they are favouring a local man who was involved with u20s past few years.

I'm surprised Pat Flanagan has actually left his name in the hat at this stage given the media article on Don.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 02/09/2022 19:19:12    2439474

No matches this weekend. Fair play to the refs. They had to take a stand

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/09/2022 19:24:45    2439475

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "The end of a tumultuous week for Roscommon GAA. First of all hopefully the referee is okay and makes a full recovery and hopefully does return to reffing.

Secondly no abuse of any official is acceptable and the person involved will face a long ban. Whether there is any additional legal matters that should be left to the authorities to deal with. The amount of coverage it received was staggering considering we have seen similar events elsewhere and not a quarter of the coverage nor national media coverage like this received. The amount of fake news, rumours and misinformation circulated and anyone who posted or shared videos is as guilty as anyone regarding that side of things. Our local journalists or radio station certainly jumped the gun without doing their due diligence it appears.

In addition our county board were incompetent at best and let the story get ahead of them running wild. A statement in font of the cameras or microphones yesterday morning would have killed a lot of the rumours by saying they were currently investigating an incident and people should refrain from posting or circulating videos until the full facts are known. This morning they should have issued a statement locally that they were engaging with refs to see could the weekend action take place. Personally I think it's best there is a bit of breathing room for refs and players.

Back to the football scene and it looks like every county is getting sorted bar Roscommon. Media repirt tonight that Don Connellan is now the No.1 candidate. No management experience at county level whatsoever and I see monaghan players rejected Ger Brennan for that reason. Apparently they are favouring a local man who was involved with u20s past few years.

I'm surprised Pat Flanagan has actually left his name in the hat at this stage given the media article on Don."
Every county getting sorted bar Roscommon? Established Div 1 teams Donegal and Monaghan are no closer to finding a new manager and both are searching longer than your own county.

For example what county level management experience had James Horan before he took over Mayo in 2011? That media article looks like pure hear say, Journalists are left in the dark and are left to guessing what going on. Is that better than it all played out in the media like Donegal and Monaghan?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 02/09/2022 21:25:11    2439484