Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Yondu:  "Roscommon let down by what can be described by social distancing defending. The reaction levels was way off the two Galway goal summed that up.

Only two weeks to fix those defensive issues I don't think its enough for Cunningham and his management team."
Yes I couldn't agree more. Some of our defending today was way short of what is required at this level. Still our forwards had a lot of possession without making good use of it. Must say some of the sideline decisions baffled me a bit. Why was N Kilroy introduced at halftime instead on D Murtagh. Why not introduce Keith Doyle earlier when he is an option for the long kickout around midfield. David Murray was outfielded several times by taller opponent but left on until too late. In fairness we always looked like we could up it a gear and make it competitive but it never happened. The best team with the best tactics won on the day and they have good talent that can only get better with games. Hope we get a good draw in the qualifiers and make a bit of progress as the year unfolds.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 84 - 29/05/2022 21:15:56    2420895

Very disappointing today. Galway fully deserved their victory and should have been more comfortable. Credit to the lads on not throwing in the towel but I feel management have a lot of questions to answer over this one - it's been clear all year that we are simply not good enough defensively to be playing one on one and players were left exposed on a number of occasions today due to a lack of a system to try and address this. To be fair to Galway, after the league final they acknowledged that their defence needed to be addressed and at least they have some structure in place to limit the number of times lads are left exposed. You simply can't play six out and out forwards as we have done all year and expect to get away with it. It's too late for this year unfortunately now but we have no system in place at all. Potential now for a very tough qualifier depending on the draw and should we come through that I believe it's Dublin or Kerry waiting in a quarter final on our side. Fair play to Ultan Harney who was terrific all day.

Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 68 - 29/05/2022 21:59:51    2420911

Unfortunately we were always heading for a big concession of scores once we met a good team.
Then we had the added problem of our attack been well marshalled for 60 minutes by a hard working Galway defence who tackled with Championsip intensity.
The string of wides in the first half when we went for 4-2 to 5 to 1-7 and that Junior B goal on ht were soul destroying.
3rd Quarter we were beaten all ends up.
Good points - Ultan Harney and we never gave up.
We finished with a better 15 than started so Mr Cunningham time fir a few changes.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 30/05/2022 09:17:34    2420940

Replying To endgame:  "Our defending or lack thereof has been an issue for sometime. It won't be remedied in 2 weeks. We didn't lay a hand on Walsh or Finnerty who did as they pleased. Ultan Harney was outstanding and we scored 2.16 and were denied a penalty. However, until we address our poor defending, Roscommon are going nowhere. Best of luck to Galway who were well deserved winners today. I think though that Roscommon made Galway look better than they are. Great Roscommon support in Salthill. Pity there was so little for us to cheer about. The team selection will be questioned. Should McCormack and Hughes have started and is it the right call to start Diarmuid Murtagh on the bench. And will somebody please tell Enda Smith to look up when he makes those surging runs and see what's around him. We could have had a goal before Galway had either of theirs if he saw and passed to Eddie Nolan."
No, it is most definitely not the right call to be leaving Diarmuid Murtagh on the bench and generally only giving him the scrapings at the end of the game. You should always start your best players!! Don't be surprised if you don't see him in a Roscommon shirt best year.

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 168 - 30/05/2022 09:53:42    2420953

No more than ourselves your back line struggled big time yesterday against Galway. They scored 4 21 against us and 2-19 aginst ye- they scored four less times yesterday than against us. That has to be a major concern for ye going forward. Obviously ye scored more and we know the forwards are better in Roscommon than Leitrim but to concede that much in a final is very worrying indeed.

I cannot understand how the Galway backs were allowed to break, practically free up the field on numerous occasions. Yes you did not have a defensive structure in place and it was very evident. However that does not excuse the lack of defensive workrate from the forward division. Why were those backs not pressurised coming out with the ball, why did their man not track their runs etc? If any back has lads running at them they are caught in two minds- do I run to meet him or stay with my own man?? Usually yesterday the backs stayed with their own man and hence it looked like there was a chasm down the middle and there was but that is because Galway pulled forwards to wings to ensure that the space was exploited. If the back went to meet the runner it was a simple handpass over the head to his man, if he didn't go to meet him (which happened a lot) the space was left.

I would blame the forward division for not working hard enough- don't want to put in the hard yards it seems doing the dirty side of the game and it is a shame as at times yesterday it looked like Galway were going to humiliate ye until they took the foot off the pedal near the end.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 30/05/2022 11:42:00    2421012

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Unfortunately we were always heading for a big concession of scores once we met a good team.
Then we had the added problem of our attack been well marshalled for 60 minutes by a hard working Galway defence who tackled with Championsip intensity.
The string of wides in the first half when we went for 4-2 to 5 to 1-7 and that Junior B goal on ht were soul destroying.
We finished with a better 15 than started so Mr Cunningham time fir a few changes."
The change should have been made after the shocking performance against Galway last Summer. Anthony Cunningham should have gone. Changing the back room team is not enough. The defensive problems are there for ages and have not been addressed at all. We have no system or structure to our defence .We've posted here several times about it. We're defending like a division 3 or 4 team.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 30/05/2022 13:22:41    2421069

Replying To endgame:  "The change should have been made after the shocking performance against Galway last Summer. Anthony Cunningham should have gone. Changing the back room team is not enough. The defensive problems are there for ages and have not been addressed at all. We have no system or structure to our defence .We've posted here several times about it. We're defending like a division 3 or 4 team."
It's been a long standing problem over many years with many different managers now. Some had the opinion including on here that our defensive issues would be fixed once we got a "good" midfield. Well we have one now and even yesterday we won 32 of the 50 kick outs plus plenty of the break ball but when we are turned over our defence lacking a system and structure will be punished by any half decent forwards.

There is also this attitude within the county especially from local journalists that we must play this attacking football and forget about defence its playing to our strengths they say. Modern day football is about defence first and attack 2nd. The majority of Galway scores yesterday came from turn overs and counter attacking after having 14 men back we simply haven't adjusted to modern football tactics and continue to be so naive in these big games.

The positives to take out of yesterday's defeat. Another game to play we didn't have that in 2020 or 2021. We scored 2-16 could have been 3-17 with other officials as a strong argument for a penalty and Conor Daly had a clear point waved wide. Didn't drop the heads and kept fighting to end. Bench impact once again which very important in todays game and explains why certain players are on it instead of starting

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3743 - 30/05/2022 14:16:27    2421103

Hard luck to Roscommon yesterday. Not much in it and I think there's more in Roscommon yet. D Murtagh has to start and do damage early for ye. Enda Smith was barrelling through on some angled runs a couple of times yesterday and nobody gave the ball. Harney was excellent for ye. Plenty of quality all over the field.
Have to say a gang of us were on the sideline yesterday alongside some Roscommon lads and the craic and banter back and forth were brilliant. All good natured stuff. Like the auld days. Best of luck in the qualifiers.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 30/05/2022 15:55:17    2421161

As i stated on the Galway thread there was too much in favor of Galway for Roscommon to ever win that final yesterday but of course Roscommon didn't help themselves by defending like a poor Div 3 team.

I'd say at the start of the year most Roscommon supporters would be happy with promotion to Div 1 along with reaching the All-Ireland Quarter final and that possibility is still there but to be honest will need to avoid Tyrone and Mayo in the round 2 draw in order to do that

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 30/05/2022 17:46:48    2421233

Replying To The_analyser:  "It's been a long standing problem over many years with many different managers now. Some had the opinion including on here that our defensive issues would be fixed once we got a "good" midfield. Well we have one now and even yesterday we won 32 of the 50 kick outs plus plenty of the break ball but when we are turned over our defence lacking a system and structure will be punished by any half decent forwards.

There is also this attitude within the county especially from local journalists that we must play this attacking football and forget about defence its playing to our strengths they say. Modern day football is about defence first and attack 2nd. The majority of Galway scores yesterday came from turn overs and counter attacking after having 14 men back we simply haven't adjusted to modern football tactics and continue to be so naive in these big games.

The positives to take out of yesterday's defeat. Another game to play we didn't have that in 2020 or 2021. We scored 2-16 could have been 3-17 with other officials as a strong argument for a penalty and Conor Daly had a clear point waved wide. Didn't drop the heads and kept fighting to end. Bench impact once again which very important in todays game and explains why certain players are on it instead of starting"
It was great to see them fighting to the end. Had we lost that league final maybe management would have been more focused on getting a defensive plan in place. Hopefully they can now learn from that and be better set up for the quaifier game. Diarmuid definitely now needs to start the next day. I didn't realise all our forwards scored until I read the match report. Completely forgot the sores Cian McKeon and Heneghan got.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 31/05/2022 09:20:20    2421288

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Unfortunately we were always heading for a big concession of scores once we met a good team.
We finished with a better 15 than started so Mr Cunningham time fir a few changes."
Haven't seen any Junior B player yet who would crack the finish that P Kelly did,

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 31/05/2022 10:16:24    2421305

Replying To anotheralias:  "Haven't seen any Junior B player yet who would crack the finish that P Kelly did,"
I'm talking about our defending

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 31/05/2022 12:14:44    2421340

Finally getting to post on what was a disappointing result and display which promised so much early on. Thought Colm Keys report in Independent paper yesterday summed it up perfectly.

A lot of what I posted previously came to pass unfortunately. I was surprised with the team announcement and I cannot fathom out how we thought we could go toe to toe after the league final. It was if the result covered up all the cracks regarding our full back line and midfield and lightweight forwards. Galway learned and Paul Conroy played more defensive on Sunday which reduced the gaps in their defence.

Not only was the team selection baffling the changes and the order of which they came was even more baffling. Now I do accept I wasn't at the match so maybe changes did happen on pitch that I didn't see on tv. Davy Murray had a poor ever for roscommon but the normal switch and it should have happened after 20 minutes is to switch the 2 corner backs and see how it goes. Maybe they did but it was hard to see who was picking up who on the tv.

Galway midfield playing deeper than they did in league final curtailed our half forward line and Galways half back line totally dominated with two of their half backs scoring points from play in first half.

Some posters on here claiming a penalty for foot block but there appeared to be some distance between ball and foot. Roscommon did score a goal two minutes later but Galway went straight up pitch from kick out and scored a point. In fact some more composure from Galway forwards and the professional foul from Brian Stack to deny a goal scoring opportunity which itself is a black card offence would have seen Galway score 2/3 more goals.

Where do Roscommon go from here? The worst scenario would be if Mayo were to beat Monaghan and we draw them and lose which would probably see the end of AC's reign.

A quarter final is still a possibility and a home draw is essential if that is the case for that round of qualifiers but the likelihood is we would play Dublin or Kerry in a quarter final which would be another hammering.

Galway could potentially have a fairly easy route to an all Ireland final so that illustrates the opportunity that was missed on Sunday.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 31/05/2022 14:28:22    2421398

SmokieRoss

No home game. Round 2 qualifier will be played in neutral venue and if you reach the Quarter final its a trip to Croke park. I doubt Cunningham will be manager again next year regardless of how this championship finishes for Roscommon.

From watching that Brian Stack incident Joe Mcquillan clearly states to Galway players that defenders was covering and it was a slight tug of the Jersey than a pull down.

On the foot block I've seen those given more often than not. The ref missing it was probably why it wasn't given.

Big turning point in that match was on 17 minutes. Evenly match game score for score. Roscommon had the opportunity to score a goal Enda Smith opted to shoot himself than lay it off to the unmarked Eddie Nolan. From the resulting Galway kick out Galway got their 1st goal.

The 2nd goal a lucky break coming off the post gave Galway cushion to continue their counter attacking game with numbers back something they would have to change if the margin was less or had to chase the game like Roscommon.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 31/05/2022 15:52:38    2421417

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Finally getting to post on what was a disappointing result and display which promised so much early on. Thought Colm Keys report in Independent paper yesterday summed it up perfectly.

A lot of what I posted previously came to pass unfortunately. I was surprised with the team announcement and I cannot fathom out how we thought we could go toe to toe after the league final. It was if the result covered up all the cracks regarding our full back line and midfield and lightweight forwards. Galway learned and Paul Conroy played more defensive on Sunday which reduced the gaps in their defence.

Not only was the team selection baffling the changes and the order of which they came was even more baffling. Now I do accept I wasn't at the match so maybe changes did happen on pitch that I didn't see on tv. Davy Murray had a poor ever for roscommon but the normal switch and it should have happened after 20 minutes is to switch the 2 corner backs and see how it goes. Maybe they did but it was hard to see who was picking up who on the tv.

Galway midfield playing deeper than they did in league final curtailed our half forward line and Galways half back line totally dominated with two of their half backs scoring points from play in first half.

Some posters on here claiming a penalty for foot block but there appeared to be some distance between ball and foot. Roscommon did score a goal two minutes later but Galway went straight up pitch from kick out and scored a point. In fact some more composure from Galway forwards and the professional foul from Brian Stack to deny a goal scoring opportunity which itself is a black card offence would have seen Galway score 2/3 more goals.

Where do Roscommon go from here? The worst scenario would be if Mayo were to beat Monaghan and we draw them and lose which would probably see the end of AC's reign.

A quarter final is still a possibility and a home draw is essential if that is the case for that round of qualifiers but the likelihood is we would play Dublin or Kerry in a quarter final which would be another hammering.

Galway could potentially have a fairly easy route to an all Ireland final so that illustrates the opportunity that was missed on Sunday."
What cracks have we regarding Midfield? We have won midfield in every game this year bar maybe Clare?
Galways midfield did not play deeper Sunday what game were you watching? Conroy was dominated and both Tierney and McDaid who played spells in the middle were extremely attacking.

Like you said you were not at the match. What rule did Brian Stack break to warrant a black card? What a load of waffle

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 31/05/2022 16:20:03    2421425

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Finally getting to post on what was a disappointing result and display which promised so much early on. Thought Colm Keys report in Independent paper yesterday summed it up perfectly.

Galway could potentially have a fairly easy route to an all Ireland final so that illustrates the opportunity that was missed on Sunday."
Neutral venues (except for Dublin of course) from here on.
We got hammered from around the 15th minute to 60 or so.
So much lethargy on display it's hard to see us getting the required pep in the step in less than two weeks.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 31/05/2022 16:35:05    2421427

Assuming that the bookies are right again next week and that Cork, Mayo, Meath and Tyrone win their Round 1 in the qualifiers, I presume Roscommon would play one of the winners in Round 2 at a neutral venue in two weeks time.
If we were to win that round 2 game could we be drawn against any of the four provincial winners (Kerry, Dublin, Derry, Galway) in the quarter final?
Could we be possibly be drawn against Galway again in the quarter final? If so, would it have to be a neutral venue of would the Rossies have home advantage.
I know that Galway having won Connacht will avoid Kerry & Dublin until the final if they get there, but can Roscommon also avoid Kerry & Dublin, if round 2 and the quarter final draw goes well for them? (Drawn again against Galway perhaps ???)
I am aware that if the provincial winners win all their games, it is Connacht v Ulster and Leinster v Munster in the semi - final.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 31/05/2022 17:57:30    2421450

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Neutral venues (except for Dublin of course) from here on.
We got hammered from around the 15th minute to 60 or so.
So much lethargy on display it's hard to see us getting the required pep in the step in less than two weeks."
Why were we so lethargic? Is it the lack of game time or too much training and challenges? Or would it be down to us playing the same staring 15 bar one change here or there for a number of games on the trot? We probably don't need to reinvent the wheel but I'd like to see a bit of a shake up for the next game with definitely two if not three changes to the starting 15. We need to get more physical as well. The team has come on leaps and bounds in s and c but we need to start making it count. Galway weren't afraid to rough up Enda Smith a bit and they tried it with Harney. O'Hora let Walsh know he was in a game last year. That's what's needed to win big games.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 31/05/2022 18:07:56    2421451

I attended the game and watched it back last night.

Striking features was one how good and clinical (just three wides) Galway are going forward when given the room to cause damage and two how open Roscommon left themselves especially on turnovers and at no stage corrected that issue.

A positive for Roscommon was fighting to the end and scoring 2-16 against a Galway defence that set up to hold Roscommon to a low score but its the defensive issues that requires the most work not just for two weeks time but for division 1 next year also.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 31/05/2022 18:15:49    2421454

Rossie fans sometimes come across as aggressive verbally , but their football teams over the years are just too nice.,

Vish (USA) - Posts: 88 - 31/05/2022 18:39:23    2421458