Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "From a physical point I think we have improved since the days of McStay and before, we looked very light. But looking back on this championship and maybe even the past few years, we need to still improve our general fitness. Especially with the way the new rules have meant the game is quicker and more high octane. Is that part of the reason we play such a slow game? If you know you're a seriously fit team that must give you such a psychological advantage coming into the last ten minutes of a game when the scores are tight. Saying that we looked fitter than Cork but couldn't do the basics of kicking the ball over the bar."
Also fitter than Meath in the drawn match in Hyde Park who hung on for a draw due to Roscommon wasting a big number of chances to win in the final ten minutes. I didn't see any great fitness about Meath on Sunday, For 53 minutes it was a slow error ridden game and then a bit of game broke out for the final 20 minutes. The fittest looking teams at the weekend was Kerry and Donegal.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 01/07/2025 17:51:26    2622959

Replying To yew_tree:  "And the great Dermot Early was a Mayo man…."
He was born in Mayo and if one was to class where they are born then very few rossies at all as no maternity ward in this county.

You are also missing a E on his name. Late great Dermot Earley was educated in, lived in and kicked his first football in Roscommon so you don't get any more Roscommon than that.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4106 - 01/07/2025 18:23:11    2622969

Replying To hontherossie:  "A prime example of this was the difference between our u17s v tyrone in term of s+c. at that level they are already ahead of us. how do we expect these players to be ready for county football. Have these players access to s+c / dieticians and is progress being monitored or players just doing their own things."
Against Tyrone conceding 2-1 before half time was a killer. Before that 26 minutes played we didn't look out of place on S&C which included knock them off the ball with a number of heavy hits. Another thing that let us down in that game was our shooting efficiency ours was 43% compared to Tyrone 60% we'll see this weekend if we were beaten by the best team at U17 level this year and that what was our only defeat all year I might add.

It was a good group of young rossies and the next step is bringing as many as possible into U20 level over the next three years and then hopefully Senior after that.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4106 - 01/07/2025 18:36:03    2622973

Replying To The_analyser:  "He was born in Mayo and if one was to class where they are born then very few rossies at all as no maternity ward in this county.

You are also missing a E on his name. Late great Dermot Earley was educated in, lived in and kicked his first football in Roscommon so you don't get any more Roscommon than that."
My reply was tongue in cheek…a bit of fun in response to suggestions Andy is a Roscommon man when it comes to GAA..which he certainly is not. As I always say if you can't take it don't give it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11676 - 01/07/2025 21:34:12    2623015

Kerry will win u17

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1806 - 01/07/2025 21:36:59    2623016

Ger Brennan has now stepped down from Louth. Rumours he has relations in Roscommon. Not ready for Dublin gig yet.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3175 - 01/07/2025 22:30:05    2623021

Replying To dave1988:  "That's it the northern teams are have serious s@c programs in place for u15 development panels. Like all you have to do is watch back our minor game this year. I was in cavan for it and watched it back and the difference was staggering. That's not Shane Moran's fault. This has to start before minor and continued all the way through to senior. Other counties brought some u20s straight into panel but I don't think we could do the same because they are so far away from that level physically. Hopefully something that will be looked into by roscommon because I'm sure others are looking into what the likes of Tyrone are doing and trying to implement it in their own counties. We are producing the talent but that won't be enough unfortunately"
Wouldn't have thought the difference was that staggering and
A small bit of cuteness after we scored our goal slow the thing down etc we'd have gone in a few points up rather than being behind
Tyrone were cute then in the second half pulling and dragging stopping any momentum etc they didn't run away with the game it was just a bit of cynicism that got them over the line which I don't love at underage level but so be it

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 662 - 01/07/2025 23:12:33    2623026

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Kerry will win u17"
Based on? they were lucky enough to get past Ulster runners up Cavan and Connacht runners up Mayo.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 01/07/2025 23:47:58    2623030

Replying To yew_tree:  "My reply was tongue in cheek…a bit of fun in response to suggestions Andy is a Roscommon man when it comes to GAA..which he certainly is not. As I always say if you can't take it don't give it."
Andy Moran played for Mayo as we know. We also know that Ballaghaderreen County Roscommon playing its Gaelic football in Mayo is a sore point for a lot of Roscommon people ( this one included). I understood that Andy Moran's family were Roscommon supporters. I think there's a photograph on social media of Andy as a young boy wearing a Roscommon jersey at a St. Patrick's day parade in Ballaghaderreen. In any event, I don't expect Andy Moran to be the next Roscommon football Manager.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2503 - 02/07/2025 02:32:19    2623039

Replying To yew_tree:  "My reply was tongue in cheek…a bit of fun in response to suggestions Andy is a Roscommon man when it comes to GAA..which he certainly is not. As I always say if you can't take it don't give it."
Andy is a mayo man. Not many people here think he's not . All just a bit of slagging..

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1289 - 02/07/2025 07:08:27    2623044

Replying To The_analyser:  "Against Tyrone conceding 2-1 before half time was a killer. Before that 26 minutes played we didn't look out of place on S&C which included knock them off the ball with a number of heavy hits. Another thing that let us down in that game was our shooting efficiency ours was 43% compared to Tyrone 60% we'll see this weekend if we were beaten by the best team at U17 level this year and that what was our only defeat all year I might add.

It was a good group of young rossies and the next step is bringing as many as possible into U20 level over the next three years and then hopefully Senior after that."
Yes the two goals killed us but my God if you think we were anywhere near the Tyrone teams conditioning I don't know what to say. They were miles ahead in that area.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1289 - 02/07/2025 07:10:30    2623047

Replying To The_analyser:  "Against Tyrone conceding 2-1 before half time was a killer. Before that 26 minutes played we didn't look out of place on S&C which included knock them off the ball with a number of heavy hits. Another thing that let us down in that game was our shooting efficiency ours was 43% compared to Tyrone 60% we'll see this weekend if we were beaten by the best team at U17 level this year and that what was our only defeat all year I might add.

It was a good group of young rossies and the next step is bringing as many as possible into U20 level over the next three years and then hopefully Senior after that."
Not dismissing the achievement of winning a connacht title, just using this game as a example of the serious neglect of s+c in the county, the 2nd goal they scored was a example of how s+c is so important in the modern game. we had some of the best talent produced at underage from 2012 to 2015 and all we have to show is two connacht titles since then. Haven't won in CP since the 80's in championship and getting knock out consistently in championship by div 2/3 teams in the last 10 years. The CB needs to wake up and get whatever resources in place so the next group of players can perform at county level.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 137 - 02/07/2025 09:41:19    2623067

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Based on? they were lucky enough to get past Ulster runners up Cavan and Connacht runners up Mayo."
Them mayo was good game at minor level more so on day you writing them off Tyrone goid but it's decent kerry minor team

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 766 - 02/07/2025 10:26:44    2623083

Replying To hontherossie:  "Not dismissing the achievement of winning a connacht title, just using this game as a example of the serious neglect of s+c in the county, the 2nd goal they scored was a example of how s+c is so important in the modern game. we had some of the best talent produced at underage from 2012 to 2015 and all we have to show is two connacht titles since then. Haven't won in CP since the 80's in championship and getting knock out consistently in championship by div 2/3 teams in the last 10 years. The CB needs to wake up and get whatever resources in place so the next group of players can perform at county level."
Resources require money to pay for them.
That will have to come from supporters, in other words you and I.
Plus all those Rossies, besides Seán M, who have made it big away from home who need to be approached by the CB/Club Rossie.

Need a permanent fundraising Committee who'd actively pursue Rossues at home and around the World.
The "BIG DRAW" every few years is not the way to raise funds on an ongoing basis.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2497 - 02/07/2025 11:33:04    2623100

Replying To endgame:  "Andy Moran played for Mayo as we know. We also know that Ballaghaderreen County Roscommon playing its Gaelic football in Mayo is a sore point for a lot of Roscommon people ( this one included). I understood that Andy Moran's family were Roscommon supporters. I think there's a photograph on social media of Andy as a young boy wearing a Roscommon jersey at a St. Patrick's day parade in Ballaghaderreen. In any event, I don't expect Andy Moran to be the next Roscommon football Manager."
It's fair to say that Andy unites opinions in Roscommon GAA! Memories of the epic night in 2019 when Roscommon were fired up enough, who did Mayo spring from the bench to get ye riled up even more? Could yet be a good intercounty manager though. All sorts of rumours these days. Heard one yesterday that Oisin McConville could get Ross job and Frankie Dolan, who was with him in Wicklow, as a selector. Definitely an upgrade on Year 2 and 3 Davy Burke.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8149 - 02/07/2025 12:44:51    2623126

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's fair to say that Andy unites opinions in Roscommon GAA! Memories of the epic night in 2019 when Roscommon were fired up enough, who did Mayo spring from the bench to get ye riled up even more? Could yet be a good intercounty manager though. All sorts of rumours these days. Heard one yesterday that Oisin McConville could get Ross job and Frankie Dolan, who was with him in Wicklow, as a selector. Definitely an upgrade on Year 2 and 3 Davy Burke."
The Oisín and Frankie story was doing the rounds the day of the Cork match overc3cweeksxago.
Don't know if someone started a rumour or if the Co Board had been in contact.....

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2497 - 02/07/2025 13:05:30    2623130

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's fair to say that Andy unites opinions in Roscommon GAA! Memories of the epic night in 2019 when Roscommon were fired up enough, who did Mayo spring from the bench to get ye riled up even more? Could yet be a good intercounty manager though. All sorts of rumours these days. Heard one yesterday that Oisin McConville could get Ross job and Frankie Dolan, who was with him in Wicklow, as a selector. Definitely an upgrade on Year 2 and 3 Davy Burke."
How would it definitely be an upgrade? Davy Burkes time with Wicklow was better and he left them in Div 3. Upgrade needs to be looked elsewhere IMO.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 02/07/2025 13:24:28    2623136

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Them mayo was good game at minor level more so on day you writing them off Tyrone goid but it's decent kerry minor team"
Can you try that sentence again as whatever you are trying to say there makes no sense.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3693 - 02/07/2025 13:27:06    2623138

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "The Oisín and Frankie story was doing the rounds the day of the Cork match overc3cweeksxago.
Don't know if someone started a rumour or if the Co Board had been in contact....."
This rumour started when they beat Westmeath ..day after cork they lost to limerick and the air went out of it..loads of knee jerk **** around management appointments..our westerly neighbours are famous for it ..

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 61 - 02/07/2025 13:34:57    2623139

Replying To dave1988:  "Yes the two goals killed us but my God if you think we were anywhere near the Tyrone teams conditioning I don't know what to say. They were miles ahead in that area."
Watch back on the match a 2nd time and tell me was strength and conditioning an issue as we had a deserved lead 26 minutes played and when the likes of O Higgins,Oates,Hannon,McGuinness was knocking the Tyrone lads off the ball and over the sideline.

@Hontherossie, "2nd goal they scored was a example of how s+c is" not for me started off with a poor kick out and poor defending and were shook after the 1st goal which was as lucky as it gets.

@Rossy15 yes once Tyrone got their half time lead they used all their cuteness and cynicism to close it out .

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4106 - 02/07/2025 13:41:05    2623143