Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To S1234:  "Paddy durcan was injured for most of the league new york was one of his first games back.

If you don't think paddy durcan is a starter for mayo as our captain your in cloud 9 seriously. He'd walk onto any county team

They brought on durcan as impact sub v kerry in killarney as a tactic cause he's the best player we have (had) you see it with the dubs bench when they bring their best on.

Also used Eoghan mc as impact sub and he got a goal so worked out OK for us..

Durcan is a guaranteed starter a leader a captain and a massive loss to mayo."
One tip for you in the future, Read posts properly before responding.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 146 - 04/06/2024 01:10:14    2549319

Replying To MayoDan:  "Never had to play Dublin with a week turnaround those years though... In 2015 we did however and lost by 8 points.

Obviously it's not the sole reason (Dublin are simply a better side than Mayo) but is/was a factor."
It wasn't a factor. Just another excuse.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7445 - 04/06/2024 02:21:58    2549321

Would ye Meeyos ever start ye're own thread !!!
Have our Minors any hope on Saturday?
A 6 30 throw in in Ennis ensuring a very small Ros turn out.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 04/06/2024 10:24:51    2549354

Very disappointed with the game last Saturday. Mayo were the better team - managed the wind well in the 1st half and kicked on to deservedly win the game. Felt Roscommon had some positives which have been mentioned in previous posts. Good to see Enda Smith and Brian Stack playing better football (hopefully Enda is okay). Having watched Cavan against the Dubs, its hard to see past a Roscommon win but its straight cut knockout football now and we could see anything happen.

Are we just seeing a rinse and repeat of last season? Losing to Kildare and Dublin in the group (Mayo and Dublin this year), beat Sligo last year/possibly Cavan this year and finish 3rd. Then a play off game that I genuinely don't see us winning at this moment in time bar we get a very soft draw.

It's hard to stay optimistic at times when you see possibly Galway, Armagh, Louth, Monaghan, Donegal or Tyrone on the horizon in the next round should we beat Cavan. We have a strong panel and realistically should be making quarter finals - not getting over the line and making excuses (who we are missing, referee decisions) has to stop this year.

Feel like whatever happens over the next 3 weeks, Davy Burke will be around for the 2025 season. Whether thats the right or wrong call, time will tell

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 04/06/2024 12:07:53    2549373

On reflection now when looking back on the games so far maybe we just have lost too much from the panel and management in one go to be able to make significant progress this year. If we do make it to a QF it will be a huge achievement. Unfortunately we don't have the depth of panel to deal with some of our losses. The directness of McKeon and the pace and movement of O'Carroll are sorely missed. Not to mention C Murtagh. It is unfortunate as a number of young lads are being brought through but it is not realistic to expect them to be the finished articles yet. Despite things not going well this year, if we can beat Cavan we will still be in the same position as last year. And in an odd way, if we beat Cavan and get a good performance, the team will be facing a prelim QF with better momentum than when facing Cork last year.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 04/06/2024 13:47:31    2549411

Rumours the Hyde is getting Dublin Mayo and our game fixed for Pearse Park.

It would be fantastic if that is the case

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 153 - 04/06/2024 14:34:40    2549431

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Rumours the Hyde is getting Dublin Mayo and our game fixed for Pearse Park.

It would be fantastic if that is the case"
Confirmed now. Common sense venue for Roscommon v Cavan but sometimes the GAA don't do that, 5pm on Saturday. The work done in the Hyde rewarded with a high profile game 23k is the capacity now should get about 15 to 18k for that game.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 04/06/2024 15:07:33    2549448

Replying To The_analyser:  "Confirmed now. Common sense venue for Roscommon v Cavan but sometimes the GAA don't do that, 5pm on Saturday. The work done in the Hyde rewarded with a high profile game 23k is the capacity now should get about 15 to 18k for that game."
Great credit is due to Roscommon County Board, Club Rossie, main sponsors and all business sponsors and genuine Roscommon supporters for raising substantial funds in order to develop Hyde Park.
The work so far is a credit to all concerned and hopefully the rest of the work when completed will be to the same high standard.
Delighted to see the Hyde getting such a high profile game so quickly. It is the obvious location to put the Dublin/Mayo match as it is about half way between Dublin & Belmullet (for example) , has a railway line from Dublin, Castlebar and Westport and a motor way from Dublin all the way to county Roscommon (Athlone).
Being posting for a while that the Connacht Council should concentrate on developing the Hyde as it the most central location of the Connacht stadiums and should therefore attact more high profile matches and events.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 04/06/2024 20:36:29    2549528

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Great credit is due to Roscommon County Board, Club Rossie, main sponsors and all business sponsors and genuine Roscommon supporters for raising substantial funds in order to develop Hyde Park.
The work so far is a credit to all concerned and hopefully the rest of the work when completed will be to the same high standard.
Delighted to see the Hyde getting such a high profile game so quickly. It is the obvious location to put the Dublin/Mayo match as it is about half way between Dublin & Belmullet (for example) , has a railway line from Dublin, Castlebar and Westport and a motor way from Dublin all the way to county Roscommon (Athlone).
Being posting for a while that the Connacht Council should concentrate on developing the Hyde as it the most central location of the Connacht stadiums and should therefore attact more high profile matches and events."
It's a great ground with loads of further potential with it's central location in the province.Pity we can't win a match there.!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 04/06/2024 21:16:29    2549540

Replying To Rossfan93:  "Very disappointed with the game last Saturday. Mayo were the better team - managed the wind well in the 1st half and kicked on to deservedly win the game. Felt Roscommon had some positives which have been mentioned in previous posts. Good to see Enda Smith and Brian Stack playing better football (hopefully Enda is okay). Having watched Cavan against the Dubs, its hard to see past a Roscommon win but its straight cut knockout football now and we could see anything happen.

Are we just seeing a rinse and repeat of last season? Losing to Kildare and Dublin in the group (Mayo and Dublin this year), beat Sligo last year/possibly Cavan this year and finish 3rd. Then a play off game that I genuinely don't see us winning at this moment in time bar we get a very soft draw.

It's hard to stay optimistic at times when you see possibly Galway, Armagh, Louth, Monaghan, Donegal or Tyrone on the horizon in the next round should we beat Cavan. We have a strong panel and realistically should be making quarter finals - not getting over the line and making excuses (who we are missing, referee decisions) has to stop this year.

Feel like whatever happens over the next 3 weeks, Davy Burke will be around for the 2025 season. Whether thats the right or wrong call, time will tell"
You drew with Dublin last year not lost them. Never know what's on the horizon, take Monaghan for example last year only avoided league relegation because Mayo played a 2nd string team against them. In Ulster well beaten by Derry in the group stage finished 3rd which included a loss to a bang out of form Donegal. In the Prem Quarter and All Ireland Quarter they won on fine margins against both Kildare and Armagh, both easily could have beaten them. Roscommon after what happened in 2022 v Clare and last year v Cork are probably due to win a fine margin contest and few breaks go their way.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3407 - 04/06/2024 22:37:53    2549570

Replying To ComainRos:  "Just on the stats does anyone actually have the stats for the match. All the talk about Mayos wides but I'd love to know how many wides Ros had. Can't be far behind Mayos number of wides either. Plus we dropped a few short into keepers hands. Mayo definitely were that bit better in the match but if Roscommon can get a quality defensive coach then the scales can be tipped in their favour. Any updates on injuries after the match? Please God Enda's injury is not too serious. I also saw Heneghan warm up before the match on his own and he looked super sharp. Surprised he didn't get game time. Hopefully he can have some positive input for Cavan match"
The wide count was Roscommon 6 Mayo 8. We also dropped four point efforts shorts. Conor Cox free on 50 minutes was especially a big one that dropped short as it would have leveled the game up then down the other end and Mayo went two in front with the aid of the crossbar. A total of 16 scores from 26 shots on goal we had, An improvement on 13 scores from 28 shots against Mayo in April but as I said before the game we needed to not concede any goal in order to win as it turned out conceding just one might have been a enough.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 05/06/2024 14:25:22    2549710

Good luck to ye against Cavan, I think ye have a great chance to win that one and regroup for a preliminary QF. Is Enda badly injured, even though he is not in the form of last year he is a great player.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 05/06/2024 19:04:21    2549760

Great to see Hyde getting a big game and the work done already is getting rewarded. The Hyde will be a fine ground once the new dressing rooms go in. It would be nice to see the front entrance done as well and the old dressing rooms knocked also at some stage. Obviously an agreement would have to be reached with Roscommon Gaels. I daresay the fixture award was helped by having a representative on the CCCC. Hopefully there will be a big crowd at it for the businesses in the town. The late throw in and the fact the losers will be out again the following weekend albeit at home may see a lot not bothering to travel amd the fact its on RTE also.

Back to the match last Saturday and looking ahead to Saturday week. Longford was always going to be the venue amd should make for a great atmosphere. We played Cavan in an u21 semi final in it some years back and while the crowd won't be as big there should still be a sizeable crowd at it. While our scoring ratio was up on Saturday last the fact 1-2 came in injury time with game over paints over the cracks to some degree. The fact we had so many scorers (10) was pleasing from one point of view but only one player scored more than 1 point from play. Not sure where a previous poster got his stats from but Mayo had 8 wides in first half and 8 points against a strong breeze. Roscommon had 2 wides in first half to go with their 8 points. Mayo won close on 50% of Roscommons kick outs in first half. That percentage in any game on own possession is a losing stat and particularly when playing with the aid of a strong breeze.

Midfield is a problem going on for years now and we have had no tried and trusted pairing that we can consistently call upon. Karl Manion was our last prominent midfielder along with Seamus O Neill. Kevin Higgins and Michael Finnsrwn filled the void for a while and Donie Shine to some extent over the years.

Saturday had no real stand out Roscommon player. Conkr Carroll again and to be fair Conor Cox in 2nd half were probably our best performers. Our reluctance to leave more than one inside and kick in the ball is very disappointing given the forward potential we possess. As stated here last week i would like to see Harney inside with Cregg at 11. Stack has to come to 6 now with Eoin McCormack going to full back.

It was always going to come down to the Cavan match. It will not be a cakewalk as Cavan will fancy their chances and caused Dublin a lot of problems in first half last week. The half time score didn't do them justice.. The 2nd half was a formality. Cavan give up goal chances and hopefully Roscommon will push up on a Duvison 2 team from the off and go after them.

For the record on the penalty decisions last Saturday imo I thought neither of the penalties awarded were merited. The alleged foot block had at least two foot of a gap and was the correct call.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 277 - 05/06/2024 19:40:37    2549762

@SmokieRoss from watching the match back a 2nd time is where I got the stats and it should have read nine wides for Mayo but no edit feature on this forum. We had 3 wides 1st half from Conor Cox,Enda Smith and Conor Hand.

Mayo 2nd half 1 wide and one shot saved so they scored 2-6 which is eight scores from 10 shots on goal with the wind advantage. the goals was obviously big/key scores for them in 2 point margin match. Us in the 2nd half 1-7 from 15 shots. And our penalty was a foul by Sam Callinan. It wasn't a foot block late on but it was goal chance and Daire Cregg didn't take that opportunity.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3818 - 06/06/2024 00:17:34    2549781

Replying To The_analyser:  "@SmokieRoss from watching the match back a 2nd time is where I got the stats and it should have read nine wides for Mayo but no edit feature on this forum. We had 3 wides 1st half from Conor Cox,Enda Smith and Conor Hand.

Mayo 2nd half 1 wide and one shot saved so they scored 2-6 which is eight scores from 10 shots on goal with the wind advantage. the goals was obviously big/key scores for them in 2 point margin match. Us in the 2nd half 1-7 from 15 shots. And our penalty was a foul by Sam Callinan. It wasn't a foot block late on but it was goal chance and Daire Cregg didn't take that opportunity."
1-7 from 15 shots in the 2nd half!
Didn't realise we had that many shots.
No wonder we lost.

I see reports of Daire Cregg getting trials for AFL.
Good for the lad himself but we can't afford to be losing a player of his ability .

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 06/06/2024 08:11:43    2549795

"Daire Cregg could be on his way to the AFL. It is understood by the Irish Examiner that Cregg met with Carlton scouts about a move down under. A move that would be a massive blow to Roscommon". Just seen that on The Gaelic Corner. If he leaves it's a massive blow for us but I have to say he would be foolish to turn it down. Not to many lads get the opportunity.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1103 - 06/06/2024 11:01:41    2549814

Replying To dave1988:  ""Daire Cregg could be on his way to the AFL. It is understood by the Irish Examiner that Cregg met with Carlton scouts about a move down under. A move that would be a massive blow to Roscommon". Just seen that on The Gaelic Corner. If he leaves it's a massive blow for us but I have to say he would be foolish to turn it down. Not to many lads get the opportunity."
Just seen that. You are right it will be a massive loss and he would be silly not to take the oppurtunity. Brilliant Footballer.

Gaa2008 (Roscommon) - Posts: 2 - 06/06/2024 12:01:41    2549831

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "1-7 from 15 shots in the 2nd half!
Didn't realise we had that many shots.
No wonder we lost.

I see reports of Daire Cregg getting trials for AFL.
Good for the lad himself but we can't afford to be losing a player of his ability ."
Media and pundits talked a lot about Mayos first half and their shot efficiency. Stats show Roscommon was much the same 2nd half and wasn't mentioned at all. Looks like the wind in the Hyde last Saturday was harder to play with than against.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3407 - 06/06/2024 12:14:06    2549837

Replying To dave1988:  ""Daire Cregg could be on his way to the AFL. It is understood by the Irish Examiner that Cregg met with Carlton scouts about a move down under. A move that would be a massive blow to Roscommon". Just seen that on The Gaelic Corner. If he leaves it's a massive blow for us but I have to say he would be foolish to turn it down. Not to many lads get the opportunity."
Who are The Gaelic Corner?

Its trial with more than dozen young lads and might not get any of them to stand out to the required standard they are looking for. Total disrespect by the scouts to holding such trials when players are involded championship football.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 146 - 06/06/2024 12:21:44    2549838

According to paper Enda is 50/50 whether he will make Cavan game. If we weren't so light on other players I'd be saying it could be a good thing to try and get others to step up to the mark and not have the team relying on him to be the spark for everything.

It says Ben O'Carroll ruled out but still not saying he's gone for the next game should we make it through.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 07/06/2024 18:03:28    2550073