Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To realdub:  "Good effort lads. Some lovely scores."
Go away will you. We were beaten by 12 points. Not even a moral victory in the end.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 25/05/2024 21:24:24    2547084

A good effort yes, but outcome never in doubt at any stage. Dubs are just doing enough to top the group but I still think they are not as good as they were. Will have a much better idea after the Mayo game. Not convinced Davy is up to prepping a team to compete at the top table.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 101 - 25/05/2024 21:56:09    2547100

Replying To dave1988:  "What was all the talk about Ben O'Carroll being out for the year with a hamstring injury but came on for 15 mins ?? Anyone know more??"
Sorry lads I had posted this about Ben , seen it on a different forum. Lesson learned to not believe everything you see on the internet! Glad it turned out to be false

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 153 - 25/05/2024 21:59:51    2547102

Replying To Keephimthere:  "A good effort yes, but outcome never in doubt at any stage. Dubs are just doing enough to top the group but I still think they are not as good as they were. Will have a much better idea after the Mayo game. Not convinced Davy is up to prepping a team to compete at the top table."
I 'm not convinced either but we'll see where we are around 7 on Saturday evening. We need to beat Mayo in The Hyde.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 26/05/2024 07:02:57    2547104

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Sorry lads I had posted this about Ben , seen it on a different forum. Lesson learned to not believe everything you see on the internet! Glad it turned out to be false"
I heard it all week that he was out for the year. Not just you saying it. In the pub after game yesterday and some Roscommon supporters delighted with our performance. Jesus Christ lads maybe the first change needed is our own supporters if that's what we are happy with . Mentality change needed in Roscommon big time. We won't beat mayo next Saturday playing well for 55 mins.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1103 - 26/05/2024 07:35:35    2547106

Replying To dave1988:  "I heard it all week that he was out for the year. Not just you saying it. In the pub after game yesterday and some Roscommon supporters delighted with our performance. Jesus Christ lads maybe the first change needed is our own supporters if that's what we are happy with . Mentality change needed in Roscommon big time. We won't beat mayo next Saturday playing well for 55 mins."
Agree about Roscommon supporters. It's going nowhere if Roscommon supporters are happy with a 12 point defeat against the Dubs. Louth held Dublin to 4 points in the Leinster Final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 26/05/2024 08:28:48    2547116

Replying To dave1988:  "I heard it all week that he was out for the year. Not just you saying it. In the pub after game yesterday and some Roscommon supporters delighted with our performance. Jesus Christ lads maybe the first change needed is our own supporters if that's what we are happy with . Mentality change needed in Roscommon big time. We won't beat mayo next Saturday playing well for 55 mins."
I agree with you a hundred 100 % on the mentality issue as per all the county teams, it needs to change with all Roscommon teams, they seem to get into good positions and then fade off, in my opinion they don't believe once they see the opportunity in front of them. Historically Galway teams seem to have a different attitude, willing to grab the chance.

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 170 - 26/05/2024 09:33:45    2547132

I agree with you a hundred 100 % on the mentality issue as per all the county teams, it needs to change with all Roscommon teams, they seem to get into good positions and then fade off, in my opinion they don't believe once they see the opportunity in front of them. Historically Galway teams seem to have a different attitude, willing to grab the chance.

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 170 - 26/05/2024 09:33:50    2547133

Replying To Keephimthere:  "A good effort yes, but outcome never in doubt at any stage. Dubs are just doing enough to top the group but I still think they are not as good as they were. Will have a much better idea after the Mayo game. Not convinced Davy is up to prepping a team to compete at the top table."
Burke is done after this year. He might want to stay in but players will run him

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1103 - 26/05/2024 09:39:44    2547135

You are right Dave, we certainly will not beat Mayo next Saturday if we only play well for 55 minutes. For example after 53 minutes yesterday there was only 2 points in it; 0-15 to 0-13. Dublin then went on to score 2-4 without reply. The strength of the Dublin panal/substitutes made a substantial difference. The extra energy used up by the players while only having 14 men may also have made a difference. Thought that decision was harsh and not really discussed on the Sunday game.
The reason there was a little optimism after the game was primarily based on a few of things;
* Going toe to toe with Dublin for 53 minutes. ( Not good enough!)
* The accurate shooting from our full forward line (I think it was 13 scores from 14 shots)
* The improved performance from several Roscommon players.
The fade-out in the last 20 minutes, getting more breaks at mid-field and the lack of impact from the subs bench remains a worry.
If they get the recovery right I think we will have a right chance in the Hyde against Mayo on Saturday.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 574 - 26/05/2024 10:00:15    2547139

True yeh. I'm all for the positivity but it did end up a hammering yesterday. Like in the Derry game we fell apart in the last quarter. At the minute we don't have top tier players for all positions. So the question is are we happy just to accept a Division 2 status or will changes be implemented to ensure things go the other way. I really enjoyed those first 55 minutes yesterday but the milk went sour fairly quick. Great to see Conor Cox back playing like that. Ben not injured is massive. Eoin McCormack and Niall Higgins are two solid players, always on the attack if not defending. We definitely need a set 45 taker. Not that we were going to win, but that butchered one yesterday would have brought us back to within a score with about 10 left? Anyways, taking the scalp off Mayo next week would right a lot of wrongs.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 27 - 26/05/2024 10:10:59    2547141

Replying To dave1988:  "Burke is done after this year. He might want to stay in but players will run him"
Are you speculating Dave or have you inside knowledge? It's just hard to make out what way the players feel about him this year compared to last. I imagine you're on the money the way things have gone this year. If they were happy you'd be worried.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 27 - 26/05/2024 10:14:44    2547144

Very disappointing way for that game to turn so bad in last 10mins. While it was great to see Cox have his best game for sometime, only our full forward line scored yesterday. That's not good enough. Enda hasn't been himself all year and even though he's our go to man, it was clear it wasn't happening for him yesterday and should have been withdrawn. Eoin McCormack is a breath of fresh air, constantly breaking lines and working so hard. A big ask to keep hoping players will react after another heavy defeat, Mayo will be well up for it as they won't want to be playing Dublin needing a win. Hope everyone recovers well this week and we can get our house in order for Saturday evening. No reason why we should fear Mayo, just hope the defeats all year haven't left too deep of a scar!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 191 - 26/05/2024 10:34:51    2547150

Replying To imformed:  "I agree with you a hundred 100 % on the mentality issue as per all the county teams, it needs to change with all Roscommon teams, they seem to get into good positions and then fade off, in my opinion they don't believe once they see the opportunity in front of them. Historically Galway teams seem to have a different attitude, willing to grab the chance."
Yes that's right. The minors are a fine team but seemed to lack belief in the second half against Mayo when the match was there to be won. Responding to a Mayo man posting here, I didn't say that Roscommon minors should have won. Mayo were worthy winners. I did say though that I felt Roscommon minors were good enough to beat Mayo on Friday night but they didn't seem to believe that themselves.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2232 - 26/05/2024 10:58:02    2547159

I was at the game yesterday

Thought Roscommon did very well for a fair portion of the game, Dubs bench this year is a bigger weapon, just as Roscommn were getting leggy

Feck sake though, the crowd.. zero atmosphere

They've made a shames of the the scheduling

This is meant to be the high end stuff of Gaelic football, for me, it's all been devalued.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20620 - 26/05/2024 10:58:32    2547160

A lot of good individuals but as a team Roscommon organisation and fitness that was seen during the league and Dublin,Mayo championship games last year is no where to be seen this year which suggest the loss to two good coaches has been bigger than expected. Even for 55 minutes yesterday you could tell it would be a big score that Roscommon would end up conceding with Dublin having like for like replacements to bring on and Dublin allowed to pop off points from distance under little or no pressure. The two goals came from turn over and quick counter attacks and at that stage in the game a lot of the legs was gone in the Roscommon legs which doesn't bode well for a 7 day turn around against a rested Mayo.

On the Connacht minor final which I watched on Friday I thought Roscommon set the platform in place to win against a good Mayo team by defending well as team which included good tracking back and tackling by forwards. Had one of the two or three very goal goal scoring chances was taken they could well have won, Mayo's win was helped with the gift of 4 points and playing the last ten minutes with a man advantage. Will be interesting to see how both do in the All Ireland series against the Munster reps next a possible double header in Limerick?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3407 - 26/05/2024 11:16:53    2547166

Replying To endgame:  "Agree about Roscommon supporters. It's going nowhere if Roscommon supporters are happy with a 12 point defeat against the Dubs. Louth held Dublin to 4 points in the Leinster Final."
Two reasons why Louth held Dublin to four points. Dublin in the 1st half had a rare wasteful half in front of goal with just 6 scores from 14 attempts (42% strike rate) 14 scores in total Louth got which is one more than Roscommon yesterday the difference was two goals in the 2nd half. Dublin learnt from that and went out of their way to make sure that they didn't even allow Roscommon create goal scoring chances yesterday and the work rate/defensive work of the likes of Con O'Callaghan,Costello,Mannion etc does be over looked.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3407 - 26/05/2024 11:29:56    2547172

First of all hard luck to the minors Friday evening. Very competitive compared to the opening nights match in Castlebar. Match was there for the taking amd the two goal chances ons in either half, at least one had to be taken. 10 pts won't win any match at this time of year. Still an opportunity in two weeks v Kerry as it is hard to gauge how competitive Munster was.

Onto yesterday evening and it's a small a Roscommon crowd I have seen at a match in many a year. A number of reasons for that was the timing with school holidays and exams starting week after, expense of travelling and the 5pm throw in was too early for what is a working day for many and aligned to the not so feel good factor around the senior team at present.

Onto the action and to look at it was better going forward rather than passing the ball sideways or backwards all the time. That said the match resembled nothing more than a challenge match for most of it. 14 frees in the whole 75 minutes tells its own story. Roscommon conceded 6 frees in the 75 minutes imagine going to take on the all Ireland chanpions in their own backyard and only giving away 6 frees when we needed to be in their face and hitting them early. To think that we never one a kick out on Dublins kick oit or even looked to win one. Palying constantly to keep score down rather than to our strengths. We actually scored less this year v Dublin than last year..

This continued persistence with marking space is ridiculous as its achieving nothing. As highlighted on Saturday Game last night, Dublin scored 2-16 from play with 11 different scorers. That is crazy at this level, you wouldn't see it in an u12 match. Roscommon had 3 scorers and all 3 showed for ball and took their opportunities when they arose. The big issue for us as the match went on Dublin got stronger with their subs while our changes weakened the team. The bit of mobility we had in middle third was replaced with one paced/undercooked players who have played little football this year.

Davy Murray and Niall Higgins fought a brave fight. Our half back line was destroyed..Brian Stack needs to be released from fullback as he is struggling in it and would be better served with his mobility and passing out the field at centre back. Enda Smith for the 2nd match running anonymous. We are struggling to fill the 11 position since Ciaran Murtagh has retired. Daire Cregg may become that person in time or Cian McKeon if he returns next year. It was Coxs best 40 mins of action for a few years but he needs to back it up now. Does anyone know why James Fitzpatrick didn't feature in squad as he has a physical edge about him and has showed flashes this year when played but he doesn't seem to be flavour of the month with this management.

All that being said it was always going to be about these two games. If we can't raise our intensity for next Saturday evening we are going to run the risk of not getting out of group. Cavan are targeting the Roscommon game in Longford and even allowing for their star forward missing they will fancy their chances.

From a gaa point of view they need a serious rethink of the championship timing and structure. which is killing the sport. The amount of leinster and man utd erseys outside the pubs yesterday was evidence that gaa is a summer sport amd will lose out to clashes with soccer/rugby. Talk about shooting itself in foot.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 277 - 26/05/2024 14:01:37    2547206

Replying To imformed:  "I agree with you a hundred 100 % on the mentality issue as per all the county teams, it needs to change with all Roscommon teams, they seem to get into good positions and then fade off, in my opinion they don't believe once they see the opportunity in front of them. Historically Galway teams seem to have a different attitude, willing to grab the chance."
Mentality has been an issue for Roscommon teams for a long time in championship. One of the reasons we haven't won a championship in Croker since 1980. In recent times we had the Mayo replay collapse, Clare, the Dublin draw last year. I feel when we play Tyrone in championship we don't believe we can win even before the team enters the field. We are definitely short top top players in a few positions but so are Donegal. They are no way as naturally talented a bunch as they were in Jim McGs first term but look at the difference hard work and belief can make. You don't need stars in every position to be a competitive team if you have the right set up and a spine of very good players. We definitely have the spine of a very good team. I know we have debated fitness before but from Davys comments throughout the league, they seem to have been looking to peak at this stage in championship. We haven't played in championship in 5 weeks so we should be fresh as daisy's.

I was wondering what happened Fitzpatrick as well. Did very well in the league game against the Dubs.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 924 - 26/05/2024 14:22:50    2547208

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Mentality has been an issue for Roscommon teams for a long time in championship. One of the reasons we haven't won a championship in Croker since 1980. In recent times we had the Mayo replay collapse, Clare, the Dublin draw last year. I feel when we play Tyrone in championship we don't believe we can win even before the team enters the field. We are definitely short top top players in a few positions but so are Donegal. They are no way as naturally talented a bunch as they were in Jim McGs first term but look at the difference hard work and belief can make. You don't need stars in every position to be a competitive team if you have the right set up and a spine of very good players. We definitely have the spine of a very good team. I know we have debated fitness before but from Davys comments throughout the league, they seem to have been looking to peak at this stage in championship. We haven't played in championship in 5 weeks so we should be fresh as daisy's.

I was wondering what happened Fitzpatrick as well. Did very well in the league game against the Dubs."
Didn't Davy say Fitzpatrick had a knock ?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1627 - 26/05/2024 17:57:40    2547304