Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To The_analyser:  "Yes for the Connacht Final 2011 when we were a Div 4 team that spring we outnumbered Mayo 3 to 1 in support in 20k plus crowd. Mayo just about won that game and brought a small sized crowd against the defending All-Ireland champions Cork in Croke Park and won which then attracted a big following after that."
On a horrible wet July day that as the Roscommon Herald put it would have been a bad day in January. Roscommon though lowly in the League were defending Connacht champions. Mayo had very nearly lost to London earlier in the championship. Mayo edged a very tight match v Roscommon and it was the start of the very successful Horan era. 5 Connacht titles in a row with Connelly/ Holmes managing them for the fifth.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2190 - 07/05/2024 21:36:03    2543570

Replying To yew_tree:  "McGuinness maybe. Not sure about mental baggage. We had a team that would probably have won an all Ireland in any other era but for Dublin and even at that we should have taken them at least once probably twice.

We still have good footballers we always do but we've fallen back into the pack. Top eight team for sure. Thought we were poor on Sunday overall and Galway who are now suddenly been seen as possible all Ireland contenders bet us by a point!

What's yer feeling on meeting us again? We've an "easier" game v Cavan first up but you just never know. We made hard work of Louth last year. Cork beat us and then beat ye…something that shouldn't have happened both teams."
Some of those performances had to be seen to be believed. No manager in the world could legislate for not one, but two own goals in the first half of an All Ireland final.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1689 - 08/05/2024 00:01:11    2543585

Replying To yew_tree:  "McGuinness maybe. Not sure about mental baggage. We had a team that would probably have won an all Ireland in any other era but for Dublin and even at that we should have taken them at least once probably twice.

We still have good footballers we always do but we've fallen back into the pack. Top eight team for sure. Thought we were poor on Sunday overall and Galway who are now suddenly been seen as possible all Ireland contenders bet us by a point!

What's yer feeling on meeting us again? We've an "easier" game v Cavan first up but you just never know. We made hard work of Louth last year. Cork beat us and then beat ye…something that shouldn't have happened both teams."
Mayo should have beaten Dublin in that drawn 2016 final, Dublin couldn't have played much worse in that final. 2017 final was swung back in favour of Dublin due to the lack of discipline. Mayo took out Dublin in 2012 and 2021 yet still lost All Ireland finals by a bit to spare to Dublin and Tyrone have Mayo fully recovered from that last final defeat at all I'd wonder.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3363 - 08/05/2024 00:22:13    2543587

What's all this Rhubarb stuff doing in the Ros section?

We have an All Ireland semi final in 3 days time so let's talk about that.
We're up against the hot favourites so have it all to do.
Not helped by playing an Ulster team at an Ulster venue and a rookie Ref.
You can never be sure what to expect in an underage AI semi in any given year as standards could vary quite a bit between the provinces.
3 years ago Tyrone lost the Minor Final by 1 point to Meath sending a last minute free wide.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1469 - 08/05/2024 08:37:02    2543605

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "What's all this Rhubarb stuff doing in the Ros section?

We have an All Ireland semi final in 3 days time so let's talk about that.
We're up against the hot favourites so have it all to do.
Not helped by playing an Ulster team at an Ulster venue and a rookie Ref.
You can never be sure what to expect in an underage AI semi in any given year as standards could vary quite a bit between the provinces.
3 years ago Tyrone lost the Minor Final by 1 point to Meath sending a last minute free wide."
It was a very competitive under 20 competition in Ulster this year with Tyrone just getting over Derry after extra time and penalties in the final. There was also some competitive games in Connacht and Roscommon improved in fitness levels and performance as they progressed unbeaten. Of the four teams left in the All Ireland Tyrone are the strong favourites followed by Kerry, Meath and Roscommon. While Tyrone are 1/2 on for Saturday, the handicap is only 2 points so Roscommon have a real chance if they perform to their full ability. The team put the Galway shooters (who were excellent) under huge pressure the last day and the same again will be required on Saturday. Would not be a bit surprised if it went to extra time again.
Hopefully the Rossies will bring good support to Cavan as it is not every day you get to support your team in an All Ireland semi final.
Best of luck to the team and management on Saturday.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 537 - 08/05/2024 10:37:07    2543634

Should the hurlers conside home advantage to Donegal on Saturday and play it as a curtain raiser before the under 20 football semi final in Cavan?
Surely it would suit both Roscommon and Donegal teams? ( Travelling, better atmosphere, allow Riscommon supporters to see both games)

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 537 - 08/05/2024 10:55:15    2543636

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "It was a very competitive under 20 competition in Ulster this year with Tyrone just getting over Derry after extra time and penalties in the final. There was also some competitive games in Connacht and Roscommon improved in fitness levels and performance as they progressed unbeaten. Of the four teams left in the All Ireland Tyrone are the strong favourites followed by Kerry, Meath and Roscommon. While Tyrone are 1/2 on for Saturday, the handicap is only 2 points so Roscommon have a real chance if they perform to their full ability. The team put the Galway shooters (who were excellent) under huge pressure the last day and the same again will be required on Saturday. Would not be a bit surprised if it went to extra time again.
Hopefully the Rossies will bring good support to Cavan as it is not every day you get to support your team in an All Ireland semi final.
Best of luck to the team and management on Saturday."
I would imagine young McGinley will be targetted and marked tightly as well. Could be a tight affair. We definitely owe Tyrone one at underage at this stage.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 820 - 08/05/2024 11:10:47    2543640

Replying To endgame:  "Galway reached the All Ireland Final in 2022 and were close. Joyce celebrated yesterday but he wants an All Ireland title. He won't get it. Mayo aren't nearly as good now as the team that ran Dublin so close in 2015 and 2016. Roscommon have talented footballers but have gone backwards big time since last year when we were good in the League but couldn't even make the championship quarter final. Hopefully Roscommon improve over the next few weeks but we don't know. Whatever you say, I don't see a winner of the All Ireland other than Dublin or Kerry. Maybe Derry but I doubt it. I'm disappointed as a Connacht man that our province hasn't won Sam for 23 years and it seems ages away before that changes unfortunately,"
What would a roscommon man know bout winning a senior all ireland,ye have 2 and nearly a hundred years ago since ur last one!!

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 125 - 08/05/2024 11:12:58    2543643

Replying To Dunmore10:  "What would a roscommon man know bout winning a senior all ireland,ye have 2 and nearly a hundred years ago since ur last one!!"
Too long for Roscommon. Too long for Mayo since 1951. I posted as a Connacht man who'd love to see a Connacht county win the All Ireland. If not my own Roscommon, then Mayo or Galway. You wouldn't understand that I suppose.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2190 - 08/05/2024 15:27:38    2543693

Replying To endgame:  "Too long for Roscommon. Too long for Mayo since 1951. I posted as a Connacht man who'd love to see a Connacht county win the All Ireland. If not my own Roscommon, then Mayo or Galway. You wouldn't understand that I suppose."
I'd love to see any Connacht county win Sam. I agree that we're all currently well off the mark vs Dublin, first and Kerry, second but who knows. There's a few weeks to time a gallop here and at least an AI final appearance is not beyond the realms of possibility for Galway, Mayo or perhaps Roscommon.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 08/05/2024 15:42:45    2543697

I see Ticketmaster/Gaa are offering Roscommon Football Group Stage 3 Match pack for €50 which appears to be good value. Anyone know how it works or has anyone bought one of these tickets yet.?

* Are they ground/standing tickets only?
* Do they include seated tickets in Croke Park (Dublin) / Hyde Park (Mayo) / Kingspan Park (Cavan)
If the answer to this question is yes, will it be beside the OLP's / kids locations, which are normally in poor locations.

Fair play to the Gaa for giving us a choice as the €16.67 average price per ticket is relatively good value in this day and age.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 537 - 09/05/2024 10:41:08    2543796

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "I see Ticketmaster/Gaa are offering Roscommon Football Group Stage 3 Match pack for €50 which appears to be good value. Anyone know how it works or has anyone bought one of these tickets yet.?

* Are they ground/standing tickets only?
* Do they include seated tickets in Croke Park (Dublin) / Hyde Park (Mayo) / Kingspan Park (Cavan)
If the answer to this question is yes, will it be beside the OLP's / kids locations, which are normally in poor locations.

Fair play to the Gaa for giving us a choice as the €16.67 average price per ticket is relatively good value in this day and age."
Should be able to sit/stand where ever you like first comes first served. €25 per adult ticket if one doesn't get the 3 match package so yes relatively good value

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3777 - 09/05/2024 14:46:09    2543848

Replying To The_analyser:  "Should be able to sit/stand where ever you like first comes first served. €25 per adult ticket if one doesn't get the 3 match package so yes relatively good value"
Thanks for the feedback Analyser.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 537 - 09/05/2024 15:32:26    2543859

Replying To endgame:  "Too long for Roscommon. Too long for Mayo since 1951. I posted as a Connacht man who'd love to see a Connacht county win the All Ireland. If not my own Roscommon, then Mayo or Galway. You wouldn't understand that I suppose."
Ignore the arrogant Galway wind up merchant.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11249 - 10/05/2024 10:15:58    2543942

The Roscommon U20 team named, I would expect one or two changes to that starting team before throw in

Sean Allen - Kilbride
Eden Kerins - Boyle
Daniel Casey - Boyle
Eoghan Carthy - Roscommon Gaels
Daniel Hagney - Michael Glaveys
Senan Lambe - Roscommon Gaels
James McGreal - Eire OG
Conor Ryan - Padraig Pearses
Conor Harley - Padraig Pearses
Robert Heneghan - Michael Glaveys
Bobby Nugent - St Brigids
Rory Hester - Western Gaels
Shane McGinley - Strokestown
Niall O'Donnell - Boyle
Ryan Dowling - Kilbride

Subs Conor Morris,Ethan O'Reilly,Cillian Campbell,James Connolly,Oisn O'Flaherty,Shane Walsh,Davif Flanagan,Rory Carthy.Ryan Conlon

In Tyrone it's strongest team we are probably about to face so far this year but if we perform near our best we'll have a right good chance of reaching the final. Best of luck to all the players and management in Breffni Park tomorrow.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3777 - 10/05/2024 15:05:21    2543992

Best of luck to the Roscommon under 20 team and management tonight in the All Ireland semi-final against Tyrone.
I think ye can cause an upset. BELIEVE!!!!.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 537 - 11/05/2024 09:00:48    2544023

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ignore the arrogant Galway wind up merchant."
Best of luck to the u20s this evening. Tyrone hot favourites but I think we have a good chance if we match last weekend's performance. Hopefully we will be all looking forward to an all Ireland final

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1066 - 11/05/2024 09:24:43    2544026

Not to be for our U20s footballers today. Huge thanks to the players for the work and many miles travelled since the winter thankfully they were rewarded with a Connacht title last week. Thanks to management also their good coaching will be really seen once a number of players go on to play with the county seniors.

On the match and as was the case with our last few games we played offensive football and scoring 3-8(17) is more than decent scoring for All Ireland semi final but today Tyrone exploited us once we lost possession and got turned over.

Semi finals are for winning and we had to be a lot a stronger defensive against what a very strong Tyrone team with good forwards and big spread of scorers across their team. Best of luck to them will take a top effort for Kerry to beat them in the final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3777 - 11/05/2024 19:16:55    2544151

Can't have any real complaints about the result as Tyrone are a very strong team, deserving winners and will be favourites to win the All Ireland. Well done to the Roscommon supporters who greatly outnumbered the Tyrone support, many of whom were on the pitch to console the Roscommon players.
A Connacht medal is to be cherished, after a good season overall. Only one loss all year to probably the All Ireland champions!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 537 - 11/05/2024 20:17:02    2544168

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Can't have any real complaints about the result as Tyrone are a very strong team, deserving winners and will be favourites to win the All Ireland. Well done to the Roscommon supporters who greatly outnumbered the Tyrone support, many of whom were on the pitch to console the Roscommon players.
A Connacht medal is to be cherished, after a good season overall. Only one loss all year to probably the All Ireland champions!"
Yes hard luck to our lads yesterday. No doubt the better team won but a lot to be positive about from a Ros point of view. Definitely some very fine footballers there that will surely go on to have fine careers with the seniors. Hopefully Tyrone can go on and win it now. Well done to all the players and management team who put in a huge effort this year. Great to have won a Connacht title and hopefully more to come in the near future. Ros Comáin abú

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 105 - 12/05/2024 08:39:56    2544186