Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Entered pitch to treat a player and pushed an Armagh player."
At least had reason to be one the field. Imagine someone having no business to be on the field going on and eye gouging.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 19/02/2023 18:25:32    2459125

Replying To sourmilk93:  "At least had reason to be one the field. Imagine someone having no business to be on the field going on and eye gouging."
An expected response. Thank god it wasn't our physio or would have been headline on RTE news.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 19/02/2023 18:55:54    2459145

Replying To The_analyser:  "Another great and well deserved win with still plenty of room for improvement. Once we went in front 2nd half we never looked like losing. Plenty o composure and patience play from us. A number of very good individual performances on a top team display.

Hands up who thought we'd have 3 wins from 3 games? A hard working group of players getting their just rewards! Looking forward to our trip to Clones already."
I won't lie I was probably looking at beating Monaghan Donegal and either mayo or Galway. Win next Sunday and are we looking at possibly a league final if we got a win against Donegal? 10 points could get a league final appearance

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 19/02/2023 18:58:37    2459149

Replying To endgame:  "An old fashioned shoulder was it. The better team won. Hope new President Jarlath Burns enjoyed his visit to The Hyde. Best of luck for his Presidency."
Still can't be allowed and if the other way round, well, you know what that would have been like.

You going very well - we were very disappointing and our decision making was very poor. Good luck for the rest of the campaign - we might lock horns again later in the year!

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 19/02/2023 18:59:23    2459151

Replying To dave1988:  "I won't lie I was probably looking at beating Monaghan Donegal and either mayo or Galway. Win next Sunday and are we looking at possibly a league final if we got a win against Donegal? 10 points could get a league final appearance"
Main thoughts is remaining in Div 1 its huge for the development of our youngest players. On six points at the moment and that total wasn't enough to keep us up in Div 1 2003 or more recently Cork in 2016. So once we have 7,8 points on the table I'll look to the bonus territory and i have no doubt the players and management are thinking the same.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 19/02/2023 19:13:15    2459163

Replying To dave1988:  "I won't lie I was probably looking at beating Monaghan Donegal and either mayo or Galway. Win next Sunday and are we looking at possibly a league final if we got a win against Donegal? 10 points could get a league final appearance"
Any chance ye be happy with the 6 points and let monaghan at it next week no lol

Well done on the league so far. You are the team to beat right now.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 19/02/2023 19:19:34    2459169

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Full time professionals woukd hardly have a regime like that."
Actually it's about right for senior club prep, never mind IC

Rossie2022 (Roscommon) - Posts: 26 - 19/02/2023 19:25:59    2459173

Roscommon were excellent today, played some really good football and it was exciting to watch compared to the sideways, backwards drivil armagh played, very disappointing to see attack minded players asked to play this way. Well done Roscommon management, great to see a county like yourselves playing so well, breath of fresh air.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 19/02/2023 19:45:03    2459180

Great grit from the lads today. Armagh had chances for goals but our backs were brilliant by and large. Ben O Carroll causes chaos when he runs at defences. Well done everyone involved. I have to say Armagh have some of the best and friendliest supporters I've ever come across. We've locked horns a few time's in recent years and I think ye are a credit to your county. Hope ye finish the league well and have a good championship.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 19/02/2023 21:03:28    2459224

Does anyone know what the attendance was? It wasn't announced

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 19/02/2023 21:33:14    2459233

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Great grit from the lads today. Armagh had chances for goals but our backs were brilliant by and large. Ben O Carroll causes chaos when he runs at defences. Well done everyone involved. I have to say Armagh have some of the best and friendliest supporters I've ever come across. We've locked horns a few time's in recent years and I think ye are a credit to your county. Hope ye finish the league well and have a good championship."
Agree fully. I think Armagh and Tyrone fans are a pleasure to chat to and they really appreciate good football even if the media tries to portray them as playing dour defensive football. Both counties possess some of the finest footballers in the country. I'm delighted our players are delivering at present also as I feel Ros produce as good a player as any. I think it's just lack of belief in themselves that lets them down when it matters

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 19/02/2023 21:44:57    2459238

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Does anyone know what the attendance was? It wasn't announced"
Ian Cooney in his report said over 8,000. I'd say over 10k.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 19/02/2023 21:46:04    2459239

Well done to Roscommon on three wins out of three in Division 1. Remember going to Hyde Park for a match which Down won by 5 or 6 points in Division 2 would have been 5 or 6 years ago. I think Roscommon still got promoted to Division 1 despite that defeat. Roscommon had a great support that day. Good luck to Roscommon for the rest of the year!!!

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 20/02/2023 09:10:39    2459266

Replying To The_analyser:  "Ian Cooney in his report said over 8,000. I'd say over 10k."
Do you think the game in The Hyde could be a sellout?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 20/02/2023 10:31:49    2459295

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Do you think the game in The Hyde could be a sellout?"
March 5th game I should have said!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 20/02/2023 10:57:09    2459309

Replying To GreenandRed:  "March 5th game I should have said!"
It has all the potential to be a sell-out or very close to it like the 2016 league clash (and thankfully we will have a pitch that will be playable this time). However, if both Mayo and Ros win next weekend, surely we will just see shadow boxing given that we lock horns with yourselves four weeks later.

GerBo (Roscommon) - Posts: 79 - 20/02/2023 11:53:48    2459326

Replying To GreenandRed:  "March 5th game I should have said!"
Will that feature 2 B teams shadow boxing?
Another good win yesterday as the Rosgraph continues to point upwards.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 20/02/2023 11:54:52    2459327

Replying To The_analyser:  "Ian Cooney in his report said over 8,000. I'd say over 10k."
It seem like there was more than 8k. What is actually the Hyde capacity now for these league games? They still don't seem to have fully finished the seating repairs.

The Mayo game will push it close to capacity surely.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 20/02/2023 12:17:02    2459337

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Great grit from the lads today. Armagh had chances for goals but our backs were brilliant by and large. Ben O Carroll causes chaos when he runs at defences. Well done everyone involved. I have to say Armagh have some of the best and friendliest supporters I've ever come across. We've locked horns a few time's in recent years and I think ye are a credit to your county. Hope ye finish the league well and have a good championship."
I'd agree completely about the Armagh supporters. They were brilliant before and after the game, when we played them in last year's quarter-final.
Full of chat and craic and brought great atmosphere to the game.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 20/02/2023 12:44:23    2459347

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "It seem like there was more than 8k. What is actually the Hyde capacity now for these league games? They still don't seem to have fully finished the seating repairs.

The Mayo game will push it close to capacity surely."
17k with unreserved seating. Another 2k for reserved seating for Championship games. Mayo game will be close to a sell out.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 20/02/2023 12:56:22    2459354