Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Full time professionals woukd hardly have a regime like that."
I'd say the footballers are doing something similar.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 15/02/2023 19:41:35    2458445

Replying To The_analyser:  "Was some issues with the use of the gym but i believe that was sorted out. Preparation was 2 days in the gym and 3 on the training pitch each week."
If that is true, that seems excessive for amateur players playing in the lower divisions. I would expect that some of these guys/hurlers are married with kids, which with a match at weekends would mean that they are tied up 6 days a week. Other players might well be students in their final year in college who are expected to study, prepare for examinations and do presentations, projects, individual and group assignments etc. That does not even take into consideration the travelling time to and from training & matches.
It was interesting recently in other counties to see the reaction of some managers and their expectations of players which was unrealistic in my opinion and may lead to player burnout:
* Colm O Rourke played some players on Sundays ⅕even though he knew that they had been involved in tough Sigerson Cup matches for several weeks. Some of these players are on sports scholarships and are expected and want to play Sigerson. One of these players pulled up with a hamstring problem and Colm is blaming the college rather than himself. Contrast that with Kevin McStay who tended to only bring on E.McLoughlin (U of Limerick) towards the end of games. Davy Burke did the same last week with Ben O' Carroll against Galway even though he was player of the match the previous week against Tyrone.
* Several Galway players (Kelly brothers, M. Tierney) did not get an adequate break in my opinion. Contrast that with David Clifford in Kerry who did not play the first two rounds of the league.
* Could not believe the Rory Gallagher demanded that some of the top Glen players were expected to play for Derry the week after possibly losing an All Ireland final. (Well before the dispute was settled). It was reported in one paper that he stated something like " They are Derry players now, and that's it".
I will finish with a quote from Gordon D'Arcy talking about Andy Farrell in todays Irish Times;

"Farrell is proof that if you coach the person behind the player then great things will follow"

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 505 - 15/02/2023 20:13:52    2458446

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Full time professionals woukd hardly have a regime like that."
Most senior club players have a regime like that from now until they are knocked out of championship?

Rossie88 (Roscommon) - Posts: 3 - 16/02/2023 09:21:25    2458464

Replying To keeper7:  "What's going on with the hurlers?"
Not having the best players available is just a cop out statement. This has the agruement for numerous years for Ros hurling. Just ask previous managers like Johnny Kelly and Johnny Keane.

Look I'm from a football club, so don't know the total ins and outs, but from the outside looking in, Ros hurling has been in a desperate state for years. The standard of club hurling is very poor. I was based in Tipperary for work last year and often attend junior club games for the club I trained with and the standard there was better. That's Tipps 4th tier.

The dual clubs have no more interest in hurling anymore, which is wrong. Some of them are totally deluated going all out trying to win senior football, when it's far more realistic winning the senior hurling. An effort should be put by those clubs for both.

I'm open to correction here, but to me the attitude of the sole hurling clubs isn't good enough. Look at Tooreen. They're no different to any club in Ros, but what they're achieved since 2017 deserves so much respect. I'm sorry but it makes Four Roads look embarrassing that they couldn't once win a Connacht during their 8 in a row spell (I know they had a few close calls, but still). Tooreen have put Ros clubs to shame to me. Clubs here are just happy to win the county and that's not ambitious enough. End of the day, it's not a major achievement to win a 7 team championship, compared to senior/intermediate/junior football, which has 12 teams. Senior football has 16 this year.

Surely the alarm bells had to go off a few weeks with the defeat to the Galway Development squad. They were made up of junior clubs and they basically hammered Ros and our county champions are meant to compete with the Galway Intermediate champs in Connacht club. Good god.

The county board has to do more also. They're should be a region club set up in other areas of the county in Castlerea, Boyle, Strokestown and Monksland, with their population. Let the surrounding clubs of those areas fed in and give every young lad a chance to play hurling in this county. Start at u10/u12s and work the way up. This will take years, probably a few decades, but in time seriously the standard will improve in this county. With this model, Ros should aim to be like Kildare, Carlow, Kerry and counties of that standard. Once apon a time, we regularly competed against those counties.

I'm sorry if hurling people find some of my comments harsh, but the reality is most other football people think the same as me.

I'm a proud Rossie, love both codes and want my county to do well in anything, but Ros hurling has a long long way to go.

GerBo (Roscommon) - Posts: 79 - 17/02/2023 10:57:31    2458628

Replying To GerBo:  "Not having the best players available is just a cop out statement. This has the agruement for numerous years for Ros hurling. Just ask previous managers like Johnny Kelly and Johnny Keane.

Look I'm from a football club, so don't know the total ins and outs, but from the outside looking in, Ros hurling has been in a desperate state for years. The standard of club hurling is very poor. I was based in Tipperary for work last year and often attend junior club games for the club I trained with and the standard there was better. That's Tipps 4th tier.

The dual clubs have no more interest in hurling anymore, which is wrong. Some of them are totally deluated going all out trying to win senior football, when it's far more realistic winning the senior hurling. An effort should be put by those clubs for both.

I'm open to correction here, but to me the attitude of the sole hurling clubs isn't good enough. Look at Tooreen. They're no different to any club in Ros, but what they're achieved since 2017 deserves so much respect. I'm sorry but it makes Four Roads look embarrassing that they couldn't once win a Connacht during their 8 in a row spell (I know they had a few close calls, but still). Tooreen have put Ros clubs to shame to me. Clubs here are just happy to win the county and that's not ambitious enough. End of the day, it's not a major achievement to win a 7 team championship, compared to senior/intermediate/junior football, which has 12 teams. Senior football has 16 this year.

Surely the alarm bells had to go off a few weeks with the defeat to the Galway Development squad. They were made up of junior clubs and they basically hammered Ros and our county champions are meant to compete with the Galway Intermediate champs in Connacht club. Good god.

The county board has to do more also. They're should be a region club set up in other areas of the county in Castlerea, Boyle, Strokestown and Monksland, with their population. Let the surrounding clubs of those areas fed in and give every young lad a chance to play hurling in this county. Start at u10/u12s and work the way up. This will take years, probably a few decades, but in time seriously the standard will improve in this county. With this model, Ros should aim to be like Kildare, Carlow, Kerry and counties of that standard. Once apon a time, we regularly competed against those counties.

I'm sorry if hurling people find some of my comments harsh, but the reality is most other football people think the same as me.

I'm a proud Rossie, love both codes and want my county to do well in anything, but Ros hurling has a long long way to go."
As an outsider looking in I'd agree with much of what you say. Firstly, I have to say most Roscommon hurling folk are salt-of-the earth, great people but the game isn't being developed because football is king.

One recent example, a certain Mr. McStay is supposed to have been instrumental in destroying a good minor hurling team in Roscommon Gaels. They do great work at underage in the Gaels but it's not coming through for them at senior. And the 2 Egan lads transferred to Ballygar.

Players from north Roscommon are actually hurling with Carrick-on-Shannon & there's no hurling around Strokestown or Castlerea.

It's a pity because, at one stage, Tremane, Oran, Four Roads & Athleague were able to compete in (& even occasionally win) the Connacht senior final every year. Like in my own county, hurling is just given 'enough rope to hang itself'. The hurling fraternity are doing their level best just to keep it from dying altogether.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 17/02/2023 11:50:25    2458646

Open to correction wasn't the Galway Development match Roscommons 3rd game in a week having played Sligo on a Monday, Leitrim on a Wednesday and then the final on a Saturday? a type of schedule a professional team would struggle with nevermind amateur hurling team.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 17/02/2023 16:18:26    2458715

Same starting team named and few changes made to bench with Donie and Lyons returning.

Conor Carroll (Oranmore/Maree)
Conor Hussey (Michael Glaveys)
Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Eoin McCormack (St Dominic's)
Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys)
Brian Stack (St Brigids)
Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Tadgh O'Rourke (Tulsk)
Keith Doyle (St Dominic's)
Robbie Dolan (St Brigids)
Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs)
Ciaran Lennon (Clann na nGael)
Daire Cregg (Boyle)
Conor Cox (Eire Og)
Enda Smith (Boyle)

Subs Colm Lavin (Eire Og) Donie Smith (Boyle) Colin Walsh (Oran) David Murray (Padraig Pearses) Richard Hughes (Roscommon Gaels) Ruaidhri Fallon (St Brigids) Ciarain Murtagh (St Faithleachs) Adam McDermott (Castlerea) Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses) Aengus Lyons (Fuerty) Ben O'Carroll (St Brigids)

I'll be surprised if we don't make a few changes to the starting team before throw in but regardless we should have plenty of impact sub options. Best of luck to Roscommon on Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 17/02/2023 20:50:39    2458746

The team is named for Sunday. Great history between Roscommon and Armagh. Not sure that Conor Cox should be starting. That may have run its course. Also Ciaran Lennon named to start. He has failed to convince when you compare him to the young lads like Ben O'Carroll and Daire Cregg.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 17/02/2023 20:52:09    2458747

Ciaran murtagh will/should start. Some brilliant games with armagh over last few years. Could be another great game. Big crowd to support the rossies hopefully

Upforthegame23 (Westmeath) - Posts: 81 - 18/02/2023 07:09:32    2458758

Replying To GerBo:  "Not having the best players available is just a cop out statement. This has the agruement for numerous years for Ros hurling. Just ask previous managers like Johnny Kelly and Johnny Keane.

I'm a proud Rossie, love both codes and want my county to do well in anything, but Ros hurling has a long long way to go."
Totally agree. It's very sad to see how far Roscommon hurling has fallen. I remember when we won the B All Ireland! We had some great players in the 90s and the clubs seemed to be strong. They seemed to be trying to get underage hurling going in parts that it wasn't strong in back then as well, I think Brigids and Faithleach's had underage teams but it's so long ago I could be wrong. Four Roads record during that 8 in a row spell speaks volumes. The past ten years now Roscommon teams have not just been losing but getting absolutely hammered by the Mayo champions which is normally Tooreen but the odd time Ballyhaunis. And Mayo with only two senior clubs for most of those years! Obviously they're doing great work in both places but especially Tooreen. This seems to have inspired huring across the county with about ten active hurling clubs now, not sure if they are all senior though.

You're right, some sort of divisional side would have helped hurling in north and west Roscommon and the Monksland-Kiltoom area. The duel clubs like Oran, Dominics and Roscommon Gaels are really getting squeezed now. Pearses seem to have the population to cope better.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 18/02/2023 10:47:33    2458787

Same line up as last day but you'd have to suspect there will have to be at least two changes. Tomorrow will bring a different test as Armagh are a bit more direct but that could play in Roscommons hands and leave gaps if we are brave enough to move the ball faster. The surprise element with us this year thus far iwll be long gone after the two week break and opposition will start to scrutinise our weaknesses a lot more and the lack of tackling in first two matches will be focused on. All right having men back but I'd they can't stop runners the the faster ground could cause up problems.

While we only need two more points to ensure safety the next 3 weekends are crucial. Get a win amd start experimenting for remainder of league but lose 3 in a row and its a relegation battle going into championship which certainly wouldn't be a bad thing you'd think for opening gane coming in primed. May be costly later in year though.

TOR hasn't trained all week so may be a change required in midfield which could see Enda deployed there but he or Doyle would be able to run with Campbell. Ciaran Lennon is doing a selfless job for the team playing out of position. You'd fancy Ciaran Murtagh tonstart and tbh it's tine as we are only 7 weeks from championship.

Should be a huge crowd in Hyde. TV may take some away from the gate and I'd expect a big Armagh support who always travel in numbers. Be interesting tonsee if the new president is in attendance.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 18/02/2023 13:20:44    2458830

Was encouraging against Galway last week but less so by our U20s today v Laois in Portlaoise today.

Credit to our lads to earn a draw (0-8 each) when 4 points behind at half time. Our bench impact which included Roscommon CBS returning played their part.

Last years minor keeper Sean Kelly was given a start and did well including some smart saves. At a guess we had 65% possession of the ball and on top in the middle of the field but were very wasteful with our shooting and shot selection 1st half and for a 2nd weekend in a row relied too much on Colleran, Nugent for scores.

A number of players still have to feature that would be considered championship starters if fit. Cork away in two weeks, a win there will put us into the John Kerins league final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 18/02/2023 16:10:36    2458871

Best of luck to Davy and the lads today against Armagh. Can't wait to get going into it. Big Armagh crowd expected so hopefully the Rossies come out in huge numbers also and we roar our team onto success. Nice dry day for it but no doubt the breeze will be blowing diagonally across the pitch so whoever wins the toss will have a big decision to make. Strangely we always seem to play better against the wind so might be no harm if we play with the wind in the first half. RosComáin abú

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 19/02/2023 12:07:18    2458999

Another great and well deserved win with still plenty of room for improvement. Once we went in front 2nd half we never looked like losing. Plenty o composure and patience play from us. A number of very good individual performances on a top team display.

Hands up who thought we'd have 3 wins from 3 games? A hard working group of players getting their just rewards! Looking forward to our trip to Clones already.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 19/02/2023 16:49:50    2459065

Good win today folks - fair play.

Very disappointed with the behaviour of your physio today.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 19/02/2023 17:25:38    2459086

Some great fielding by Roscommon particularly in the second half . Conor Daly was excellent. Conor Cox should have passed for the goal chance. Luckily it didn't matter but on another day. Great to be top of Division 1 unbeaten. Well done players and the new Management.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 19/02/2023 17:30:04    2459088

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Good win today folks - fair play.

Very disappointed with the behaviour of your physio today."
What did he do

sandyroad (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 19/02/2023 17:31:48    2459089

This was going to a test against a very organised team, we individually grinded them down, serious performance from c Daly for goal saving block and scores and Robbie Dolan was brilliant was well #rossieabu

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 19/02/2023 17:38:00    2459092

Replying To sandyroad:  "What did he do"
Entered pitch to treat a player and pushed an Armagh player.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 19/02/2023 17:40:42    2459095

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Good win today folks - fair play.

Very disappointed with the behaviour of your physio today."
An old fashioned shoulder was it. The better team won. Hope new President Jarlath Burns enjoyed his visit to The Hyde. Best of luck for his Presidency.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 19/02/2023 17:46:08    2459100