Galway Football thread

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The day to prove that was at the semifinal just two weeks ago, and not with worthless waffling on here."
I don't know if there was much proved in general.
Flukey goal and it was an awful second half with two teams scared to go for it. A Galway team in the last chance saloon fell over the line against a Donegal team in there first year under new management.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 26/07/2024 14:12:44    2561768

Replying To JahTribe:  "There is no guarantee Donegal will be as successful next year and that's why McGuinness was so disappointed after the semi. Dublin will always be there, Kerry and Mayo are on a downward trend at present but Tyrone has a good team coming down the tracks. Hard to know with Derry but under new management and with good young teams coming they will be there."
Fair comment, there is no guarantee you're right, chance was there for both teams and Galway got over the line.
Kerry and Mayo are never going to go too far down the list.
Tyrone potentially do have a good team coming but been hearing that for a few years now.
Would agree its hard to know with Derry, they could have missed the boat.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 26/07/2024 14:18:10    2561771

Replying To GDL:  "Claire, put the phone away, Ha!"
Who is Claire?
You disagree?

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 26/07/2024 14:25:17    2561775

Replying To S1234:  "Again seriously don't know who this clare one is your on about or this so called blog weirdos. I replied as I'm always being accused of being this so called clare one so it's very curious to know who clare actually is.."
Claire is busy spitting venom over on the MayoGaaBLog. Hard to understand how anyone could be so bitter. she won't be watching the final but spending the week trolling blogs criticising Galway in any way she can. We all get rivalry but this is a bit insane.
Anyways, time to bring Sam back to Connaught since we can't rely on the loud Mayo folks to do it.

Boomerz (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 26/07/2024 14:56:41    2561792

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Dublin, Mayo, Kerry, Derry and Tyrone all underperformed this year.
Donegal 1st year with Jim back, Galway scraped over the line because of a fluky goal and Donegal being overcatious in the 2nd half, they will be much better next year.

I would have these teams and in fairness Galway and Armagh as the top 8.

I would have Galway and Tyrone a bit behind the other 6 though."
Clare from the Mayo GAA Blog is taking this All Ireland final build bad isn't she?

As for "under performing" Dublin were beaten in a fine margin contest by Galway much like your own Mayo beat them in 2021. Tyrone have only performed well the year they won it in recent years. Mayo prior to this year were well beaten in their last two AI Quarter finals. Kerry was lucky to get over the line v Derry at the last 4 stage last year and Armagh did what Derry didn't do by reaching the final.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 175 - 26/07/2024 15:06:30    2561797

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Clare from the Mayo GAA Blog is taking this All Ireland final build bad isn't she?

As for "under performing" Dublin were beaten in a fine margin contest by Galway much like your own Mayo beat them in 2021. Tyrone have only performed well the year they won it in recent years. Mayo prior to this year were well beaten in their last two AI Quarter finals. Kerry was lucky to get over the line v Derry at the last 4 stage last year and Armagh did what Derry didn't do by reaching the final."
Yes, thats what I said.
Dublin underperformed in losing to Galway.
Tyrone like Galway are a bit behind the others and havent really performed at all since winning the all ireland.
Mayo have been beaten by the other top teams in QFs last few years and didnt make the quarters this year so underperformed.
Kerry reached the final the last couple of years so underperformed, Derry were in line to do what Armagh have done early in the year but underperformed in the championship.

Sounds like we ageee

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 26/07/2024 15:27:32    2561804

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Yes, thats what I said.
Tyrone like Galway are a bit behind the others and havent really performed at all since winning the all ireland.
Mayo have been beaten by the other top teams in QFs last few years and didnt make the quarters this year so underperformed.
Kerry reached the final the last couple of years so underperformed, Derry were in line to do what Armagh have done early in the year but underperformed in the championship.

Sounds like we ageee"
When you lose. you underperform. When you win all your championship games, you win Sam. Sounds like we agree.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 26/07/2024 15:43:25    2561810

Sounds like we ageee"
Saying a team underperformed is an excuse for not being good enough on the day. Suck it up, move on and hope to over-perform the next time! As for the goal that Donegal let it, whoever was supposed to be marking Tierney, definitely underperformed at that moment, he seemed to be more interested in the crowd than what was happening on the field. I wouldn't blame the goalkeeper for it, and Tierney played a blinder in the square, if you get my meaning!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 26/07/2024 15:52:10    2561812

Sounds like we ageee"
Grand so Galway have been in 2 or the last 3 all Irelands, but all the teams they beat such as Dublin, Donegal, Mayo x2, Derry x2 all underperformed when they played Galway?

Who was the best team Donegal beat all year? Derry?

Dublin played great football in the first half versus Galway and an injury ridden Galway on their third game in 13 days took them apart in the second half. No other county outside of Kerry has anything like that on the CV recently

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 233 - 26/07/2024 15:53:28    2561815

Best of luck to Galway on Sunday. I hope ye do it and bring Sam West

boomerang (Mayo) - Posts: 51 - 26/07/2024 16:34:47    2561826

Replying To PressureKick:  "Grand so Galway have been in 2 or the last 3 all Irelands, but all the teams they beat such as Dublin, Donegal, Mayo x2, Derry x2 all underperformed when they played Galway?

Who was the best team Donegal beat all year? Derry?

Dublin played great football in the first half versus Galway and an injury ridden Galway on their third game in 13 days took them apart in the second half. No other county outside of Kerry has anything like that on the CV recently"
Yes I agree.
Dublin should have been 10 or 12 points up on Galway in the first half.
The big gulf in ability was evened out and then tipped in Galways favour in the second half because of the old Dublin legs.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 26/07/2024 17:09:48    2561834

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "Saying a team underperformed is an excuse for not being good enough on the day. Suck it up, move on and hope to over-perform the next time! As for the goal that Donegal let it, whoever was supposed to be marking Tierney, definitely underperformed at that moment, he seemed to be more interested in the crowd than what was happening on the field. I wouldn't blame the goalkeeper for it, and Tierney played a blinder in the square, if you get my meaning!"
Definetely the Keepers fault in my opinion. He comes out and claims it instead of waiting on it, there would be no issue.
High balls can be Pattons weakness but then he has one of, if not the best kickout in the country so you can't criticise him too much for that error.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 26/07/2024 17:14:54    2561835

Sounds like we ageee"
I don't agree and I don't believe you agree with yourself as it's WUM remarks and I'm in the mood to bite.

Now let's deal with facts.

Dublin didn't under perform v Galway, they lost a fine margin contest which they also did in 2021 v Mayo and 2022 v Kerry.

Tyrone championship form since winning the AI in 2021 puts them a good bit behind Galway, not under
performing simply their level at the moment.

Mayo level is what it is at the moment would be over performing had they reached the last 4 in any of the last 3 years.

Kerry performance in the semi final was similar v Derry and Armagh luck to win one of them that luck ran out this year.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 175 - 26/07/2024 17:39:39    2561840

Sounds like we ageee"
Sure you could go back on any year bar maybe the Dubs at their pomp and say sure this and that team underperformed and thats why such and such won the AI. Any team that wins the AI now earns it. There has never been as many matches and hoops to jump through to get to a final. Galway won Connacht, then came through a very tough group unbeaten but coming second so had the added hurdle of a prelim QF. Then bet the defending champions (despite everything against them in terms of injuries and turnaround time from the Monaghan game) and then bet a very good McGuinness Donegal team.

Mayo didn't just underperfom. That makes it sound like it was a once off. Mayo have been on a downward trend since 2021 due to a crop of brilliant players being replaced by a group who just aren't of the same quality.

Galway and Tyrone are nothing like each other. Tyrone are all over the place at the moment trying to transition with young lads coming through. Galway are a very settled side, pretty much the 2022 team but with much more depth added.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 26/07/2024 18:07:18    2561845

Replying To Commodore:  "Not sure, possibly boxes bought for 10 years? Not sure tbh.

I think the GAA needs a rethink for All Ireland finals, competing Counties should get 30,000 tickets each, then break the remainder down among Sponsors or others."
Hoping you can advise me Commodore

I am coming to Galway tomorrow for the Racing Festival.

I was promised a ticket to go to Dublin on Sunday by a well connected friend. Unfortunately he was let down

Would you happen to know if there will be ticket touts outside Croke Park on Sunday?

Thank you in advance for any advise or help you can give

Thebaldeast (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 26/07/2024 18:47:38    2561850