Galway Football thread

Replying To hashtag2017:  "Anyone else agree that the Sunday Game analysis of the our game yesterday was an absolute joke. Spoke about the Leitrim footballers and not once did they speak about our great performance."
Ah stop it was a joke
But you know whatt its no harm
The last thing we need is the media hype
Galway footballers need to mentally focused from now on
Kepp our heads down and keep winning

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 09/05/2022 10:06:55    2415807

Replying To Mayonman:  "Due to the nature of the opposition I wouldn't classify our performance as great however I take your point. No proper analysis.

I didn't expect anything else. After beating Mayo Cavanagh was on about Galway having Michael Daly and others to come back! Obviously we are an after thought but no harm. Lets keep it rolling and shock one of the so called big guns.

To put our performance into context Donegal struggled against a D4 team.

The All Ireland draw this year is made for the Connacht champions. So be it ourselves or the Rossies, there is a great chance to get to an all Ireland final. Dublin and Kerry are on the opposite side. While some will say I'm getting carried away, I don't believe I am. We have plenty of weaknesses and are far from the finished article.......but the same applies to everyone else on our side of the draw. Lots of potential teams I would categorize as 50/50 games."
If you're getting fully 'into context' there, it would probably be wise to remember that Cavan were Ulster champions in 2020, while Leitrim were Connacht kingpins in 1994!! It's anybody's guess what Cavan were doing in D4 in 2022, but to associate 'their level' with their NFL table position, might be to miss a trick.

Galway owe Ros big time for the Connacht Final losses of 2017 & 2019 in Salthill. It's long overdue that the home team wins one of these Galway/Ros Connacht finals. It'll be the 6th final game between these sides in 7 seasons, and the home team record so far is 0 wins, 1 draw & 4 losses, albeit Ros did lose a 'home game' in Castlebar back in '16.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 09/05/2022 12:46:11    2415910

Replying To Mayonman:  "Due to the nature of the opposition I wouldn't classify our performance as great however I take your point. No proper analysis.

I didn't expect anything else. After beating Mayo Cavanagh was on about Galway having Michael Daly and others to come back! Obviously we are an after thought but no harm. Lets keep it rolling and shock one of the so called big guns.

The All Ireland draw this year is made for the Connacht champions. So be it ourselves or the Rossies, there is a great chance to get to an all Ireland final. Dublin and Kerry are on the opposite side. While some will say I'm getting carried away, I don't believe I am. We have plenty of weaknesses and are far from the finished article.......but the same applies to everyone else on our side of the draw. Lots of potential teams I would categorize as 50/50 games."
You are getting carried away. The Connacht winner could well draw the likes of rejuvenated Mayo or Tyrone both who have the vast experience of reaching All-Ireland semi finals in the last decade compared to both Roscommon or Galway.

You need to focus more on just this Connacht final. A Provincial title to go along with promotion back to Division 1 equals a good season.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 09/05/2022 13:59:01    2415947

Not getting carried away one bit. Ye beat us well in McHale Park, if ever a scoreline did not reflect the game that was it. Too much reporting on us losing rather than how well Galway played. Take care that the win will give ye a boost in confidence, the cheek of it! Or that Shane Walsh will be fully fit, that Damien Comer will be back to his best getting a run of games injury free, that your defence has much-improved. Sports people think about the positives and what they need to do to win games. Some supporters think a bit more negatively, probably why we're supporters and not playing at that level. Better to be confident and confident that you'll keep improving than listen to naysayers, but be motivated enough to shut the naysayers up.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 09/05/2022 14:36:45    2415969

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "You are getting carried away. The Connacht winner could well draw the likes of rejuvenated Mayo or Tyrone both who have the vast experience of reaching All-Ireland semi finals in the last decade compared to both Roscommon or Galway.

You need to focus more on just this Connacht final. A Provincial title to go along with promotion back to Division 1 equals a good season."
Simple point is that they would be winnable for either ourselves or Rossies (losable too!). There's a bunch of counties on a given day can beat each other. I would place Dublin and Kerry a level above but the rest have been shown to have their issues, as we have, on different days.

Don't think any sane Galway person would take Rossies for granted.

Anyway the players need to concentrate on one game at a time but the supporters can dream!!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 09/05/2022 15:19:22    2416001

Probably mentioned but PJ confirmed on GBFM that McLaughlin is out of the remainder of the championship. Getting surgery on a quad injury. Pity he's never strung a few games together yet for Galway due to niggling injuries. Still plenty of time of his side though at his age. Not a huge amount of options in midfield with Cooke unavailable and McLaughlin injured. Maybe why they gave McDaid a run out there yesterday. Would have the legs and athleticism for it but probably not much of a ball winner.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 09/05/2022 19:22:12    2416061

Anyone that would take Roscommon for granted would want their footballing head examined!
Roscommon are gunning for this Connacht title. Outside of their potent forwards, they're planning to bring huge physicality with the likes of the Dalys and Enda Smith being genuine hard men - they and others can hit seriously hard and play with real ferocity. They're planning to out fight us. They're also planning to consistently outfield us and feel they've a real advantage in the aerial battle.
Enda Smith always seems to raise his game against Galway. Nullifying his influence and powerful running is critical to our chances of taking this.
This will be a huge battle. Hope the Galway support wakes up and see we could be building something here and the lads merit our support - and not from the couch with the remote control or the radio.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 10/05/2022 09:40:05    2416114

Replying To togoutlads:  "Anyone that would take Roscommon for granted would want their footballing head examined!
Roscommon are gunning for this Connacht title. Outside of their potent forwards, they're planning to bring huge physicality with the likes of the Dalys and Enda Smith being genuine hard men - they and others can hit seriously hard and play with real ferocity. They're planning to out fight us. They're also planning to consistently outfield us and feel they've a real advantage in the aerial battle.
Enda Smith always seems to raise his game against Galway. Nullifying his influence and powerful running is critical to our chances of taking this.
This will be a huge battle. Hope the Galway support wakes up and see we could be building something here and the lads merit our support - and not from the couch with the remote control or the radio."
Yes its a 50/50 game at best for Galway as Roscommon seem to enjoy playing Galway more than Mayo in these big games especially when Galway play at home and seem to play better for whatever reason against Galway. It will be a dogfight for sure.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 10/05/2022 11:16:50    2416176

Replying To Marooned:  "Probably mentioned but PJ confirmed on GBFM that McLaughlin is out of the remainder of the championship. Getting surgery on a quad injury. Pity he's never strung a few games together yet for Galway due to niggling injuries. Still plenty of time of his side though at his age. Not a huge amount of options in midfield with Cooke unavailable and McLaughlin injured. Maybe why they gave McDaid a run out there yesterday. Would have the legs and athleticism for it but probably not much of a ball winner."
Pity about McLaughlin. Huge potential. Hopefully not a serious issue and will be back next year all guns blazing.

McDaid was impressive last week and also against Mayo. I know we can't read too much into last week but he kicked some monsters and even his point under pressure against Mayo was top notch. It seems like he has never had a proper uninterrupted run since he came back from Aus. I'm hoping he could be the break out player we were not expecting this year. Would be a huge bonus to us if he finally fulfils his potential.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 10/05/2022 11:17:23    2416178

Replying To Mayonman:  "Pity about McLaughlin. Huge potential. Hopefully not a serious issue and will be back next year all guns blazing.

McDaid was impressive last week and also against Mayo. I know we can't read too much into last week but he kicked some monsters and even his point under pressure against Mayo was top notch. It seems like he has never had a proper uninterrupted run since he came back from Aus. I'm hoping he could be the break out player we were not expecting this year. Would be a huge bonus to us if he finally fulfils his potential."
Yes for the last couple of years I thought McDaid was over-rated as he is not a particularly good defender or fielder of a high ball but with the ball in hand he is direct and hard to stop so floating around the midfield diamond / half forward line picking up possession / driving forward seems to be his most effective role and of course he is injury free now which helps.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 10/05/2022 11:26:00    2416183

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Prediction for this weekend. Looks like sunny weather and I expect Andy Moran to foolishly play open brand of football. Both will allow Galway to win at their ease.

Galway 4-20 Leitrim 1-10

Scorers for Galway: D Comer 2-2,Shane Walsh 1-6, J Heaney 1-1,P Conroy 0-3, R Finnerty 0-3, M Tierney 0-3,K Molloy 0-1,D Conneely 0-1

Leitrim for Leitrim: K Beirne 0-5,D Wrynn 1-1, R O Rourke 0-2,D Rooney 0-2"
To be fair to you , you got a lot right , and a lot close.
Galway 4-20 ..spot on
Rob Finnerty 0-3 spot on
Dessie Connelly 0-1 spot on
R. O Rourke 0-2 spot on ( will give you the benefit of the correct ROR)

Leitrim 0-9 versus 1-10 ( not a million miles away)
Paul Conroy 0-2 instead of 0-3
S Walsh 0-6 instead if 1-6
J. Heaney 0-1 instead of 1-1

Well done

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 10/05/2022 15:36:25    2416308

The topic here is the elephant in the room (or perhaps not in the room!) - Galway football support is not showing up to games and is simply pathetic.
Fair play to Waterford hurling manager Liam Cahill on openly appealing in the press today to his county's supporters to come out and cheer on their team, to travel in their droves and raise the roof off the place when Cork come to visit. He said he and the team commit to give them something to cheer in return. He's clearly sickened by the small crowds and poor backing from fans.
I've been biting my tongue on the issue of Galway football support for a long time but I'm not going to put a tooth in it. Bar the same couple of thousand of us that attend most galway senior matches (we all half know each other at this stage!) the vast majority of the Galway football and broader Galway GAA fraternity are amongst the laziest, apathetic and negative so called supporters in the country. Most on this forum don't go, that's clear as day. When we go, a convent of Poor Clares would make more noise than us. Our millennials don't support anyone or anything here, where are the thousands of lads and girls in their early twenties and late teens that used to be a demographic that supported Galway in massive numbers in the past? That's where the noise and energy come from that players feed off. Where are the clubs organising groups of young people to attend. Where's the bit of needed support from the hurling side of the county? They can't say it's not entertaining anymore as our footballers score more than our hurlers most days!
Tens of thousands of Galway people all have enough money for a damn ticket - don't give me that ticket price canard! We're doing our players a disservice. I guarantee you there's another 30% or more in some of those lads if they had a Galway crowd roaring them on. I'm not working for the ticket sales department, I'm merely saying that it's time Galway GAA people got off their backsides and paid the few quid to support these lads who are busting a gut and putting in the performances for the famous Maroon and White. Stop talking about teams of the past and get in the present, help these lads create their own legacy. Galway football support is, percentage of population wise, amongst the very poorest in the country at the moment. Our clubs need to stir up interest, our local press need to build it up bigger and get crowds engaged. Would a Connacht final or any Galway match even be mentioned in our primary and secondary schools? What are our Treasurers and PROs doing to stir up interest? I could go on! Wake the hell up, Galway, and get some noise and energy back in the terraces and in the stand - as things stand, it's just shameful.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 11/05/2022 10:06:55    2416416

Replying To togoutlads:  "The topic here is the elephant in the room (or perhaps not in the room!) - Galway football support is not showing up to games and is simply pathetic.
Fair play to Waterford hurling manager Liam Cahill on openly appealing in the press today to his county's supporters to come out and cheer on their team, to travel in their droves and raise the roof off the place when Cork come to visit. He said he and the team commit to give them something to cheer in return. He's clearly sickened by the small crowds and poor backing from fans.
I've been biting my tongue on the issue of Galway football support for a long time but I'm not going to put a tooth in it. Bar the same couple of thousand of us that attend most galway senior matches (we all half know each other at this stage!) the vast majority of the Galway football and broader Galway GAA fraternity are amongst the laziest, apathetic and negative so called supporters in the country. Most on this forum don't go, that's clear as day. When we go, a convent of Poor Clares would make more noise than us. Our millennials don't support anyone or anything here, where are the thousands of lads and girls in their early twenties and late teens that used to be a demographic that supported Galway in massive numbers in the past? That's where the noise and energy come from that players feed off. Where are the clubs organising groups of young people to attend. Where's the bit of needed support from the hurling side of the county? They can't say it's not entertaining anymore as our footballers score more than our hurlers most days!
Tens of thousands of Galway people all have enough money for a damn ticket - don't give me that ticket price canard! We're doing our players a disservice. I guarantee you there's another 30% or more in some of those lads if they had a Galway crowd roaring them on. I'm not working for the ticket sales department, I'm merely saying that it's time Galway GAA people got off their backsides and paid the few quid to support these lads who are busting a gut and putting in the performances for the famous Maroon and White. Stop talking about teams of the past and get in the present, help these lads create their own legacy. Galway football support is, percentage of population wise, amongst the very poorest in the country at the moment. Our clubs need to stir up interest, our local press need to build it up bigger and get crowds engaged. Would a Connacht final or any Galway match even be mentioned in our primary and secondary schools? What are our Treasurers and PROs doing to stir up interest? I could go on! Wake the hell up, Galway, and get some noise and energy back in the terraces and in the stand - as things stand, it's just shameful."
One of the best posts I have read in a long time. Nail on the head.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 11/05/2022 10:22:44    2416425

Replying To togoutlads:  "The topic here is the elephant in the room (or perhaps not in the room!) - Galway football support is not showing up to games and is simply pathetic.
Tens of thousands of Galway people all have enough money for a damn ticket - don't give me that ticket price canard! We're doing our players a disservice. I guarantee you there's another 30% or more in some of those lads if they had a Galway crowd roaring them on. I'm not working for the ticket sales department, I'm merely saying that it's time Galway GAA people got off their backsides and paid the few quid to support these lads who are busting a gut and putting in the performances for the famous Maroon and White. Stop talking about teams of the past and get in the present, help these lads create their own legacy. Galway football support is, percentage of population wise, amongst the very poorest in the country at the moment. Our clubs need to stir up interest, our local press need to build it up bigger and get crowds engaged. Would a Connacht final or any Galway match even be mentioned in our primary and secondary schools? What are our Treasurers and PROs doing to stir up interest? I could go on! Wake the hell up, Galway, and get some noise and energy back in the terraces and in the stand - as things stand, it's just shameful."
That is true - it seemed Leitrim which has the smallest population in Ireland had more supporters in Pearse Stadium the last day or at least the noise levels seemed greater when they scored. Not sure where this apathy has come from - fair enough Galway have been inconsistent to say the least in the last 20 years or so but this team seems to be going places at last so they are entitled to more support and noise from fans even though Galway fans are not the noisiest in the world at the best of times.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 11/05/2022 10:30:32    2416428

I'm afraid you are 100% right

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 304 - 11/05/2022 11:02:40    2416439

A lot of what you say is correct. There are reasons for this some which you have articulated well. The GAA don't do PR well and the disconnect between schools/clubs and the county set up is stark in terms of promoting games, providing packages etc. I always wonder if we were a one code county (either football or hurling) would our support be more consistent or would the hardcore number be bigger. In fairness the hurling side have had their bad days support wise as well but hurling does capture the hearts and minds of the casual Galway fan more easily and I can only put thus down to the fact it is a better game to watch from that cohort's perspective. I know you have no time for the ticket price issue but I guarantee you if the prices were halved last weekend the attendance would have been doubled. 30 blip for a ticket was a bit much purely from a value perspective given that it had all the hallmarks of a turkey shoot. Mind you for all the talk of the great value to be had at the Gal KK hurling match I thought the crowd would be bigger. You also mention we must be one of the poorest supported football counties. In fairness you would have to take away large swathes of the county who have little interest in football. I think that honour would have to go to Cork. Speaking to a local at the Cork Galway league game in PUC back in February he bemoaned how poorly supported his team has been for a long time and also how 80% of the crowd left after the hurling when Cork played Clare in a league double bill some weeks before our match.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/05/2022 11:08:35    2416440

Replying To togoutlads:  "Anyone that would take Roscommon for granted would want their footballing head examined!
This will be a huge battle. Hope the Galway support wakes up and see we could be building something here and the lads merit our support - and not from the couch with the remote control or the radio."
Am with you here. Anyone who can remember a very decent Ros midfielder from the late '80' early '90's called John Newton will recall like Smith he always raised his game for Galway. Also as you noted the Dalys will hit us hard and one of them (cannot recall which one) dogged Shane Walsh in 2019 (a game we were coasting until half time). Ros rightly so believe they will beat us so we must be ready and ready for a war of attrition.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/05/2022 11:12:23    2416443

I agree fully with your sentiment. But unfortunately no amount of rallying calls or trying to get people to go to games out either of a sense of loyalty to the county or a sense of guilt if they don't support players who deserve it, will rectify this.
We live in a consumer driven society and people make decisions on how to spend their time and money based on the perceived utility/enjoyment that they will get in return. People go to Mayo games in their droves because they are mighty craic, because of the football and the atmospheric entertainment , as well as the pre and post game banter. This makes it worth the commitment. None of these people are there out of loyalty to the players. To some extent there is a bit of a chicken and egg situation. People go to games because they are good fun; the games are good fun because lots of people go to them.
We probably need a catalyst to kick that circle off, a run to an All Ireland final playing entertaining football would certainly help. This year so far we are playing the entertaining football and we are heading in the best path possible to reach an AI final. Maybe this is the year. Here's hoping.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 11/05/2022 11:20:29    2416446

I think post-Covid crowds in general are down, not just us, the 'floating' fans haven't yet returned. Was quite disappointed with the attendance for the KK game last week; place was packed 4 years ago for the same fixture if I recall. Maybe the slow weather is also a factor? Saturday week's match with Dublin should be a barometer of sorts I guess.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 11/05/2022 11:37:07    2416452

Replying To Triffic:  "I think post-Covid crowds in general are down, not just us, the 'floating' fans haven't yet returned. Was quite disappointed with the attendance for the KK game last week; place was packed 4 years ago for the same fixture if I recall. Maybe the slow weather is also a factor? Saturday week's match with Dublin should be a barometer of sorts I guess."
When you say "slow weather" what do you mean as apart from the last couple of days when it has been showery the weather has been very sunny and warm (for the time of year at least) so much so that Irish Water are already talking about conserving water and possible hose-pipe bans?!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 11/05/2022 13:10:09    2416485