Galway Football thread

Replying To Mayonman:  "I wouldn't experiment much. Just tweak.

Maybe Fitzgerald or McGlaughlin, if they are contenders for a place this year give them game time. I would try and nail down our system and work on KO strategy. No point in wholesale changes"
Mc loughlin. No G is out...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/05/2022 19:27:52    2414745

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Prediction for this weekend. Looks like sunny weather and I expect Andy Moran to foolishly play open brand of football. Both will allow Galway to win at their ease.

Galway 4-20 Leitrim 1-10

Scorers for Galway: D Comer 2-2,Shane Walsh 1-6, J Heaney 1-1,P Conroy 0-3, R Finnerty 0-3, M Tierney 0-3,K Molloy 0-1,D Conneely 0-1

Leitrim for Leitrim: K Beirne 0-5,D Wrynn 1-1, R O Rourke 0-2,D Rooney 0-2"
And the lotto numbers for Saturday night will be 4, 7,19,22,29,33 , with bonus number 6.
About the same chance.
But will be interesting to see how many of the elements of your prediction are correct ( or close).
Fair play to you for having a go.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 04/05/2022 09:22:58    2414776

Replying To gbay:  "to be fair lads sligo played with 14 men for practically 60 minutes..
roscommon would have won anyway.,no douth about it..
roscommon are well fancied for connacht and colm boyle tipped them sunday night to win it..

but first we need to beat leitrim..
the standards have ben set now by the lads on the field and they need to build on top of that now.,
need another strong solid performance to build confidence for the conn final if we win it...
lets hope for no further injuries..
if shane isent right id keep him in reserve..
id love to see macloughlin make his debut..
maybe play fitzgerald full back and play kelly up the pitch or possibly sweeper if needed..
we might see mcdaid start at 10.,he needs a full game for fitness..
i think niall daly will start but at midfield along with conroy and move tierney to 11..

anybody no what the story is with flaherty?
if he is fit id go with.

1.flaherty
2.glynn
3.fitzgerald
4.silke
5.mchugh
6.daly
7.molloy
8.N.daly
9.conroy
10.mcdaid
11.tierney
12.S.kelly
13.finnerty
14.comer
15.dessie

subs., gleeson.,mcgrath.,sweeney.,gill.,p.,kelly.,heaney.,macloughlin.,shane.,tomo.,gallagher.,p kelly."
I'm very concerned about the lack of form shown by Tierney in particular and Finnerty to an extent also. They seem to "go missing" in big games like against Mayo the last day and I would seriously question their inclusion in the starting 15 ahead of the likes of Kelly, McLoughlin, Conneely or Culhane who seemed to be much more effective so far given the little game time they have been getting. What do others think?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 04/05/2022 14:51:25    2414866

Replying To tommy k:  "I'm very concerned about the lack of form shown by Tierney in particular and Finnerty to an extent also. They seem to "go missing" in big games like against Mayo the last day and I would seriously question their inclusion in the starting 15 ahead of the likes of Kelly, McLoughlin, Conneely or Culhane who seemed to be much more effective so far given the little game time they have been getting. What do others think?"
Finnerty got a score, won a free which Shane Walsh scored from and and had a lovely flick to Sean Kelly late in the 1st half. Other then that I can't remember him on the ball, the system Galway played meant Finnerty wasn't going to get on much ball. I'm always critical of Finnerty but he's the best option currently.

Tierney wasn't great the last day but he came off after 65 minutes which coincided with Galway getting cleaned from kickouts.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 04/05/2022 15:54:33    2414890

Lads thoughts on the 30€ ticket prices for this Sundays game against Leitrim?

I believe last Sunday in Salthill Galway vs Kilkenny was priced 10 to 15€.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 04/05/2022 18:00:01    2414919

Can't see Galway making many changes maybe Dessie for Finnerty otherwise I would not , think McLaughlin out for rest of year , can't see Fitzgerald making bench at all

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 04/05/2022 18:01:58    2414920

Replying To The_analyser:  "Lads thoughts on the 30€ ticket prices for this Sundays game against Leitrim?

I believe last Sunday in Salthill Galway vs Kilkenny was priced 10 to 15€."
That's madness. Terrace tickets were €10 for the Kilkenny game. The argument seems to be that one was a round robin game and the other is a provincial semi final, but we know well which was the bigger game.
€30 is a rip-off for a Connacht semi. The crowd will be small enough as it is.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 05/05/2022 11:42:41    2415017

Replying To Kickitout:  "Can't see Galway making many changes maybe Dessie for Finnerty otherwise I would not , think McLaughlin out for rest of year , can't see Fitzgerald making bench at all"
McLaughlin has missed a lot of football in recent years, not sure if its been the same injury. Its a shame he can't stay fit as I'd have expected him to have been heavily involved this year.

Fitzgerald did himself no favours in the league final, might not get another chance for a while.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 05/05/2022 12:09:24    2415025

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's madness. Terrace tickets were €10 for the Kilkenny game. The argument seems to be that one was a round robin game and the other is a provincial semi final, but we know well which was the bigger game.
€30 is a rip-off for a Connacht semi. The crowd will be small enough as it is."
They're fairly taking the mick on the ticket prices for this when compared with the hurling. Silly. It has put some families off attending. Going to go but not fair that there's such a price discrepancy versus the hurling.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 05/05/2022 17:10:44    2415110

Replying To tommy k:  "I'm very concerned about the lack of form shown by Tierney in particular and Finnerty to an extent also. They seem to "go missing" in big games like against Mayo the last day and I would seriously question their inclusion in the starting 15 ahead of the likes of Kelly, McLoughlin, Conneely or Culhane who seemed to be much more effective so far given the little game time they have been getting. What do others think?"
Tierney and Finnerty appear to lack the sheer pace for inter county. Perhaps Tierney more so on pace and Finnerty on running stamina. I hate criticising these brilliant young lads but Tierney in particular seems ponderous in his movement at times, though he's a great footballer in so many facets of his game. I know real pace is hard to achieve in certain lads that don't naturally have it but there are lots of well known ways to make significant percentage gains in pace which have been coached all over the world for years, across multiple sports. I wonder if we're specifically working on these weak areas enough to help these lads make those necessary gains.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 05/05/2022 17:20:29    2415114

I've been on before about this subject before so here I go again. What's the loyalty to F O'Lee from Padraic Joyce. He's selected for practically every game and then taken off. Has anyone a record of his scoring for the year so far as I'm thinking it's one solitary point. We won't win many games with non-scoring forwards like that.

FieldsMaster (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 06/05/2022 08:10:42    2415161

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's madness. Terrace tickets were €10 for the Kilkenny game. The argument seems to be that one was a round robin game and the other is a provincial semi final, but we know well which was the bigger game.
Do the Kerry thing. Stay home and save money for the final. In Kerry, it was actually the AI final that they used to be referring to, not the provincial final.

Personally, I don't think $30 is a lot for a game. If there's a family involved, yes. So, bring in family ticket/discounted rate. What I really don't understand, and it's not the issue of quantity, it's the issue of quality. I'm sure Leitrim try their best, but they're a junior football team in real terms. And you're expected to pay three times more to watch that pigeon-shoot than you are to watch Galway hurlers and Kilkenny hurlers to fight like warriors in a game where both are of equal standard (plus you got that handshake as an added extra).

The GAA's marketing machine doesn't seem to be capitalizing on the actual games involved. It seems to be more focused on which level or round it is. How much was it to watch Mayo vs. Galway recently in football? That's a game that I watched (back) and it's one I'd have no problem paying $30 for to watch in person; same as KK vs Galway in hurling.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 06/05/2022 08:25:10    2415162

Replying To togoutlads:  "Tierney and Finnerty appear to lack the sheer pace for inter county. Perhaps Tierney more so on pace and Finnerty on running stamina. I hate criticising these brilliant young lads but Tierney in particular seems ponderous in his movement at times, though he's a great footballer in so many facets of his game. I know real pace is hard to achieve in certain lads that don't naturally have it but there are lots of well known ways to make significant percentage gains in pace which have been coached all over the world for years, across multiple sports. I wonder if we're specifically working on these weak areas enough to help these lads make those necessary gains."
Yes that's true and also Field Master's point re O'Laoi being selected most times and then substituted without troubling the scoreboard too often. I know its difficult to have 6 "scoring forwards" and you also need "workhorses" so to speak but I think this reliance on Conroy, Comer and Walsh to do the vast majority of the scoring has to change as we will become too easy for teams to work out in advance of every big game.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 06/05/2022 10:05:13    2415175

Replying To togoutlads:  "They're fairly taking the mick on the ticket prices for this when compared with the hurling. Silly. It has put some families off attending. Going to go but not fair that there's such a price discrepancy versus the hurling."
Its a difficult call for the GAA. I can see why they have set the price high
1. Consistent pricing for provincial semi finals. It might be seen as disrespectful to reduce them just because this is considered to be a less than competitive game
2. Revenue is an issue. Clubs are struggling and cannot be supporting county/provincial boards. GPA calling for more expenses. Drop in attendance at games.
3. With the game not televised the feeling might be that there could be a decent attendance.

Having said all that , I think you are correct in saying that this is bad value for money and some people might "vote with their feet" and suffer the GBFM coverage. It might be a personal thing , but I think that psychologically 20 euro seems like a reasonable price and 30 euro seems excessive and leaves a sour taste in the mouth. Many may argue that the true supporters will not be put off by price , but you have to consider that not everyone is in the same financial situation and, to some at least, that differential may be the tipping point.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 06/05/2022 10:15:56    2415177

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes that's true and also Field Master's point re O'Laoi being selected most times and then substituted without troubling the scoreboard too often. I know its difficult to have 6 "scoring forwards" and you also need "workhorses" so to speak but I think this reliance on Conroy, Comer and Walsh to do the vast majority of the scoring has to change as we will become too easy for teams to work out in advance of every big game."
I have no problem with 1 or 2 non scoring forwards as long as they are creating scores. If the likes of O'Laoi gets the ball in a scoring position I would rather he pass to one of our scoring forwards with a 90% chance of success than have a go himself with a 60% chance.
However , I accept the point that you need at least 4 or 5 consistent scorers . With only 3 you are limited. If for example 1 is having an off day and 1 gets injured, then you only have 1 scoring forward which is easy to defend against .
One reason why Clifford is so effective ( not the only reason by any means) is that he is over marked there are plenty of others to take up the scoring mantle.
I think for the reasons you have outlined that Peter Cooke and Michael Daly are both massive losses and I would hope that Galway management do everything in their power to get them back on board in 2023.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 06/05/2022 10:28:46    2415183

Replying To anotheralias:  "I have no problem with 1 or 2 non scoring forwards as long as they are creating scores. If the likes of O'Laoi gets the ball in a scoring position I would rather he pass to one of our scoring forwards with a 90% chance of success than have a go himself with a 60% chance.
However , I accept the point that you need at least 4 or 5 consistent scorers . With only 3 you are limited. If for example 1 is having an off day and 1 gets injured, then you only have 1 scoring forward which is easy to defend against .
One reason why Clifford is so effective ( not the only reason by any means) is that he is over marked there are plenty of others to take up the scoring mantle.
I think for the reasons you have outlined that Peter Cooke and Michael Daly are both massive losses and I would hope that Galway management do everything in their power to get them back on board in 2023."
In fairness, Heaney, Finnerty do their fair share but I would agree with you overall, the big 3 are too critical. We miss the likes of Brannigan who waltzed through the opposition with a big physical presence. McDaid could potentially become a bigger threat and we need that extra bit from more players.
GaillimhAbu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 06/05/2022 11:00:16    2415195

30 quid as well for the stand last weekend in Sligo. No wonder attendences are brutal. Would the hurling prices be set by the Leinster Council and the football by Connacht? It would be interesting to hear what the tickets for provincial semis for the other provinces is.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 06/05/2022 11:12:38    2415203

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "30 quid as well for the stand last weekend in Sligo. No wonder attendences are brutal. Would the hurling prices be set by the Leinster Council and the football by Connacht? It would be interesting to hear what the tickets for provincial semis for the other provinces is."
With all due respect to Sligo & Leitrim, at this stage in their respective team developments, not everyone is going to fork over €30 to look at them, even in 'a shhtand seat'. You can call it 'a semi final' if you like, but people will still smell a cost avoidance opportunity here. Mutton dressed as lamb, that's where your €30 is going, to watch Leitrim 2022 in a 'semifinal'. I'll be waiting for the final myself, and obviously will be gorging out on humble pie, if anything goes wrong with that 'plan'!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 06/05/2022 11:42:31    2415211

Parking---Any sound advice on this? Galway is generally a disaster for traffic if I'm not mistaken. I'll have a bike on the car, so I'm thinking park it up somewhere on the eastern side and tip in on the bike the rest of the way. Dublin bound afterwards so any local knowledge would be appreciated!

Anywhere good for this that would incorporate the spuds before/after ?

Thanking ye...
Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 06/05/2022 12:46:01    2415236

Replying To Mugatay:  "Parking---Any sound advice on this? Galway is generally a disaster for traffic if I'm not mistaken. I'll have a bike on the car, so I'm thinking park it up somewhere on the eastern side and tip in on the bike the rest of the way. Dublin bound afterwards so any local knowledge would be appreciated!

Anywhere good for this that would incorporate the spuds before/after ?

Thanking ye...
Liatroim abú"
Hi you could park up in the Renmore church car park
Its just a few miles off the Motorway on the east side of Galway city
If you want you can head in the Raiway line to Galway city and on to Salthill

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 06/05/2022 13:22:12    2415247