Replying To Cbar: "Pathetic" Thank you for posting Cbar, that poster is an embarressment to Mayo people like my cousins who attend every Mayo game. I wanted to respond but you have summed it up there nicely.
JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 167 - 30/06/2025 10:44:53
Replying To Royalio11: "Not to beat a man when they are down - but Galway had that coming. Serious lack of respect shown to the Meath team, was there any research done on in the lead up or was it a case of showing up? We have destroyed teams in midfield since the second half fiasco of the Leinster Final. Once Galway couldn't get primary ball they went short - fell into the trap and got turned over.
Take off the maroon glasses, it was one of the most one dimensional performances I have witnessed. Over back, over back, over back - give it to Walsh, hop and turn, lose ball. Repeat.
Meath didn't score a two pointer, something we have relied on throughout 2025 - didn't matter, Galway let our inside lads pick of scores inside the ARC. Again, was there any research done on Meath?
At no stage did Galway have a real hold on the game, one flurry of scores to pull back from 6 points behind, all when our full back went off and referee decided he wasn't going to blow for pick ups and throws.
Both teams guilty of bad bad wides Meath in the first half, Galway in second. Our keeper had a terrible day from boot left 5 points behind on his own.
Word on the referee, brutal inconsistency on both sides. Extremely frustrating which balanced out.
Anyway, we are at Year 1 and have plenty to do and work on with more players to get back from injury hopefully this season is a building block.
Galways management need to shaken up." really appreciate you sharing your knowledge with us.
yes, its true galway did not do any research at all on this weekends all ireland quarter final, in fact we thought it was monaghan who we were playing.
give your head a wobble
cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 30/06/2025 10:51:22
Has our window for an ALL Ireland closed ?
PJ and the crazy gang on the line have to go. Our line is pure chaos looking down from the stand. How can they make a decision correctly ?
This teams needs a fresh voice and energy. I think PJ will want to stay on because he can't see that.
As shown yesterday Comer is our spiritual leader. It's such a pity we can't get him right. Shane lack of work rate is not good enough compared to Comer.
Next years competition will be even more competitive and harder to win.
Green&Gold2013 (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 30/06/2025 10:54:02
Replying To Royalio11: "Not to beat a man when they are down - but Galway had that coming. Serious lack of respect shown to the Meath team, was there any research done on in the lead up or was it a case of showing up? We have destroyed teams in midfield since the second half fiasco of the Leinster Final. Once Galway couldn't get primary ball they went short - fell into the trap and got turned over.
Take off the maroon glasses, it was one of the most one dimensional performances I have witnessed. Over back, over back, over back - give it to Walsh, hop and turn, lose ball. Repeat.
Meath didn't score a two pointer, something we have relied on throughout 2025 - didn't matter, Galway let our inside lads pick of scores inside the ARC. Again, was there any research done on Meath?
At no stage did Galway have a real hold on the game, one flurry of scores to pull back from 6 points behind, all when our full back went off and referee decided he wasn't going to blow for pick ups and throws.
Both teams guilty of bad bad wides Meath in the first half, Galway in second. Our keeper had a terrible day from boot left 5 points behind on his own.
Word on the referee, brutal inconsistency on both sides. Extremely frustrating which balanced out.
Anyway, we are at Year 1 and have plenty to do and work on with more players to get back from injury hopefully this season is a building block.
Galways management need to shaken up." Meath were the better team but not sure where you're getting the lack of respect thing from. Let's be fair about it, Meath finished level with Cork and Cavan in Div 2 and lost to Louth in the Leinster Final and we would expect to beat those 3. That's not disrespect, we've just retained Div 1 status, won 4 connachts in a row and been in 2 of the last 3 all Ireland finals. I think the changes made pre throw in show that Galway respected Meath. Best of luck to Meath against Donegal
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 542 - 30/06/2025 10:54:26
Replying To Ros2013: "Not coming on here to stick the knife in but I was gobsmacked ye lost. We should have beaten them In the Hyde a month ago and Galway have a much better side than Roscommon who have been void of any consistency, confidence all year. Connacht football needs to regroup . A bit of collaboration between the five counties would be no harm." Big time, I know Ulster is a bigger province but it's like a rising tide raises all boats there. The success of one county seems to drive on another 3 or 4 and they are chomping at the bit to take each other down. There's still a bit of soft underbelly to the Connacht teams as well. Meath have spent a good while in Div 2 and yet still have an edge to them that we are all told you won't get unless you are consistently playing Div 1 opposition.
For Galway maybe Philly McMahon is right, when it comes to the big games there's a reliance on individual brilliance to get them through. Still think there's an AI in that Galway team. Why change managers now when Joyce has got to the final twice? New rules probably threw things a bit this year. I'd let him have one more crack and then see next year.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 231 - 30/06/2025 10:55:08
Galways management need to shaken up." Genuinely I don't believe there was any lack of respect towards Meath. Anybody who really knows the game was well aware that Meath were well capable of beating us (as we were just as capable of beating Meath). You aren't wrong in your assessment of the one dimensional nature of our play. We're still attacking all the time like we're faced with 15 defenders inside their own 45.
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1321 - 30/06/2025 11:01:49
Replying To Green&Gold2013: "Has our window for an ALL Ireland closed ?
PJ and the crazy gang on the line have to go. Our line is pure chaos looking down from the stand. How can they make a decision correctly ?
This teams needs a fresh voice and energy. I think PJ will want to stay on because he can't see that.
As shown yesterday Comer is our spiritual leader. It's such a pity we can't get him right. Shane lack of work rate is not good enough compared to Comer.
Next years competition will be even more competitive and harder to win." I think Joyce like the media attention. The media love him because he gives them what they want but it may not be what the players want or need.
I heard all week how great Joyce was because of his answer about Shane Walshs performance. He said it took him long enough. You won't heard a Kerry manager throwing out anything like that it's always yerra this yerra that.
Also how Galway keep getting put in the group of death and no one from management to county board makes a song and dance about it il never know.
Kew (Galway) - Posts: 228 - 30/06/2025 11:10:21
Well I hope the players and management take all the time they need to consider the future. Hope PJ stays on as he brings stability and experience. He is a still a young manager and he transitioned us with the new rules. Yesterday was strange with the players slipping and sliding all over Croke Park. OK, we were not great this year but we have the raw material to rise again.
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1757 - 30/06/2025 11:13:02
Replying To conordee: "I have no doubt we have the footballers there capable of winning Sam. But in crucial moments we lack something, like in the last few minutes of last year's final when we needed composure. Against Dublin and Derry this year we conceded from the last play on their kickout. Yesterday incredibly we made the same mistake again by allowing Meath a short kickout on last play with a minute left when we had to surely go all out press. Game was over once they got that kick away. Look how Meath pressed high to force the turnover for their second goal. That said, the pass to McGrath was desperate and put him on the back foot. At 2 points up that kickout must go long even if we lose it. Like many have said our build up and attacking play in first half yesterday was slow and predictable, similar to many games previously. Like we have no idea what we want to do. So little movement ahead of the ball. And just like in other games when we go behind and the game becomes chaotic we let loose playing great stuff off the cuff. We still missed plenty of chances in that second half yesterday, Walsh ,Conroy ,Thompson with shots they have scored all year so no complaints. Meath took their chances and good luck to them in semi." We're only pipping 2022, 2024,2025, or being pipped 2020 2021 2023nfl 2023 by Mayo for all of PJs tenure. Yet absolutely no one is saying that Mayo have the footballers to win Sam.
If we're remotely as good as you say we are there, why don't we beat div1 opposition by 3to6 points in championship on occasion? It doesn't happen.
The margins are tight. We win by a point or two, we draw, we lose by a point or two. Those few outcomes would cover most of our results in the big games for the last 4 seasons. What happened yesterday? One point loss......oh right!! Very hard to win Sam, when you have to win about 6 of 8 games against top opposition, operating absolutely consistently at those tight margins.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4281 - 30/06/2025 11:17:53
Now dust has settled sort of look back on year a lot of positives but unfortunately more negitives.
Positives are all in salthill
Maher and Finnerty have gone to another level and are now elite players in their position. I'd make Maher captain next year.
DOF has been consistently excellent all year and has done more than enough to be given extended run in 7 jersey.
Thompson goes without saying massive addition.
Negitives We have serious issues at goalkeeper I don't think 2 on panel are the answer. I am open to all suggestions including converting an outfielder.
We seem to have zero kickout strategy Monaghan Donegal bomb it long too but seems to be method to what they do and if our big lads don't fetch it we are so poor on breaks no set moves.
A few lads have not progressed this year I was so disappointed with hernon yday he made a couple of great turnovers and then slowly trotted with ball and got caught himself. Compared to Ciaran Moore day before who I think he's every bit as good as. ONeills Tomo LOC COC all flattered to deceive although Sam oneill was harshly dealt with in Derry.
Onto 2026 team I'd like to see first league game.
1???? 2 mcgrath 3 Fitz 4 S Kelly 5 Sweeney 6 Hernon 7 DOF 8 Maher C 9 mcdaid 10 Dunne 11 Thompson 12 Darcy 13 Finnerty 14 Tierney 15 Costello
jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1611 - 30/06/2025 11:19:07
Replying To Green&Gold2013: "Has our window for an ALL Ireland closed ?
Next years competition will be even more competitive and harder to win." Crazy gang is a good description. Looks like pure chaos on the sideline questions have to be asked also not sure what Mickey Graham has offerred also other selectors there too long. I think we need to look at our S&C dept too over last couple of years too many injuries and granted we were 3 weeks on bounce yeterday but that was our own fault but we were so flat.
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 359 - 30/06/2025 11:24:27
Replying To systematic: "Duckie needs everyone to forget about his last year with the u20s before he's given a shot at senior the last year had a load of talent but let down by management." Fair, but id say a lot of lessons learned from that too. Hes prob lost as much as he's won but he has won and also worked with a lot of these lads in the past, sure they'd all speak very highly of him too.
The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 808 - 30/06/2025 11:24:37
One thing I noticed yesterday in Croke Park, was the difference in intensity shown by David Clifford versus Shane Walsh in the warm up. Clifford was driving everyone on, sprinting to everything etc. Shane was the last one in the group for light runs and looked lazy. Don't want to be too hard on Shane as he is a fabulous footballer and is his own personality, and we are lucky to have him, but it's that urgency and intensity that Galway lack, and if not there from our best players, is an issue.
hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 446 - 30/06/2025 11:27:19
Replying To systematic: "They have maybe but yesterday was Silke's best game all year and really I find it hard to fault a manager for trying to get the best out of 2 all star defenders! Dylan should have gotten a goal early doors and Liam got the second so I really can't see why you're saying that" Ok corofin fan.
MinorChamp_09 (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 30/06/2025 11:41:23
Replying To hopballref: "One thing I noticed yesterday in Croke Park, was the difference in intensity shown by David Clifford versus Shane Walsh in the warm up. Clifford was driving everyone on, sprinting to everything etc. Shane was the last one in the group for light runs and looked lazy. Don't want to be too hard on Shane as he is a fabulous footballer and is his own personality, and we are lucky to have him, but it's that urgency and intensity that Galway lack, and if not there from our best players, is an issue." The start as well when we had posession. Almost walking pace over and back and then after about 2 minutes Thompson drops the ball mid solo for a needless turnover. We needed to start that first 10 minutes completely differently, matter of fact we have been starting games very poorly for a long while now. In hindsight(easy I know), not sure about the changes. Conroy to start and a fresh Cooke to come on might have been the better call and Jack Glynn didn't work on Morris. Hard to know with the keeper but I didn't see an improvement with kick outs
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 542 - 30/06/2025 11:51:28
Replying To cavan.galway: "really appreciate you sharing your knowledge with us.
yes, its true galway did not do any research at all on this weekends all ireland quarter final, in fact we thought it was monaghan who we were playing.
give your head a wobble" If we were that confident in our research, what were we hoping would happen for us offensively in the first half, with such a remarkably static approach at times, with very decent possession supply. Thompson was so stuck for options at times that he nearly let the ball fall out of his possession with the lethargy of it all.
Did Meath's defensive setup stymie us that much? If it did, you'd imagine that Galway could learn a lot from such a blueprint, or is it just that Meath have better defenders than we have?
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4281 - 30/06/2025 11:56:14
Replying To hopballref: "One thing I noticed yesterday in Croke Park, was the difference in intensity shown by David Clifford versus Shane Walsh in the warm up. Clifford was driving everyone on, sprinting to everything etc. Shane was the last one in the group for light runs and looked lazy. Don't want to be too hard on Shane as he is a fabulous footballer and is his own personality, and we are lucky to have him, but it's that urgency and intensity that Galway lack, and if not there from our best players, is an issue." Shane's shoulder not 100%. Imagine he got some kind of injection but saw him in a bit of pain after game.
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 225 - 30/06/2025 11:59:50
That performance was coming ! People were praising us for the derry & down games saying we should great resiliance & character but we didn't really play that great in either , bit of luck got us through & luck only gets you so far ! Time for Pj to go he's had his chance & brought the team a king but must step aside in order for team to progress ! Fresh face is badly needed ! I say it's either PJ goes or a few players will decide to go , Pjs a hard man to get on with & we have seen in previous seasons the players we have lost & the stories that come out of the camp , it doesn't look a happy one !
Lots of issues yesterday & individual errors One thing that was very noticeable was that we didn't have anyone that could pick out a pass or kick the ball inside bar control , Thompson & cooke ! Too many lads hand passing & not taking responsibility to deliver a good ball in !
Silke had his best game of the year ! Mchugh had another poor performance ! And one thing we need to look at massively is our half back line , they did not contribute enough all year ! Mchugh , kelly & hernon , all great runners but all they do is hand pass the ball , they don't score , they don't create Look at the other teams & the scores that come from there half backline or chances created Think our corner backs are solid with mcgrath & Glynn & put kelly back into full back ! Half back line - mcdaid , Daly has to be 6 if gets injuries sorted ) , silk / molloy (gets fit)
Midfield - Maher , cooke / Darcy ( conroy as sub )
Half forward Line - tierney , Thompson , Darcy / cooke
Full forward line - Walsh , comer & finnerty , probably in dreamland but if we got comer fit
Hopefully the few fellas that got good league time this year make the step up for championship
galwayXI (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 30/06/2025 12:04:13
Replying To hopballref: "One thing I noticed yesterday in Croke Park, was the difference in intensity shown by David Clifford versus Shane Walsh in the warm up. Clifford was driving everyone on, sprinting to everything etc. Shane was the last one in the group for light runs and looked lazy. Don't want to be too hard on Shane as he is a fabulous footballer and is his own personality, and we are lucky to have him, but it's that urgency and intensity that Galway lack, and if not there from our best players, is an issue." Clifford is in a different planet compared to walsh and to be fair to everyone else. shane had one truly outrageous performance in Croke park in Kerry in 22 but has fluffed his lines many a time.
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 359 - 30/06/2025 12:10:23
Replying To MinorChamp_09: "Ok corofin fan." I am a Corofin man and sure what problem is that? I think Joyce believed he could get the same out of Dylan as he had last year. Shane was kept on & kept playing and little calls to drop him for poor performances. There was a lot expected from Dylan and did not go totally to plan. As I said there is no single player to blame. As a group they weren't good enough and that is their problem. Nobody's going to listen to armchair analysis from here.
McHugh was often the sub off for Hernon/O Flash. I have great time for both of those players but have they really shown it? Hernon got starts and Danny got loads of game time and a few starts in league. Hernon's problem is a lack of consistency in ball carrying. Danny's problem is poor defensively he's way too loose. McHugh probably loose as well but Daniel o Flaherty has let too many players by him. Who else should we be looking at for half back line? Molloy played a good few games has probably done one amazing thing and one terrible thing in every game..... Sweeney is injured. Jack Glynn not as effective at wing back he's a man marker. Sean Mulkerrins not as good as last year either thrived as sweeper but no room for sweeper this year. There is an argument for moving mcDaid back to wing back but that is kind of how he plays anyway.... John Daly slower than McHugh and worse defensively - probably should have gotten more game time but not sure where he is with injuries. After that who the hell are you going for for half back, Billy Mannion or Diarmuid Kilcommins? I'd love to see either get a fair shot but they are both knocking around panel last 2 years and barely a subs spot between them never mind starting.
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 225 - 30/06/2025 12:11:39