Galway Football thread

Replying To MinorChamp_09:  "Comer wont tog for Galway again this year. Did his hamstring in training. Another year wasted. They need to fully move on and allow his modelling career to progress."
Did you get a kick out of writing that?
Was there a feel good factor in your body after that post?
Quiet frankly I think it's a disgusting post and tells us a lot about your anonymous character.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2143 - 18/06/2025 15:54:51    2619039

Replying To Green&Gold2013:  "Give it a break man. Very smug comment. Have some respect."
Give what a break? Whats wrong with what i said?

Allow me to rephrase, his body is broken and cant stand up to the Inter County game anymore. He hasn't been injury free in years. He is actually unsettling things more than settling things. Is that not the truth?

MinorChamp_09 (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 18/06/2025 16:15:50    2619054

Replying To jam83:  "Some disaster for Comer and Galway if true.
I was beginning to think this week there's a better path to a semi final compared to last year and was thinking of we got Comer back we'd have a right chance of winning the All Ireland.
Have to question S&C here. Theres too much strain on Comers muscles because of his bulk. No way repeat injuries should be happening so easily one after another."
Hopefully he gets a chance to play some part. Pure disaster for him if he can't play again. Show goes on though. Management have to concentrate on who's available.

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 459 - 18/06/2025 16:18:25    2619055

I see that Down have two players on the list of top championship scorers from play - Danny Magill, on 21 points, joint 3rd, behind David Clifford and Rob Finnerty. Pat Havern is joint 8th from play on 19 points. Those two will take immense work from our markers and our defenders zonal work to try and shackle. Havern is 5th highest scorer overall, on 39 points this championship - very accurate off frees and two point frees. We'll need serious discipline and work rate. Just as Tally has since admitted that Derry went all out to fully target the Galway fixture, we're obviously going to get the same with Down in a knockout game on their home patch. We'll need to bring from the start what we brought in the second half in Breffni. We're having coronaries on the stands and terraces watching these slow starts from us - bring us a fired up, blistering start lads!! Can't wait!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1074 - 18/06/2025 16:22:04    2619057

Replying To togoutlads:  "I see that Down have two players on the list of top championship scorers from play - Danny Magill, on 21 points, joint 3rd, behind David Clifford and Rob Finnerty. Pat Havern is joint 8th from play on 19 points. Those two will take immense work from our markers and our defenders zonal work to try and shackle. Havern is 5th highest scorer overall, on 39 points this championship - very accurate off frees and two point frees. We'll need serious discipline and work rate. Just as Tally has since admitted that Derry went all out to fully target the Galway fixture, we're obviously going to get the same with Down in a knockout game on their home patch. We'll need to bring from the start what we brought in the second half in Breffni. We're having coronaries on the stands and terraces watching these slow starts from us - bring us a fired up, blistering start lads!! Can't wait!"
Sure look who they were playing - a Clare team that have given up! Those scoring stats are lightly weighted!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 802 - 18/06/2025 16:49:48    2619063

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sure look who they were playing - a Clare team that have given up! Those scoring stats are lightly weighted!"
I presume that the statistics stated are true but they are not relevant when all the teams have not played each other and there is no scale to evaluate them.There are many factors that could be taken into account like injuries, wether conditions on a given in any part of the country on a given day etc.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 18/06/2025 17:07:30    2619068

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Long may those "lucky goals"keep coming."
Yes if Galway want to stay in the chamoionshio think they will need 3 at tye weekend.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 82 - 18/06/2025 19:03:53    2619084

Replying To JimB1991:  "Yes if Galway want to stay in the chamoionshio think they will need 3 at tye weekend."
Mayo could have done with a good few but alas ...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 306 - 18/06/2025 21:56:03    2619102

Replying To JimB1991:  "Yes if Galway want to stay in the chamoionshio think they will need 3 at tye weekend."
So you upped it from 2.Fair play.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 18/06/2025 22:37:48    2619112

Whatever happens to Galway from this point on, at least they'll have a Connacht title to look back on. Mayo on the other hand, will have f all.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 915 - 18/06/2025 23:19:03    2619119

You mite be better spend your time learning a few spellings instead of posting rubbish here ,

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 169 - 19/06/2025 07:54:47    2619136

Aren't you lucky to be able to come on the Galway thread to let off a biteen o' shteam after the hydeing ye got this year!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 229 - 19/06/2025 08:58:57    2619142

The Galway rage is affecting your typing.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 19/06/2025 09:27:57    2619148

Bit strange people from other counties commenting so much on this forum about Galway football. Must not have much going on in their life's really. Better off to ignore any comments from them
Back to Sunday great to be still in championship. Travelling to newry Sunday
Need to bring energy from the start and not when 5-6 pts down

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 19/06/2025 09:30:36    2619149

Jim, you should spend some of your seemingly endless spare time to fill cousin Jimmy's suggestion box of what to have a cry and a moan about this week. He's running out of ideas for 'The world vs Donegal - let's create a siege mentality' playbook.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1074 - 19/06/2025 09:39:08    2619151

Lads stop engaging with this person (across their multiple accounts), thats what theyre getting their kick from and ye are feeding it. Just ignore it as if its a message posted by a bot.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 802 - 19/06/2025 10:16:58    2619157

Replying To backtooldwall:  "I presume that the statistics stated are true but they are not relevant when all the teams have not played each other and there is no scale to evaluate them.There are many factors that could be taken into account like injuries, wether conditions on a given in any part of the country on a given day etc."
Correct!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 802 - 19/06/2025 10:17:25    2619158

Replying To The_DOC:  "Lads stop engaging with this person (across their multiple accounts), thats what theyre getting their kick from and ye are feeding it. Just ignore it as if its a message posted by a bot."
Yes Jimb s1234 etc are all the one individual who I'm not sure needs other assistance we are doing them no good giving them dopamine hits

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1589 - 19/06/2025 10:33:51    2619161

Replying To Belclare7:  "Mayo could have done with a good few but alas ..."
Tasteless remark from Bellendclare7

MinorChamp_09 (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 19/06/2025 12:06:40    2619190

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sure look who they were playing - a Clare team that have given up! Those scoring stats are lightly weighted!"
And Monaghan? Louth - Leinster champs? Donegal in Ulster semi? Hardly all lightweight teams now are they? On the scoring danger those key men bring, for example, Havern got 8 points against Donegal that day. I don't think they're just scoring against 'lightweight' teams.
By the way, Down lost by 6 points to Donegal in Ulster but Down left 3 serious goal chances after them.
They're champing at the bit for us in Newry, an ounce of complacency on our part and this could be all over for us. We have to be ready from the first ball and rip into them.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1074 - 19/06/2025 12:16:15    2619195