Galway Football thread

Replying To cds:  "This chat has went reasonably quiet on how Armagh being the worse all ireland champions ever. I'm not even sure we will win it this year as it's wide open. Still think Armagh should be in the least be respected."
Armagh are a top class team and moreover have a quality bench that few, if any can match. It's not easy to do back to back AI's and I think the team is playing with the confidence of champions. So, you may be breaking out the bulmers cider in July again. Rian O'Neill some talent. Tough cookies too!

Really (Galway) - Posts: 636 - 03/06/2025 11:05:04    2614509

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Who is your top 3 or 4 teams?"
I would have Kerry, Donegal, Armagh as top 3 - Galway, Dublin and Tyrone slightly behind those.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 439 - 03/06/2025 12:07:24    2614529

One thing that was noticeable watching back the Dublin Armagh game was the kick passing and the pace of transition. At one stage the Dublin players were retreating and Howard was at 6 and made a hand signal, as he made the signal the ball had been kicked in over his head and around 5 Dubs had been taken out of the game. Galway(in that scenario) would have recycled and been patient and Dublin would have been set up defensively. We need pace to our attacks and we need the long option to Comer. We have become too predictable. I think that's why Finnerty is standing out because he is completely off the cuff. His pass to Tierney for the third goal was the pass of the weekend

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 514 - 03/06/2025 12:20:27    2614533

Replying To Kickitout:  "Galway need shake things up bigtime. Next day i can't understand why he start o Neill he was always going be first taken off no matter how he was doing I don't know any other top 8 team that makes as many daft selections 3 different full backs so far this year Fitz played very well v mayo no game since Mulkerrins poor v mayo plays him full back Mcdaid class midfield has not played in 2 years there for Galway convinces Cooke to come back in no start in 4 matches o flaherty unreal in most league matches corner back no match since definitely 2 day proved it's Joyce last year to loyal to some players , conroy was great player last 2 matches way off it Liam dilke poor mulkerrins poor Gleason poor my team v Armagh
Flaherty
McGrath. Fitz. O flaherty
Mchugh. Daly. Kelly
Maher / Mcdaid
Thompson. Cooke. Darcy
Finnerty. Walsh. Tierney

Walsh coining to end now as well I'd still start him then comer for him"
The team needs to be picked based on who is performing in training not who has performed well in the past. That is what Cody used to do to keep things fresh. All that you have done here is reshuffled the same pack. There are 7-8 more Thompsons on the sideline (in the 34) not the 26 only that are better than what is on the field at the moment. Would Silke, McHugh, Kelly, Mulkerrins, Conroy be left on any other team based on their performances. Remember Roscommon were awful and Mayo were Mayo. I'M Struggling with Full back but thinking toward Kelly or fitz. Sean Kelly has not played well for a couple of week, I think the injuries are catching up on him but I think full back is his position. Our right side of he backs is being exposed again a lot so I think McHugh is not having a great season so probable needs something more dynamic there. Maybe Daniel O Flaherty. Centre back has been a nightmare this year and I remember that hurler from Annaghdown Kilcommons being super there last year at club (which I know is different but we need someone) Give him a go (or even start Daly even though Daly nevers marks but Kilcommins is faster).

My team would be (based on the 34 not 26) O Flaherty, Glynn, Kelly McGrath, O Flaherty, Kilcommins/Daly, Silke, Tierney, Maher, Liam O Conghaile, McDaid, Darcy, Finnerty, Comer, Thompson, subs, Include Brian Mannion and Paddy Egan leaving finishers like Walshe ,Cooke, Conroy, Hernon, I think O neill and Sweeneys heads will be gone after PJ pulling them off the field after 20 mins.
I expect abuse but I travelled to Derry at the weekend (so you probably can see my frustration) we are very very lucky to be still in the competition.

It looks like more and more that O neill was the brains as Joyce and co and I include Morris and Graham in this, are really just moving the same 16-17 players around. So much for squad depth.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 99 - 03/06/2025 12:40:56    2614536

Replying To smallfrank:  "One thing that was noticeable watching back the Dublin Armagh game was the kick passing and the pace of transition. At one stage the Dublin players were retreating and Howard was at 6 and made a hand signal, as he made the signal the ball had been kicked in over his head and around 5 Dubs had been taken out of the game. Galway(in that scenario) would have recycled and been patient and Dublin would have been set up defensively. We need pace to our attacks and we need the long option to Comer. We have become too predictable. I think that's why Finnerty is standing out because he is completely off the cuff. His pass to Tierney for the third goal was the pass of the weekend"
Wasn't even the best pass in that minute of the game.

Don't get me wrong was a lovely pass but Thompson sideline pass to silke with the left was magic

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1564 - 03/06/2025 12:50:37    2614542

Would it be right saying Galway would've been out if they lost? Maybe I got my maths wrong cos I dont think I've seen it mentioned anywhere, surprised Derry didn't go out a 2 pointer and the winner Saturday, but maybe taking the draw makes more sense if my maths are wrong.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 236 - 03/06/2025 13:18:32    2614551

Replying To jm25:  "Wasn't even the best pass in that minute of the game.

Don't get me wrong was a lovely pass but Thompson sideline pass to silke with the left was magic"
Thompsons pass was into 30 meters of space with Silke running on to it. Finnerty was being stood up by a defender and threaded it through a group of players right into Tierneys chest

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 514 - 03/06/2025 13:45:38    2614565

Replying To LottoPlus:  "The team needs to be picked based on who is performing in training not who has performed well in the past. That is what Cody used to do to keep things fresh. All that you have done here is reshuffled the same pack. There are 7-8 more Thompsons on the sideline (in the 34) not the 26 only that are better than what is on the field at the moment. Would Silke, McHugh, Kelly, Mulkerrins, Conroy be left on any other team based on their performances. Remember Roscommon were awful and Mayo were Mayo. I'M Struggling with Full back but thinking toward Kelly or fitz. Sean Kelly has not played well for a couple of week, I think the injuries are catching up on him but I think full back is his position. Our right side of he backs is being exposed again a lot so I think McHugh is not having a great season so probable needs something more dynamic there. Maybe Daniel O Flaherty. Centre back has been a nightmare this year and I remember that hurler from Annaghdown Kilcommons being super there last year at club (which I know is different but we need someone) Give him a go (or even start Daly even though Daly nevers marks but Kilcommins is faster).

My team would be (based on the 34 not 26) O Flaherty, Glynn, Kelly McGrath, O Flaherty, Kilcommins/Daly, Silke, Tierney, Maher, Liam O Conghaile, McDaid, Darcy, Finnerty, Comer, Thompson, subs, Include Brian Mannion and Paddy Egan leaving finishers like Walshe ,Cooke, Conroy, Hernon, I think O neill and Sweeneys heads will be gone after PJ pulling them off the field after 20 mins.
I expect abuse but I travelled to Derry at the weekend (so you probably can see my frustration) we are very very lucky to be still in the competition.

It looks like more and more that O neill was the brains as Joyce and co and I include Morris and Graham in this, are really just moving the same 16-17 players around. So much for squad depth."
I can assure you we don't have 7 or 8 players outside 26 as good as Thompson.

What if the players you have randomly picked are not performing as well in training as current starters.

The likes of oconghaile has had plenty of opportunities and not taken them.

You are clearly frustrated and fair play for travelling but randomly picking unproven players may not be best idea.

As for ONeill maybe he was the main man but you can drive a truck through Kerry's defence against poor opposition this year too.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1564 - 03/06/2025 13:49:29    2614567

I do think PJ deserves flak for his treatment of some of the players Sweeney introduced at ht & subbed 15 mins after coming on O Neill starts against Derry hooked after 15 mins. Even other players on panel would be questioning this only human after all and we have to remember the AI last year playing injured players etc and not putting on a natural corner forward for Finnerty. His use of Walsh this year too even his comments after Dublin league game "they missed 1-10" between them say it behind the doors not out in press. O Conghaile on finally got mins scores a point down stretch against Mayo nowhere to be seen. Culhane not giving a squeak introduced for 5 mins Dubs didn touch ball. Fitz going from full back and not being seen despites us looking so open with out him. Daly not giving squeak

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 336 - 03/06/2025 13:54:55    2614570

Replying To joeteor:  "Would it be right saying Galway would've been out if they lost? Maybe I got my maths wrong cos I dont think I've seen it mentioned anywhere, surprised Derry didn't go out a 2 pointer and the winner Saturday, but maybe taking the draw makes more sense if my maths are wrong."
Yes Galway were out if they lost. Could only get to 2 points and Dublin and Derry would have had the head to head.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 65 - 03/06/2025 13:56:46    2614572

I posted this after the Dublin Game - just replace Derry instead of Dublin, Armagh instead of Meath, Glass for Kilkenny and Rodgers instead of O Callaghan.

A few simple points
Dubs were well up for this and have sorted out their kickout strategy that failed against Meath. Having been written off, Kilkenny, O Callaghan et al were always going to come back with a big statement.

Galway have had such success at midfield this season, they weren't ready for what Dublin gave them - they will learn from that.

Galway persist in playing an unfit Shane Walsh (or Comer). They would be better served planning without him and brining him on as an impact player.

Dublin did what Mayo should have done - put a man marker on a 35yr old midfielder and take away the 6 points per match he usually brings. Everyone will see that as a tactic from here - Conroy will likely need to be a sub as he is most needed for 2 pointers in the last 20mins.

Galway dont have enough of a kicking game to get through a match when they dont dominate in midfield. Getting John Daly back to centre back and putting Kelly to wing back would fix that.

Conroy hasn't the legs anymore and a half fit Walsh has no business starting matches - ye need them for the last 20 so should plan that way. Starting without Darcy was a terrible idea also - especially against a team as good in the air as Derry.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1425 - 03/06/2025 14:20:27    2614576

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I posted this after the Dublin Game - just replace Derry instead of Dublin, Armagh instead of Meath, Glass for Kilkenny and Rodgers instead of O Callaghan.

A few simple points
Dubs were well up for this and have sorted out their kickout strategy that failed against Meath. Having been written off, Kilkenny, O Callaghan et al were always going to come back with a big statement.

Galway have had such success at midfield this season, they weren't ready for what Dublin gave them - they will learn from that.

Galway persist in playing an unfit Shane Walsh (or Comer). They would be better served planning without him and brining him on as an impact player.

Dublin did what Mayo should have done - put a man marker on a 35yr old midfielder and take away the 6 points per match he usually brings. Everyone will see that as a tactic from here - Conroy will likely need to be a sub as he is most needed for 2 pointers in the last 20mins.

Galway dont have enough of a kicking game to get through a match when they dont dominate in midfield. Getting John Daly back to centre back and putting Kelly to wing back would fix that.

Conroy hasn't the legs anymore and a half fit Walsh has no business starting matches - ye need them for the last 20 so should plan that way. Starting without Darcy was a terrible idea also - especially against a team as good in the air as Derry."
Would you post your email and mobile, PJ can give you a call. Thanks

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 821 - 03/06/2025 15:05:37    2614590

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I posted this after the Dublin Game - just replace Derry instead of Dublin, Armagh instead of Meath, Glass for Kilkenny and Rodgers instead of O Callaghan.

A few simple points

Conroy hasn't the legs anymore and a half fit Walsh has no business starting matches - ye need them for the last 20 so should plan that way. Starting without Darcy was a terrible idea also - especially against a team as good in the air as Derry."
It was Walsh pass that opened everything up for first goal and did wonderfully well to make 2nd goal for himself,

There is nothing to suggest he is half fit he needs game time

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1564 - 03/06/2025 15:16:08    2614592

Replying To GDL:  "

A few simple points

Would you post your email and mobile, PJ can give you a call. Thanks"
Too be fair PJ hasn't won anything yet and played too many injured players in the all Ireland final. He has a great group of players but played lads carrying injuries season after season. Lots of mismanagement over the last few years.

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 03/06/2025 15:21:34    2614597

Replying To joeteor:  "Would it be right saying Galway would've been out if they lost? Maybe I got my maths wrong cos I dont think I've seen it mentioned anywhere, surprised Derry didn't go out a 2 pointer and the winner Saturday, but maybe taking the draw makes more sense if my maths are wrong."
Nothing to do with maths really, more of a head to head issue. It was generally mentioned everywhere that Galway would be out, if Derry and Armagh won Sunday's games,

There weren't many 2pointers kicked into that goal all day in the 'wund' conditions, so it's likely that Derry were correct to play the percentages and engineer the easier 1point try.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4193 - 03/06/2025 15:41:36    2614609

Replying To Kew:  "
Replying To GDL:  "[quote=tirawleybaron:  "I posted this after the Dublin Game - just replace Derry instead of Dublin, Armagh instead of Meath, Glass for Kilkenny and Rodgers instead of O Callaghan.

A few simple points

Would you post your email and mobile, PJ can give you a call. Thanks"
Too be fair PJ hasn't won anything yet and played too many injured players in the all Ireland final. He has a great group of players but played lads carrying injuries season after season. Lots of mismanagement over the last few years."]When did we stop counting Connacht titles?

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 821 - 03/06/2025 15:48:13    2614611

Heard sat week 6/30 Cavan

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1085 - 03/06/2025 16:38:30    2614635

Replying To Kickitout:  "Heard sat week 6/30 Cavan"
Ridiculous fixture.

3 days camel ride from Galway.

Surly there was somewhere a little more neutral

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1925 - 03/06/2025 20:00:12    2614665

Replying To JimB1991:  "Yes Galway were out if they lost. Could only get to 2 points and Dublin and Derry would have had the head to head."
I'm still waiting on your answer. Who is your top 3 or 4 teams?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3639 - 03/06/2025 20:31:40    2614670

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Daly's been dealing with injury. That's what has limited his gametime, as opposed to selection issues."
No, there's been a selection issue too for some time, irrespective of any injury.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1059 - 03/06/2025 21:22:25    2614676