Galway Football thread

Replying To JimB1991:  "Ye the Connaught teams have been shown up a little this weekend. Despite the talk of most open All Ireland in years and all the division one teams on a similar level there seems to a clear gap developing.
Donegal, Kerry and Armagh are the only 3 teams putting in consistently impressive performances."
They have 3 division 1 teams next season same as Ulster

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 166 - 18/05/2025 18:17:36    2610678

Replying To crafty:  "I agree that Connacht is weak at present and that was underlined by Cavan's trouncing of Mayo today. I'd say that morale in Mayo is very low at present. I don't agree that Galway are in the mix for Sam. Galway had their chance last year."
We didn't do well in group stages last year either but were pretty decent when we got out of them.Hopefully we will but hard to know.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 18/05/2025 18:17:43    2610679

Replying To JimB1991:  "Ye the Connaught teams have been shown up a little this weekend. Despite the talk of most open All Ireland in years and all the division one teams on a similar level there seems to a clear gap developing.
Donegal, Kerry and Armagh are the only 3 teams putting in consistently impressive performances."
Agreeing with yourself ? Going to be hard to keep up with all these aliases. Do you keep the one pass word for them all to keep track?

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 434 - 18/05/2025 19:09:03    2610715

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Is that the same Donegal we beat last year?"
That was last year. You beat Dublin last year too if you remember, didn't help yesterday.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 55 - 18/05/2025 19:24:57    2610721

First off, can we please just ignore the obvious troll. For a lad with so much to say about Galway (in his many guises) he has never posted on the Donegal thread and even on national level discussions only ever talks about Galway. He's a bloody bore and it would be great if we could just starve him of the attention he apparently craves.

As to Galway, I wouldn't panic after a one point defeat to a team that was out to prove something after their shock defeat. That said we have clear and lingering weaknesses especially at the back and even our victory over Mayo was far from complete. I don't think anyone's expecting an AI win out of this team but I wouldn't be surprised to see us get to the semis if we can pick up the levels just a little.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3149 - 18/05/2025 19:54:53    2610732

tough loss yesterday but i predicted it..dublin had a massive point to prove and deserved there victory over a very flat galway team..its not the end of the world losing a game by a point to another division 1 team but we'll see now what this galway team and management are mad off with a massive game v derry in 2 weeks..
we all can see the problems is that we are not aggressive enough in the tackle and teams are scoring to easily
against us and at this stage i would consider changing goalie as you cannot concede a goal like the one we did
yesterday..it was way too easy..
for the next day its time for change..
time to bring daly back to 6 for structure and organisation..
move silke back to 4.
kelly to7.
i actually start cooke and bring conroy on with 25 to go.
drop darcy for a more natural scoring wing forward and move mattie to 10..
we also need to start kicking the ball alot more.
this year is not over yeat and one good win could make all the differece.

my team v derry.
1.flaherty.
2.mccrath.
3.mulkerrins.
4.silke.
5.mchugh.
6.daly.
7.kelly.
8.cooke.
9.maher.
10.tierney
11.mcdaid
12.thompson
13.finnerty
14.walsh
15.o conghaile.

introduce comer., conroy., molloy., o flaherty.,tomo, darcy/glynn in the secind half and see what happens..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 268 - 18/05/2025 20:50:42    2610755

Disappointing result yesterday, great crowd and a great atmosphere in pearse stadium especially in the terrace, but unfortunately going down the home stretch it was a game we never felt like winning, our attack was too slow and unpredictable, the dubs took conroy out of the game, they had a man on him at all times and his scoring was a massive loss. The dubs got scores was easier, their directness and speed in their attack was very impressive. All that said we should of scored 2 goals in the first half, i think it was mchugh the first half had a shot blocked and shane should have no excuses for his miss that should have been buried, will Joyce rush Comer back? He was walking the prom when i was walking into pearse stadium before the hurling

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 18/05/2025 22:56:48    2610813

Replying To Tribes88:  "Great win for the squad, to beat Roscommon and Mayo without 2 of the best players is mighty going.
Thompson very good, Conroy and McDaid were real leaders the last day.
They have a great tactic on kickouts now, with certain players getting in under opposition jumpers and leaving our jumpers free to get a jump at it. Opposition will cop on to it you would think now though.
Dublin will be a very tough game, they will have a point to prove after the Meath game and us knocking them out last year"
I knew the kickout tactic would get found out, especially against a smart team like Dublin, Dublin are the masters at using body to either stop opposition or create space for themselves real basketball stuff.
It was the worst time to get the Dubs also, they really needed the reaction after the Meath result.
We were flat and poor. I know ppl are saying we only lost by one score but we didnt deserve to win and we were 4 or 5 points the worse team i think, O Callaghan going off was a big help.
Hernon was disappointing, Cooke was ok but needs to be more direct. If Hernon or Walsh scored there goal chances or took both, then might have given a boost

Tribes88 (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 18/05/2025 23:22:54    2610815

Forwards win games, and I was looking at the programme before game thinking 7 of Dublin's players would make Galway forward line. They play game at far higher pace than Galway forwards. But ironically, when we do play at pace we look very good - the chance created for Shane Walsh goal being an example. Galway generally are good defensively but got taken to cleaners against Dubs pace. If I was picking a combined Dublin/Galway it would be the following: Cluxton, McGrath, Kelly, Silke, McHugh, Howard, McDaid, Maher, O' Cofaigh Byrne, Kilkenny, Walsh, Bugler, Small/Finnerty, Con, Basquell/Costello.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 432 - 19/05/2025 08:38:25    2610847

Replying To hopballref:  "Forwards win games, and I was looking at the programme before game thinking 7 of Dublin's players would make Galway forward line. They play game at far higher pace than Galway forwards. But ironically, when we do play at pace we look very good - the chance created for Shane Walsh goal being an example. Galway generally are good defensively but got taken to cleaners against Dubs pace. If I was picking a combined Dublin/Galway it would be the following: Cluxton, McGrath, Kelly, Silke, McHugh, Howard, McDaid, Maher, O' Cofaigh Byrne, Kilkenny, Walsh, Bugler, Small/Finnerty, Con, Basquell/Costello."
Ya sure leave FOTY last year out of your combined team

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 331 - 19/05/2025 09:35:02    2610861

Replying To Tribes88:  "I knew the kickout tactic would get found out, especially against a smart team like Dublin, Dublin are the masters at using body to either stop opposition or create space for themselves real basketball stuff.
It was the worst time to get the Dubs also, they really needed the reaction after the Meath result.
We were flat and poor. I know ppl are saying we only lost by one score but we didnt deserve to win and we were 4 or 5 points the worse team i think, O Callaghan going off was a big help.
Hernon was disappointing, Cooke was ok but needs to be more direct. If Hernon or Walsh scored there goal chances or took both, then might have given a boost"
Walsh should have scored his goal chance, Hernon's while it nearly went in wasn't a clear goal chance. Galway's second goal came from a poor shot that deserved a wide but ended up in the net (fair dues to the Galway man for keeping the ball in play). In fairness Dublin's goal came from a bad error from Galway and the ball couldn't have bounced better for Costello.
Dublin twice established a deserved 4 point lead in the game and were twice pegged back, both times with goals that they would be disappointed with.
However the Dubs never really conceded momentum/control to Galway bar for a few minutes after the first Galway goal. Going down the stretch no doubt both teams would have taken a draw. Having watched the full game again though Dublin certainly deserved the win and a 3 or 4 point margin would not have flattered the winners.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 901 - 19/05/2025 10:52:52    2610884

Replying To Eire89:  "Ya sure leave FOTY last year out of your combined team"
Us Dubs delighted that POCB had his best game ever in Blue on Saturday but to put him in ahead of Conroy, well now I don't think so.
On all known evidence it has to be PC.
POCB is a huge man, 6'6" and near 16 stone, sometimes these really big men develop as footballers a little later so at 25 maybe Peadar is going to throw off the shackles and come into his own, also with Brian Fenton gone his responsibilities in the team are more clearcut.
Is there some suspicion/talk that Conroy was carrying a knock on Saturday?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 901 - 19/05/2025 11:13:10    2610890

Replying To Eire89:  "Ya sure leave FOTY last year out of your combined team"
The new rules are all about pace and you need legs - I think Conroy will end up being a brilliant impact sub later in year should Galway qualify.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 432 - 19/05/2025 11:16:01    2610893

Replying To sligo joe:  "Us Dubs delighted that POCB had his best game ever in Blue on Saturday but to put him in ahead of Conroy, well now I don't think so.
On all known evidence it has to be PC.
POCB is a huge man, 6'6" and near 16 stone, sometimes these really big men develop as footballers a little later so at 25 maybe Peadar is going to throw off the shackles and come into his own, also with Brian Fenton gone his responsibilities in the team are more clearcut.
Is there some suspicion/talk that Conroy was carrying a knock on Saturday?"
good post sligo joe.

yes the word on the street is he was carrying an injury although not sure what it was, conroy has been a colossus for us since 2008 but people rule you out after one game these days, similiar to walsh.

galway have a huge mountain to climb now away to derry and last game against armagh.

dublin and armagh game in croker should be a classic!

dillontim16 (Armagh) - Posts: 5 - 19/05/2025 11:22:49    2610895

Replying To jm25:  "Typical nonsensical post our midfield are back stuck on ground again snc box jumping stopped again

How are these forwards lacking technique I know you labelled Thompson as been a technically poor shooter previously which is laughable.

Issues I see

1 we are still so passive in defence as still old rules, see winning point loads of space and lack of pressure applied.

Defenders turning back when ran at see Glynn for mayo goal. McGrath for Con point in first half today.

Kelly is very loose defensively and slow on turn

If you watch Roscommon kickouts in first 15 minutes last month they were able to get men free all over the place same happened today the winning score the Dub was bending down catching kick near his knees.

Sideline was slow to make changes DOF for Darcy at HT was obvious change we needed pace and ball winners.

Conroy prob should have came off earlier but not writing him off.

Positives Thompson just made for this. Finnerty took his scores well and Walsh got time in gruelling conditions.

Is it a case by playing big fetchers across middle of field are we sacrificing ability to win breaks?? Would we be better option having a Molloy oflaherty type instead of Darcy Tierney for exay"
Ah, JM25, always having a pop at me and my posts! So be it but just so as you know, I'm not trying to write an article for the Times here, I'm posting based on what I see as a lifelong Galway supporter when I'm at our games. I'm entitled to do so and if you don't like that, you know what to do with it.
Try focusing on saying your own thing in your posts but if you feel you must come back again to have a go at me to try and redeem yourself when I've disproved your pointed comments in the past, then that's your prerogative.
So, let me explain for you what you found so 'nonsensical'. I'll make this easy for you.
We were badly beaten in midfield. Okay. The midfield, indeed our middle 8, couldn't win primary possession. I think 99% of galway fans there could see that but maybe it wasn't obvious enough for you.
With the new rules, fielding is now even more critical to gaining primary possession. It's not complex - Dublin bossed us in that department, possession in midfield creates the platform for scores and they did it with ease time and again. Ciaran Kilkenny is 6ft tall, he claimed 6 kickouts, he outfielded some of our guys who are physically bigger, rated as top IC fielders, and are 3 -4 inches taller than him. We got cleaned in the air. That's being stuck to the ground on our part. We're not getting off the deck. Watch it back. Our big men are repeatedly going slightly too short for the dropping ball, then they have to step backwards into the drop zone, the Dublin midfielder puts a hand or two on their shoulder as they reverse into the Dublin player, who then times his jump and claims the ball. Dublin player is in the air, Galway feet still on the ground. There were multiple instances of that. Watch it back. Is there a foul in it? Perhaps, but it'll never be called as that jostling is seen as a constant and largely ignored by refs but the Dubs have it down to a fine art.
Another point you seemed to have an issue with and I'll say it again for you, our shooting isn't good enough. We're expecting to win the All Ireland right? At least that's the ambition. If it is, then our shooting has to become elite and right now it's not. 2 of our 6 two pointer efforts is all we landed. 2 or 3 of those 2
Pointer effort wides were straightforward and should be landed at this elite grade. 2 two point frees in the later stages could've been attempted. Cooke shooting twice off the outside of his boot to get distance isn't what we should be expecting at this stage from such a quality player. A man his size and with his power should standard hook kick those over the bar all day long. It's a far simpler skill to execute and the breeze was negligible at that stage. Wrong shooting decision and not practised enough. Simple as that. If we landed any one of those, we'd have beaten Dublin for only the second time in 90 years - but we failed to make it happen. Also, we've very little in the way of runners at angles coming at speed off the shoulder, rather than going back and forth in predictable arcs.
Our defence had so many shortcomings on Saturday but on just one point alone, we have to put more contact on in defence outside the arc. We have to tackle, we have to hit. We didn't lay a hand on many of their runners, who we could see were going to come off the shoulder and drive at us. They breezed through us.
That's enough for you to digest for now JM, even with all that bile!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1050 - 19/05/2025 11:29:46    2610900

Replying To Galway456:  "Disappointing result yesterday, great crowd and a great atmosphere in pearse stadium especially in the terrace, but unfortunately going down the home stretch it was a game we never felt like winning, our attack was too slow and unpredictable, the dubs took conroy out of the game, they had a man on him at all times and his scoring was a massive loss. The dubs got scores was easier, their directness and speed in their attack was very impressive. All that said we should of scored 2 goals in the first half, i think it was mchugh the first half had a shot blocked and shane should have no excuses for his miss that should have been buried, will Joyce rush Comer back? He was walking the prom when i was walking into pearse stadium before the hurling"
It was Hernon that had the shot. It beat Cluxton but was cleared off the line behind him. Weirdly enough it was Galway who had all the goal chances. Scored 2 but missed another 2 good chances. Even Tierney had a goal chance there for his equalising fisted point at the end but can't blame him for taking the point at that stage. Dublin didn't really create any goal chances bar the one Silke handed to them.

Big problem was the kickouts. Conroy, Maher and D'Arcy weren't really in the game at all.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2387 - 19/05/2025 11:48:44    2610911

Interesting comment on Cooke's size and power. He has less of both than when we last saw him.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 19/05/2025 11:57:20    2610916