Galway Football thread

Replying To JimB1991:  "Yes, Galway need a big improvement if they are to be contenders this year. Interesting to see if they can lift their game."
LOL

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 07/05/2025 09:38:08    2607272

Replying To Belclare7:  "Some delusion in Mayo since Sunday..
Reading on the blog this morning that Mayo threw it away, should have won, blaming management, players, and the referee..
Harping back to Gough admitting he got calls wrong last year ( when in fact he admitted to one call ) looking for any reason as to why Galway won..

When in fact it's as simple as Mayo are really not a good team..
They have not got enough quality forwards.. and they won't change anytime soon.
I'd expect Cavan to beat them.."
Most of the posters on that probably live in Claregalway and Knocknacarra, can't be easy for them

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 505 - 07/05/2025 09:39:50    2607273

Replying To smallfrank:  "Most of the posters on that probably live in Claregalway and Knocknacarra, can't be easy for them"
Haha, yea you'd know where all those posters live alright

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 07/05/2025 10:03:51    2607276

Replying To Belclare7:  "Some delusion in Mayo since Sunday..
Reading on the blog this morning that Mayo threw it away, should have won, blaming management, players, and the referee..
Harping back to Gough admitting he got calls wrong last year ( when in fact he admitted to one call ) looking for any reason as to why Galway won..

When in fact it's as simple as Mayo are really not a good team..
They have not got enough quality forwards.. and they won't change anytime soon.
I'd expect Cavan to beat them.."
You're obsessed with Mayo fans belclare. You pick out a few daft comments or ones you don't agree with and use it as a narrative. Your a wind up merchant like that lad "Finnster" on Twitter who's posts remind me a lot of yours. You'll see plenty of posts on the Mayo blog from fans saying we aren't good enough at this moment in time, not enough quality forwards etc, poor decion making and shot selection. I think it's also fair for fans to question management. Ye did plenty of the same here when Galway were going bad.

Games are debated from a fans point of view, "there it away and should have won" you have a problem with Mayo fans thinking that? Mayo drew back level and had all the momentum, actually had more shots at goal/posts than Galway so actually yes the chances were there but we were not good enough to take them. Galway took theirs from fewer shots and have better clutch players in those moments.

Ultimately Galway are looking to win the All Ireland and have every chance of doing so. Yesterday was our All Ireland as it's the only silverware we can win this year and a lot of frustration stems from that. So less of your high horse ****.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11557 - 07/05/2025 10:12:48    2607283

Gleesson saved our bacon again, Mayo could easily have won. We need Comer and Walsh next time

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1732 - 07/05/2025 10:32:00    2607286

Replying To Cumann1:  "Haha, yea you'd know where all those posters live alright"
Law of averages surely? Its like Boston or New York back in the late 1800's, the immigrants tended to stick together

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 277 - 07/05/2025 10:58:14    2607296

Replying To yew_tree:  "You're obsessed with Mayo fans belclare. You pick out a few daft comments or ones you don't agree with and use it as a narrative. Your a wind up merchant like that lad "Finnster" on Twitter who's posts remind me a lot of yours. You'll see plenty of posts on the Mayo blog from fans saying we aren't good enough at this moment in time, not enough quality forwards etc, poor decion making and shot selection. I think it's also fair for fans to question management. Ye did plenty of the same here when Galway were going bad.

Games are debated from a fans point of view, "there it away and should have won" you have a problem with Mayo fans thinking that? Mayo drew back level and had all the momentum, actually had more shots at goal/posts than Galway so actually yes the chances were there but we were not good enough to take them. Galway took theirs from fewer shots and have better clutch players in those moments.

Ultimately Galway are looking to win the All Ireland and have every chance of doing so. Yesterday was our All Ireland as it's the only silverware we can win this year and a lot of frustration stems from that. So less of your high horse ****."
In all fairness, that's not just one of the resident crackpots who's saying the things Belclare mentioned above

That's the owner of the site who is using his platform to make things up about Gough, complain about Sundays referee, ignore the times Galway got screwed (awarding of ROD'S talked about free a prime example), and claim that Mayo should've won every game they've lost since day dot seemingly

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 277 - 07/05/2025 11:03:17    2607297

Replying To PressureKick:  "In all fairness, that's not just one of the resident crackpots who's saying the things Belclare mentioned above

That's the owner of the site who is using his platform to make things up about Gough, complain about Sundays referee, ignore the times Galway got screwed (awarding of ROD'S talked about free a prime example), and claim that Mayo should've won every game they've lost since day dot seemingly"
Who's claiming Mayo should have won every game we lost? Provide an example. Every fan base has crackpots. But don't many fans view games through their own rose tinted glasses? I think the majority of Mayo fans know exactly where we are at the minute. Social media is a cesspool and I've seen plenty of rubbish spouted online by both Galway and Mayo fans in the past. Belclare is always on the wind up.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11557 - 07/05/2025 11:30:05    2607307

Replying To PressureKick:  "In all fairness, that's not just one of the resident crackpots who's saying the things Belclare mentioned above

That's the owner of the site who is using his platform to make things up about Gough, complain about Sundays referee, ignore the times Galway got screwed (awarding of ROD'S talked about free a prime example), and claim that Mayo should've won every game they've lost since day dot seemingly"
It's The Joe Duffy Show of GAA Blogs. Too much misplaced negativity and strange hindsight versions of events that can't be fixed to help this team progress in the group games. We defended poorly. Why is a Galway man shooting on goal with no defender picking him up between him and goal? Whinging about soft, hard, medium penalty decision gets us nowhere. It was a penalty, Galway scored. Find out what happened before the foul and fix it. Too much being read into after a spirited better than expected performance. Kevin on again about not closing out games, same as last year! Same thing happened in Athletics Ground. Very good second half, fluted around the arc last couple of minutes and kicked it wide. Apparently he's hoping we'll be like Armagh of last year and close out tight games. Somehow we'll switch that on? Delusional stuff.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7959 - 07/05/2025 11:39:45    2607313

Why to Galway lads love the Mayogaa blog if its all crack pots typing nonsense?

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1375 - 07/05/2025 11:40:57    2607316

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Gleesson saved our bacon again, Mayo could easily have won. We need Comer and Walsh next time"
Heard that Comer could be out for a while again but can't be 100% on that. Walsh is fairly close I believe.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2383 - 07/05/2025 12:01:05    2607321

Replying To yew_tree:  "Who's claiming Mayo should have won every game we lost? Provide an example. Every fan base has crackpots. But don't many fans view games through their own rose tinted glasses? I think the majority of Mayo fans know exactly where we are at the minute. Social media is a cesspool and I've seen plenty of rubbish spouted online by both Galway and Mayo fans in the past. Belclare is always on the wind up."
Have you actually read the blog on the website that you're getting so upset about people referring to? I'm not talking about the comments, the actual blog, first link on the site, written by the owner. That's your example

Obviously there's crackpots in every fanbase. I don't see people on here jumping to defend the Galway or Roscommon or Dublin ones, so unsure of why you're so quick to jump to get offended on behalf of other faceless people on a completely different website. It's not you personally that's being laughed at

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 277 - 07/05/2025 12:18:16    2607324

Replying To yew_tree:  "Who's claiming Mayo should have won every game we lost? Provide an example. Every fan base has crackpots. But don't many fans view games through their own rose tinted glasses? I think the majority of Mayo fans know exactly where we are at the minute. Social media is a cesspool and I've seen plenty of rubbish spouted online by both Galway and Mayo fans in the past. Belclare is always on the wind up."
That's a shocking accusation Yew tree...
I never have any intention of winding Mayo support up..
In all seriousness I think a drop down to the Tailteann cup would suit Mayo for a few years..
They would be playing Leitrim and Sligo more often...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 07/05/2025 13:06:55    2607343

Replying To PressureKick:  "Law of averages surely? Its like Boston or New York back in the late 1800's, the immigrants tended to stick together"
You need to broaden your horizons a little Belclare.
You'll find there are a lot of galway people living in Mayo

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 07/05/2025 13:09:34    2607344

What is the Mayo GAA blog?

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 105 - 07/05/2025 13:16:20    2607349

Agree , it's Willie Joe himself spouting that rubbish..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 07/05/2025 13:17:20    2607350

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "What is the Mayo GAA blog?"
A run of the mill moany supporter that set up a website in his mothers basement for other Mayo supporters to moan after matches. Has used his platform to get his foot in the door and be on the Mayo News podcast and write articles for them and he now charges supporters to listen to his content.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 428 - 07/05/2025 13:58:43    2607366

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Why to Galway lads love the Mayogaa blog if its all crack pots typing nonsense?"
As Fr Ted once said " maybe I just love the misery"

As in Mayos misery....

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 07/05/2025 14:10:19    2607372

where is kickitout
oh wait galway won

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 295 - 07/05/2025 17:25:20    2607432

Replying To candlewax:  "where is kickitout
oh wait galway won"
Over on mayo thread praising them!!

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 07/05/2025 19:42:32    2607458