Galway Football thread

Replying To tommy k:  "I said it here before but Ronan Steede and Antaine O'Laoi should be on the panel as they both can take a score and link up play. Why were they dropped in the first place. Michael Lundy would also add some drive to the forwards and can also take a score. We are at nothing with some of the players there at the moment."
Maybe just maybe they made a choice not to be involved..
Again concentrate on who's there.. it helps the argument.
Is David Finnegan still playing.?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 05/04/2022 09:44:19    2409671

Replying To Galway4ever:  "Sunday's result and performance was extremely disappointing, another loss to Roscommon in a final, another loss in Croke Park and all we hear is we are going to be fine for the c'ship.
The reality is this latest performance highlighted that we have gone and are going nowhere if we stay on this current trajectory.
We have no kick out strategy, we got wiped out at midfield- Conroy gave a fine display of kicking points but didn't catch any ball which is his primary task at MF, Tierney continues to disappoint and doesn't seem to have the engine for IC midfield.
Too many of our forwards aren't up the standard required and don't have the work rate or physicality to compete at this level, instead make their contributions on the periphery when games are not in the melting pot.
Sean Kelly is our standout back and he was used as some type of utility player Sunday.
Our back line was destroyed by a team who will be relegated straight back to Div 2 next year, tackling was poor and the winning goal was similar to the embarrassing one let in late in last year's CF at the same venue.
We haven't progressed under this current management in the almost three years and hopefully we are in the final weeks of its tenure."
No consistency in our defensive shape. There will always be individual errors but if the structure is correct it should not result in a goal. The Murtagh goal, while individually poor, was not in my opinion indicative of any major issue. I would be more concerned with the 2 goal chances that the Rossies missed. Runners coming through the middle and Galway players not crowding them out.

I actually think this is a mental issue. In some games we have worked back very well and kept a great shape and looked really solid. I think sometimes our players think that it is an easy game and don't work hard enough getting back. At this level you only need to be a fraction off collectively to be exposed. That is why I expect us to beat Mayo. No one will be taking the foot off the gas that day,

FBD
Mayo - Defense solid
Rossies - Defense open

League
Meath - Defense solid
Down - Defense solid
Cork - Defense open
Offaly - Defense open
Clare - Defense solid
Derry - Defense solid
Rossies - Defense open

Regarding kick outs. Very poor on Sunday. Looked like kick it long was our only strategy. I'm hoping we have one but just did not use it on Sunday, and that would be fair enough........ I'm hoping!

I think our MidField are not bad under high ball and wouldn't worry in that regard however if a midfield win 6 out of 10 they have done well, but that would be a poor return on your own kick out hence the importance of getting the un contested possession away.

If this area is resolved/improved we are much better team. Gives us a chance against anyone. Thats how important it is.

Mcglaughilin is some size. Is he ready yet. Certainly would have himself and P Kelly on bench if not starting one of them.

Dessie and Finnerty give nothing defensively. Dessie will never have the size but at least tries, Finnerty has the size but doesn't put it in. I would give Finnerty a weak vote of confidence because of the better strike rate but not sure if we can keep carrying him if the work rate/tackle technique is not better. Against Derry we pushed up as a team. Last Sunday we didn't have cohesion in our press. Waste of time and energy one person pressing.

Some poster mentioned conditioning. I completely disagree. It is very clear that has been addressed this year and I have no concerns in that regard. That won't make Conroy any faster if Ruane gets a run on him but I would expect the shape around that middle third should compensate.

Paul Kelly is important around the middle. Not as flashy as the brother but get through a lot of work and wins ball consistently.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 05/04/2022 10:05:37    2409677

Galway are in a great place as everybody believes we are heading for backdoor. We have to do better with black card selection. Mayo or any other top team would have dragged Murtagh to ground. (professional foul). Ruthlessness has its place in sport. You hear that every week on analysis shows.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1237 - 05/04/2022 11:07:35    2409702

Replying To Belclare:  "Maybe just maybe they made a choice not to be involved..
Is David Finnegan still playing.?"
Steede was dropped because he wasn't good enough. You have difficulty in believing a Corofin player isnt good enough for IC.

You still believe Jason Leonard should be playing.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 05/04/2022 11:11:18    2409704

Roscommon got in behind us 4 times on Sunday and that's a worry. The goal (9 steps) should have been a free out but Murtagh took out 7 players in the process which is unforgiving. So similar to Mayo last year when we just switched off, are we learning?

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1729 - 05/04/2022 11:19:12    2409709

Replying To BLT:  "Steede was dropped because he wasn't good enough. You have difficulty in believing a Corofin player isnt good enough for IC.

You still believe Jason Leonard should be playing."
Nope I don't.. You're a great man for jumping on my posts..
But you are a fairly insignificant poster.. Steede left of his own accord..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 05/04/2022 12:24:15    2409734

Replying To Belclare:  "Maybe just maybe they made a choice not to be involved..
Is David Finnegan still playing.?"
Good point - never thought of Finnegan!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 05/04/2022 12:30:40    2409738

Replying To Belclare:  "Nope I don't.. You're a great man for jumping on my posts..
But you are a fairly insignificant poster.. Steede left of his own accord.."
Unlike yourself who is a fountain of footballing knowledge. A footballing Savant of sorts.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 05/04/2022 13:50:00    2409757

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Galway are in a great place as everybody believes we are heading for backdoor. We have to do better with black card selection. Mayo or any other top team would have dragged Murtagh to ground. (professional foul). Ruthlessness has its place in sport. You hear that every week on analysis shows."
Well, they could have also just tackled him properly?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 05/04/2022 14:00:45    2409761

Replying To ahsure.:  "Roscommon got in behind us 4 times on Sunday and that's a worry. The goal (9 steps) should have been a free out but Murtagh took out 7 players in the process which is unforgiving. So similar to Mayo last year when we just switched off, are we learning?"
7 steps. He was being tackled and refs allow it rightly or wrongly. Galway will need to tighten up to beat Mayo.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2533 - 05/04/2022 14:03:54    2409762

Replying To ahsure.:  "Roscommon got in behind us 4 times on Sunday and that's a worry. The goal (9 steps) should have been a free out but Murtagh took out 7 players in the process which is unforgiving. So similar to Mayo last year when we just switched off, are we learning?"
He got fouled by Tierney before shooting so steps get reset in that situation.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3728 - 05/04/2022 14:28:27    2409773

i think he took a hop between the steps in fairness.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1002 - 05/04/2022 14:32:22    2409774

Fair points on the steps. To be honest the steps are a side issue, should never have conceded the goal.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1729 - 05/04/2022 14:53:31    2409783

Replying To ahsure.:  "Fair points on the steps. To be honest the steps are a side issue, should never have conceded the goal."
I can't see where the fuss is coming from regarding Murtaghs goal. He solos and bounced the ball through the Galway defence. Maybe he did slightly more than the 4 steps allowed but watch most players now running with the ball and almost all will carry over the 4 steps. I've watched it numerous times and honestly it looks no way like he's over carried the ball. David Clifford regularly runs 7,8,9 steps before shooting and gets away with it. He even bounced the ball twice in a row the weekend and scored and no one batted an eye to it. I can understand why Galway lads would be looking for something to blame the goal on but I wouldn't be blaming the number of steps. I'd be blaming the defenders who didn't lay a hand on him in the first instance. It might be the best thing that happened ye as no doubt management will work on the defence no end between now and the Mayo game and maybe make sure such goal won't be allowed to be scored again

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 151 - 05/04/2022 15:06:35    2409786

On one hand, I understand the desire for no negativity (and yes, some posters here can go OTT at times) and to get fully behind the team and management for the Mayo game (I will be the first man in the stand in McHale as an exiled Galway man) but I just had to post as the amount of posters here with their heads totally in the sand about where the Galway team is at the moment is alarming...

"a few tweaks, and Joyce will have them ready to give Mayo a right good rattle....and if we win that, who knows"

We are still so far removed from competing at the highest level of senior inter-county football in terms of a game plan, a kick out strategy, defensive organisation, aggression, mentality.... it's frightening.

Only thing we can hope for in 2 weeks is some individual brilliance from Walsh, Comer and Conroy.....and for Mayo's injury woes to continue.

Mcb86 (Mayo) - Posts: 13 - 05/04/2022 15:20:12    2409794

Galway U-20 v Mayo

James Egan
Conor Corcoran
Eanna Donohue
Colm MacDonncha
Ruairi King
Jonathan McGrath
Daniel Flaherty
James McLaughlin
Conall Gallagher
Rory Donnellan
Warren Seoige
Dylan Brady
Charlie Power
Tomo Culhane
Nathan Grainger

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2408 - 05/04/2022 15:59:39    2409809

Replying To BLT:  "Unlike yourself who is a fountain of footballing knowledge. A footballing Savant of sorts."
Well we agree on that so..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 05/04/2022 16:35:59    2409822

City and West making up the bulk of the team. Interesting. Serious shift in footballer sources.

Stripsandbanners (Galway) - Posts: 82 - 05/04/2022 16:46:43    2409827

Replying To Marooned:  "Galway U-20 v Mayo

James Egan
Conor Corcoran
Eanna Donohue
Colm MacDonncha
Ruairi King
Jonathan McGrath
Daniel Flaherty
James McLaughlin
Conall Gallagher
Rory Donnellan
Warren Seoige
Dylan Brady
Charlie Power
Tomo Culhane
Nathan Grainger"
Strong team a lot of the same players that should have won the minor All-Ireland final 3 years ago instead of losing it in extra time.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3728 - 05/04/2022 17:45:33    2409842

Replying To Stripsandbanners:  "City and West making up the bulk of the team. Interesting. Serious shift in footballer sources."
Yes I think we should reopen the North board v West Board argument before the Mayo game!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 05/04/2022 18:10:39    2409847