Replying To Green&Gold2013: "Corofins overall football ability just won it out for them. They can play it anyway, by foot or by hand. Moycullen are a bit one dimensional in that they rarely move the ball by foot.
It will be interesting to see how Corofin do in Connacht. There is a general consensus that the standard in Galway is not as good as it was say from 2017 to 2022. Time will tell." It could hardly be as good, measured against a side that won 3 allirelands in a row 2017-2019, with winning final margins of 12 and 15 points over 'the cream of Munster'. Ian Burke a missing ingredient now, and a lot of players are 5 years older of course. with 1or2 showing the mileage at this stage. That said, I'd expect they're favorites to win Connacht right now.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3857 - 28/10/2024 09:49:18
Replying To Kickitout: "Looking at match 2 day hard understand how Eoin Kelly' and Paul Kelly' on county squads in 64 mins I can't remember Paul Kelly actually kicking the ball I watched salthill last day also hard figure out how so many in Galway squad I have wondered for a long tome does Padraig actually know what he looking at when he picking players ,, good to see Sean Kelly' full back in his right position not muffled or wing forward ,, I think for 2025 John Maher should be Galway captain,," Someone very jealous of the Kelly's on here. It was very difficult playing conditions yesterday so unfortunately we didn't get to see the type of football we could have all been in a treat for, but well done to Corofin.
Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 28/10/2024 10:09:54
Replying To Marooned: "For the level of talent they have Moycullen always seem to play with the handbrake on. Far too conservative. Even behind 5 or 6 points today they never really went for broke." I'd agree. They play such a measured low-risk game. I understand it is successful in general, but I think you need a bit more when it comes to playing a team like Corofin. There is no doubt they have the talented players to be more proactive.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2187 - 28/10/2024 11:22:09
Replying To Drax_the_destroyer: "congrats to Corofin, they have well and truly back in the winning habit in Galway again and after losing the Connacht final last year they'll be out to win this year. I expected a lot more from Moycullen for all the money they have spent on their new management team and coaches, still too slow and laborious in their play and you won't win many senior finals scoring just 0-9." For the level of talent they have Moycullen always seem to play with the handbrake on. Far too conservative. Even behind 5 or 6 points today they never really went for broke.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2288 - 28/10/2024 12:19:16
Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed: "Someone very jealous of the Kelly's on here. It was very difficult playing conditions yesterday so unfortunately we didn't get to see the type of football we could have all been in a treat for, but well done to Corofin." Again talking brown about Moycullen's game blaming playing conditions would you ever say you were wrong for once and had overblown some of Moycullen's players and the way they play the game
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 118 - 28/10/2024 12:58:51
Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed: "Someone very jealous of the Kelly's on here. It was very difficult playing conditions yesterday so unfortunately we didn't get to see the type of football we could have all been in a treat for, but well done to Corofin." Definitely not anyway jealous of Kelly's I've always admire Sean he definitely one best full backs in Ireland being played out position by Galway management all this year and only reason I was saying John Maher for captain is than Sean has had 3 years and it time change it I think no other reason , as for Eoin and Paul in my opinion not near county standard Eoin came off yesterday in club football and Paul I'd say prob not actually kick the ball 10 times a year in matches and I've seen him playing lots matches that's my observation
Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 950 - 28/10/2024 14:16:04
Replying To WonTon5: "Then you see the likes of Conor Cunningham today who has the pace and physical attributes to be a top player at County level, has never been on a county senior panel as far as I'm aware." Totally agree about Cunningham. Can't understand why he didn't get a chance with Galway over the last 7/8 years. Probably a bit late for him now. Teams like Salthill and Moycullen need to have a good look at themselves. Salthill surrendered meekly against Corofin and it looked yesterday as if Moycullen never believed they could beat them. The game was over at half time. Attitude is everything in a final.
crafty (Galway) - Posts: 257 - 28/10/2024 17:12:06
No slight on S Kelly at all but think captaincy should go to McHugh 3 years is plenty and no harm to pass it on and it may do Kelly world of good so he can concentrate 1000% on fitness might not make any difference in terms of injuries but new voice would be good especially with the shake up of back room team o Neill gone etc. Game on Sunday always felt like a goal would be huge and what a gift from Moycullen. You can't get that pedigree as much as you try. Egan is some player hope he is given no 8 jersey from start of league of course depending how far Corofin go
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 299 - 28/10/2024 17:42:01
I don't post often but sometimes when u see so much stuff about clubs and individual players then I feel the need to post. Leitrim man long time living in Galway. The furore with Mickey Graham is over the top. What did or did not happen is immaterial the man made his choice. For me I think Leitrim dodged a bullet and have a far superior management team in place now. As for comments on moycullen and some of their players, ( not my club) again wildly over top probably from people who could never aspire to be part of county teams. PJ and management select who they think are the players that will win an all Ireland and I am happy with that. At the county final yesterday and have been for last 20 years.Game swung on a goalkeeping error and feel sorry for that lad. It has been a breath of fresh air to see teams like mountbellew and latterly Moycullen come and challenge Corofin.. I think salthill can improve and Moycullen are not finished. Throw in Tuam and maybe Claregalway and Dunmore and good years ahead for Galway club championship. I do think Corofin are not as strong as the glory years but they have certainly raised the standards in others so hope for a lot of clubs. Instead of giving out about clubs and players embrace them, god knows they give up everything to succeed. Best of luck to Corofin and hope they go all the way and to Galway in the All ireland 2025. And hopefully my own county will continue to compete at the highest level they can.
Leitrimalways (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 28/10/2024 19:35:07
Replying To systematic: "Who is this General consensus talking rubbish about the standard? Look at it objectively: 2017-19: Corofin 3 in a row AI 2020: cancelled 2021: MM beaten by Padraig pearses in csf who were beaten in aisf 2022: Moycullen beaten in aisf 2023: Corofin beaten by Brigid's in cf, who got to aif.
So really Mr general consensus is talking brown as 2023 no real difference from 21 or 22." The pace and quality is not the same of these games.
Moycullen are not the same team in my opinion as they were 2022, they have been relatively poor all year? Corofin got well bet by St Brigids last year. Salthill look further off it than ever. MM are gone backwards. Tuam are at the same level as they have been for 10 years now. Where is the quality in the Galway championship? I don't think Corofin have improved massively the last few years I just think everyone else has got worse.
2017-2019 Corofins 3 in a row. 21 and 22 I think we had the three best teams in Connacht in MM, Moycullen and Corofin. MM got unlucky against Pearses and Moycullen won Connacht the following year.
Time will tell in the next few weeks anyway Systematic!
Green&Gold2013 (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 28/10/2024 22:08:51
I agree, I believe Moycullen isn't done yet. They have a squad brimming with talent and commitment, and they have a few more strong years ahead. Their oldest player was just 33, while Corofin had multiple players over 35, including Gary Sice who's powering away and turning 40. Moycullen has incredible potential, and I'm excited to see their team unfold in the future. Look at how far they've come, Ger Davoren, Conor Corcoran & Owen Gallagher keep getting better, and they were without Niall Walsh for the last few years - their highest scorer. They have got all this talent that are capable of winning on the right day. Would love to see them come back next year and play the best they've ever done. That game was there's at the start, and look, things changed in seconds and we saw them loose heart and loose the head. The rain and bad pitch was definitely detrimental. They've also had a change of management. I could see David Wynne staying on as caption and driving them forward next year. I'm also delighted to see Sean Kelly will get proper time to recovery, something we all agree he desperately needs to be back to himself.
Corofin are like the iconic Dublin team. They're all much older and their experience is standing to them. They took risks, they took goal chances and they were rewarded for them.
Killanin, Leitri Mor and Oughterard are definitely the teams to watch. They played outstanding football this year, and you can really see their progress. Look forward to seeing more of them.
Every lad should be commended. Senior football is a hell of a beast and they deserve credit for their commitment. Easy come on here and talk shite.
Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 28/10/2024 22:56:47
Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed: "I agree, I believe Moycullen isn't done yet. They have a squad brimming with talent and commitment, and they have a few more strong years ahead. Their oldest player was just 33, while Corofin had multiple players over 35, including Gary Sice who's powering away and turning 40. Moycullen has incredible potential, and I'm excited to see their team unfold in the future. Look at how far they've come, Ger Davoren, Conor Corcoran & Owen Gallagher keep getting better, and they were without Niall Walsh for the last few years - their highest scorer. They have got all this talent that are capable of winning on the right day. Would love to see them come back next year and play the best they've ever done. That game was there's at the start, and look, things changed in seconds and we saw them loose heart and loose the head. The rain and bad pitch was definitely detrimental. They've also had a change of management. I could see David Wynne staying on as caption and driving them forward next year. I'm also delighted to see Sean Kelly will get proper time to recovery, something we all agree he desperately needs to be back to himself.
Corofin are like the iconic Dublin team. They're all much older and their experience is standing to them. They took risks, they took goal chances and they were rewarded for them.
Killanin, Leitri Mor and Oughterard are definitely the teams to watch. They played outstanding football this year, and you can really see their progress. Look forward to seeing more of them.
Every lad should be commended. Senior football is a hell of a beast and they deserve credit for their commitment. Easy come on here and talk shite." Gary Sice is the only one on that panel over 35. There's a crew like Lundy, Power, Mike Farragher, Cathal Silke that around 33/34 but the rest have plenty of years left in them.
GalwayLurker (Galway) - Posts: 109 - 28/10/2024 23:47:24
You could tell watching the game that Corofin have been trained and taught the same principals/skills of the game since an early age. They are so comfortable. Moycullen are a team trying to put it all together. When you think of all the players who didn't start for Corofin they simply have an abundance of footballers.
hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 417 - 29/10/2024 08:47:25
Replying To Marooned: "For the level of talent they have Moycullen always seem to play with the handbrake on. Far too conservative. Even behind 5 or 6 points today they never really went for broke." You'd have to feel sorry for Maloney after his home club Tullamore winning 2 County Titles in a row!
Dualstar22 (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 29/10/2024 09:12:45
Corofin best team in Galway again, they are very good at the basics, every player gets the basics right and this is what a lot of other teams lack, too focused on systems and tactics. Corofin defenders have probably better football skills than forwards in other teams. Now also add in workrate and fitness, which they have , its so hard to beat.
Moycullen are a better team than they showed Sunday, tough year with injuries and it caught up to them. They play a too conservative game, and they need to be on form with the there long range shooting, Cooke mainly, if they are too win a game playing this way. I don't think the style suits them, they have great runners of the ball that cold be setting up far more goal chance than what they are doing. I think there main problem which funny enough is there Corofin coach, since he has come in with them, they have turned into a far more risk free conservative team. He did it with Annaghdown also, and didnt get good reviews with Mayo u20s either.
Tribes88 (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 29/10/2024 10:23:46
Replying To Dualstar22: "You'd have to feel sorry for Maloney after his home club Tullamore winning 2 County Titles in a row!" Violin is out but sure remember he has "ties" to Moycullen and is living there thats why he choose them.
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 299 - 29/10/2024 10:57:32
Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed: "I agree, I believe Moycullen isn't done yet. They have a squad brimming with talent and commitment, and they have a few more strong years ahead. Their oldest player was just 33, while Corofin had multiple players over 35, including Gary Sice who's powering away and turning 40. Moycullen has incredible potential, and I'm excited to see their team unfold in the future. Look at how far they've come, Ger Davoren, Conor Corcoran & Owen Gallagher keep getting better, and they were without Niall Walsh for the last few years - their highest scorer. They have got all this talent that are capable of winning on the right day. Would love to see them come back next year and play the best they've ever done. That game was there's at the start, and look, things changed in seconds and we saw them loose heart and loose the head. The rain and bad pitch was definitely detrimental. They've also had a change of management. I could see David Wynne staying on as caption and driving them forward next year. I'm also delighted to see Sean Kelly will get proper time to recovery, something we all agree he desperately needs to be back to himself.
Every lad should be commended. Senior football is a hell of a beast and they deserve credit for their commitment. Easy come on here and talk shite." I've called you out for spreading misinfo before - Gary sice is the only player over 35 on Corofin's team. 3 of the starters are part of a successful u19 team and there are a few more of those on bench.
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 118 - 29/10/2024 12:39:39
Every lad should be commended. Senior football is a hell of a beast and they deserve credit for their commitment. Easy come on here and talk shite." Ye'd be better off going shopping for a recently retired county keeper than coming on here talking brown! Maybe ye should be giving Bory Reggan a call or someone like that ;)
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 118 - 29/10/2024 12:41:25
Replying To Tribes88: "Corofin best team in Galway again, they are very good at the basics, every player gets the basics right and this is what a lot of other teams lack, too focused on systems and tactics. Corofin defenders have probably better football skills than forwards in other teams. Now also add in workrate and fitness, which they have , its so hard to beat.
Moycullen are a better team than they showed Sunday, tough year with injuries and it caught up to them. They play a too conservative game, and they need to be on form with the there long range shooting, Cooke mainly, if they are too win a game playing this way. I don't think the style suits them, they have great runners of the ball that cold be setting up far more goal chance than what they are doing. I think there main problem which funny enough is there Corofin coach, since he has come in with them, they have turned into a far more risk free conservative team. He did it with Annaghdown also, and didnt get good reviews with Mayo u20s either." Stand corrected but dont think he ever coached a Corofin team and never say never but dont think he ever will
fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 424 - 29/10/2024 14:20:47
Replying To systematic: "Ye'd be better off going shopping for a recently retired county keeper than coming on here talking brown! Maybe ye should be giving Bory Reggan a call or someone like that ;)" Rumour has it they are looking at cluxton as his 76th cousing once removed once bought an ice cream cone in moycullen on way to Clifden so he also has "ties" to moycullen
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 299 - 29/10/2024 14:42:01