Galway Football thread

Best of luck Galway today. Hopefully you bring back Sam back over the Shannon again after his long holidays. Mighty buzz around Drumcondra at the moment.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 28/07/2024 13:06:19    2562114

Thank you fellow Connacht men and others for your well wishes! Much appreciated.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 28/07/2024 13:28:57    2562117

Good luck to the lads today, Gaillimh Abu.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 28/07/2024 13:49:56    2562131

Hopefully the lads do us proud today. I'd love to be leaving Croke Park today having seen Paul Conroy win an all ireland.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 762 - 28/07/2024 14:06:10    2562135

Hard luck to Galway

In a close game, it's an old saying but..

Goals win games.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 28/07/2024 17:12:31    2562172

Finnerty going off and Walsh's self-indulgence cost us the AI.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 28/07/2024 17:12:59    2562173

We are now well in Mayo territory - so, less of the mud throwing will be welcome at least.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 28/07/2024 17:16:22    2562178

Replying To Really:  "We are now well in Mayo territory - so, less of the mud throwing will be welcome at least."
Ye were not slow giving it to us when we lost so Lao it up

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 28/07/2024 17:17:31    2562180

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "I feel it will all boil down to Comer. If he takes the field with the right mind-set he will win it for Galway."
Wrong mindset was it??

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 28/07/2024 17:18:47    2562182

Replying To mayo_123:  "Ye were not slow giving it to us when we lost so Lao it up"
Actually most Galway people wanted Mayo to win so don't tar us with same brush and do you know what yeah we lost,yeah we were bad but we take that on the chin.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 336 - 28/07/2024 17:23:50    2562185

Hard luck lads, such a shame the wait to see Sam returns to Connacht goes on. Galway much like ourselves v Armagh will look back on injuries and kicking so many poor wides and other efforts kicked short.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3863 - 28/07/2024 17:31:47    2562196

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Wrong mindset was it??"
Ah good lad.Thats the way.Kick a man when he is down.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 336 - 28/07/2024 17:36:29    2562202

Galway just didn't get going and can have no complaints. Yes a few decisions went against them but Armagh done their homework superbly.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9778 - 28/07/2024 17:36:42    2562203

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Actually most Galway people wanted Mayo to win so don't tar us with same brush and do you know what yeah we lost,yeah we were bad but we take that on the chin."
Disappointed for Galway and the West but warmest congratulations to Armagh who just about deserved it. Tight margins in a match like this. Shane Walsh will know what he missed. The Rob Finnerty injury so early was unlucky. Thought the Galway keeper was slow off his line for the goal. A big score in such a close match. It'll be hard for Galway to be back next year. Hard to see where a Connacht All Ireland win will come from.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 28/07/2024 17:42:31    2562205

Replying To Really:  "We are now well in Mayo territory - so, less of the mud throwing will be welcome at least."
Unfortunately we have mow lost 15 senior all ireland finals exactly the same as Mayo as for hurling I won't go there

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 28/07/2024 17:44:53    2562207

Replying To Really:  "Finnerty going off and Walsh's self-indulgence cost us the AI."
Hard one for Galway to take, ye done a Donegal on it. Ye had the chances to put Armagh away the same as Donegal had to put Galway away . That's the beauty of sport and keeps us coming back. Hopefully both will come back stronger next yr...

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 166 - 28/07/2024 17:50:08    2562210

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Hard one for Galway to take, ye done a Donegal on it. Ye had the chances to put Armagh away the same as Donegal had to put Galway away . That's the beauty of sport and keeps us coming back. Hopefully both will come back stronger next yr..."
Can't see us getting back to an AI final like that next year or anytime soon. Can't be throwing away chances like that in a final when you aren't playing a team like Dublin or Kerry. It will set the team back a long way. Walsh missed enough to win the game by himself.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 762 - 28/07/2024 17:53:54    2562212

Didnt have Cawley reffing today lads

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 28/07/2024 17:57:11    2562216

I thought myself Heaney (though he was ok when he came on) for Finnerty wasn't a great move, he's not a corner forward, bring on Tomo in the centre and get Comer to move further out the field bringing his markers with him

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 28/07/2024 18:00:47    2562220

Just not enough competition in Connacht to get a team set up for the All Ireland series compared to Ulster. When you have poor sides such as ourselves and Mayo and Roscommon to play against it doesn't toughen up players like the cauldron that is in Ulster.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 224 - 28/07/2024 18:01:00    2562221