Galway Football thread

Replying To smallfrank:  "Pedigree Chum!!!!, some lads just lack cop on.
There is a press night tonight, that will be carefully managed and scripted I'd imagine. Beyond that there shouldn't be a peep out of anyone."
Name me a match that an interview from a player a week beforehand cost them a game?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 734 - 18/07/2024 15:43:54    2559942

Replying To Salthillsham:  "Armagh fans will be loving this talk of homecoming...easy to get some of you folk getting ahead of yourselves. There were 6000 live fans at Pearse for Monaghan game...60 per cent from Monaghan.., focus on the game and just beating them. Nothing else."
60 per cent from Monaghan? Not being pedantic but no where near that %. Maybe it is some fans make more noise than us at matches. For instance I feel that we had a slightly bigger support than Donegal on Sunday but at times they definitely sounded louder. Great atmosphere generated by both sets of fans in fairness.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 18/07/2024 16:10:09    2559946

Replying To Galway456:  "Sean Hurson to ref the final"
Please God no.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 329 - 18/07/2024 16:25:41    2559948

Only a very few folks are even mentioning homecomings or talk like that, and that's normal in these mad weeks of AI fever, sure they're doing the same up the road in Armagh! For anyone involved in Gaelic football at coaching or playing level, it's as clear as day - there's a game to be played and hopefully won, and not one other thing in the overall context of this final matters until that final whistle is blown. These Galway men haven't let us down all year, in fact they've blown away anyone's doubts or questions about them, there couldn't be a finer group of our county-men to represent us, it's now become obvious that they're relishing Croke Park, the battle and the big occasion. They all know that this Galway team are going to have to be on fire for what's coming with Armagh. I've no doubt we're more than well aware of what they'll bring and we'll be getting primed for it. Armagh are massively confident about winning this and feel they've been through even greater battles than we have to get here. That's debatable but they've undoubtedly some of the best footballers in the country in their ranks now and their fitness and workrate is immense. Rian O'Neill is an absolute thoroughbred of a footballer, his father a former Armagh and Louth player and his mother being the great Oisín McConville's sister. He has a deadly boot on him and we'll have to be blocking down attempts from well outside the 45, as he's well able to land them at even over 50m range, as he's proven a few times this championship, even for clutch scores. Donegal's McGee and later Langan cancelled him out in midfield in the Ulster final but you'd expect him to play, at least for a time, at 11 against us. Conor Turbitt is one of the best finishers in the game with a massive 3-22 scored in championship this year. Closing down these two top tier danger men is critical to the outcome on Sunday week and then we've got to contend with target FF Murnin, and with Rory Grugan who can shoot from anywhere but is also chief playmaker for the inside forward line where he's quarterbacking and consistently having a go at popping long hand passes or incisive low kicks into them to open teams for goals. Oisin Conaty has absolutely electric pace, shoots off both feet and is racking up a few points in every game. Soupie Campbell is a total baller, a class player, and when on form he's lethal from range. At the back, Blaine Hughes is a great keeper and very strong under dropping ball, McGrane in corner back is a dangerous finisher up front and well able to come forward and take points, Ciarán Mackin was a loss to them with his ACL unjury but Tiernan Kelly has shored up 6 very well, McCambridge (2 goals this championship) and the deadly Forker on the wings are scoring for fun, while in midfield Crealey in particular has been outstanding most of the year. Grimley has a cannon of a boot from 40-50+ m range. Meanwhile, their subs roster is v impressive now with Jarly óg, McQuillan, McPartlan, Nugent and others all making serious impacts this year (soupie likely to be a sub too). This is going to be a serious battle. Can't wait!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 958 - 18/07/2024 17:17:26    2559954

Replying To anotheralias:  "One of the things I'm not in favour of is discussing All stars and player of Year awards before the All Ireland final. These things are nice to have and good fun discussion points when its all over but they are so irrelevent in comparison to the real honours in a team sport. However I'm going to break my self imposed rule on this occasion in order to make an important point and to acknowledge the positive evolution of this Galway team.
In 2022 we received 5 All Stars + Young player of the year,
This year we will receive a number of All Stars probably somewhere between 3 and 7 depending on final result and performances. It is a strong possibility that the 2022 and 2024 honours list will be mutually exclusive from a Galway perspective and this stat, if it comes to pass, in itself, says it all about our team progression.
Over the last 10 years winners have received between 5 and 9 awards, average just under 7. Losers have received between 2 and 6, average just under 4. So lets assume that we get 4 if we lose and 7 if we win.
Jon Mcgrath and Dylan McHugh are All stars regarldless of result or performance in AI.
If we lose the 2 extra will likely be from the following 4 depending on AI final performance..Conor Gleeson, Paul Conroy, John Maher, Rob Finnerty.
If we win, and all 6 above named above, do well in final they are more than likely award winners. Additional awards would require exceptional performances in final from Shane Walsh or others. But barring the scenario in the last sentence there would be no overlap in award winners , and as I said above that speaks volumes in itself. I think its also noteworthy to point out the difference in the type of standout players that we have this year , less of the well known established "superstar" types and more of the unsung, hard working, consistent types.
One thing for certain if we are to win we are going to need massive All Star like performance from both of the lists referenced above as well as others. Armagh have also evolved amd they too are a far superior outfit to the one we met in 2022."
Would love to know what Shane Walsh needs to do to be treated with more respect.

Came on against Mayo when we were in trouble. Helped turn the tide with couple of quick fire points.

Had a hand in 2-6 of 2-14 scored against Derry.

Scored the match winning goal against Westmeath where we were badly struggling.

5 points against Armagh (33% of our scores) including two from play.

Hurt against Monaghan.

7 points against the reigning All Ireland Champions while playing hurt. Just shy of 50% of our overall scores including 3 from play.

3 points against Donegal (again playing hurt) no turnovers and attracted lads in yellow jerseys like bees to honey creating space for others.

Now he requires an "exceptional" performance to be considered for an All Star. I think Shane is suffering from "David Clifford standard syndrome" if he's not hitting 22 points per game and creating world peace he is failing.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 18/07/2024 17:34:32    2559959

Replying To kiloughter:  "60 per cent from Monaghan? Not being pedantic but no where near that %. Maybe it is some fans make more noise than us at matches. For instance I feel that we had a slightly bigger support than Donegal on Sunday but at times they definitely sounded louder. Great atmosphere generated by both sets of fans in fairness."
Was going to say the same thing.
Galway fans vastly outnumbered Monaghans that day in Pearse Stadium. It was easily 70-30 in Galways favour

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1272 - 18/07/2024 21:59:43    2559977

Been thinking about the 98 team v today... To my mind Martin Mac (maybe), Tomas Mannion, Sean Og De Paor, Kevin Walsh, Ja Fallon, Micheal Donnellan and Padraic Joyce wold make todays team..... I know medals trump everything but really think we're looking at the best all round squad at least since the sixties. Cant wait to see what the next few years bring... With Dublin and Kerry on a bit of a slide, a second three in a row is not beyond this squad.

Barnaderg (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 19/07/2024 10:38:43    2560026

Replying To Barnaderg:  "Been thinking about the 98 team v today... To my mind Martin Mac (maybe), Tomas Mannion, Sean Og De Paor, Kevin Walsh, Ja Fallon, Micheal Donnellan and Padraic Joyce wold make todays team..... I know medals trump everything but really think we're looking at the best all round squad at least since the sixties. Cant wait to see what the next few years bring... With Dublin and Kerry on a bit of a slide, a second three in a row is not beyond this squad."
Niall Finnegan and Savo would also make today's team easily.

Win one-in-a-row first, enjoy it, and don't be getting carried away with future years. PJ thought the same post-2001 and it didn't transpire.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 19/07/2024 11:11:36    2560033

Replying To Barnaderg:  "Been thinking about the 98 team v today... To my mind Martin Mac (maybe), Tomas Mannion, Sean Og De Paor, Kevin Walsh, Ja Fallon, Micheal Donnellan and Padraic Joyce wold make todays team..... I know medals trump everything but really think we're looking at the best all round squad at least since the sixties. Cant wait to see what the next few years bring... With Dublin and Kerry on a bit of a slide, a second three in a row is not beyond this squad."
A lot of newbie posts on here the last few weeks talking up Galway.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 19/07/2024 11:26:40    2560035

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "A lot of newbie posts on here the last few weeks talking up Galway."
Very exciting times! They're an exceptional team. Luck of course is a big part of it on the day so no should be making any assumptions...

Barnaderg (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 19/07/2024 12:14:33    2560048

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Would love to know what Shane Walsh needs to do to be treated with more respect.

Came on against Mayo when we were in trouble. Helped turn the tide with couple of quick fire points.

Had a hand in 2-6 of 2-14 scored against Derry.

Scored the match winning goal against Westmeath where we were badly struggling.

5 points against Armagh (33% of our scores) including two from play.

Hurt against Monaghan.

7 points against the reigning All Ireland Champions while playing hurt. Just shy of 50% of our overall scores including 3 from play.

3 points against Donegal (again playing hurt) no turnovers and attracted lads in yellow jerseys like bees to honey creating space for others.

Now he requires an "exceptional" performance to be considered for an All Star. I think Shane is suffering from "David Clifford standard syndrome" if he's not hitting 22 points per game and creating world peace he is failing."
I didnt realise suggesting that someone might not get an All Star is treating somebody with disrespect. I am a huge fan of Shane Walsh and over the years I have always defended him on this forum when others were suggesting ridiculous things like dropping him, or using him as an impact sub.
Shane Walsh is our top player. David Clifford is a top player. They are the two top platers in the country. Would Kerry supporters be considered to be treating DC with disrespect if they suggested that he might not get an AllStar this year.
You have actually made the point yourself that he has been playing through injury and despite this has delivered some excellent performances, but he has been injured and it lesses his effectiveness.
By any standards he was average v Donegal.
Recency bias comes into AI selection and i dont think that any one ever got an All Star by playing average in both semi and final, hence I stand by my statement that he will need an excellent or exceptional AI in order to get the award this year. I hope that both of these happen because a second All Star would be no more than Shane deserves for his performance over the years.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 19/07/2024 12:21:23    2560050

Christ above, will you leave posting nonsense like this to our neighbours to the North please

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 19/07/2024 12:29:13    2560052

Replying To johnjoe21:  "Christ above, will you leave posting nonsense like this to our neighbours to the North please"
Time well tell, but I certainly wouldnt describe Galway being one of the favourites over the next couple of years as nonsense. Luck of course will have a huge part to play.

Barnaderg (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 19/07/2024 12:51:05    2560056

Hi lads , I've 2 football all Ireland final tickets if anyone is willing to swap them for hurling ones .

Liam2024 (Cork) - Posts: 2 - 19/07/2024 13:40:32    2560067

Replying To MaroonedinDublin:  "Fair Play to you changing the meaning of what you actually wrote which was

"Armagh fans will be loving this talk of homecoming...easy to get some of you folk getting ahead of yourselves. There were 6000 live fans at Pearse for Monaghan game...60 per cent from Monaghan.., focus on the game and just beating them. Nothing else."

Your suggesting that Fans enjoying themselves and talking about homecomings will somehow define the outcome of the game. "Focus on the game and just beating them" Grand we will all stop enjoying ourselves and focus very hard on sending match winning mental energy to the plays. Would you stop with your *****."
That's it. I will actually attend the game and you can sit in your Ballybrit penthouse sipping champagne awaiting the 'homecoming'!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 19/07/2024 14:37:20    2560074

Replying To galwayman2:  "Was going to say the same thing.
Galway fans vastly outnumbered Monaghans that day in Pearse Stadium. It was easily 70-30 in Galways favour"
I will get my calculator out the next day...just over 6000 present in Galway was a very poor turnout. Even allowing you both 5000 Galway...wouldn't you agree that it was a very poor turnout that got behind the triple Connacht champions that day? Now you will tell me the weather was poor...,there were no buses...the other lad will say fans or a positive buzz doesn't matter. But I say huge, loud support does matter. This team deserved more that day. But there will be plenty of supporters next week and it will be great to see. Gaillimh abú. It is class to see the northside flooded with maroon jersies.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 19/07/2024 14:48:51    2560078

Replying To Salthillsham:  "I will get my calculator out the next day...just over 6000 present in Galway was a very poor turnout. Even allowing you both 5000 Galway...wouldn't you agree that it was a very poor turnout that got behind the triple Connacht champions that day? Now you will tell me the weather was poor...,there were no buses...the other lad will say fans or a positive buzz doesn't matter. But I say huge, loud support does matter. This team deserved more that day. But there will be plenty of supporters next week and it will be great to see. Gaillimh abú. It is class to see the northside flooded with maroon jersies."
I wonder how many of those who were present and at Sligo Mayo, Derry,Westmeath Armagh, all or most of these games will have to stand a side until those who go to ALL the games , ie Donegal last Sunday and Kerry 2022 being the "ALL or most"and maybe another are facilitated with suitable seats.It seems there are privileges to be gained for only being available from only attending events.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 19/07/2024 15:13:54    2560088

Replying To backtooldwall:  "I wonder how many of those who were present and at Sligo Mayo, Derry,Westmeath Armagh, all or most of these games will have to stand a side until those who go to ALL the games , ie Donegal last Sunday and Kerry 2022 being the "ALL or most"and maybe another are facilitated with suitable seats.It seems there are privileges to be gained for only being available from only attending events."
That we are there in huge numbers and nice and loud to let the Dubs know...and that we get the result. It will shorten the winter considerably...

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 19/07/2024 15:49:22    2560092

Replying To Salthillsham:  "I will get my calculator out the next day...just over 6000 present in Galway was a very poor turnout. Even allowing you both 5000 Galway...wouldn't you agree that it was a very poor turnout that got behind the triple Connacht champions that day? Now you will tell me the weather was poor...,there were no buses...the other lad will say fans or a positive buzz doesn't matter. But I say huge, loud support does matter. This team deserved more that day. But there will be plenty of supporters next week and it will be great to see. Gaillimh abú. It is class to see the northside flooded with maroon jersies."
On the other hand, the Monaghan game presented a natural breather opportunity for fans who'd attended 2or3 Connacht games, following by 3 round robin matches. This is Galway's TENTH match of the campaign. It's double the workload to attend all games now, compared to 30 years ago.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 19/07/2024 19:33:58    2560109

Replying To Salthillsham:  "That we are there in huge numbers and nice and loud to let the Dubs know...and that we get the result. It will shorten the winter considerably..."
Good to see you agree by the time we gotten to the Dublin game we were in "event" territory.A lot of the Galway support I met that night were Dublin area based taking the chance watch them play a team who many of them thought were likely winners again this year.(as did many more).The games before that represents what the real Galway football support is.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 19/07/2024 21:31:51    2560119