Galway Football thread

Replying To Salthillsham:  "Smoke blower! So many Donegal lads excel at this craic. 'Galway are the best.We are happy just to be playing GAA up in Donegal...in our bare feet!' Cop on the lot of ye!"
Haha calm down lad. We are quietly confident we can do it, but have the utmost respect for Galway football. Either team winning will be no major shock. If it's Donegal I'll obviously be delighted but if not I'd genuinely like Galway to go on and do it. Had a great time in university there and with the awful sad news of John O'Mahony's passing it'd be a fitting tribute if your lads win it out.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 09/07/2024 13:39:56    2558022

Replying To jm25:  "What is Sweeney issue ?"
Not sure, he's been in and out of the 26.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 09/07/2024 15:08:54    2558058

Replying To jm25:  "What is Sweeney issue ?"
Hamstring.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2261 - 10/07/2024 13:37:55    2558211

Is this finish on the day? I think both teams will fancy their chances and I can see it ending up a draw.

I wouldn't like an AI semi final to be decided on penalties

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1692 - 10/07/2024 14:38:44    2558222

best of luck to galway v donegal, in 2022 i said there was an A I in this galway team , injuries have hampered ye, but am confident ye will win this

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2878 - 10/07/2024 15:53:33    2558227

I prob expect 2 changes from team started last day hard see Sean Kelly being fit and even if he is I think the experiment of playing him out of position all year has failed big time ,, Also looking at highlights v dubs Fitzgerald struggle big time he very flat footed 2 easy turned so I don't expect he will start in fairness he had had good year just think. He gets turned 2 easily I'd like see more forwards on bench plenty of cover in backs and midfield area ,, Galway need stop mchugh he the main man who links the play need put him defending ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 10/07/2024 16:49:48    2558241

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "best of luck to galway v donegal, in 2022 i said there was an A I in this galway team , injuries have hampered ye, but am confident ye will win this"
We have a huge amount of work to do. Donegal will be very tough, then likely kerry in the final, a county we simply hate playing against in championship.
Two more big performances required.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 10/07/2024 17:25:44    2558253

Replying To Kickitout:  "I prob expect 2 changes from team started last day hard see Sean Kelly being fit and even if he is I think the experiment of playing him out of position all year has failed big time ,, Also looking at highlights v dubs Fitzgerald struggle big time he very flat footed 2 easy turned so I don't expect he will start in fairness he had had good year just think. He gets turned 2 easily I'd like see more forwards on bench plenty of cover in backs and midfield area ,, Galway need stop mchugh he the main man who links the play need put him defending ,,"
Fitz has had a solid year imo, i wouldnt look too much into the dublin performance, when we was left flat footed it was Con O C who burned him who would leave anyone for dead. Maybe leave Fitz on Mcbreaty who mighnt have the pace he once had

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 10/07/2024 22:20:55    2558286

Replying To galwayfball:  "Is this finish on the day? I think both teams will fancy their chances and I can see it ending up a draw.

I wouldn't like an AI semi final to be decided on penalties"
Finish on day.Only final is reply.Have to stick to the timetable.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 329 - 11/07/2024 07:21:14    2558313

I think comments are harsh on Fitz. Con O'C has burned most.

Re Sean Kelly at midfield, I can't agree it is failed experiment. He obviously has not been physically right. The positional change may turn out to not be the right move but u can't judge until he is moving freely again.

I think the only selection question I have is who picks up Mchugh? Do we go like for like and put someone with the legs for him or do we target him with someone of a physical nature? i.e D'arcy (but u would need a scramble plan when he takes off because D'arcy won't catch him)

Can't wait for Sunday. Hopefully a great day out.

Gaillimh abú

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1878 - 11/07/2024 09:11:37    2558319

Replying To Galway456:  "Fitz has had a solid year imo, i wouldnt look too much into the dublin performance, when we was left flat footed it was Con O C who burned him who would leave anyone for dead. Maybe leave Fitz on Mcbreaty who mighnt have the pace he once had"
It was bugler too who was able to catch him flat footed very easily.

Do you actually expect Joyce to drop him or is what u want.

I'd be shocked if any change to 15 barring injuries,

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1242 - 11/07/2024 09:14:40    2558321

Replying To Mayonman:  "I think comments are harsh on Fitz. Con O'C has burned most.

Re Sean Kelly at midfield, I can't agree it is failed experiment. He obviously has not been physically right. The positional change may turn out to not be the right move but u can't judge until he is moving freely again.

I think the only selection question I have is who picks up Mchugh? Do we go like for like and put someone with the legs for him or do we target him with someone of a physical nature? i.e D'arcy (but u would need a scramble plan when he takes off because D'arcy won't catch him)

Gaillimh abú"
I agree. Cillian Mc Daid wasn't looking his best up until the Dublin game with people saying wing forward is not his best position and that'd why we haven't seen the best of him. I think it was more down to lack of game time but we saw him at his imperious best in the second half against Dublin from wing forward. I think it as more form than being played out of position. I think if Sean Kelly was fully right he'd do well at midfield but he isn't and we won't know until he's fully right. Ideally half back line would probably be his best position and once fully fit again will probably go further back the field.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 11/07/2024 10:04:13    2558335

Replying To Mayonman:  "I think comments are harsh on Fitz. Con O'C has burned most.

Gaillimh abú"
We'd be looking for Mogan, Eoghan Ban and Ciaran Moore to get ye on the back foot as well. McHugh needs attention too though right enough.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9432 - 11/07/2024 10:17:27    2558339

Some good news this morning, Lee Keegan picked Donegal to win by a point. A great footballer but boy does he dislike every other Connaught team having any success. Maybe if he didn't have to carry that large chip on his shoulder around he would have won an All Ireland.

nails (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 11/07/2024 10:47:48    2558345

Replying To jm25:  "It was bugler too who was able to catch him flat footed very easily.

I'd be shocked if any change to 15 barring injuries,"
Yeah Joyce might drop him for Hernon.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 96 - 11/07/2024 11:09:15    2558347

Replying To galway19:  "It is him yes. I'm pretty sure Rob is going to have surgery on the knee once Galway are done so that will surely kill their chances of winning the championship. They have a seriously strong squad but their style of football is horrid. I think it was last year that they lost a league final 0-06 to 0-04 to Barna or something like that? Serious underachievers when they have had Finnerty, Sweeney, Maher, Culhane, O'Flaherty etc together a good while now. Adding in Thompson this year as well."
The last two years they have lost to Moycullen by 1pt due to a last minute goal in the county final and by a point due to a winning score in the 5th minute of added time in the quarter final. Moycullen the year they won county had 8 or 9 players on the Galway panel, plus Peter Cooke, plus 3 or 4 lads with some form of county experience elsewhere.

Its really, really hard to win the Galway club championship no matter how many good players you have or what your pick is.

Would agree if Finnerty is out they have no hope. He missed the championship in the covid year after getting hurt up in croke park in the connacht final if memory serves. Is an entirely different player style wise for club than he is for county where he is effectively used as just a shooter for Galway.

kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 344 - 11/07/2024 11:42:28    2558353

Replying To jm25:  "It was bugler too who was able to catch him flat footed very easily.

I'd be shocked if any change to 15 barring injuries,"
The thing is we are now 90% there to having a rock solid defence. Replacing Daly at centre back has improved things, and the final piece to the defensive jigsaw is playing Hernon full back. Imo, this would also lend to better leadership in the defensive line, and prove an invaluable asset to Gleeson esp. for restarts.

As regards Donegal, like ourselves, it depends on which version turns up on Sun. On their day, brilliant and will score from all angles/distances. So, we can't allow any lapse in defensive concentration.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 11/07/2024 12:03:36    2558356

Replying To nails:  "Some good news this morning, Lee Keegan picked Donegal to win by a point. A great footballer but boy does he dislike every other Connaught team having any success. Maybe if he didn't have to carry that large chip on his shoulder around he would have won an All Ireland."
Very stupid and childish comments. Lee is paid to do a job. If he was biased in his opinion then he would be removed from the pay roll. The childish behaviour between Mayo and Galway posters is really embarrassing sometimes

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1861 - 11/07/2024 12:09:26    2558357

Replying To kazoochka:  "The last two years they have lost to Moycullen by 1pt due to a last minute goal in the county final and by a point due to a winning score in the 5th minute of added time in the quarter final. Moycullen the year they won county had 8 or 9 players on the Galway panel, plus Peter Cooke, plus 3 or 4 lads with some form of county experience elsewhere.

Its really, really hard to win the Galway club championship no matter how many good players you have or what your pick is.

Would agree if Finnerty is out they have no hope. He missed the championship in the covid year after getting hurt up in croke park in the connacht final if memory serves. Is an entirely different player style wise for club than he is for county where he is effectively used as just a shooter for Galway."
Sk should still be a force even missing Finnerty.

Tomo and Thompson up front and Maher Sweeney Oflaherty around middle are as good as any clubs.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1242 - 11/07/2024 12:55:51    2558367

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "Yeah Joyce might drop him for Hernon."
Have heard that Hernon got injured in training, will be a loss if its true

Tribes88 (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 11/07/2024 13:01:06    2558369