Replying To Kickitout:  "The team I'd start v Dubs
Gleason
McGrath. Fitzgerald. Glynn
Mchugh. Silke. Mulkerrins
Conroy- Maher

Tierney. Walsh. Heaney
Finnerty. Comer. O connaigle
I'd start that team I'd leave Kelly , Mcdaid off for start and bring them on u need serious legs off bench v dubs for last half and in fairness by not starting them u not loosing a major scoring threat In last 3, games both were taken off need them at end of game the team I'd like finish game with
Gleason
McGrath. Fitzgerald. Glynn
Mchugh. Kelly. O flaherty
Maher / Hernon
Tierney. Walsh. Mcdaid
Finnerty. Comer. Tommo well I'd have preferred Cunningham for tommo but thst won't be happening I think u need finish with real pace in half back line and I believe Kelly and o flaherty have that and Hernon has it for midfield"
what way is the wind blowing today?

maroonscan (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 25/06/2024 07:38:18    2554613

Replying To Howardhunt1:  "Be interesting to see if PJ starts Conroy. He is having a fantastic year but I'd have him for the last 30 mins. Conroy finds going tough in Croker as does Tierney. If PJ starts both and they go missing we could be in for a long evening.

Nearly start Heaney and run himself into the ground for 50, see can we get them into the home stretch at least.

Kelly needs to return to 3 to pick up Con. I'm afraid The Barna man is an accident waiting to happen. Darcy to man mark Fenton for the day and nullify him. Let Maher cut loose and do as much tackling as possible.

Silke to Kilkenny..

All depends on how determined and in form Walsh comer and finnerty are on Saturday.. and if it does go down the stretch do we really believe that we are good enough.. heres hoping. More in hope!!!"
Kelly is not himself at midfield.
Here's an idea..... why not play our All Star midfielder at midfield?
Maher will touch every blade of grass in Croke Park.
Sean Fitzgerald deserves more appreciation than that too.
He's full back on an intercounty team that has conceded only 1 goal this year and that being an unfortunate goalkeeping mistake.
Call me crazy.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 381 - 25/06/2024 07:42:57    2554614

Replying To JahTribe:  "It will be interesting to see if Shane makes the team. If we can still be in the game at HT it would be some risk to throw in Comer and Walsh at that stage and give the Dubs something to think about for the second half. John Daly and Heaney could also be brought in off the bench and O Flaherty has a lot of pace too. I'm not sure Joyce would put Kelly back to 3 at this stage. If Comer and Walsh were held back and I know that's a crazy risk then we start with Finnerty, O Conghaile and Culhane up front. I think we will also need to bring fresh legs into midfield so holding Maher and starting with McDaid and Conroy is possible. Sweeney could come in too so we actually do have options but the Dubs have many many options and that's the main problem."
We need fresh legs at midfield so hold Maher????
What????
He runs every minute of every game.
Probably has more touches than any other Galway player.
Nearly always good for a score.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 381 - 25/06/2024 07:55:44    2554617

Obviously both sides will filter plenty of players back behind the ball but I think we have some decent matchups for their key players:
McGrath on Costello
Sean Fitz on O'Callaghan
McHugh or Silke on Kilkenny

I think with Fenton rather than lobbing John Maher on him, we would be better off having McDaid or Kelly on him which makes sure he has to cover more ground.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 25/06/2024 08:58:37    2554629

Replying To S1234:  "Clare?.. Who the feck is this clare one your all going on about ha"
You are Claire from the Mayo Blog, your identity is easily clarified by the poor spelling, poor grammar, replying to every poster, the expletives, the Ha! Claire, as advised by posters on the blog and here, take some time away from social media, you've got yourself into an awful tizzy. Claire, live life, come to the Galway races in a few weeks, we'll get you a photo with Sean Kelly and Sam!!!! you might meet a Galway man who could change your life.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 765 - 25/06/2024 10:55:10    2554675

I would keep Paul Conroy, Shane Walsh and Damian Comer on the bench. And bring on in second half

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2559 - 25/06/2024 11:01:34    2554677

Heaney, Sweeney, O'Flaherty and Hernon are very important this weekend. Not only have they pace, but they are fresh having not been heavily involved last 2 weeks. Like others have said, hope to see a good Galway crowd.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 25/06/2024 11:01:51    2554678

Replying To JahTribe:  "It will be interesting to see if Shane makes the team. If we can still be in the game at HT it would be some risk to throw in Comer and Walsh at that stage and give the Dubs something to think about for the second half. John Daly and Heaney could also be brought in off the bench and O Flaherty has a lot of pace too. I'm not sure Joyce would put Kelly back to 3 at this stage. If Comer and Walsh were held back and I know that's a crazy risk then we start with Finnerty, O Conghaile and Culhane up front. I think we will also need to bring fresh legs into midfield so holding Maher and starting with McDaid and Conroy is possible. Sweeney could come in too so we actually do have options but the Dubs have many many options and that's the main problem."
Paul Conroy has been a great servent for Galway. Well done to him. At 35 years though is he up to it. Will he get booked and sent off. I would keep him on the bench. Seán Kelly is a slightly better bet along with all action John Maher. Who is good but needs to look up a bit more. Let the keeper Whelan take the frees too. I would keep Walsh, Comer on the bench too.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2559 - 25/06/2024 11:06:00    2554679

Replying To galwayford:  "Paul Conroy has been a great servent for Galway. Well done to him. At 35 years though is he up to it. Will he get booked and sent off. I would keep him on the bench. Seán Kelly is a slightly better bet along with all action John Maher. Who is good but needs to look up a bit more. Let the keeper Whelan take the frees too. I would keep Walsh, Comer on the bench too."
what would your team be jimmy mc-guinness?

maroonscan (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 25/06/2024 11:32:42    2554689

Replying To galwayford:  "I would keep Paul Conroy, Shane Walsh and Damian Comer on the bench. And bring on in second half"
A bird in the hand is worth three on the bench. That would be madness. What if ye are ten points down at half time? Hardly worth risking Comer for next year at that point.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 25/06/2024 11:51:38    2554694

Replying To galwayford:  "Paul Conroy has been a great servent for Galway. Well done to him. At 35 years though is he up to it. Will he get booked and sent off. I would keep him on the bench. Seán Kelly is a slightly better bet along with all action John Maher. Who is good but needs to look up a bit more. Let the keeper Whelan take the frees too. I would keep Walsh, Comer on the bench too."
Will he get booked and sent off? How long is a piece of string? You could ask the same question of any player on the pitch next Saturday. Why is it more relevant to Paul Conroy?
Conor Whelan on the frees is it? The hurlers are out, so why not try it.
Comer, Walsh and Conroy on the bench? Bring them on when the game is over, I suppose.
If any of them are fit to play a good chunk of the game, I would definitely start them.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2147 - 25/06/2024 12:27:35    2554706

LAds people talking about dropping conroy is madness was MOM last weekend and whilst i agree and worry about his pace athletism against the Dubs and in Croker. There is no way he does not start unless another injury. i do think we need athletism and for this reason I would have Hernon in for mulkerrin & heaney in for Darcy. Let DHeaney do his usual run himself into the ground and take him off with 20-25 mins to go and hopefully we are well in game at this stage. Is John Daly injured or what has happened? My team for sat
Gleeson
McGrath Fitz Glynn
Silke Daly McHugh
Kelly Conroy
Heaney Maher Tierney
Walsh Comer Finnerty

Also this is presuming Comer Walsh ok to start. i dont see point in keeping in reserve as many are saying as game could be well over by last 20 if we not at it. Hernon could easily start espec in place of Daly with single moving to wing. than impact hopefully of bench from O Flaherty, Darcy, O Conghaile , Molly

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 25/06/2024 12:39:59    2554709

Replying To Eire89:  "LAds people talking about dropping conroy is madness was MOM last weekend and whilst i agree and worry about his pace athletism against the Dubs and in Croker. There is no way he does not start unless another injury. i do think we need athletism and for this reason I would have Hernon in for mulkerrin & heaney in for Darcy. Let DHeaney do his usual run himself into the ground and take him off with 20-25 mins to go and hopefully we are well in game at this stage. Is John Daly injured or what has happened? My team for sat
Gleeson
McGrath Fitz Glynn
Silke Daly McHugh
Kelly Conroy
Heaney Maher Tierney
Walsh Comer Finnerty

Also this is presuming Comer Walsh ok to start. i dont see point in keeping in reserve as many are saying as game could be well over by last 20 if we not at it. Hernon could easily start espec in place of Daly with single moving to wing. than impact hopefully of bench from O Flaherty, Darcy, O Conghaile , Molly"
That bench isn't going to make an impact on the scoreboard. I really thought shooters like Culhane and OCurraoin would've kicked on this year and one of them would be a starter. I'm hoping they're subs this Saturday especially OCurraoin.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 168 - 25/06/2024 13:10:53    2554731

Sad news on the passing of Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh - always an inspiration. "The Fox following the Rabitte comes to mind."

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 25/06/2024 13:19:01    2554738

Sorry, should have read "Rabbitte following fox."

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 25/06/2024 13:22:46    2554741

Is he up to it? Paul Conroy? Have you watched any of the games this year?

In Galway championship games this year there have been 4 man of the match awards given. Conroy's won 2 of them. He had a reasonable chance along with McHugh of the another had Galway hung on for the win v Armagh

He's literally been Galway's best performer this championship and in a team not littered with scorers is chipping in heavily on the scoreboard. I'd keep playing him until age 45 at the rate he's playing never mind 35

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 235 - 25/06/2024 13:32:24    2554746

Replying To jam83:  "That bench isn't going to make an impact on the scoreboard. I really thought shooters like Culhane and OCurraoin would've kicked on this year and one of them would be a starter. I'm hoping they're subs this Saturday especially OCurraoin."
Culhane has not delivered in any meaningful match & that chance against Armagh has had a huge bearing on our season. Whilst I was hopeful for o curraoin he seems to have fallen down pecking order and has not made 26 the last day. O conghaile is ahead of him i have hope for both as only out of u2o. tomo has plenty of time too but is with panel last few years and I have failed to see how he merits chances

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 25/06/2024 15:01:33    2554783

Are you actually for real re Conroy?! He's as good if not better than ever. A total leader on the field. Yes, Croke Park will be a serious test but he's got at least 50 - 60 huge mins there in him.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 25/06/2024 17:10:07    2554823

Conroy definitely a starter Mulkerrins has played well in last 2 games also they all good players in fairness it's just the balance of the team in my opinion is wrong I'd assume Maher will be giving job of marking Fenton and Kelly prob move into forwards again which I don't agree with at all I'd actually leave him in reserve and finish string Walsh has to start at center forward no point playing him inside with comer 2 and. Finnerty 2 easy for Dublin to clog up that space in front of them the dubs will know that Kelly , Darcy , Mcdaid , Maher and. To a lesser extent Tierney are not really going score much from play not sure how many points they have got from play in lasts few matches it's hard see galway getting over 15 scores v dubs our half backs don't score either in fairness conroy is consistent this year snd he will need to be again at weekend

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 929 - 25/06/2024 17:27:51    2554828

Replying To Eire89:  "Culhane has not delivered in any meaningful match & that chance against Armagh has had a huge bearing on our season. Whilst I was hopeful for o curraoin he seems to have fallen down pecking order and has not made 26 the last day. O conghaile is ahead of him i have hope for both as only out of u2o. tomo has plenty of time too but is with panel last few years and I have failed to see how he merits chances"
Culhane been hampered by injuries since he came onto the panel, think he was brought onto it when he was u19. For a fella who's been on the panel so long he's not bulked up like the others. Think he's the same age group as McGrath and he's definitely filled out like he has.

I like O'Conghaile, he's found it tough going but its his first year on the panel and like Culhane he has a lot of filling out to do but he's very mobile and is very comfortable with either feet. Think he has the ability to be a top player for Galway, the same goes for O'Curraoin.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 285 - 25/06/2024 18:46:23    2554837