Galway Football thread

A win is a win and we're in the draw for Monday, Conroy was outstanding but what has Maher to do to get motm... S&c seems to be a bit off to my view, the balance doesn't seem to be 100%, too many recurring injuries, Damien seemed to be carrying a bit of belly weight when he came on there

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 23/06/2024 14:12:56    2554018

When are the QF lads. Is it Saturday and Sunday? I will be struggling to go with the Taylor Swift on and kids to be minded while others head for the Aviva. I was not impressed by the first half yesterday, lads cant be too tired after that really easy first half and we didnt have to play extra time which I feared. You would hope its a fine day as Christ is it ever not raining and windy below. If Heaney and Daly are fit there are two serious players to have in reserve. I didnt think Shane looked too bad but who knows. Damien didnt get too involved in big tussles or incidents and should be sharp now for the QF. It was really a game of 38 minutes played yesterday which will suit us as if it was end to end for 78+ we would be wrecked next week.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 23/06/2024 14:34:41    2554021

We're into a Quarter Final now and it's all to play for. Look at Derrys attitude yesterday after losing three games this year, we haven't lost one. We need to get the mindset right and go in for the kill. Our lads are as good as any.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 23/06/2024 15:41:24    2554031

Replying To Knocknadrough:  "A win is a win and we're in the draw for Monday, Conroy was outstanding but what has Maher to do to get motm... S&c seems to be a bit off to my view, the balance doesn't seem to be 100%, too many recurring injuries, Damien seemed to be carrying a bit of belly weight when he came on there"
i would say conroy was good in both halves which swayed it for him, mahir poor in first half as most were. personally i would have robert finnerty ahead of mahir for motm jst my opinnion

very strange commenting on a players weight
comer is in phenomenal shape and has been injured for majority of the season

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 23/06/2024 15:41:55    2554032

Does anyone know who the commentators were for the match on GAAGO?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3115 - 23/06/2024 15:54:58    2554040

Replying To festinog:  "Does anyone know who the commentators were for the match on GAAGO?"
The sidekick was Aaron Kernan from Armagh

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1694 - 23/06/2024 16:55:26    2554051

Replying To festinog:  "Does anyone know who the commentators were for the match on GAAGO?"
Today, Aaron Kernan
Yesterday Michael Murphy was sidekick

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1694 - 23/06/2024 16:56:57    2554053

dave mcintyre
brid stack
i thinkk

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 23/06/2024 17:08:25    2554059

Replying To cocopop:  "dave mcintyre
brid stack
i thinkk"
Yeah it was Dave McIntyre seen him around ground and walk across pitch

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1185 - 23/06/2024 18:30:12    2554080

As someone who works among quite a few Mayo lads I'm looking forward to getting into work tomorrow.
Not only did Galway and Ross win, Mayo lost on penalties but the greatest minor team of all time has just been beaten too. What the hell are they going to talk about on all these podcasts now.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 23/06/2024 18:58:09    2554095

Replying To smallfrank:  "As someone who works among quite a few Mayo lads I'm looking forward to getting into work tomorrow.
Not only did Galway and Ross win, Mayo lost on penalties but the greatest minor team of all time has just been beaten too. What the hell are they going to talk about on all these podcasts now."
A couple of years after the previous greatest minor team of all time was beaten by Galway in the AIF. You would think they would have learned by now the futility of building up players as superstars before they have won anything of substance. It's a loser mentality which will mercifully prevent them from winning Sam anytime soon, maybe they could talk about that on their blogs/podcasts?

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 23/06/2024 19:14:15    2554107

Thanks all. I have a hard time taking anyone seriously who describes foul play as an indication of a team being "up for it", which she did several times. She was poor imho.

Fascinating result for Louth today makes he draw for next weekend scintillating. Have to say though, the mad rush to have the championship wrapped up by July isn't working for me at all.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3115 - 23/06/2024 19:17:53    2554109

Replying To johnjoe21:  "A couple of years after the previous greatest minor team of all time was beaten by Galway in the AIF. You would think they would have learned by now the futility of building up players as superstars before they have won anything of substance. It's a loser mentality which will mercifully prevent them from winning Sam anytime soon, maybe they could talk about that on their blogs/podcasts?"
Minor in Connacht this year standard was terrible and Mayo won .. after Mayo beat us they had a podcast , Willie John Gunnigan , Martin Carney and Rob Murphy saying everyone needs to realise these lads were only 16 yet and not hype them up then they spent a full podcast talking about Mc Donald and building him up, Unbelievable stuff..
A podcast about a 16 year old.. Any wonder they continue to fail when it comes to big games...
Players listening to this guff and falling into the Hype trap..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 23/06/2024 19:35:56    2554116

I wouldn't be having jokes at Mayo"s expense considering the weekend we have ahead of us

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1694 - 23/06/2024 19:57:56    2554126

Replying To Belclare7:  "Minor in Connacht this year standard was terrible and Mayo won .. after Mayo beat us they had a podcast , Willie John Gunnigan , Martin Carney and Rob Murphy saying everyone needs to realise these lads were only 16 yet and not hype them up then they spent a full podcast talking about Mc Donald and building him up, Unbelievable stuff..
A podcast about a 16 year old.. Any wonder they continue to fail when it comes to big games...
Players listening to this guff and falling into the Hype trap.."
100%. Not fair on the young lad and they keep doing it.
He has potential but around 5 years hard work ahead to even make a senior panel.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 23/06/2024 20:02:32    2554129

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "I wouldn't be having jokes at Mayo"s expense considering the weekend we have ahead of us"
Ah, but the very point is we have another weekend ahead of us. What's the worst they can say? Ha! Ye beat us to another Connacht final and made the QFs after we were dumped out of it at home by a team ye hammered?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3115 - 23/06/2024 20:24:19    2554142

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "I wouldn't be having jokes at Mayo"s expense considering the weekend we have ahead of us"
Totally disagree here. I will making the most of this until at least lunch time tomorrow.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 23/06/2024 20:26:27    2554144

Some lad on the Mayo blog even suggested that young Kobe should be brought into the senior squad. There is a level of delusion there that's fascinating. One lad in fairness called them out as a 3 All-Irelands in the history of the GAA county and not a county with any pedigree. We all know there are only 2 counties with pedigree and a few who have risen briefly like ourselves, Meath, Tyrone, Cork, Down etc. Only a crazed Galway fan could believe we are going well and playing great football. I expect we will go out in the QF (hope i'm wrong of course) and Joyce will point to the year as a success with a Connacht title, remaining in Div 1 and a QF appearance. There is merit to that given the injuries but its only so long we can hide behind injuries before hard questions must be asked on why we have so many of these injuries.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 128 - 23/06/2024 20:58:37    2554153

Replying To JahTribe:  "When are the QF lads. Is it Saturday and Sunday? I will be struggling to go with the Taylor Swift on and kids to be minded while others head for the Aviva. I was not impressed by the first half yesterday, lads cant be too tired after that really easy first half and we didnt have to play extra time which I feared. You would hope its a fine day as Christ is it ever not raining and windy below. If Heaney and Daly are fit there are two serious players to have in reserve. I didnt think Shane looked too bad but who knows. Damien didnt get too involved in big tussles or incidents and should be sharp now for the QF. It was really a game of 38 minutes played yesterday which will suit us as if it was end to end for 78+ we would be wrecked next week."
Ah lord. What's taylor whatever her name is got to do with AI QF . What's the country come to.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 865 - 23/06/2024 21:00:16    2554155

Replying To galwayman2:  "100% - playing on the wing means he gets exposed by pacey wing backs. McCarthy burnt him several times yesterday.
Croke Park is even more unforgiving in terms of pace.
Re John Daly - people seem to think he has been dropped. My understanding is that he has a knee problem & that's why he didn't feature yesterday although he was named on the bench."
Himself and Sweeney were only two subs that didn't go out at any stage to warm up, even Conor Flaherty was out warming up at stages (not often sub goalies are sent out to warm up)

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 350 - 23/06/2024 21:08:43    2554161