Going nowhere this year on the evidence of the league and today. Even allowing for all the injuries they look a squad completely out of sorts with themselves Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2341 - 20/04/2024 17:35:24 2539250 Link 0 |
you have changed your mind on maher then
candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 20/04/2024 17:41:06 2539252 Link 0 |
Congrats to PJ and the lads. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1713 - 20/04/2024 17:48:41 2539253 Link 1 |
Well done Galway. To be fair the TC will suit us better this year as we continue to build. This is a decent Sligo crew and hopefully if we can win TC this year and get out if D3 next year.. the result today will be seen as part of the progress. Galway won't win AI in April so peaking at right time is your task this year
SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 55 - 20/04/2024 18:00:35 2539256 Link 1 |
Fair play to Sligo. Lot of good work going on there obviously. Think they'll be up in division 2 before long.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2341 - 20/04/2024 18:12:27 2539259 Link 2 |
As relieved as I am that Galway won, I feel incredibly sorry for Sligo. They deserved the win especially with a goal being scored in injury time. jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 187 - 20/04/2024 18:23:07 2539262 Link 2 |
I'm a glass half full person but even I struggled there today. My wind did wander to who would be in charge in January, Kevin O'Brien, Horan. smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 461 - 20/04/2024 18:46:32 2539269 Link 2 |
Just home after the match, we really dug ourselves into a hole with our abject shooting in the first half. Full credit to Sligo they took some beautiful scores and for most of the match were the better team. Hard to understand how we could have regressed so much compared to the Connacht final a year ago, can't just be chalked up to injuries. LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 20/04/2024 19:40:46 2539303 Link 1 |
That was as poor a championship performance as I've seen from a Galway team in many years. Aside from undeservedly poxing the win, the body language and generally pedestrian nature of the players was very worrying. It appears to me that the players no longer believe in this management, if they ever did. We are in year 5 of Joyce's tenure and we do not have a semblance of a kickout strategy which is unforgivable at this level. This nonsense of Gleeson kicking over the opposition press is just a smokescreen, it's quite clear he has no idea where he's going to kick it and neither do the outfield players. We are nowhere near the top table, the sooner this season is over and this clueless management team move on the better. Hard luck to Sligo and best of luck to them in the TC. johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 20/04/2024 19:56:38 2539311 Link 3 |
Walsh's best days behind him on the basis of his first proper day back after a long injury?? He made the club team of the year this year.
Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 408 - 20/04/2024 19:56:58 2539312 Link 1 |
The Galway substitutions were strange. Pulling Walsh and Daly before Conroy was quite astonishing imo, I thought. Galway got on the front foot a bit with Flaherty arriving and Conroy departing, and it would have been interesting to have seen Walsh on the field for that spell. The only reason you'd fancy Galway in the final is that you wouldn't fancy them at all. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4006 - 20/04/2024 20:07:21 2539321 Link 0 |
Fortunate to get out of that with a win. We'll take it and will be massive underdogs in the Connacht final. No point analysing it. Hopefully the players and management know they have to improve. GDL (Galway) - Posts: 779 - 20/04/2024 20:12:32 2539324 Link 0 |
I was behind the Sligo goal in first half. Galway cut them open so often. Some excellent, direct moves and then..... Wide. Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1915 - 20/04/2024 20:17:38 2539325 Link 0 |
The winner of Mayo vs Roscommon will be favourites after our battle with Sligo. Mayo have 1 forward capable of putting up a score, god help them if Ryan O Donoghue gets injured. Hard to know what to expect from Roscommon to be honest, hope they beat Mayo though. JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 20/04/2024 20:24:11 2539329 Link 1 |
Yes, hit 4 wides. 3 goal and 1 point attempt from inside 13M line. Silke has not looked interested so far in the few games he played.
giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1261 - 20/04/2024 20:49:54 2539335 Link 0 |
Conroy has been a fantastic player for Galway, but leaving him on today for as long as they did, I wouldn't call it ruthless. Clueless perhaps.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4006 - 20/04/2024 21:13:53 2539362 Link 1 |
Well McCabe and O Conghaile should have been whipped at half time if not before. They'll be decent players in time hopefully but they aren't at this level yet. It's amazing that our kickout "strategy" five years into Pjs reign is literally still boot it as far as possible and hope for the best. Our transition game when we win a turnover is still to crab sideways and backwards and "be patient" - hence giving the opposition all the time in the world to get their defence organised again. It's chronically slow - no runners bombing ahead of the ball to take advantage of the opposition being out of shape. These are all things that we have been guilty of for the past number of seasons and are still guilty of now. We're simply not learning or evolving our game galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1302 - 20/04/2024 21:43:30 2539388 Link 3 |
twice now you have said this
cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 222 - 20/04/2024 21:53:04 2539394 Link 0 |
Fair play to Sligo, they put it up to us and really controlled that game. They will go far in the TC. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1645 - 20/04/2024 23:08:40 2539412 Link 0 |
Doesn't get mentioned too often by Galway supporters on here but Mathew Tierney proved a big loss. 2-7 he scored in the Connacht final and without him in that match Galway struggled. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3546 - 21/04/2024 03:23:37 2539428 Link 0 |