lots of negativity going on as usual. The Mayo game is in April, we have time to prepare. I am glad Mayo are doing well in the league, best of luck to them, they have a nice team and are overwhelming favourites to win Connacht. Galway need to focus on the rest of our divisional games. Roscommon and Derry are serious contenders for division 1 and at least one of them will make it. I see more positives than negatives for our county team so far this year. We need to win promotion. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1758 - 28/02/2022 15:35:30 2403018 Link 4 |
Yeah would really like to see the same. Not sure how far off Dylan Canney is with recovery but would like to see more of him too. There is a league final, it is scheduled for the weekend after the Ros game, 1st/2nd March. systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 28/02/2022 16:29:37 2403041 Link 0 |
Totally agree. Huge positives for the last few games, and it's really good to have increasing intensity with pretty much each game. Saturday night tested our kickout and press strategy - how well can we handle overlaps and getting run at, how quickly can we get back into a defensive shape. 1st half, didn't do this very well. Part of this was a mismatch in midfield - Maguire running rings around Conroy, which we fixed in 2nd half. We had 6 brilliant attacking forwards, which is great to see, all great scoring threats, but poor tracking in 1st half. Great line breaking from our half back line, and even from our full back line as well, some really good crossfield runs, great at finding space and punishing. Dylan McHugh one of the best 1st half performances and only on for 15 minutes. I'd say we are well set for promotion. Would not like to write off the Clare match, as they put up a decent fight against Derry for the first half. Think we've played them in a challenge within the last 2 years so we should be familiar enough. systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 28/02/2022 17:08:48 2403053 Link 0 |
March wtf I meant April...
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 28/02/2022 17:09:25 2403054 Link 0 |
Any sign of Cooke returning? Massive fielder maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1236 - 28/02/2022 21:00:18 2403126 Link 0 |
Watching highlights tonight . Very entertaining. We know that Galway have lots of shortcomings but still great to watch. Shane Walsh is just a joy to watch. Its hard to believe that 150 all star awards have been dished out since he started playing for Galway and they haven't seen fit to give him even one. anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 999 - 28/02/2022 21:42:57 2403132 Link 1 |
I dont think Peter Cooke will be returning this year. I agree he is a massive loss , but I disagree with your assessment that his fielding is his strength. His main strengths are powerful running and point taking. For a tall lad fielding is not his forte.
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 999 - 01/03/2022 09:35:51 2403148 Link 0 |
Hi should have got one in 2018 instead of Ian Burke who had a few nice eye catching cameos but Shane's problem has been consistency in his own performances at times due to lesser players around him mainly and the team's performances in general which means they exit the championship before the real business end.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 01/03/2022 09:56:13 2403162 Link 0 |
If McHale park isn't ready, as seems v likely, Galway and Mayo need to agree to the Hyde, for everyone's benefit. Insane dragging a family across the country to Croke Park for a Connacht match - and Horan/Mayo team and backroom will want Croker all day long. It suits their play down to the ground. We could possibly beat them in the Hyde, I don't see us beating them in Croker yet. Hyde all the way.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 01/03/2022 10:18:29 2403172 Link 0 |
Other serious counties would have a great job lined up for him at home and keep him here for the year. There's plenty of time for him to travel, the window to win things at IC level is very narrow. We should get our finger out and get Cooke back, we need his power and driving runs, he's not a supreme fielder by any means but he can get better at this.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 01/03/2022 10:21:10 2403174 Link 0 |
It's a real anomaly for sure. We've mentioned numerous times that he definitely should have gotten one in 2018. He was our best player that year. He was absolutely a better forward that year than either Ryan McHugh or Ian Burke, and that's not a slight on either of them. The fact that he hasn't gotten any in other years is an indictment of our performances as a team. Not being at the business end of the championship means we're not going to be getting many nominations. Being in finals guarantees awards for counties, regardless of who is actually the better players. You have Oisín Mullin winning young player of the year last year, when I can't even pick a very good performance from him in a big game last year. Had we gotten over Mayo, it's likely Matthew Tierney would have won it, as there weren't really any alternatives. Shane Walsh is a player who can do things very few others can. I don't think there's a player in the country who can carry the ball like he does, with the balance, pace and control and then also finish at the end of it. He's a joy to watch. His decision making has also improved over the years. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2422 - 01/03/2022 10:33:12 2403180 Link 2 |
Ye're fairly motoring well these days. Big games to come though. One of yourselves, Roscommon and Derry will end up disappointed. Great to see Galway putting up big scores even if defensively there's some work to be done. Where would ye regard yourselves in terms of the All Ireland contenders? I think there's a top tier of Tyrone, Mayo, Kerry and I would have said Dublin as well, but they look to have big problems in the camp. Then I'd have the likes of Galway, Donegal, Armagh, Derry, Roscommon and Kildare in the next tier, with all capable of beating the other and maybe capable of taking down one of the top tier sides on a good day. But maybe not quite yet there in terms of beating the two or 3 top tier teams to win the whole thing. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9882 - 01/03/2022 12:49:07 2403228 Link 0 |
If its moved to CP like last year it should be designated as Mayo's venue choice and back to ours next year. Not Galways fault they didn't get their gardening done in time!
Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 01/03/2022 12:57:52 2403231 Link 1 |
Ed Sheeran is in Croke park on 24th April so it won't be there.
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 486 - 01/03/2022 14:54:26 2403265 Link 0 |
I think you might have inadvertently summed it up there. Although you started by saying "for everyone's benefit" you went on to say that Mayo will "want Croker all day long". A bit of an oxymoron but that is the quandary that we face if McHale Park not available.
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 999 - 01/03/2022 14:55:26 2403266 Link 0 |
I'd agree. Croker made sense last year due to the capacity restrictions. It meant 18K could get to the game instead of instead of 2K or whatever the limit was. There's no justification for it this year. The expected crowd wouldn't half-fill Croke Park. It should be a Connacht venue. A bit of a tighter pitch if possible. ;) WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2422 - 01/03/2022 15:00:12 2403270 Link 0 |
can i just say fair play to galway bay fm for getting the man of the match wrong two games in a row, shane scored 2-7 and didnt get picked as motm. As eamonn dunphy once famously said on in rte studio " where did you get these clowns? " candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 299 - 01/03/2022 21:24:09 2403337 Link 3 |
I think we will only appreciate how good Shane Walsh is when he is retired. I he is not super we class him as having a poor game. We expect excellence all the time from him. A bad Shane Walsh is still a top player. If we can get a run in the championship at all I believe he will light it up. D2 will do us no harm for 1 year especially integrating so many young lads. PJ has been unlucky with the way Covid wrecked has first 2 years. No proper chance to integrate players. Beating Mayo would be missive in terms of bringing this group to another level in their development. We will get a better indication of where we are when we play Derry. A long ol journey up but we are martyrs for the cause! Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 02/03/2022 08:57:47 2403358 Link 1 |
Whether we beat Mayo or not - I think it's so important that we make the Super 8s one way or another this year.
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1323 - 02/03/2022 09:19:26 2403363 Link 0 |
There are some players that are worth the admission to see. Lads like Clifford and Shane Walsh are definitely in that bracket. I'd love to see Shane Walsh get a few championship games in a row in Croke Park with Galway going well just to see what kind of damage he'd do. And hopefully with noone assaulting him this time. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9882 - 02/03/2022 09:19:37 2403364 Link 4 |