Hahahaha. I guarantee they ALL don't have fluent Irish. I'd say only a handful do. Dessie is a primary teacher anyway, so that's a given.
TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 09/10/2023 20:25:27 2507649 Link 0 |
True they are a gaeltacht team, dessie fluent in Irish as well. When moyculen win a final though the old speech is in English, would u not think a gaeltacht club would have it all in Irish. Dare o cinneide from a gaeltacht club captained kerry in 04 I think, his speech was all in Irish.
jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 09/10/2023 22:41:23 2507661 Link 0 |
I definitely remember Dessies speech in irish and all the interviews after in Irish. It was really nice to see.
Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 10/10/2023 10:51:28 2507686 Link 1 |
Do the foreign nationals on the team from Mayo, Cavan, Offaly, and Antrim have fluent Irish aswell?
drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 331 - 10/10/2023 11:19:39 2507693 Link 0 |
At least it means he must be injury free! Pity if we lose him. If he gets an injury free run he is a big addition to the county team Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1894 - 10/10/2023 12:51:51 2507713 Link 0 |
McDaid aside, what intermediate players would you say are worth bringing in? The below stand out, but I am fairly sure all would have got a chance/played inter county at some stage. N.Daly, P.Mannion, C.Raftery, MD Geraghty, A.Varley, S.Mulkerrins, R.Cunningham, L.Boyle, C O'Curraoin hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 417 - 10/10/2023 13:34:35 2507720 Link 0 |
Think Mcdaid was only one on county panel last year from intermediate club Varley definitely good enough Rory Cunningham definitely they 2 scoring forward which Galway don't have many of ,, be interesting see who they bring in for proper trials not like that development squad they set up in April when most season was over ,, it was a waste of time completely and Thars no reflection on Diarmuid Blake and Declan Meehan who were running it Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 966 - 10/10/2023 13:58:04 2507726 Link 0 |
I wonder what is the reason for the envy towards the moycullen football teams as opposed to other teams including their hurling team, is it that they upset the sense of entitlement of others. There are may examples to to be had over the years of players born in other counties who helped their clubs to compete and to win titles in both codes who didn't draw this sort of resentment whether they were successful on just one or more occasions. I don't hear from these people that we should disregard All Irelands won with such players, what is it based on in this one case?
backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 10/10/2023 14:17:37 2507727 Link 1 |
There will always be begrudgers. Most people are delighted for Moycullen. Yes, in an ideal world you like to see organic rather than inorganic development but guys living locally from outside counties need to be accommodated. It was okay years ago when lads could travel home every second weekend , play for an hour and go back, but now it is intensive. Training can be 3 hours with all this **** of warm up and activation, pre talk , post talk , rub downs, ice baths, blah blah. Add in long amounts of travel and it could be 30 hous ago....not sustainable. The only warning I have for Moycullen is to remember what happened Fr Griffins. a top team back in the 1970s, large proportion of externals, local talent not getting games --> Salthill flourished. I think that if Moycullen can keep it at the sort of numbers they have now i.e. 3-5 , they should be okay. Also success can mask some of these problems. anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 10/10/2023 15:37:42 2507737 Link 1 |
Niall Daly and Sean Mulkerrin were on it last year - albeit I don't think either saw any game time as they were both recovering from injury. O Curraoin from Breathnachs and Bermingham from Headford were called in also after the u20 campaign finished up. O Curraoin came on against Armagh in the championship. galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 10/10/2023 16:34:17 2507756 Link 0 |
I was delighted to see Maigh Cuilinn make the breakthrough in 2020 and follow it up last year. They've had some great talent come through over the last number of years and have provided a lot to the Galway panel too. I wouldn't write off people's issues with the outside players purely as envy or begrudgery though. The way I see it, there are a few factors: 1. The number of them. In some championship games, one-third of their team was made up of players from other counties. This is much higher than any other club, including those based in town. 2. Maigh Cuilinn are very strong at underage and have a big selection of players compared to most clubs. They also have some very talented young players. 3. If all of these intercounty players were based in Maigh Cuilinn, then I see no issue with it whatsoever. However, if some are based in town and have never lived in Maigh Cuilinn, I can see why it would be a problem for some. There would be a legitimate question as to why they didn't play for their nearest or more local club. 4. On your last point, there are actually a number of clubs that have drawn resentment for playing a significant amount of outside players. St. Jude's in Dublin would be very disliked at the moment for example, for this reason. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2223 - 10/10/2023 16:56:46 2507763 Link 0 |
Conor Gleeson and Padraig Costello were intermediate players in 2022, as were Daly and Mulkerrin. Of this year's bunch, certainly Liam Boyle is good enough for county. And Haslam, the goalkeeper from Glenamaddy should definitely be given a go. streaker (Galway) - Posts: 504 - 10/10/2023 17:15:51 2507770 Link 0 |
With senior having been reduced from 20 teams a few years ago to 16 after this year, we should see a a number of players from intermediate clubs most years. Kerry only have 8 senior clubs, so they generally have a good number of county players with intermediate and junior clubs. Some of their best players like Declan O'Sullivan and the Cliffords (until this year) were with junior clubs. They obviously have the advantage of playing senior with their divisional teams, but either way the smaller number of senior clubs means more from lower grades at county level. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2223 - 10/10/2023 17:29:52 2507774 Link 0 |
I think you may have inadvertently got to the nub of the issue , How many of the guys are living locally?
UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 10/10/2023 19:08:15 2507782 Link 0 |
Don't think we'll be losing him from what I'm hearing, they weren't impressed with him
Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 10/10/2023 19:14:15 2507783 Link 0 |
Is it true the Mannions did not play for Caltra? Why would you play all the group stages and then not play knock out? Can't imagine people in Caltra too happy with that. hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 417 - 10/10/2023 19:46:51 2507789 Link 0 |
Rory Cunningham has been very consistent for a few years now, definitely worth a look.
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 443 - 10/10/2023 22:14:53 2507807 Link 0 |
One of Micheal O Muircheartaigh's great commentary bits said : "Wicklow born, Kildare footballer, about to take this free for Cork". Still I think long-term this could backfire for Moycullen;
MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 10/10/2023 22:39:20 2507808 Link 0 |
I don't think people would have issues if they had married or moved into they area but they haven't. They are football transfers to improve the team because of their managers connections with the guards and his position as manager of NUIG. It wouldn't be as big an issue if they weren't winning but the fact is they are and these transfers are a huge part of why. 3rdmantackle (Galway) - Posts: 11 - 11/10/2023 10:02:21 2507825 Link 0 |
Niall Daly and Mulkerrins will be in the squad you would imagine. Mulkerrins is having a great championship to date. Conor Raftery from Glenamaddy should get another go and this time give him league time. He was a very good underage player for Galway. I would have Adrian Varley in the squad, he should be on the bench every game. I'm not sure why he was let go. Karl Healy maybe, is a very good player but I am not sure if he has what it takes for Inter-County. Rory Cunningham has had a good year. Alan Naughton is a nice forward but again I'm not sure has he what it takes for Inter-county. Prendergast and Liam Boyle are worth a look, I think Paul Mannion has missed his opportunity. O'Curraoin and O'Beoilain are other good players. Two of the best defenders in Galway at Intermediate are Cian Davin, Kilconly, and Steven Raftery from Williamstown, and the Williamstown keeper Jack Donnellan is very good too. A few keepers at Intermediate are worth a look but I'm sure it is the same with Senior. Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 358 - 11/10/2023 11:33:41 2507842 Link 0 |