That player has form. He always gives the impression he is looking for trouble. Another CO'C in the making. Contrast that to Tommy Conroy. Just plays ball and gets on with it. Conroy's talent much easier to appreciate as a result.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 27/06/2023 14:51:26 2490093 Link 1 |
Time is moving on now for some of those guys, no guarantee Conroy, Walsh, Comer, Burke, Heaney will start next year nor should there be. One huge positive I took from Sunday was the performance of the younger guys. Cian Hernon is 21 and wasn't on the panel during the league. Time to get a look at James McLoughlin, O'Curraoin, Culhane, Nathan Grainger, Daniel O'Flaherty(thought he was going to play a big part this year), Sam O'Neill. Get the likes of Patrick Kelly, Evan Murphy, Eoghan Kelly and Neil Mulcahy back on the pitch also. Loads of others as well, lots to work with. smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 456 - 27/06/2023 15:18:17 2490114 Link 1 |
I wonder do other county supporters ever consider, and maybe just put themselves in Mayo's position. They are a traditional Gaa football county, and haven't won Sam since 1951. They have always had decent underage teams, yet this one prize still eludes them. So often, they have marched to the top of the mountain, only to be marched back down again. For years they were told they were too nice, to seriously challenge for AI honours. They have smartened up in this regard, yet are still as far away as ever you'd think. I feel years of frustration has messed with supporters heads, and they have now adopted a siege/refuge mentality.. borne out in WJ's blog. So, can we not be just neighbourly for once, and wish them well? Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 27/06/2023 15:46:46 2490125 Link 3 |
Stats from the Galway v Mayo game brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 27/06/2023 15:52:56 2490130 Link 0 |
So you dont want us to be competitive ?
MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 27/06/2023 15:57:14 2490133 Link 1 |
Ironic that Walsh was missing key wind assisted frees into the same goal that PJ had his 'difficulties' in 2006 v Westmeath, and indeed 2007 season under Peter Forde. What goes around comes around indeed. If this 'deja vu' goes full circle, Walsh will announce that 'his appetite is back' for Galway, sometime in the lead up to the 2025 season, when he's on the cusp of his natural decline phase.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 27/06/2023 16:19:32 2490149 Link 1 |
Where did I/did I not wish them well? I think you have missed my point. Re read please. Will leave it at that.
kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 27/06/2023 16:20:05 2490150 Link 0 |
Thats a huge over reaction, Comer has had another outstanding championship. Walsh isn't 100% fit and thats very obvious. Forwards of their calibre are few and far between. If their fit they start for any county in the country. Assume O'Flaherty got injured but he was still u20 this year and will go onto be a regular in the years to come, in what position I don't know. Galway don't need wholesale changes, change of keeper and find a forward and lets hope everyone commits. Galway will be in a good position. TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 289 - 27/06/2023 16:25:50 2490152 Link 1 |
I'm not proposing wholesale changes but the young lads have shown they are good enough this year and we need depth. Sean Kelly was limping during the warm up and still played a full game. Comer kicked his second point and couldn't move after. Conroy will be 35 next summer. Heaneys total contribution was a wide, gave the ball away and a high challenge and the he was taken off. Walsh barely made a run to show for the ball in the second half, how he lasted the full game is a mystery. If we had scored a last minute goal they would have been selected again next week. It was visible that when Comer went off, McDaid, Conroy and McGrath were the ones showing leadership. smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 456 - 27/06/2023 17:07:13 2490174 Link 0 |
Commiserations to Galway footballers and maybe your hurlers can make up for the footballers loss. As an outsider this is my view of Galway football. I think Galway have loads of talent and I do think P. J might still be the man to take charge but I'd love to see Galway have their best players available. A few years ago I had great hope for Ciarán Duggan and Michael Daly. Also I thought Eoghan Kerin was a fiesty steady corner back. Paul Conroy has been a great servant to Galway and while he nearly at the end of his career I'd like to see him back next year in ff line as maybe midfield be too hard on his age. Comer is so unlucky with injuries but always tries hard and a fit Comer is so important for Galway. A class actwhich brings me to Shane Walsh! Shane has probably more talent than any footballer in the country but he is so inconsistent he us becoming a lability. He was just super in last years final but in the semi he was very poor. If I was a Galway an I'd be very frustrated with Shane. Anyway just a view from an outsider who has a big grá for Galway. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3851 - 27/06/2023 20:33:45 2490246 Link 0 |
Just watched the game back and poor game management is what comes to mind. It started with Armagh last weekend, poor decisions around McHugh coming back too quickly and making the injury worse at training,the issue with Comers cert, the poor finishing two weeks running, the decision to play both Kelly and Comer when still injured at the weekend, the mind just boggles. Then the poor kickout prior to the goal even allowing for the wind. If Comer hadn't been injured there is no way O'Brien is that far forward, Kelly then is redundant in the defence through no fault of his own as his movements have been seriously curtailed, word is he was wearing a protective boot on Saturday. Why play him. Fitzgerald did brilliantly, Mulcahy or Flaherty should also have been trusted they did fine in the league games when they played. Burke and Walsh have been disappointing in the championship as most reasonable people know they are better than they showed us. Johnny Heaney is one of my favourite players but he hasn't recovered from the awful tackle he got in the league final. I think we will recover and will be better next year but we definitely need a backroom shake up and find a fullback and an out an out goalkeeper, for me that is James Egan or Kyle Gilmore and we need to pick them for 8 or 9 years and not 8 or 9 games as that formula just hasn't worked. GDL (Galway) - Posts: 779 - 27/06/2023 22:29:36 2490263 Link 2 |
More chance of winning it this year than we do anyway.
Galwigan (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 27/06/2023 22:33:21 2490265 Link 1 |
I'd always be for the Connacht side. I was very sad for the Rossies even if I dislike the endless recycling. I am just a bit sore losing by a point in last 2 games! Awful draw having won a provincial title...gave us Tyrone AND Armagh. Injuries. Poor performances. But yeah Go Mayo! Bring it back Wesht! To win just once...
Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 27/06/2023 23:13:45 2490282 Link 1 |
Well I've always found mayo fans grand,, I was surrounded by them on Sunday and must say it was a very enjoyable occasion, despite the result. I've met paddy durcan on a few occasions too and he's a lovely guy. I wish them well for the remainder of the championship but I don't see them doing it. Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 27/06/2023 23:34:43 2490289 Link 2 |
No.
cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 222 - 28/06/2023 08:41:12 2490313 Link 5 |
Great Post. Watched it yesterday myself. I think it's a game Galway lost as opposed to Mayo winning. The Kelly injury seemed to affect us a the start with Kevin McLaughlin all on his own twice and Daly hesitating for the goal. Kelly started as the sweeper but got his position wrong for Tommy Conroys point and a few ofher times. Remember also when we beat Mayo last year we had double sweepers tucked in in both channels Molloy and McHugh, both missing Sunday. Where McBrien ran too is where Molloy would have been standing and he would have to turn back. We were missing a few good players and the young lads were good but you can't beat experience and Silke, Molloy, McHugh have lots of that. smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 456 - 28/06/2023 10:57:16 2490355 Link 2 |
I'd be inclined to stick with PJ though it's a close call, but the backroom team needs a major shake up, there's at least one lad there who brings very little to the table imv a forwards coach to compliment Cian would be a start, sideline has been far too slow to make changes in-game, too much whispering in the ear, too much consultation,too many cooks, oftentimes it's too late when the changes are made and the game is going away from us... Also S&C needs a look at, it's all too cosy and cliqueish on the bench... Start from there imv and start now not in November Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 28/06/2023 12:51:05 2490406 Link 2 |
If ye could bring in a forwards coach who could be brought in? Our forward play is disjointed and was also last year too with Damien and Shane carrying rest in various matches. Finnerty injured doesnt help either he never got going this year. As for Mayo they will never win the All Ireland but thats their problem we have enough problems of our own. PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 28/06/2023 18:49:42 2490503 Link 1 |
Whatever titles Galway won in the past they won them by their footballing ability, being able to defend and to take their scores, thankfully they never needed to resort to thuggery.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 29/06/2023 07:27:48 2490554 Link 1 |
If I were you I'd be more concerned with Con O' Callaghan and the other Mayo-like forwards on the Dublin team! ;)
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 29/06/2023 07:35:43 2490555 Link 0 |