Galway Football thread

Replying To Kickitout:  "So ur saying unless ur playing senior club football no good for county so 16 intermediate clubs and same junior have no players of county standard looking at Galway forwards this year if that best in county we are in a bad place , when u see management drop a forward before match replace with a corner back / full back then when comer went off being on a forward who does not score plays all star midfield player in backs one day forward another it's time to start looking for new management,, naming injured players on bench forgetting to send in paperwork in time they have completely lost the plot this year"
Can you name some examples? The management changed the squad significantly since Kevin Walsh's time so your statements aren't correct. The forwards are limited by the game plan, we are much more defensive & slower this year

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 26/06/2023 21:09:00    2489806

Replying To waynoI:  "Said it to anyone who would listen, I don't get the Galway hype and I never understood the backing they were getting to win an all ireland. There was no doubt in my mind Mayo would win today. None at all. I know they were jn the final last year but that's the exception rather than the rule. Some very decent players, but nowhere near as good as they're made out to be. They feel like another Armagh to me. Will win a big game but ultimately they're still a level below the very top top teams in the country."
This Galway hype you refer to didn't come from Galway. Those of us from Galway were acutely aware of the loss of Silke and Molloy, the injury prone Comer, and the off form Walsh, yet they only lost by a single point even though Tierney missed a sitter and Walsh missed frees that he'd normally score with his eyes closed. Fair play to you for being so certain about the outcome considering the history of Galway Mayo football.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 26/06/2023 21:10:22    2489807

Surely O'Donoghue has to get a ban for his sneaky stamp on Sean Kelly's right ankle (knowing his previous week's injury) when he thought the cameras were not on him. The sooner the GAA stamp out (pardon the pun) that kind of thing the better.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 27/06/2023 08:31:22    2489840

Replying To tommy k:  "Surely O'Donoghue has to get a ban for his sneaky stamp on Sean Kelly's right ankle (knowing his previous week's injury) when he thought the cameras were not on him. The sooner the GAA stamp out (pardon the pun) that kind of thing the better."
is this the same sean kelly that facked getting hit by a monaghan man when he taught the cameras wern't watching
trying to get a man sent off . The sooner the GAA stamp out (pardon the pun) that kind of thing the better

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 27/06/2023 09:29:41    2489862

Replying To tommy k:  "Surely O'Donoghue has to get a ban for his sneaky stamp on Sean Kelly's right ankle (knowing his previous week's injury) when he thought the cameras were not on him. The sooner the GAA stamp out (pardon the pun) that kind of thing the better."
CCCC have taken a look and no action will be taken. THE Mayo love-in from the GAAis a real thing

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 221 - 27/06/2023 09:30:58    2489863

Its a difficult call. I am hoping he wont get any sanction as I am rooting for Mayo from here on ( as I always do even though I know these sentiments would not be reciprocated by most Mayo fans if we were in the QF).
Having said that it looked bad enough although the footage was a bit inconclusive.
One thing I do have to say is that I am disappointed at the Mayo GAA blog report. I normally find WJs reports good and reasonably unbiased. But the comment re the hit on Conroy after the fisted point "...Tommy Conroy, who was taken out of it crudely after he'd scored." irked me a bit. At worst that hit was marginally late but it was a genuine attempted tackle , it definitely wasnt an attempt to "take a player out" and to call that out without any comment on the stamping incident was, in my opinion, biased in the extreme.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 972 - 27/06/2023 09:38:21    2489867

Every counties need a bit of luck to win an All Ireland, probably got that last year with very few injuries to a smaller panel but this year were decimated with a bigger panel and was compounded with the toughest group draw and then Tyrone not beating Westmeath.

If Cooke doesn't give that ball away, if Walsh kicks that free or Tyrone beat Westmeath then Galway would be looking at a quarter final this weekend against Monaghan. The extra week would certainly have helped Comer, Kelly & McHugh. Galway aren't miles off.

Its small margins and no need for major changes, we've found a good number of defenders this year. McGrath looks like he's capable of winning All Stars in the future and I think Hernon has those qualities too, this year was his first on the panel after a serious injury and then there's Molloy & Silke to return. I'd say Conroy will give it another year and Maher has been a revelation, lets hope McLaughlin can stay fit from now on as he we all know he's a serious talent. If we can find another forward or two there's no reason why this team shouldn't be challenging next year.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 289 - 27/06/2023 09:40:17    2489869

Replying To mayo_123:  "is this the same sean kelly that facked getting hit by a monaghan man when he taught the cameras wern't watching
trying to get a man sent off . The sooner the GAA stamp out (pardon the pun) that kind of thing the better"
kelly should not have gone down as easy in that match against monaghan, silly thing to do.
do you remember Aidan O'Sheas dive against Fermanagh that was plastered all over twitter, now were done comparing two similar incidents. Can you comment on the Ryan O'Donoghue stamp on Sunday??

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 221 - 27/06/2023 09:59:00    2489882

Too many excuses now from us all and people involved in the set up for my liking.

-Injuries
-Wides
-Missing players
-Ryan O'Donoghue
-The selector

We lost this game because we didn't take our chances 2 weekends in a row including a missed penalty.

I've no issue with what Ryan O'Donoghue did, I would expect one of our lads to do the same. What I didn't like from him was the push on McGrath and the goading of the lads at the final whistle. He's not playing great so should probably focus on that. Doesn't seem to be getting the soft frees anymore either that he had been getting. For a former boxer, he spends more time on the floor than Mr Proper

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 455 - 27/06/2023 10:08:32    2489890

Replying To smallfrank:  "Too many excuses now from us all and people involved in the set up for my liking.

-Injuries
-Wides
-Missing players
-Ryan O'Donoghue
-The selector

We lost this game because we didn't take our chances 2 weekends in a row including a missed penalty.

I've no issue with what Ryan O'Donoghue did, I would expect one of our lads to do the same. What I didn't like from him was the push on McGrath and the goading of the lads at the final whistle. He's not playing great so should probably focus on that. Doesn't seem to be getting the soft frees anymore either that he had been getting. For a former boxer, he spends more time on the floor than Mr Proper"
agree with your point about goading, screaming in mahers face is a terrible look at the end, only one thing worse than a bad loser and that's a bad winner

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 27/06/2023 10:38:53    2489909

Replying To cavan.galway:  "CCCC have taken a look and no action will be taken. THE Mayo love-in from the GAAis a real thing"
He'll get his reward on the pitch, sooner rather than later I'd say!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 27/06/2023 10:40:58    2489910

Replying To mayo_123:  "is this the same sean kelly that facked getting hit by a monaghan man when he taught the cameras wern't watching
trying to get a man sent off . The sooner the GAA stamp out (pardon the pun) that kind of thing the better"
So you condone what O'Donoghue did? That says it all really and sums up the bad-minded nature of Mayo footballers - shame on the GAA for turning a blind eye to blatant thuggery.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 27/06/2023 10:45:32    2489912

Funny how we all see what we want to see. Kelly was wrestling with a young Mayo sub. and Ryan came in, as you'd expect your experienced player to do, and be counted. I'm not condoning the kick to the ankle area - it shouldn't happen. But, there seemed to be a delayed reaction from Kelly, and he then started to hobble, knowing the ref's attention was being called.

As regards Sweeney late tackle on Conroy - yes it was marginally late, and not shoulder to shoulder. He picked up a yellow - no issue. Sweeney made up a lot of ground, to essentially cover for the full-back, who was God knows where? The full back position again also left badly exposed for Aido's 1/2 with McBrien for the goal.

Granted, he won't trouble the scoreboard stewards, but imo Dylan McHugh's smarts so sadly missed on the day.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 27/06/2023 10:49:06    2489914

What has that got to do with this specific incident?
Absolutely nothing.
I don't recall anybody on here defending SK at that time - yet ye Yahoos are all defending ROD here which is totally wrong.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1302 - 27/06/2023 10:50:02    2489916

Replying To galway19:  "Can't see Michael Daly coming back in soon. Watch how many times per game he will kick the ball forward for Mountbellew versus how many times he would be allowed to do it in a Galway shirt. Such a naturally gifted player on the ball would be wasted in a hand passing system."
Moot point. He has been injured for pretty much the last 18 months. He would be in with the county now if it wasn't for his knee issues.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1302 - 27/06/2023 10:54:47    2489919

Peter Cooke will become more and more effective for Galway but some posters have touched on the fact that he gives too much ball away and they're right. He needs to get sharper on laying it off and more work needed on spotting the defenders over the shoulder that snipe away the ball from him. A small but fundamental thing he has to change is protecting the ball properly, he still holds the ball out and up in the air, wheeling it around his opponent like you'd see a tall kid doing to a small one in a juvenile game. That doesn't work at this level, the ball is guaranteed to get smashed away or robbed clean if it's being held out unprotected. Happening all year but our coaches didn't seem to spot it. Cost us some key turnover scores. Cooke still obviously a super addition though. Better use of the ball and more line breaking powerful running and he'll open up more chances.
Another one, we're still being outfielded in every damn game. Did ye see the front cover of the Indo yesterday, 3 Mayo man launched into the air for a high ball and 3 Galway men looking up at them, one of them on the deck. Our lack of aerial challenge and power is pathetic and a known weakness in Galway from all other major teams. Galway men still can't jump!! What are we going to do about it? Is James McLoughlin ever going to come in, Conor Raftery, anyone else? Conroy is a 25 min option inside, not a 75 min midfielder. Time just won't allow him to do that next year. Unless CON fixes this, the rest won't! Stuck in a group-think rut!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1017 - 27/06/2023 10:57:23    2489922

Replying To Really:  "Funny how we all see what we want to see. Kelly was wrestling with a young Mayo sub. and Ryan came in, as you'd expect your experienced player to do, and be counted. I'm not condoning the kick to the ankle area - it shouldn't happen. But, there seemed to be a delayed reaction from Kelly, and he then started to hobble, knowing the ref's attention was being called.

As regards Sweeney late tackle on Conroy - yes it was marginally late, and not shoulder to shoulder. He picked up a yellow - no issue. Sweeney made up a lot of ground, to essentially cover for the full-back, who was God knows where? The full back position again also left badly exposed for Aido's 1/2 with McBrien for the goal.

Granted, he won't trouble the scoreboard stewards, but imo Dylan McHugh's smarts so sadly missed on the day."
do you know aido personally?

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 27/06/2023 11:11:37    2489927

If anyone thinks that ROD didn't stamp on Sean Kelly check out the new video doing the rounds on twitter! [url=]https://twitter.com/bennytierney/status/1673385227287252994?s=20

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 27/06/2023 11:17:56    2489929

Replying To togoutlads:  "Peter Cooke will become more and more effective for Galway but some posters have touched on the fact that he gives too much ball away and they're right. He needs to get sharper on laying it off and more work needed on spotting the defenders over the shoulder that snipe away the ball from him. A small but fundamental thing he has to change is protecting the ball properly, he still holds the ball out and up in the air, wheeling it around his opponent like you'd see a tall kid doing to a small one in a juvenile game. That doesn't work at this level, the ball is guaranteed to get smashed away or robbed clean if it's being held out unprotected. Happening all year but our coaches didn't seem to spot it. Cost us some key turnover scores. Cooke still obviously a super addition though. Better use of the ball and more line breaking powerful running and he'll open up more chances.
Another one, we're still being outfielded in every damn game. Did ye see the front cover of the Indo yesterday, 3 Mayo man launched into the air for a high ball and 3 Galway men looking up at them, one of them on the deck. Our lack of aerial challenge and power is pathetic and a known weakness in Galway from all other major teams. Galway men still can't jump!! What are we going to do about it? Is James McLoughlin ever going to come in, Conor Raftery, anyone else? Conroy is a 25 min option inside, not a 75 min midfielder. Time just won't allow him to do that next year. Unless CON fixes this, the rest won't! Stuck in a group-think rut!"
this gave me a good giggle this morning. we have been hearing about this awful midfield for years, we absolutely dominating all kick - outs and its still the midfielders fault we lost yesterday. give your head a wobble.

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 221 - 27/06/2023 11:21:38    2489931

Replying To Really:  "Funny how we all see what we want to see. Kelly was wrestling with a young Mayo sub. and Ryan came in, as you'd expect your experienced player to do, and be counted. I'm not condoning the kick to the ankle area - it shouldn't happen. But, there seemed to be a delayed reaction from Kelly, and he then started to hobble, knowing the ref's attention was being called.

Granted, he won't trouble the scoreboard stewards, but imo Dylan McHugh's smarts so sadly missed on the day."
Actually Sean Kelly and the Mayo player were at each other.ROD was 3rd man.Seem to remember Sran Kelly got a straight red last year against Armagh for doing same thing.ROD had no right to go in and swipe twice at Sean Kelly's ankle.No justification at all.Then he ran away knowing that if Sean Kelly went down he was in trouble.Cowardly.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 385 - 27/06/2023 11:22:36    2489932