John """I was good enough to win All lrelands too had l done the training""" Concannon, is certainly not the answer as a forwards coach. He's there because he's Joyce's buddy, as is Divilly. Cian O Neill would be better off without any of them. Galway, with the personnel they have, (plus those not on board, like Varley, Daly, etc.) have chronically underachived under the current regime.
Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 26/06/2023 14:48:40 2489613 Link 4 |
Get a life ponga! Get yourself a set of marbles, find yourself a trowel and plant a few weeds. The chap is allowed to desire a Galway win on a Galway forum. Hope yiz finally bring Sam back to Connacht. We are kinda tired carrying the province for 7 decades.
Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 26/06/2023 14:49:28 2489615 Link 2 |
Name them?
Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 26/06/2023 14:51:57 2489619 Link 0 |
I assume everyone will say Conor Flaherty.
galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 812 - 26/06/2023 15:02:16 2489627 Link 0 |
Conor flaherty looks to be the best goalie in Galway but for whatever reason has not made himself available Conor I think is next in line and best goalie we had to choose from. Can't think of any forwards out there who haven't had their chance Michael Daly is only one but he's been injured long term. Is the lad from Spiddal who was injured for u20 worth a go. jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1316 - 26/06/2023 15:18:54 2489636 Link 0 |
Yesterday showed as in Croke Park a couple of years ago that without our two main players operating to near normal levels, we have a leaking defence and little treat in attack, SK and DC being not near fit was the contributor to yesterdays display.PJ and co needed two big strong athletic additions to the full lines at each end, they did not do this ,Patrick Kelly and Mulcahy seemed best fit in yesterdays situation. backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 26/06/2023 15:22:48 2489638 Link 0 |
That's the thing. There are no guarantees that a v. good club player will survive the higher level of intensity/pace of senior IC. Corofin had loads of top class club players, yet many failed to make the cut at IC. Finnerty, Tomo and Tierney, although good prospects, still have a way to go. Tierney got possession, all on his own at one stage, seemed to take him an age to bear down on goal. He blasted it over, but if he had any pace at all, it was a gilt edge goal chance. We have definitely promoted a number of young quality defenders - McGrath, Glynn, Hernon, Fitzgerald, and their performance graph will rise. Any young Donnellan pups coming? Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 26/06/2023 15:26:40 2489642 Link 0 |
O Donaghue's kick on Kelly happened at the start of the second half, the players knew what happened mark my words, we were a bit soft, another more hardened team might have targeted O Donaghue (in a nice way) and bided their time and driven him over the sideline into the middle of next week with a fair shoulder, where was the fight? it's a man's game FGS...btw I said it before our management team is top heavy and there's at least one there bringin damn all to the table.. The lot of them should be sat down and made watch the great Paudi's grain of rice speech on a loop till they get it ie how to win, the importance of preparation ... The grain of rice that tipped the scale is missing with our crowd matter of fact it'd take a bag a rice to tip the scales in our favour with this crowd Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 26/06/2023 15:29:42 2489644 Link 1 |
O Donaghue's kick on Kelly happened at the start of the second half, the players knew what happened mark my words, we were a bit soft, another more hardened team might have targeted O Donaghue (in a nice way) and bided their time and driven him over the sideline into the middle of next week with a fair shoulder, where was the fight? it's a man's game FGS...btw I said it before our management team is top heavy and there's at least one there bringin damn all to the table.. The lot of them should be sat down and made watch the great Paudi's grain of rice speech on a loop till they get it ie how to win, the importance of preparation ... The grain of rice that tipped the scale is missing with our crowd matter of fact it'd take a bag a rice to tip the scales in our favour with this crowd Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 26/06/2023 15:29:55 2489645 Link 3 |
Dublin having one big last push this year always made winning Sam a tough ask but add into it the injuries and you have to think the sooner we were out the better for next year. Lets hope moycullen or salthill dont have a long club run. brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 26/06/2023 15:33:25 2489650 Link 1 |
I see your point Hard to break the habits of a lifetime as they say MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 26/06/2023 15:50:53 2489662 Link 0 |
were very proud here of johnny mcgraths performance. i think he was galways best player on saturday and one of the best players all year. never stood back from o donoghue who was kept as quiet as possible in league final and in pearse stadium other honorable mentions killian mcdaid at times and paul conroy driving things on , interestingly they were the two players picked out by james horan and leroy keegan as galways stand outs. if joyce could turn back time i dont think ian burke would have come on at all, finnerty gave a ball away which resulted in a score, hernon also will need to develop physically as teams have seemed to single him out as a chap who coughs up possession. fitzgerald was impressive and didnt give AOS a sniff, only contribution was setting up the goal but daly/kelly should have been closer to o'brien. candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 26/06/2023 16:14:01 2489687 Link 0 |
So ur saying unless ur playing senior club football no good for county so 16 intermediate clubs and same junior have no players of county standard looking at Galway forwards this year if that best in county we are in a bad place , when u see management drop a forward before match replace with a corner back / full back then when comer went off being on a forward who does not score plays all star midfield player in backs one day forward another it's time to start looking for new management,, naming injured players on bench forgetting to send in paperwork in time they have completely lost the plot this year
Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 978 - 26/06/2023 16:38:28 2489703 Link 1 |
Those s&c coaches need change how long is the MB man been around the senior set up with no noticeable improvements, if anything comet is too built that makes him prone to injury. Watching the game from the terrace Sunday and it was noticeable how lean Mayo where very little body fat compared to conroy tierney and these lads, obv their not overweight but they are lean running athletic guys their more rangey kickers that hasn't worked
Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 226 - 26/06/2023 16:40:08 2489705 Link 0 |
I'd love to know what comer / Walsh scored between them in games they played in comparison to Meehan / Armstrong ,, having watch both duo play together definitely Meehan/ Armstrong seemed to actually play as a unit and actually look for each other comer / Walsh rarely look for each other only my opinion Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 978 - 26/06/2023 16:46:12 2489713 Link 0 |
That's clearly not what I'm saying Walsh played intermediate for years and was worthy of a spot Niall Daly too What I'm saying right now there is no players been ignored at these levels. Barring injuries we are picking our best panel and yes we have shortage of good forwards we won an u20 all Ireland with two good forwards other 4 were average or more suited to play in backs The likes of slattery colm costello oconghaile may be ready in a year or two. But you seem to know better who are these forwards been ignored that would improve things? jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1316 - 26/06/2023 17:16:05 2489726 Link 0 |
Good lad Ponga.No All Ireland in 73 years is the bottom line for the deluded Mayo fans. 73 years otherwise known as a lifetime. PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 26/06/2023 17:45:02 2489739 Link 9 |
A word on the support.. it was heartening to see so much maroon and white yesterday, it's a shame we couldn't capitalise on it. We've brought a healthy following to Mullingar, Ros and Carrick so it good to see more supporters getting behind the lads. Let's stick with them in 2024. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1641 - 26/06/2023 18:37:40 2489761 Link 2 |
Hope PJ gets 3 more years, he has done a great job. I wish he could coach the forwards a bit himself. suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 26/06/2023 20:01:49 2489787 Link 1 |
Too many inter county games decided by the gale force winds in Salthill and not footballing skills ... it ruins the game for both teams and fans of both sides.
Mayfair (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 26/06/2023 20:12:55 2489792 Link 1 |