Galway Football thread

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "The naysayers and the begrudgers and the doom and gloom brigade are clearly out in force on this forum again after the unlucky defeat to Mayo today. I was very proud of the Galway team and management who did their best. Congratulations to all. We played today under a severe liability with the imjuries to Sean Kelly, Damian Comer, Dylan McHugh and others. It is very difficult for any county to cope with such adversity. We played our heart out. We were unlucky to be beaten by a point. Normally Mattie Tierney would have scored that goal. We lost the match in the 3rd quarter when losing the 5 point lead much too quickly. We got back on top in the last 10 minutes and could easily have won but for a few turnovers and misplaced passes when in scoring positions. Only one team can win the All Ireland. Teams that are up today will be down next week. Matches of this importance should not be played in Salthill due to the strong wind that invariably blows there. There should be major investment in the home of Galway football, Tuam Stadium and the GAA should sell off Pearse Stadium. The GAA also needs to urgently review the structure of this years championship. Galway should not have been put into the situation they were in today of having to play Mayo in a preliminary quarter final. Scoring difference, not head to head, should have determined the order of teams in the group. Galway had a vastly superior scoring difference to Armagh and should have gone straighr into quarter final. Roscommon similarly were hard done by. Well done to all the players, to Padraig Joyce and the management team. You did the county proud, especially against such adversity. gaillimh Abū."
Galway city GAA needs Pearse stadium for matches and training sessions.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2585 - 26/06/2023 12:31:13    2489499

Replying To galwayford:  "Galway city GAA needs Pearse stadium for matches and training sessions."
They need to flatten Pearse stadium, there's no ground in the country that is such a nightmare to get in or out of. And the weather ends up being way too much of a factor, it's like league conditions in summer!

The old airport site is actually an ideal location for Galways home ground. It would suit the football and the hurling and everyone trying to travel to a game.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 26/06/2023 12:42:05    2489508

Replying To ponga:  "Genuinely like Galway and would always support ye out of Connacht......but must send a big middle finger to "belclare" and "pancakeface"!"
Good man... I'll look forward to John Small putting manners on that little fella from Belmullet next Sunday..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/06/2023 12:45:25    2489511

I'm going mystic Meg here now it's mid December early January , Galway footballers have a 40 strong training panel Barry mchugh, Eoin Finnerty james foley , Dessie , Gallagher and another 8 Moycullen lads in panel with another 6 salthill lads , comer still injured, Walsh taking a break no trials held in case mighr find few players from clubs outside of seniors god forbid ,,now is March Mchugh , foley , Finnerty Dessie Gallagher gone ,,it's same players in and out last 2-3 years if they not good enough 3 years ago they won't be now then in April they will set up a development squad a box ticking exercise have training sessions 16-18 turn up then play match a play lads who never turned up at all ,, oh sorry that's what happened this year ,, so they might learn ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 977 - 26/06/2023 12:48:44    2489514

Replying To smallfrank:  "True to a point but I always look at the Dubs under Gavin. In reality they had 9 forwards and started any 6.
The likes of Kevin McManamon and Cormac Costello even the Brogans came on and won them games. They were as good as the starters.

Mayo got an impact from O'Connor and Carr yesterday.

In hindsight it we were to go with the wind first half again I would have started Finnerty, even Culhane who have a boot to kick long range, bring on Comer then.
Someone like Michael Daly(remember him) would have kicked a score with that breeze as well."
Can't see Michael Daly coming back in soon. Watch how many times per game he will kick the ball forward for Mountbellew versus how many times he would be allowed to do it in a Galway shirt. Such a naturally gifted player on the ball would be wasted in a hand passing system.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 812 - 26/06/2023 12:49:23    2489515

A major issue in our management team is, our backs are generally improving under Cian O'Neill but who in the name of God is coaching our forwards? I've said it before and I'll categorically say it now - that is not a forward 'unit.' There is no cohesion. No playbook / slick training ground moves to Galway's forwards. There's no buy-in from extreme talents like Walsh - and that has a large part to play in him going backwards this year. Scan Concannon isn't going to make it happen for them. That I can tell you now. We need a CON equivalent for the forwards. A top class, razor sharp forwards / offensive coach who will gel those very good individuals and make a team within a team of them. We should be free scoring but we've forgotten or simply don't know how to do it. And it doesn't seem unfair to apportion a lot of that blame to our management.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 986 - 26/06/2023 12:53:09    2489519

Replying To ponga:  "How's your evening going ?"
Willie Joe has warned of "baiting" opposition, which also extends to this forum. Be careful, or you could end up in WJ cyber jail.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 26/06/2023 13:05:02    2489527

Replying To Kickitout:  "I'm going mystic Meg here now it's mid December early January , Galway footballers have a 40 strong training panel Barry mchugh, Eoin Finnerty james foley , Dessie , Gallagher and another 8 Moycullen lads in panel with another 6 salthill lads , comer still injured, Walsh taking a break no trials held in case mighr find few players from clubs outside of seniors god forbid ,,now is March Mchugh , foley , Finnerty Dessie Gallagher gone ,,it's same players in and out last 2-3 years if they not good enough 3 years ago they won't be now then in April they will set up a development squad a box ticking exercise have training sessions 16-18 turn up then play match a play lads who never turned up at all ,, oh sorry that's what happened this year ,, so they might learn ,,"
Nonsense post I can assure you the second coming of Joyce donnelan fallon savage etc aren't playing intermediate or for lower teams in senior.

Didn't he bring ocurrain straight in from cold playing u20 and gave gametime to him.

Who are all these players not getting a chance that would improve us that arnt been given a chance ?

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1316 - 26/06/2023 13:05:47    2489530

We need the best 15 in the county on the field and we have not been doing that. We have obvious better options than Conor Gleeson, Johnny Heaney and Ian Burke. Go from there.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 231 - 26/06/2023 13:13:41    2489534

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "This notion that you're going to have 'panelists' that'll seamlessly replace the top players in the Galway side like Comer, Walsh, Kelly or Daly, without any diminution in the results is just pie in the sky nonsense. You'll never have substitutes who are as good as your top players. If you had, they wouldn't be substitutes for very long in the first place."
No they won't be as good as the first choice, but they are there as backup and really didn't get the game time they should've. Look back at the fbd lineups. It's first choice as much as possible. It caught up with us.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 26/06/2023 13:20:20    2489542

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Don't play injured players…. Kelly wasn't even half fit.. poor management call there…"
Kelly's a warrior, he wouldn't have played if he didn't feel he was able. He was still one of our better players on the day

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 26/06/2023 13:28:37    2489548

Replying To galway19:  "Can't see Michael Daly coming back in soon. Watch how many times per game he will kick the ball forward for Mountbellew versus how many times he would be allowed to do it in a Galway shirt. Such a naturally gifted player on the ball would be wasted in a hand passing system."
As far as I'm aware Mike daly hasn't played with mountbellew for a year & half through injury. Hopefully we see him in a Galway jersey next year

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 26/06/2023 13:35:57    2489554

https://m.sundayworld.com/sport/gaa/david-brady-sam-is-galways-if-they-stay-fit/a532119188.html

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3921 - 26/06/2023 14:04:41    2489572

Replying To allstars23:  "Kelly's a warrior, he wouldn't have played if he didn't feel he was able. He was still one of our better players on the day"
v good player but to say he was one of our better players on sunday is simply not true, did he touch the ball other than setting up tierneys goal chance?

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 26/06/2023 14:12:54    2489577

Replying To Belclare:  "Good man... I'll look forward to John Small putting manners on that little fella from Belmullet next Sunday.."
Belclare.... you could rise above it you know........

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 26/06/2023 14:16:35    2489581

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Similar to what Davy Burke said after the Cork game yesterday, if ye converted one of your goal chances ye have that game won. Galway had two good goal chances and a couple of half chances near the end. Comer going off was a big factor. Enthralling game. Both sets of players left everything on the pitch."
I agree with you. Crazy reaction to a one point loss from Galway folk! A lot going to town on Shane...he has struggled this year but jeeze I would be very slow to replace him. The guy was unreal v Kerry, outclassed Clifford. You always hope he can light it up. I do think Finnerty should have started with the wind. He knows the ground, the conditions and regularly scored 2 or 3 in each game last year from play. Sweeney's pace and aggressive running made a difference. Burke did not. Again. Wides and poor decision making cost us. Comer should have slotted the point. I felt Tierney dawdled in first half and allowed Durcan eat up the ground. He then missed another sitter that SK would have stroked home. But that will come. It annoys me that our 'reward' for winning Connacht- the second most competitive champo was to be put in a group with Tyrone and Armagh who are now in last 8 and could go all the way. No other team got a draw like that! Would have preferred Sligo's draw! Next year ....is there any point going for Nestor?!!!! Disappointed but we are not far off it. Get behind the hurlers now! Galway forever!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 26/06/2023 14:27:36    2489592

Replying To smallfrank:  "Better team won unfortunately, if we had got a goal at the end it would have been daylight robbery.
I said it during the week, we won by a point last year vs Mayo because we nailed the frees.
We lost by a point today because we missed them. In saying that our forward play has been very poor for a while now. Burke, Walsh, Finnerty, Culhane are offering nothing from play or from the bench.
James Carr and Cillian O'Connor scored today when brought on. Comer misses every second game at this stage so can't rely on him. Silke and Molloy won't solve that and Brian Mannion, Dessie Conneely and Eoin Finnerty shooting the lights out in the club championship in the summer ahead only highlights the problem further. Strange when the manager was one of our greatest ever."
In fairness Culhane only got 4 minutes and Finnerty about 10 max...playing into the gale. Use him with the breeze on his home turf and he would have nailed points.

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 26/06/2023 14:31:24    2489598

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Belclare.... you could rise above it you know........"
And break the habit of a lifetime?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/06/2023 14:33:40    2489602

Replying To minor77:  "I'm afraid you are looking through rose tented glasses we were poor v Tyrone who had fourteen men for most of the game and 13 for 10 minutes the same v westmeath only got on top when they had a man sent off threw away a winning position v armagh too many passengers on the team and playing cleared injured players do we not learn from the hurlers in 2012 and even the great cody playing Henry v tipperary when clearly injured and lost the final also our game management is terrible see how mayo ran down the clock in the first half holding possession and again in the second half the onus was o us to press them and didn't just stood off fitsmaurice on commentry couldn't understand it"
In fairness both Armagh and Tyrone could go all the way! That draw...group of death...next year throw the Nestor and get a handy draw in pot 2! Some reward for winning Connacht!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 26/06/2023 14:37:05    2489603

Replying To Trucker1:  "I am absolutely raging to have lost today but I think the criticism here is way over the top . From last year, Silke, Molloy, McHugh, P Kelly all totally out. Sean Kelly operating on one foot and barely able to run, Comer who was playing well goes off at half time injured. Finnerty battling knocks all year and only plays ten minutes. S Walsh totally out of form and missing frees which is absolutely crucial. That's too many to drop off in one year and to be replaced. Heaney and Tierney off form too. Take that many key players out of Dublin or Kerry and they would struggle also.
If Walsh had even just managed the frees(some of which he should have played short for a return) we could have won. If Comer hadn't got injured we would have won(Burke didn't get into the game at all again) as surely Comer would have kicked a few or assisted a few. The kick out for the goal was a crucial moment even though generally we did ok off kick outs today. Tierney missing an easy goal chance soon after that also key(making a hero out of Reape).

I think the managements biggest mistakes were leaving Kelly on as long last week when it was clear he was injured(he exacerbated his injury chasing down the last ball against Armagh). That left Kelly short this week even though he played well for a lad on one foot. Not having a plan b for Walsh on the Free's. Leaving McDaid at half forward when he is at is best breaking onto the ball, as soon as they moved him back he tore into the game. Bringing on Burke for Comer(Burke has been well off it since the Roscommon game), Finnerty even half fit has it in him to kick scores in a half chance. They haven't developed a cohesive forward game plan and we were badly found out in that today.

That being said, we were and are very close to it. Mayo have bags of pace and athleticism and they will give Kerry/Dublin/ Derry a right go.

Positives out of this year:
McGrath a super find, good again today.
Glynn solid again.
Fitzgerald coming on nicely, managed O Shea very well.
Hernon coming along well.
Sweeney is a very promising player.
Maher was outstanding this year, a huge addition.
Cooke has had a good year, a few turnovers today but overall he is a key contributor for us.
Kelly was outstanding as was comer when fit.

McDaid, Daly, Conroy were all pretty solid.
Tierney very mixed bag(could he be plan b for the Free's?) but he has it in him.
Heaney hasn't been great but have massive respect for him.
Gleeson has had a good year over all, he needs to speed up his kick-outs but if he continues to improve as he has done since last year I think we have much more confidence in him now.

Lads you would hope will come on more:
Tomo
E Kelly
Pat Kelly (need him back fit)
McLoughlin
S Walsh

We need to develop a more cohesive forward unit and I'd be scouting the county for raw pace, we are very pedestrian around midfield and half forward line.

."
Spot on Trucker boy. Agree with all that!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 26/06/2023 14:44:04    2489612