Galway Football thread

This is not an excuse but can we put an end to having games in salthill.

Howardhunt1 (Galway) - Posts: 79 - 25/06/2023 19:15:55    2489239

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "The naysayers and the begrudgers and the doom and gloom brigade are clearly out in force on this forum again after the unlucky defeat to Mayo today. I was very proud of the Galway team and management who did their best. Congratulations to all. We played today under a severe liability with the imjuries to Sean Kelly, Damian Comer, Dylan McHugh and others. It is very difficult for any county to cope with such adversity. We played our heart out. We were unlucky to be beaten by a point. Normally Mattie Tierney would have scored that goal. We lost the match in the 3rd quarter when losing the 5 point lead much too quickly. We got back on top in the last 10 minutes and could easily have won but for a few turnovers and misplaced passes when in scoring positions. Only one team can win the All Ireland. Teams that are up today will be down next week. Matches of this importance should not be played in Salthill due to the strong wind that invariably blows there. There should be major investment in the home of Galway football, Tuam Stadium and the GAA should sell off Pearse Stadium. The GAA also needs to urgently review the structure of this years championship. Galway should not have been put into the situation they were in today of having to play Mayo in a preliminary quarter final. Scoring difference, not head to head, should have determined the order of teams in the group. Galway had a vastly superior scoring difference to Armagh and should have gone straighr into quarter final. Roscommon similarly were hard done by. Well done to all the players, to Padraig Joyce and the management team. You did the county proud, especially against such adversity. gaillimh Abū."
I'm afraid you are looking through rose tented glasses we were poor v Tyrone who had fourteen men for most of the game and 13 for 10 minutes the same v westmeath only got on top when they had a man sent off threw away a winning position v armagh too many passengers on the team and playing cleared injured players do we not learn from the hurlers in 2012 and even the great cody playing Henry v tipperary when clearly injured and lost the final also our game management is terrible see how mayo ran down the clock in the first half holding possession and again in the second half the onus was o us to press them and didn't just stood off fitsmaurice on commentry couldn't understand it

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 25/06/2023 19:27:47    2489246

Replying To FallenStar:  "Are you still believing in lost causes?"
In fairness to Pj, he accepted his lack of coaching experience and brought in Cian O'Neill. So, no ego there. His passion is evident, and you won't get any greater commitment.

Imo, a certain "marque" player may have been called out - commitment wise, with the result he is sulking, and so, just coasts along.

As I have said, all teams needs leaders, and if this dynamic is broken or, hindered in any way, the house of cards falls, and you just sit in the doldrums.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 25/06/2023 19:40:12    2489254

Sean Kelly is a great player but he was clearly injured as was Damien Comer.What have we subs for if you don't have faith in them to be at least as good as an injured player.If you don't then why are they there.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 25/06/2023 19:51:11    2489261

Said it to anyone who would listen, I don't get the Galway hype and I never understood the backing they were getting to win an all ireland. There was no doubt in my mind Mayo would win today. None at all. I know they were jn the final last year but that's the exception rather than the rule. Some very decent players, but nowhere near as good as they're made out to be. They feel like another Armagh to me. Will win a big game but ultimately they're still a level below the very top top teams in the country.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 25/06/2023 19:51:57    2489263

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "Joyce and ONeill need to be sent packing.

If you have a proper short kick out strategy you don't need to worry about playing into the wind.

And how did Mayo get the goal? A long aimless goal kick straight to one of their players.

Dublin wouldn't have got within an asses roar of 6 in a row with restarts like ours.
You don't need generational players to kick the ball out quick(ball and tee ready and sprint out) and to open space on the wings and run into it for a pop ball into the chest.

As for our tactics, completely pointless playing into a wind or chasing a lead. Back and forward outside the 45 without any player capable of being proactive... All trained to be cautious beyond belief.

Our up turn in fortunes has nothing to do with him but more the improvement in underage after we went nearly 10 years without a Connacht minor."
Ah Gilberto, of course there's no point worrying about wind. However when you're dealing with a wind that extends the scoring zone past the 50 yard line for one side, and reduces it to possibly the 25 yard line plus perfect angles for the other side, then you're dealing with a force to be reckoned with. Retaining your kickout ball will have no impact whatsoever on the contrasting size of the scoring zones in 20mph Salthill winds.

It amazes me the amount of crap that's talked about kickouts here, when our forward play has been so mediocre all season long. Galway had ample possession to win that game today, but never quite clicked offensively, and conceded a remarkably uncomplicated goal to the Mayo no3 also. McBrien's strike looked more like something you'd see in prematch training drills, than in a competitive match.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3921 - 25/06/2023 19:52:16    2489264

Something just not right this year. So reliable Heaney totally off his game, Tierney at least he shows but not fulfilling potential. Too many lads not able to kick a point just recycling it. Damien always injured, Shane in Dublin and Australia, Liam in New Zealand, Molloy and Mulkerrins injured, McHugh injured. P Kelly, N Daly and others getting no chance to shine. The level of commitment is probably too much these days and danger is we will lose a few lads in 24.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 25/06/2023 19:54:32    2489268

This comment on Walsh drop off inform I'm not so sure.

His final performance glosses over poor games against Derry & Armagh. He was solid against Mayo with the frees and had a good game in final against Roscommon so really the final overstated his overall performances.

He does seem to be lacking that explosive pace that no one else has.

Thought McGrath and Maher were best today and after a ropey first 20 hernon did well although find it strange for a young player he gets man marking job on other teams dangerman.

Under the radar I thought Glynn didn't have a great year and Daly Heaney been poor last 2 days out.

The passiveness again at start of games just like league final we let Mayo dictate first 15 mins and lead against a gale. We were 8 down in the same time in second half.

Joyce again dropping a full forward for a full back was an odd decision.

Finnerty should have started instead of Burke with that breeze.

We need to find a few forwards with molloy Kelly mulcahy possibly Silke to come back we have any amount of good backs but comer Walsh are at back end of career.

The Spiddal u20 who was injured, Colm Costello, are two I can think of

Finally it won't happen and Mayo were deserving winners imo but today should be death knell of Pearse stadium a perfect day for football ruined by an Atlantic wind.

Both teams had 2 or 3 efforts were the shooter did everything right but ball ended up been blown wide or dropped short. Tommie Conroy shot at start of game springs to mind.

Conditions should not constantly have such an impact on the game and that before amenities parking etc come into it.

Playing at home is supposed to be an advantage but for our lads it's the opposite I think it's time it was put to Paul bellow

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1316 - 25/06/2023 20:17:25    2489278

Disappointed with the loss but placed balls really hurt us this week and last. Galway haven't been hitting big scores or many goals this year through league or championship. Laboured through Tyrone Roscommon westmeath and lost to Armagh and mayo by a point. We're not a bad team but had some bad luck the past week. For all the talk about our forwards, we only really have comer who is a superstar and the rest are just solid and no impact from the bench. Really need a reliable free taker. Hope Joyce stays on, has built a good panel but we are short some scoring forwards and I don't know if we have anyone that can make the step up. Tomo Dessie Eoin Finnerty all look very good club level but the step up to county looks too much (I know Tomo is still very young). Patrick Kelly silke Molloy missing from last year's team but not going to get many scores from them.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 383 - 25/06/2023 20:18:36    2489279

Main priorities for next year:
1) Consistent Free takers from left and right.
2) New keeper (though Gleeson has improved under high balls, his kickouts still slow and limited)
3) Plan B when Comer is injured (so frequently injured so we need to have a plan for this)

Anything else?

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 383 - 25/06/2023 20:21:52    2489282

Replying To smallfrank:  "Better team won unfortunately, if we had got a goal at the end it would have been daylight robbery.
I said it during the week, we won by a point last year vs Mayo because we nailed the frees.
We lost by a point today because we missed them. In saying that our forward play has been very poor for a while now. Burke, Walsh, Finnerty, Culhane are offering nothing from play or from the bench.
James Carr and Cillian O'Connor scored today when brought on. Comer misses every second game at this stage so can't rely on him. Silke and Molloy won't solve that and Brian Mannion, Dessie Conneely and Eoin Finnerty shooting the lights out in the club championship in the summer ahead only highlights the problem further. Strange when the manager was one of our greatest ever."
The 3 examples you've given are either dropped off the panel or struggling to make the 26, none good enough for IC. Dessie's been given plenty of opportunities but never taken it

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 25/06/2023 20:30:11    2489287

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "The naysayers and the begrudgers and the doom and gloom brigade are clearly out in force on this forum again after the unlucky defeat to Mayo today. I was very proud of the Galway team and management who did their best. Congratulations to all. We played today under a severe liability with the imjuries to Sean Kelly, Damian Comer, Dylan McHugh and others. It is very difficult for any county to cope with such adversity. We played our heart out. We were unlucky to be beaten by a point. Normally Mattie Tierney would have scored that goal. We lost the match in the 3rd quarter when losing the 5 point lead much too quickly. We got back on top in the last 10 minutes and could easily have won but for a few turnovers and misplaced passes when in scoring positions. Only one team can win the All Ireland. Teams that are up today will be down next week. Matches of this importance should not be played in Salthill due to the strong wind that invariably blows there. There should be major investment in the home of Galway football, Tuam Stadium and the GAA should sell off Pearse Stadium. The GAA also needs to urgently review the structure of this years championship. Galway should not have been put into the situation they were in today of having to play Mayo in a preliminary quarter final. Scoring difference, not head to head, should have determined the order of teams in the group. Galway had a vastly superior scoring difference to Armagh and should have gone straighr into quarter final. Roscommon similarly were hard done by. Well done to all the players, to Padraig Joyce and the management team. You did the county proud, especially against such adversity. gaillimh Abū."
Wow. Just wow.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 424 - 25/06/2023 20:35:04    2489288

So yet another loss to Mayo in Salthill no doubt will beat Mayo in MacHale Park the next time they play. Home advantage between Connacht teams is no advantage at all.

Have sailed close to the wind in all games this year, against Division 1 teams scores has been low and losing a potential match winner in Comer at half time made things even more difficult.

Mayo basically won because they were more accurate with the wind advantage and got the crucial goal in the contest. Shane Walsh hasn't been himself all year and really needed to be moved off frees before today's game. The lack of use of Finnerty and Tomo Culhane was strange.

Would Galway have gone much further had they won? Three games in 14 days against a rested Dublin, kerry or Derry probably not

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 25/06/2023 20:47:12    2489292

Replying To jm25:  "This comment on Walsh drop off inform I'm not so sure.

His final performance glosses over poor games against Derry & Armagh. He was solid against Mayo with the frees and had a good game in final against Roscommon so really the final overstated his overall performances.

He does seem to be lacking that explosive pace that no one else has.

Thought McGrath and Maher were best today and after a ropey first 20 hernon did well although find it strange for a young player he gets man marking job on other teams dangerman.

Under the radar I thought Glynn didn't have a great year and Daly Heaney been poor last 2 days out.

The passiveness again at start of games just like league final we let Mayo dictate first 15 mins and lead against a gale. We were 8 down in the same time in second half.

Joyce again dropping a full forward for a full back was an odd decision.

Finnerty should have started instead of Burke with that breeze.

We need to find a few forwards with molloy Kelly mulcahy possibly Silke to come back we have any amount of good backs but comer Walsh are at back end of career.

The Spiddal u20 who was injured, Colm Costello, are two I can think of

Finally it won't happen and Mayo were deserving winners imo but today should be death knell of Pearse stadium a perfect day for football ruined by an Atlantic wind.

Both teams had 2 or 3 efforts were the shooter did everything right but ball ended up been blown wide or dropped short. Tommie Conroy shot at start of game springs to mind.

Conditions should not constantly have such an impact on the game and that before amenities parking etc come into it.

Playing at home is supposed to be an advantage but for our lads it's the opposite I think it's time it was put to Paul bellow"
Forgot also seats in uncovered section of stand seemed like someone spent the morning building sandcastles on them and some have turned green with old age totally unacceptable

Shouldn't even bother floodlights into it and focus should be on getting tuam up to scratch

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1316 - 25/06/2023 21:07:12    2489298

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Main priorities for next year:
2) New keeper (though Gleeson has improved under high balls, his kickouts still slow and limited)
3) Plan B when Comer is injured (so frequently injured so we need to have a plan for this)

Anything else?"
For all the talk of new found squad depth i thought we lacked any the last few weeks. I think we need 2 forwards. The Ian Burke call hasn't worked, Shane's form had dropped off a cliff and Comer is injury prone. The other side of the pitch we have found McGrath, Hernon, Glynn even Eoghan Kelly, Maher and Mulcahy. Need to find a couple of finishers, Culhane possibly the answer but I'm not sure.
Also need the likes of Silke, Molloy even James McLaughlin back fit

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 25/06/2023 21:09:59    2489299

Replying To waynoI:  "Said it to anyone who would listen, I don't get the Galway hype and I never understood the backing they were getting to win an all ireland. There was no doubt in my mind Mayo would win today. None at all. I know they were jn the final last year but that's the exception rather than the rule. Some very decent players, but nowhere near as good as they're made out to be. They feel like another Armagh to me. Will win a big game but ultimately they're still a level below the very top top teams in the country."
I think you might need to tell this to media outlets, not a Galway football forum. The vast majority here are well aware of our standing, and overconfidence is in short supply in this thread.
The last 20 years of Galway doesn't breed hype among supporters. Quite the opposite. We'll continue to he hopeful, but there are very few genuine Galway supporters surprised by today's result.
We'll be back next year to do it all again, but you won't find many with maroon jerseys telling people we're going to win an All-Ireland.
In saying that I do believe we're more than good enough to be in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.
We had 25 shots to Mayo's 18 today, missed a sitter 1-on-1 and lost the game by a point. We certainly had the chances to win the game, but didn't take them.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2230 - 25/06/2023 21:12:37    2489302

Replying To allstars23:  "The 3 examples you've given are either dropped off the panel or struggling to make the 26, none good enough for IC. Dessie's been given plenty of opportunities but never taken it"
That's my point and you can add Barry McHugh to that.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 25/06/2023 21:21:23    2489304

I am absolutely raging to have lost today but I think the criticism here is way over the top . From last year, Silke, Molloy, McHugh, P Kelly all totally out. Sean Kelly operating on one foot and barely able to run, Comer who was playing well goes off at half time injured. Finnerty battling knocks all year and only plays ten minutes. S Walsh totally out of form and missing frees which is absolutely crucial. That's too many to drop off in one year and to be replaced. Heaney and Tierney off form too. Take that many key players out of Dublin or Kerry and they would struggle also.
If Walsh had even just managed the frees(some of which he should have played short for a return) we could have won. If Comer hadn't got injured we would have won(Burke didn't get into the game at all again) as surely Comer would have kicked a few or assisted a few. The kick out for the goal was a crucial moment even though generally we did ok off kick outs today. Tierney missing an easy goal chance soon after that also key(making a hero out of Reape).

I think the managements biggest mistakes were leaving Kelly on as long last week when it was clear he was injured(he exacerbated his injury chasing down the last ball against Armagh). That left Kelly short this week even though he played well for a lad on one foot. Not having a plan b for Walsh on the Free's. Leaving McDaid at half forward when he is at is best breaking onto the ball, as soon as they moved him back he tore into the game. Bringing on Burke for Comer(Burke has been well off it since the Roscommon game), Finnerty even half fit has it in him to kick scores in a half chance. They haven't developed a cohesive forward game plan and we were badly found out in that today.

That being said, we were and are very close to it. Mayo have bags of pace and athleticism and they will give Kerry/Dublin/ Derry a right go.

Positives out of this year:
McGrath a super find, good again today.
Glynn solid again.
Fitzgerald coming on nicely, managed O Shea very well.
Hernon coming along well.
Sweeney is a very promising player.
Maher was outstanding this year, a huge addition.
Cooke has had a good year, a few turnovers today but overall he is a key contributor for us.
Kelly was outstanding as was comer when fit.

McDaid, Daly, Conroy were all pretty solid.
Tierney very mixed bag(could he be plan b for the Free's?) but he has it in him.
Heaney hasn't been great but have massive respect for him.
Gleeson has had a good year over all, he needs to speed up his kick-outs but if he continues to improve as he has done since last year I think we have much more confidence in him now.

Lads you would hope will come on more:
Tomo
E Kelly
Pat Kelly (need him back fit)
McLoughlin
S Walsh

We need to develop a more cohesive forward unit and I'd be scouting the county for raw pace, we are very pedestrian around midfield and half forward line.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 405 - 25/06/2023 21:41:50    2489309

Replying To Trucker1:  "I am absolutely raging to have lost today but I think the criticism here is way over the top . From last year, Silke, Molloy, McHugh, P Kelly all totally out. Sean Kelly operating on one foot and barely able to run, Comer who was playing well goes off at half time injured. Finnerty battling knocks all year and only plays ten minutes. S Walsh totally out of form and missing frees which is absolutely crucial. That's too many to drop off in one year and to be replaced. Heaney and Tierney off form too. Take that many key players out of Dublin or Kerry and they would struggle also.
If Walsh had even just managed the frees(some of which he should have played short for a return) we could have won. If Comer hadn't got injured we would have won(Burke didn't get into the game at all again) as surely Comer would have kicked a few or assisted a few. The kick out for the goal was a crucial moment even though generally we did ok off kick outs today. Tierney missing an easy goal chance soon after that also key(making a hero out of Reape).

I think the managements biggest mistakes were leaving Kelly on as long last week when it was clear he was injured(he exacerbated his injury chasing down the last ball against Armagh). That left Kelly short this week even though he played well for a lad on one foot. Not having a plan b for Walsh on the Free's. Leaving McDaid at half forward when he is at is best breaking onto the ball, as soon as they moved him back he tore into the game. Bringing on Burke for Comer(Burke has been well off it since the Roscommon game), Finnerty even half fit has it in him to kick scores in a half chance. They haven't developed a cohesive forward game plan and we were badly found out in that today.

That being said, we were and are very close to it. Mayo have bags of pace and athleticism and they will give Kerry/Dublin/ Derry a right go.

Positives out of this year:
McGrath a super find, good again today.
Glynn solid again.
Fitzgerald coming on nicely, managed O Shea very well.
Hernon coming along well.
Sweeney is a very promising player.
Maher was outstanding this year, a huge addition.
Cooke has had a good year, a few turnovers today but overall he is a key contributor for us.
Kelly was outstanding as was comer when fit.

McDaid, Daly, Conroy were all pretty solid.
Tierney very mixed bag(could he be plan b for the Free's?) but he has it in him.
Heaney hasn't been great but have massive respect for him.
Gleeson has had a good year over all, he needs to speed up his kick-outs but if he continues to improve as he has done since last year I think we have much more confidence in him now.

Lads you would hope will come on more:
Tomo
E Kelly
Pat Kelly (need him back fit)
McLoughlin
S Walsh

We need to develop a more cohesive forward unit and I'd be scouting the county for raw pace, we are very pedestrian around midfield and half forward line.

."
I think this is a fairly measured reading of it. Everyone is disappointed but look at all the players who are unavailable or injured. There is not a team in the country who wouldn't struggle with that injury list. Our two best players both on one leg today.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2317 - 25/06/2023 22:10:44    2489319

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Main priorities for next year:

Anything else?"
Number 3 means get a forwards coach. Concannon isn't up to this level. Forwards never play as a unit. But he's very good friends with PJ so I'd say he won't be sent packing

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 25/06/2023 22:20:39    2489323