Galway Football thread

Replying To festinog:  "Congrats to Mayo on their deserved win. PJ totally outsmarted on the sideline today. Mayo gifted us the breeze in the first half betting on us setting up defensively and not taking advantage of it, and we duly obliged. What sort of general sets his positions to a preordained pattern heedless of the prevailing conditions? Very poor. And I hasten to add this is the first time I've criticized PJ. That game ironically was lost on m the first half that we, on paper, won."
I can't say the wind was a defining factor. Mayo missed some dreadful close in point chances in first half - they should have been only 2 points in arrears. A five point half time lead was fine, once all players tuned in. But, as usual "Crazy horse" Cooke never fails to deliver on giving away cheap possession during crucial plays. Players need to look at their performances - no leadership or self-belief. I've said it before, give me a full-back any day that first and foremost, minds the house - anything else is just a bonus. Galway full forward line was redundant once Comer went off. No arguments, as Galway have had 2 chances to beat Mayo this year - in CP and at home.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 25/06/2023 17:23:37    2489181

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Similar to what Davy Burke said after the Cork game yesterday, if ye converted one of your goal chances ye have that game won. Galway had two good goal chances and a couple of half chances near the end. Comer going off was a big factor. Enthralling game. Both sets of players left everything on the pitch."
They had two shots on goal in the first half; to call them 'goal chances' is a very loose definition. A five point lead at half time despite playing all the football against a poor Mayo (at least in the first half, when they couldn't have scored with a bucket full of dollars in a New Orleans cat house) and with a strong wind behind them is all you need to look at today.

Possibly the last game of the season and there was no effort to change things up, no concern playing out of form and injured players, and no effort to use the conditions. Between this and the other week's medical cert mix up, this is like a management team with only one eye on the ball. Or unable to spit and chew gum. Either way, poor stuff.

And you're right; both sets of players left nothing behind. I don't put any of this on them. They were set up wrong and some of them shouldn't have been on the pitch, but once there they gave it their all.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 25/06/2023 17:24:01    2489182

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Very poor performance let Mayo sneak a win by the usual 1 point. Joyce needs to change tactics or call it a day as that auld lateral passing, no cutting edge gameplay isnt going to win us f**k all. A dire match with Walsh totally out of sorts but left on pitch for 74 mins. Comer injury probably decisive a pity we have gone back after last year but injuries to Molloy, Comer, McHugh and no silke cost us dear. Still have ingredients there but need a new approach for 2024. Mayo will do very well to beat Dublin, Derry but could account for Armagh."
Totally agree. PJ-ball found out badly today. He has an early start to the holidays so plenty of time for him to develop a Plan B. Or preferably a new Plan A, with the current one becoming Plan B. Today's lose I put on his shoulders entirely; that said I've never criticized him and still think he can get us somewhere. But clearly next year is make or break. More of this and we're done.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 25/06/2023 17:28:22    2489187

Well done Mayo, deserved the win and will be very hard to stop. Galway will have to recover and prepare for next year. Huge effort put in by players and manager who are no doubt gutted. Sean Kelly unlikely to kick a ball for the rest of 2023. We have been over hyped all year long though, based on what was achieved, in the qualifiers, narrow win over Tyrone who were down to 14 and even 13 at one stage, Could not beat Westmeath with Comer and them going a man down late on. The bookies in fairness never rated us a contender this year.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1258 - 25/06/2023 17:30:13    2489188

Just like the League Final our inability to take a goal chance cost us. Mayo took theirs. And we only lost by one despite shocking misses in first half, playing Kelly with an injury, and Walsh again totally out of form. Good luck to Mayo, they took their chances, we didn't. Not closing out the draw against Armagh was the root of our exit though, a week off and quarter next week would have been ideal.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 451 - 25/06/2023 17:39:07    2489196

A disappointing result , I just felt this year management are doing way 2 much messing with team naming players who injured and no hope playing . They definitely were over thinking stuff Mcdaid all star midfield last year hardly played at all there. This year Cathal sweeney who I rate highly is one day wing back another wing forward or even corner forward ,not pressing up on kicouts in second half madness ur guaranteed loose it if u just give up kickouts Ian Burke not next or near county football he does not score snd he an inside forward ,, Comer good player but always injured, Walsh unfortunately his day is done as a starter a sub conroy has given great service but his time no up ,, management time prob up as well did way 2 much messing this year it definitely didn't work ,, going forward need find 2-3,quality forwards no point brining players into a panel in June hold proper trials once club championship is over not token trials and bring In players from non senior clubs

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 976 - 25/06/2023 17:41:00    2489199

The Joyce revolution rolls on.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 424 - 25/06/2023 17:47:04    2489200

Replying To Really:  "I can't say the wind was a defining factor. Mayo missed some dreadful close in point chances in first half - they should have been only 2 points in arrears. A five point half time lead was fine, once all players tuned in. But, as usual "Crazy horse" Cooke never fails to deliver on giving away cheap possession during crucial plays. Players need to look at their performances - no leadership or self-belief. I've said it before, give me a full-back any day that first and foremost, minds the house - anything else is just a bonus. Galway full forward line was redundant once Comer went off. No arguments, as Galway have had 2 chances to beat Mayo this year - in CP and at home."
Only two points in arrears? They missed a few but sure the wind was huge.
We should have been 9 up at ht

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1295 - 25/06/2023 17:47:32    2489201

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Similar to what Davy Burke said after the Cork game yesterday, if ye converted one of your goal chances ye have that game won. Galway had two good goal chances and a couple of half chances near the end. Comer going off was a big factor. Enthralling game. Both sets of players left everything on the pitch."
Just like the league final Tierney had a great goal chances and hit reape and like the armagh game completely open down the middle for the mayo goal John daily spend more time arguing with the ref than defending a shambles of a display

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 25/06/2023 17:51:46    2489202

Better team won unfortunately, if we had got a goal at the end it would have been daylight robbery.
I said it during the week, we won by a point last year vs Mayo because we nailed the frees.
We lost by a point today because we missed them. In saying that our forward play has been very poor for a while now. Burke, Walsh, Finnerty, Culhane are offering nothing from play or from the bench.
James Carr and Cillian O'Connor scored today when brought on. Comer misses every second game at this stage so can't rely on him. Silke and Molloy won't solve that and Brian Mannion, Dessie Conneely and Eoin Finnerty shooting the lights out in the club championship in the summer ahead only highlights the problem further. Strange when the manager was one of our greatest ever.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 25/06/2023 18:15:27    2489208

I thought it was an OK display considering the scale of injury/unavailability. We're lacking pace to trouble blanket defences anyway, and could do with 3 McDaids, one at 7, one in midfield, and another in the half forward line. Well done to the squad and management team on their massive efforts all season. Hopefully, we'll get cleaner injury runs in seasons to come.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3921 - 25/06/2023 18:23:29    2489211

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Tierney made an absolute mickey out of the goal chance taking a step too many. We threw that game away as usual and its time now for Joyce to resign and take Cian O Neill with him. We have always had dwadly forwards which somehow Joyce and O Neill particularly have coached out of them."
The naysayers and the begrudgers and the doom and gloom brigade are clearly out in force on this forum again after the unlucky defeat to Mayo today. I was very proud of the Galway team and management who did their best. Congratulations to all. We played today under a severe liability with the imjuries to Sean Kelly, Damian Comer, Dylan McHugh and others. It is very difficult for any county to cope with such adversity. We played our heart out. We were unlucky to be beaten by a point. Normally Mattie Tierney would have scored that goal. We lost the match in the 3rd quarter when losing the 5 point lead much too quickly. We got back on top in the last 10 minutes and could easily have won but for a few turnovers and misplaced passes when in scoring positions. Only one team can win the All Ireland. Teams that are up today will be down next week. Matches of this importance should not be played in Salthill due to the strong wind that invariably blows there. There should be major investment in the home of Galway football, Tuam Stadium and the GAA should sell off Pearse Stadium. The GAA also needs to urgently review the structure of this years championship. Galway should not have been put into the situation they were in today of having to play Mayo in a preliminary quarter final. Scoring difference, not head to head, should have determined the order of teams in the group. Galway had a vastly superior scoring difference to Armagh and should have gone straighr into quarter final. Roscommon similarly were hard done by. Well done to all the players, to Padraig Joyce and the management team. You did the county proud, especially against such adversity. gaillimh Abū.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 25/06/2023 18:25:09    2489212

Replying To smallfrank:  "Better team won unfortunately, if we had got a goal at the end it would have been daylight robbery.
I said it during the week, we won by a point last year vs Mayo because we nailed the frees.
We lost by a point today because we missed them. In saying that our forward play has been very poor for a while now. Burke, Walsh, Finnerty, Culhane are offering nothing from play or from the bench.
James Carr and Cillian O'Connor scored today when brought on. Comer misses every second game at this stage so can't rely on him. Silke and Molloy won't solve that and Brian Mannion, Dessie Conneely and Eoin Finnerty shooting the lights out in the club championship in the summer ahead only highlights the problem further. Strange when the manager was one of our greatest ever."
Don't even think Mayo were the better team. The healthier team certainly. They basically had a good 15 minutes at the start of the 2nd half when they got the goal and a few points. Apart from that Galway were generally on top I felt. But weren't putting enough scores on the board. Walsh missing 2 handy frees in the first half. Tierney one on one with Reape and hits him with the shot instead of taking it around him. A fit Comer and Kelly and I'm fairly certain Galway win that game but it's immaterial now as they weren't fit.

Just one of those years. Injuries caught up with the team and Walsh's form fell off a cliff. Hopefully they get Silke, Molloy, McHugh, etc, back next year. Comer, Finnerty battling knocks all this year. Will Cooke be back though? No guarantees as his work often takes him abroad. Would be a serious loss and he got better and better the more he played this year. Conroy not getting any younger either. Will he give it one more year?

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2317 - 25/06/2023 18:33:44    2489214

Another tough loss today. They get harder and harder as the years go on. There was great support in Pearse Stadium today. It was heartening to see more Galway fans there today than Mayo. It's been a long time since that was the case.
On the game, you can point at a lot of issues, Comer and Kelly impacted by injury, a good number of poor wides including missed frees. In a one point loss, we'll stew over all of these.
Missed goal chances have been a real feature of the team this year. Our conversion rate must be very low.
Tierney is an excellent footballer, but there was an obvious sidestep for an open goal on to his right-foot, yet he went with his preferred left by default.
A very disappointing end to the year. It's back to the club championship now for the rest of the year.
We'll be back next year for more and the hope will be back again..... I hope.
Thanks to all the players and management for the huge commitment they put in this year.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2230 - 25/06/2023 18:36:59    2489215

Replying To festinog:  "Congrats to Mayo on their deserved win. PJ totally outsmarted on the sideline today. Mayo gifted us the breeze in the first half betting on us setting up defensively and not taking advantage of it, and we duly obliged. What sort of general sets his positions to a preordained pattern heedless of the prevailing conditions? Very poor. And I hasten to add this is the first time I've criticized PJ. That game ironically was lost on m the first half that we, on paper, won."
Both teams sat back and counter attacked when they had the wind behind them.
Normally it's the other way around.
Galway were poor offensively really. Considering their dominance on the kickouts they should have had the match won at half time.
Some very poor shot selection in the first half.
They started the second half afraid to shoot in case they kicked a wide.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1205 - 25/06/2023 18:41:19    2489216

Replying To FallenStar:  "The Joyce revolution rolls on."
Haven't heard from you for months - how's things?..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 25/06/2023 18:46:47    2489218

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "The naysayers and the begrudgers and the doom and gloom brigade are clearly out in force on this forum again after the unlucky defeat to Mayo today. I was very proud of the Galway team and management who did their best. Congratulations to all. We played today under a severe liability with the imjuries to Sean Kelly, Damian Comer, Dylan McHugh and others. It is very difficult for any county to cope with such adversity. We played our heart out. We were unlucky to be beaten by a point. Normally Mattie Tierney would have scored that goal. We lost the match in the 3rd quarter when losing the 5 point lead much too quickly. We got back on top in the last 10 minutes and could easily have won but for a few turnovers and misplaced passes when in scoring positions. Only one team can win the All Ireland. Teams that are up today will be down next week. Matches of this importance should not be played in Salthill due to the strong wind that invariably blows there. There should be major investment in the home of Galway football, Tuam Stadium and the GAA should sell off Pearse Stadium. The GAA also needs to urgently review the structure of this years championship. Galway should not have been put into the situation they were in today of having to play Mayo in a preliminary quarter final. Scoring difference, not head to head, should have determined the order of teams in the group. Galway had a vastly superior scoring difference to Armagh and should have gone straighr into quarter final. Roscommon similarly were hard done by. Well done to all the players, to Padraig Joyce and the management team. You did the county proud, especially against such adversity. gaillimh Abū."
It was a very even game from a neutral point of view. I thought Galway were unlucky and then to lose Comer and Kelly wasn't fit either meant it was just a stretch too far. Walsh looks like the long season has caught up with him. Fair point on the goal difference maybe that is something the GAA can look at. Derry will probably draw Mayo once I say this but I am glad from a selfish perspective that Galway are out. I fancy Derry against almost anyone except Galway. A fit and firing Galway have our number. I still believe Galway will win Sam in the next few years. I hope they do.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 210 - 25/06/2023 18:52:06    2489223

Replying To Marooned:  "Don't even think Mayo were the better team. The healthier team certainly. They basically had a good 15 minutes at the start of the 2nd half when they got the goal and a few points. Apart from that Galway were generally on top I felt. But weren't putting enough scores on the board. Walsh missing 2 handy frees in the first half. Tierney one on one with Reape and hits him with the shot instead of taking it around him. A fit Comer and Kelly and I'm fairly certain Galway win that game but it's immaterial now as they weren't fit.

Just one of those years. Injuries caught up with the team and Walsh's form fell off a cliff. Hopefully they get Silke, Molloy, McHugh, etc, back next year. Comer, Finnerty battling knocks all this year. Will Cooke be back though? No guarantees as his work often takes him abroad. Would be a serious loss and he got better and better the more he played this year. Conroy not getting any younger either. Will he give it one more year?"
Mayo were by far the better team and the 1 point game flatters Galway. However it has to be stated this was a weak Galway team, compared to last year, missing 4 from the AI final, Silke, Molloy, McHugh and P Kelly, and, starting at least 2 injured players, Comer and Kelly who were not fit to play. Add to that the fact that our top player from last year continues to sulk, then, to put in such an effort is commendable. 3 subs brought on in last years Final also no longer feature, O'Laoi, E Finnerty and N Daly. Lets see how Mulkerrin, Silke and Molloy do for their clubs now. The cowardly stamp on Kelly's ankle off-the-ball today may end up ruling him out even for next year.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1258 - 25/06/2023 18:55:05    2489229

Replying To Really:  "Haven't heard from you for months - how's things?.."
Are you still believing in lost causes?

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 424 - 25/06/2023 19:05:10    2489234

We lose to Mayo at Salthill again. Just great!!! Massive Galway support today but our lads don't seem to rise to it to give us something for our kids and our life long diehards. We capitulate far too easily to what is a bang average Mayo team, coughing up an unanswered 1-5 after half time. Shows how weak our half time prep, talk and plan obviously is - they tore into us while we were asleep, grew even more casual and error prone.
A few harsh home truths. Comer is super but Always injured when you really want him. Always. He's the fulcrum, we've nothing else in the FF line. Walsh's move to Dublin got him his club glory but has backfired unbelievably for his County. To dip in form in 11 months from being 1 or 2 in the country to being so,
so poor today suggests real problems - head and body aren't right. No speed, no cut, no care. He didn't do the winter training as he traipsed around the world for 2.5 months and you just can't do that to yourself or your teammates. That cost us against Armagh and today. His free misses cost us today. Mattie Tierney a great talent with no cut or menace to him. Should've goaled, made a mess of it. Not showing half the time. Tomo, Finnerty, Ian Burke? I dunno. Nothing from any of them. Cooke tried hard but coughs up silly and costly brain fart turnovers too often. Conroy - super servant but time catching up. Can't penetrate or make space to shoot this year. Transition too slow out of defence. Split wide open for a simple goal. Sideline smarts aren't top class. No point going on. All left disappointed and let down again. Listening to Mayo give it to us and March on again, as they don't have to transition it seems, while we have a quarter of a century transitioning to try to find a truly competitive team. So immensely disappointing.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 986 - 25/06/2023 19:06:51    2489236