Galway Football thread

I wish the token Galway "suppprters" on this forum would lay off the vitriol against Ian Burke, a very skillful and great team player. It has become quite boring and tiresome. This is the same kind of nonsense that was meted out by a few know-alls about the merits of a great goalkeeper Conor Gleeson. Do they really think they know more than the Galway management team PJ, Cian O"Neill, etc who know the merits and capabilities of each player intimately? So keep the scathing criticisms to yourselves and refrain from parading gross ignorance and hurtful commentary about individual players on this forum. Gaillimh Abü!

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 20/06/2023 12:41:11    2487777

Replying To S1234:  "Again who's clare ??"
Is your name not Clare? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/06/2023 12:43:12    2487778

Replying To Kickitout:  "If everyone available v mayo my team
Think mchugh definitely out excluding him

Power
McGrath. Kelly. Glynn
Sweeney. Daly Mcdaid
Conroy. Maher
Tierney. Finnerty. Cooke
Heaney. Walsh. Comer

Bring Heaney out between half forward and half back line play Walsh at 14 where he scored 9 points in all Ireland no point keeping lads on bench snd game gone start with ur strongest team and no messing naming players that are not fit it's pure rubbish"
I would flip Heaney and McDaid, play Heaney at wing back and McDaid to roam around the middle. If we have Comer or Walsh in the FF line Mayo will play a sweeper and this will allow McDaid room through the middle. Playing him at wing back is not working. Moving him to WB last Sunday was a mistake IMO. Him and Kelly were the only 2 players who had a cut last Sunday and we need more of it.

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 20/06/2023 12:53:30    2487783

The loss of key players like Silke, Molloy and Comer (also now possibly Kelly) is beginning to be felt. Personally I think the biggest loss of all in the last couple of games has been Dylan McHugh as he has been Galway's most consistent player in the last couple of years and is always taking the game to the opposition. If he and Comer are back the next day I would still give us a good shout even if Kelly is out injured.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 20/06/2023 13:29:52    2487805

S1234 - You have been made to look quite a buffoon on here.

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 214 - 20/06/2023 13:30:44    2487806

S1234, you are Clare from the "Mayo Blog", I'll sign off now with your sign off/call sign "Ha".

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 777 - 20/06/2023 13:40:12    2487810

I hope everyone in this group giving out is at least attending the game in person rather hiding behind a screen voicing their negative views

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 20/06/2023 13:53:50    2487818

Replying To galwaygoal:  "Club Championship Draw - Senior
Group 1
Moycullen
An Spideal
Milltown
Leitormor
Annaghdown,
St James

Group 2
Salthill,
Corofin
Killannin
Barna,
Oughterard,
Caherlistrane

Group3
Mountbellew,
Claregalway,
Tuam,
St Michaels
Dunmore

Tough on Dunmore in group 3"
I like the look of this draw, group 2 probably the only predictable one with Salthill and Corofin being the top 2 at the end.
Group 1 & 3 are more unpredictable for top 2 but cant see any major shocks until Q-final/S-Final stages.

LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 64 - 20/06/2023 13:59:56    2487822

Replying To tommy k:  "True my friend - we may as well hand Sam to Mayo now and be done with it!"
Sure Jaysus if u hand Sam to Mayo, they will drop it or lose it!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 20/06/2023 14:14:46    2487831

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "I wish the token Galway "suppprters" on this forum would lay off the vitriol against Ian Burke, a very skillful and great team player. It has become quite boring and tiresome. This is the same kind of nonsense that was meted out by a few know-alls about the merits of a great goalkeeper Conor Gleeson. Do they really think they know more than the Galway management team PJ, Cian O"Neill, etc who know the merits and capabilities of each player intimately? So keep the scathing criticisms to yourselves and refrain from parading gross ignorance and hurtful commentary about individual players on this forum. Gaillimh Abü!"
Since the game on Sunday, I have seen one poster with comments which fall in to the category you have mentioned. Call him out on it, rather than generalising as you have done.
Everything else I have seen relates to his performance on the pitch, and wasn't too harsh. In summary, he had a poor game and doesn't seem to offer a scoring a threat, was what others mentioned. I don't think that's unfair.
If you asked Ian himself, I'm pretty sure he wouldn't be happy with his performance on Sunday.
Not every comment about a player's performance is an insult or vitriolic. It's just people giving their opinions about a game of football.
No player should ever have anything abusive thrown at them. However, giving an opinion on whether you think someone else may or may not do a better job is fair enough. If we can't do that, what's the point of debating team selection or performance.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2230 - 20/06/2023 14:28:42    2487838

I've just seen Sundays game back and we left an awful amount of goal chances behind us, but the creation of goal chances remains a big positive, however we need to execute them going forward. We also created numerous goal chances the in the league final and against Westmeath two weeks ago. The players will be disappointed that they didn't manage the clock with time running out. I think we will be ok but we need, Kelly, Comer and McHugh fit. The team for me would be
Power
McGrath
Kelly
Glynn
McHugh
Daly
McDaid
Maher
Tierney
Cooke
Conroy
Heaney
Burke
Comer
Walsh

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 777 - 20/06/2023 15:47:50    2487874

Much like the criticism Heaney get it's seems some here doesn't understand the importance of the role Ian Burke plays in the team. He's not starting with the expectation to shoot the lights out with scores but high percentage of Galways scores comes from the work rate and his creation.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3521 - 20/06/2023 16:04:12    2487877

Replying To Coolockweigan:  "Sure Jaysus if u hand Sam to Mayo, they will drop it or lose it!"
Brilliant %()

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 314 - 20/06/2023 16:06:27    2487879

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Much like the criticism Heaney get it's seems some here doesn't understand the importance of the role Ian Burke plays in the team. He's not starting with the expectation to shoot the lights out with scores but high percentage of Galways scores comes from the work rate and his creation."
I think anyone who watches Galway regularly understands that. The issue is if he's not creating scores, he's not currently a threat from a scoring point of view either. The thing is he's well capable scoring and has done regularly for Corofin. He's an excellent player when he's on his game.
However, on Sunday he created very little and never looked like scoring either. For an inside forward, more is needed. The few balls he won were fed back out again. With the intercepted pass to Walsh, the defender read it as he knew Ian was going to pass.
Having Comer in beside him would have given him more space for sure, but unfortunately he just wasn't effective on Sunday.
Walsh has received some criticism and Tierney was also quiet, but both kicked 2 points each from play.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2230 - 20/06/2023 16:33:19    2487889

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Much like the criticism Heaney get it's seems some here doesn't understand the importance of the role Ian Burke plays in the team. He's not starting with the expectation to shoot the lights out with scores but high percentage of Galways scores comes from the work rate and his creation."
I rarely see any criticism for Heaney its clear what he does on the field. He would be on most peoples Galway team.

Can you tell me how many Galway scores Burke set up because I didn't see many? I don't agree Galway can afford to sacrifice a scoring corner forward for someone who runs into space.

If Comer cant start I don't see the point in starting Burke. He doesn't score or win hard ball. Any ball he gets bounces before him and in most cases he carries it back out to the 45 and recycles the ball with a fist pass.

Paul Flynn showed what mayo do poorly when breaking down the blanket not going to the corner and recycling across the field but can Galway afford to have Burke for this purpose when he doesn't win 50/50 ball, score, track runners, win marks, run lines ? Walsh loves staying out the left wing too so minus Comer Galway struggle with independent robust direct scoring players in the Full forward line.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 20/06/2023 16:36:33    2487890

Be careful S1234 or I might have to ask Willie Joe to put you in mayogaablog jail for a awhileen haha

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1641 - 20/06/2023 17:12:17    2487900

Replying To Kickitout:  "If everyone available v mayo my team
Think mchugh definitely out excluding him

Power
McGrath. Kelly. Glynn
Sweeney. Daly Mcdaid
Conroy. Maher
Tierney. Finnerty. Cooke
Heaney. Walsh. Comer

Bring Heaney out between half forward and half back line play Walsh at 14 where he scored 9 points in all Ireland no point keeping lads on bench snd game gone start with ur strongest team and no messing naming players that are not fit it's pure rubbish"
Kick it out they obviously hoped comer would play along with McHugh and like any team you give them every chance. They have to name panel by Friday afternoon - they picked up knocks Thursday in training so you need to see if it will settle over a day or two. Shane Walsh is struggling for form and to be fair to him he did try hard Sunday. Alot of things went against Galway Sunday but I won't write them off. Need to get out and support them especially at home. Kelly looks like he is out so up to rest to stand up and be counted.

Nogoal (Galway) - Posts: 62 - 20/06/2023 18:05:35    2487922

Some specimens on that blog its like a madhouse with f**k Galway this, f**k Galway that and lads taking about the Mayo team like its a multiple All Ireland winning team not a team that were outmuscled by Cork the other day. Id say white coats could analyse that site for years to determine madness and delusion.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 20/06/2023 18:09:02    2487925

I think posting Conroy in full forward might bring more out of the nippier forwards. You could have Burke and Shane bursting onto his breakdowns. I still prefer Finnerty in Salthill. Its his patch and last year he regularly hit 2 or 3 from play in at least 3 or 4 games. That should be the bare minimum for every forward. Finnerty has longe range scoring from the right wing in his locker. He is also creative with the fisted pass. I just feel Burke isn't shooting at all. At times last week he could have fisted points but turned back and away. Few of us gave mentioned how predictable he has become. People also have been championing Culhane but haven't seen anything to impress in the limited chances he got this season in the maroon. That lad won't have to be asked to shoot though! Is our full back line a bit small for the aerial attack? Love the buzz on the forum. I think we are all excited about this game. Where would we be without GAA? I really hope we can keep the summer going!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 20/06/2023 20:15:54    2487961

You know yourself.. you must have a record for posts on the blog

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 20/06/2023 20:33:38    2487962