Galway Football thread

Replying To Really:  "Can't believe McStay released C. O'Connor for club duty at the weekend. Is it a natural self-destruct button Connaught teams are prone to.

John Daly's attempt to play the offside trap, reminded me of Mick Judge v Mickey Freyne (Ros) effort back in the day. Only thing was, it was a back pass from his own player.. lol..

Tbh, the refs. are adopting a "to hell or to Connaught" attitude with their decision-making. McGrath displayed text book "robbing" on one occasion, and next the ref. who was 50 metres up the pitch pulls him for last free. Time for 2 refs. imo."
Cillian isn't match fit.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7724 - 19/06/2023 14:07:04    2487344

Replying To Mayo52:  "Galway management's failure to replace the clearly injured Sean Kelly late in the game yesterday, exacerbated the extent of his injury, as Sean was forced to compete in a subsequent passage of play against his ankles wishes. Their failure to involve Owen Gallagher in any facet of this years mission was also very shortsighted indeed, as he would bring an additional dimension to their play. Galway, when Comer is absent are quite limited and will really struggle against Mayo next weekend. Mayo are no great shakes either by the way"
Gallagher has been dropped off the panel why?

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 19/06/2023 14:09:43    2487346

Replying To brisbane:  "Everyone knew we would get Mayo. Galway the last 2 years have drawn the tough teams so it will be kerry or Dublin next.

FF line had only one scorer in it so when Shane had another off day it was going to be tough. Armagh FB line didnt have a finger put on them and created overlaps.

Any news on Eoin kelly, Mulcahy ? They wold suit Oshea.

I wish we knew why Joyce doesnt fancy Gallagher he offers something different in a team of very similar players.

Sean Kelly took a few punches to the head after the foul for the penalty was shocking stuff. He takes a lot for the team even plays Fb which is like Dublin sticking Mccaffrey back there."
I noticed the punches on the TV and yet nobody on the panel picked up on it pure thuggery and cowardly behaviour punching a guy lying on the ground unable to defend himself

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 19/06/2023 14:12:53    2487348

Replying To brisbane:  "Everyone knew we would get Mayo. Galway the last 2 years have drawn the tough teams so it will be kerry or Dublin next.

FF line had only one scorer in it so when Shane had another off day it was going to be tough. Armagh FB line didnt have a finger put on them and created overlaps.

I wish we knew why Joyce doesnt fancy Gallagher he offers something different in a team of very similar players.

Sean Kelly took a few punches to the head after the foul for the penalty was shocking stuff. He takes a lot for the team even plays Fb which is like Dublin sticking Mccaffrey back there."
I thought Galway never put Armagh out of sight at any time yesterday. It looked as if they played for a draw at the end, but Armagh scored a late free to win. The Armagh players at times showed greater desire to win 50/50 balls in the match, they got 9 points from turnovers.
It's Mayo at home on Sunday in a knockout game. I had Galway as serious contenders to win Sam, before yesterday, not as confident today. I still hope they do it.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 19/06/2023 14:19:11    2487350

Replying To Mayo52:  "Galway management's failure to replace the clearly injured Sean Kelly late in the game yesterday, exacerbated the extent of his injury, as Sean was forced to compete in a subsequent passage of play against his ankles wishes. Their failure to involve Owen Gallagher in any facet of this years mission was also very shortsighted indeed, as he would bring an additional dimension to their play. Galway, when Comer is absent are quite limited and will really struggle against Mayo next weekend. Mayo are no great shakes either by the way"
Yeah they should've taken him off but he tried to run it off. Then they spent a few mins working with the fourth official explaining how they'd use the blood sub situation to sub off Kelly.
They were obviously afraid of going down to 14. It looked like panic stations on the line. Should've taken Kelly off and shouted at someone or two lads to drop back until they got a sub on.
Kelly had to run back to cover the goal line because Gleeson went up to attack and then we lost the ball. They running was basically hobbling.
There's no way he'll be right for Sunday.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 178 - 19/06/2023 14:21:26    2487352

Replying To togoutlads:  "That was massively frustrating in Carrick yesterday. The muck list: Pre- game mgmt (Comer and McHugh med cert /only 24 men togged debacle), in-game mgmt (my 90 year old neighbour could see Kelly had to come off straight away, Ian Burke not at the races etc etc), kick outs, poor fielding, poor breaking ball work, placed balls, loose marking at half back, easy fouls for simple frees, forwards again not able to score goals, poor shot selection on many occasions, no cold-blooded killer instinct to put teams away, buying the b.s. about being superior to Armagh and that even a third or fourth gear controlled performance would do the job. Simply not good enough, Galway.
That said, it has ended up giving us an absolute belter of a tie in Salthill. It'll be wedged out the gate. Mark my words, whoever wins this one will suddenly be back on track, be totally reenergised from it and will have a real stab at winning Sam. It's that kind of a springboard game for the winner. Though it's a bit more difficult to see it now for Galway, I hope and predict you'll see a very different animal take the field on Saturday. No matter how you try, it was hard enough for lads to get fully revved up for that Armagh game but that ain't going to be a problem come the weekend - they'll burst the doors off the hinges to get out at Mayo. Give us a complete performance, lads. Trust me, Mayo are fully convinced they're a better team and individually better footballers than us, their sideline think our sideline are still only learning the ropes. We need to have this figured out up and down with plans A, B, C and D, and we need to bring thunder. This is old school, knock out championship. Let's give them one!!!"
Great Post! Yep that's my kinda language. Take the handbrake off PJ and floor it. Big men need to actually want the ball and fight for it in advanced positions. Are Sweeney and Burke allowed to shoot?!!!! Burke 's pass to Shane was picked off cos he NEVER looks to run at the goals and bury a score. Only select forwards who crave scores every play. This is Mayo ffs. Very cocky and very beatable. Get on top early and keep the hammer down! I believe in this Galway team and management against Mayo whoever plays.

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 19/06/2023 14:52:57    2487376

Replying To minor77:  "If Sean Kelly is missing on Sunday aos will go to town on us"
If that happens we should drop down to the Tailteann Cup next year. Of all the worries in the Mayo side, he is the least of them. It's Carr and O'Donoghue that need to be marshalled, O'Shea can be let shoot.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 811 - 19/06/2023 14:53:24    2487378

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Cillian isn't match fit."
But played a match Friday?
He'll be playing this weekend

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 19/06/2023 14:54:55    2487381

In fairness Galway got the nicer of the two routes to the All Ireland last year so ye can't complain too much on that.

I think Mayo would prefer to have avoided Galway more than the other way around. Galway won't fear Mayo and ye will have the league final loss to fire up the team. It should be a great game and proper championship knock out involing the two Connacht big guns. What's the story with Comer? Is he not fully fit?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 19/06/2023 15:03:07    2487384

Replying To Coolockweigan:  "Great Post! Yep that's my kinda language. Take the handbrake off PJ and floor it. Big men need to actually want the ball and fight for it in advanced positions. Are Sweeney and Burke allowed to shoot?!!!! Burke 's pass to Shane was picked off cos he NEVER looks to run at the goals and bury a score. Only select forwards who crave scores every play. This is Mayo ffs. Very cocky and very beatable. Get on top early and keep the hammer down! I believe in this Galway team and management against Mayo whoever plays."
I think there is a very rigid, slow, ponderous build up type of game-plan which is mainly possession based with a lot of hand-passes involved (not many kick-passes which was the traditonal Galway game) and if any player is turned over in possession there is panic stations trying to get back to defend and badly defend at that! I noticed there were a number of chances to shoot points yesterday particularly in the first half but no the possession was recycled out again and more of the same ponderous / lateral handpassing. Galway are becoming too predictable and easy to defend against and the backs have become very porous in the back which is a double whammy! There is a also problem with lack of pace with a number of key players e.g. Tierney, Conroy, Cooke etc. What exactly have they been doing in training as there is an air of fear / trepidation throughout the team and they are going backwards at a rate of knots?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 19/06/2023 15:26:28    2487404

I can not understand naming a team on Thursday knowing players are injured they got well caught out yesterday,, playing Cathal sweeney in forward madness he should be wing back , Maher one top players this year now he a sub , Ian Burke can't score but keeps getting playing should play Finnerty centre forward Walsh number 14 , I don't think Shane Walsh has played full forward since all Ireland last year ,, not taking kelly off straight away madness not much point have Mulkerrins on bench if they not going play him , unfortunately I think Mayo could win by 5-6 points next day , if comer back Galway have chance if not no hope ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 972 - 19/06/2023 15:34:42    2487418

Replying To togoutlads:  "That was massively frustrating in Carrick yesterday. The muck list: Pre- game mgmt (Comer and McHugh med cert /only 24 men togged debacle), in-game mgmt (my 90 year old neighbour could see Kelly had to come off straight away, Ian Burke not at the races etc etc), kick outs, poor fielding, poor breaking ball work, placed balls, loose marking at half back, easy fouls for simple frees, forwards again not able to score goals, poor shot selection on many occasions, no cold-blooded killer instinct to put teams away, buying the b.s. about being superior to Armagh and that even a third or fourth gear controlled performance would do the job. Simply not good enough, Galway.
That said, it has ended up giving us an absolute belter of a tie in Salthill. It'll be wedged out the gate. Mark my words, whoever wins this one will suddenly be back on track, be totally reenergised from it and will have a real stab at winning Sam. It's that kind of a springboard game for the winner. Though it's a bit more difficult to see it now for Galway, I hope and predict you'll see a very different animal take the field on Saturday. No matter how you try, it was hard enough for lads to get fully revved up for that Armagh game but that ain't going to be a problem come the weekend - they'll burst the doors off the hinges to get out at Mayo. Give us a complete performance, lads. Trust me, Mayo are fully convinced they're a better team and individually better footballers than us, their sideline think our sideline are still only learning the ropes. We need to have this figured out up and down with plans A, B, C and D, and we need to bring thunder. This is old school, knock out championship. Let's give them one!!!"
Excellent post and not for the first time, togoutlads.

My only worry is about the mental and physical toll the game next weekend will have, it'll be hard to get up to the pitch of it a week later against either Kerry, Dublin or indeed Derry imo.

BUT if we do get through the next 2 games I can see us taking Sam.

Believe.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1639 - 19/06/2023 15:35:08    2487420

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "In fairness Galway got the nicer of the two routes to the All Ireland last year so ye can't complain too much on that.

I think Mayo would prefer to have avoided Galway more than the other way around. Galway won't fear Mayo and ye will have the league final loss to fire up the team. It should be a great game and proper championship knock out involing the two Connacht big guns. What's the story with Comer? Is he not fully fit?"
Actually no delighted to have got Galway more then happy to take on Galway..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 106 - 19/06/2023 15:35:52    2487423

Replying To Coolockweigan:  "Great Post! Yep that's my kinda language. Take the handbrake off PJ and floor it. Big men need to actually want the ball and fight for it in advanced positions. Are Sweeney and Burke allowed to shoot?!!!! Burke 's pass to Shane was picked off cos he NEVER looks to run at the goals and bury a score. Only select forwards who crave scores every play. This is Mayo ffs. Very cocky and very beatable. Get on top early and keep the hammer down! I believe in this Galway team and management against Mayo whoever plays."
Ha mayo coxky and Galway are not cocktails at all? Must be having a laugh ha Galway are also very beatable going by your game yesterday..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 106 - 19/06/2023 15:36:49    2487425

Pearse Stadium at 3pm Sunday. Will give injured players one day extra recovery time

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3141 - 19/06/2023 16:14:30    2487457

Replying To tommy k:  "I think there is a very rigid, slow, ponderous build up type of game-plan which is mainly possession based with a lot of hand-passes involved (not many kick-passes which was the traditonal Galway game) and if any player is turned over in possession there is panic stations trying to get back to defend and badly defend at that! I noticed there were a number of chances to shoot points yesterday particularly in the first half but no the possession was recycled out again and more of the same ponderous / lateral handpassing. Galway are becoming too predictable and easy to defend against and the backs have become very porous in the back which is a double whammy! There is a also problem with lack of pace with a number of key players e.g. Tierney, Conroy, Cooke etc. What exactly have they been doing in training as there is an air of fear / trepidation throughout the team and they are going backwards at a rate of knots?"
Strong breeze yesterday first half didn't help score taking, calmed down at half time to Armaghs advantage when the rain fell

When we inexplicably went to a kicking game 1st 10 mins second half against Roscommon in Connacht semi we conceded 1-3 to no score. Be careful what you wish for.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1639 - 19/06/2023 16:18:58    2487463

Replying To S1234:  "Ha mayo coxky and Galway are not cocktails at all? Must be having a laugh ha Galway are also very beatable going by your game yesterday.."
Don't ever be fooled by Galway supporters poor mouthing. Next Sat. Galway supporters fully expect to beat Tipp in hurling quarter-final, and beat Mayo on Sun. We then expect to be drawn against Derry in Q. final. the following Sat.

This is senior hurling from here on in - snooze and you lose - in your face, and all that!!

Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 19/06/2023 16:21:47    2487469

Replying To Belclare:  "But played a match Friday?
He'll be playing this weekend"
Hopefully.

He's been injury prone and not starting games. I think they're trying to get him match fit with a club game for what they thought would be a quarter final next match. That's my take on it, not sure that's the case. Looks like there was a bit of complacency ahead of the Cork game even though Cork beat Louth and we struggled against Louth at home. I'd start himself and Tommy and leave Carr and McDonagh on the bench.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7724 - 19/06/2023 16:34:27    2487480

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Hopefully.

He's been injury prone and not starting games. I think they're trying to get him match fit with a club game for what they thought would be a quarter final next match. That's my take on it, not sure that's the case. Looks like there was a bit of complacency ahead of the Cork game even though Cork beat Louth and we struggled against Louth at home. I'd start himself and Tommy and leave Carr and McDonagh on the bench."
Galway play Mayo Sunday because neither die could demonstrate a basic skill that Junior D players do every weekend across the country, kick a 30m free over the bar.
Contenders for Sam? You must be joking.!!!!

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 336 - 19/06/2023 17:14:40    2487516

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "Galway play Mayo Sunday because neither die could demonstrate a basic skill that Junior D players do every weekend across the country, kick a 30m free over the bar.
Contenders for Sam? You must be joking.!!!!"
Yesterdays slow and ponderous, lack of urgency type of game will be replicated on Sunday as we wont change tactics at this stage. I would play Mulkerrins if he is a sub he is fit to start in backs, I would play Tierney at 14 if Comer out. What happened Niall Daly and Paul Kelly, Tomo all not getting a run. It would ve great to see Cooke, Maher, Tierney, Heaney running straight through them like Cork did yesterday and lads need to take a point when chance is there not recycle it again. I think we will beat Mayo on Sunday, lads should be roaring to get at them.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 19/06/2023 17:42:49    2487541