Galway Football thread

Replying To Mayonman:  "Any word on Finnertys injury. He would be a big loss even as a bench option.

Shane just doesn't look right. Looks to be playing in second gear like a lad is carrying some sort of niggle. Need to get him firing soon. We could have a tough QF (aiming even if we lose to Armagh our PD will keep us on top).

Good points made by a few of ye on the goal chances. This is becoming a trend and needs to be addressed. I'd say our conversion rate 1 on 1 must be less than 10%..... I didn't do the stats, that's just what it seems like!

Tomo had a lot of game time against both Tyrone and WM. I was very disappointed with him. Very static.

Hernon really took the WM game by the scruff of the neck. Thought he was very passive in league final, not backing himself to take on his man but glad to see the change. He has the talent, now that he is more settled in the squad maybe he can push on.

Puzzle - Conroy, Cooke, Mcdaid, Maher - do we start all 4?

Cooke was excellent when he moved to midfield last week. Was that because of the position or just because he has a run of games under his belt.

Is Mcdaid better in midfield than half back? I think we need to find run for Sweeney.

Conroy is class but he doesn't break lines like the others. Would his ball playing be better with 20 to go?

If we start all 4 do we leave ourselves exposed on the bench?

I leave that puzzle to PJ!"
Sorry, why do we need to find room for Sweeney?

He kicked the ball away to Mayo in the NFL at Castlebar in which they managed to get the score to draw the game and havent seen a whole of more of him since to justify this statement

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 09/06/2023 14:32:37    2485132

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sorry, why do we need to find room for Sweeney?

He kicked the ball away to Mayo in the NFL at Castlebar in which they managed to get the score to draw the game and havent seen a whole of more of him since to justify this statement"
I take it you didn't see the Tyrone game?

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 676 - 09/06/2023 14:50:28    2485138

Team going into knockout stages

Gleeson
Glynn Mullkerin McGrath
McHugh Daly S Kelly
Tierney Maher
Cooke McDaid Hernon
Burke Comer Walsh

Conroy, Heaney, Sweeney, among the subs

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 09/06/2023 14:59:21    2485140

He kicked the ball away to Mayo in the NFL at Castlebar in which they managed to get the score to draw the game and havent seen a whole of more of him since to justify this statement"
A bad error alright but from a young player. He's actually been very good in recent games. He was probably one of Galway's best 2 or 3 players against Tyrone I thought.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 09/06/2023 15:39:47    2485148

Replying To galway19:  "I take it you didn't see the Tyrone game?"
Exactly. That was a bad mistake for sure. But he has played well in most games he's played since to be fair to him.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 09/06/2023 15:49:29    2485149

You don't watch the matches then?

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 09/06/2023 16:12:48    2485152

Replying To Marooned:  "Sean Walsh out injured for the minors against Derry. Sounds like he won't be back for the remainder of the championship either even if they progress."
That's a big blow, seemed injured against Mayo and only made things worse by playing?

Derry looked strong from watching them in the Ulster semi final and final but remains to be seen the strength of Ulster v Connacht football at this grade. Last year Connacht was the strongest province.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 09/06/2023 18:27:54    2485163

I'm sorry but that's a silly comment. Anyone who knows their football will know the worth of Sweeney in the modern game. Athletic, can cover a number of positions and well able to take a score. Don't let a mistake in January cloud your judgement, Sweeney is an important player in this Galway team.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 09/06/2023 21:50:06    2485193

Replying To Marooned:  "A bad error alright but from a young player. He's actually been very good in recent games. He was probably one of Galway's best 2 or 3 players against Tyrone I thought."
And exceptional against them when he came on in the league in Tuam also.
He's been consistently good.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 09/06/2023 23:09:13    2485205

Replying To giveitlong:  "Team going into knockout stages

Gleeson
Glynn Mullkerin McGrath
McHugh Daly S Kelly
Tierney Maher
Cooke McDaid Hernon
Burke Comer Walsh

Conroy, Heaney, Sweeney, among the subs"
Fair play to Sean Mulkerrin for making the bench the last day - but there is no way he will be parachuted back into a starting full back position for a quarter final at this late stage.
He has barely kicked a ball in 18 months.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 09/06/2023 23:11:39    2485207

Gleeson
McGrath Kelly Glynn
McHugh Daly Sweeney
Maher McDaid
Tierney Heaney Cooke
Burke Comer Walsh

Finnerty, Conroy, Hernon first off the bench.
In my opinion this is our strongest 15 to bring home Sam and best use of the bench. Agree with other posters re Conroy, an absolute class player and wonderful servant to us however he isn't breaking lines and the legs are definitely declining. I don't even see it as dropping him as much as using him as in more of a specialised role when he will definitely be needed down the stretch. The game has changed and the bench is just as important in todays game as we found out in Croke park last July. Imagine looking over to the line on 50 mins and seeing Conroy and Finnerty ready to come in, this could be the difference when a huge game is in the melting pot.

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 10/06/2023 06:15:47    2485217

Replying To ahsure.:  "I'm sorry but that's a silly comment. Anyone who knows their football will know the worth of Sweeney in the modern game. Athletic, can cover a number of positions and well able to take a score. Don't let a mistake in January cloud your judgement, Sweeney is an important player in this Galway team."
100%, he consistently breaks the line and underrated as a defender also. I think his pace and fitness seem to have moved up a notch this year too. Interesting to see in the next month if Mulkerrin or Molloy can get a look in, can't be far away fitness wise .

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 365 - 10/06/2023 09:33:57    2485232

Replying To giveitlong:  "Team going into knockout stages

Gleeson
Glynn Mullkerin McGrath
McHugh Daly S Kelly
Tierney Maher
Cooke McDaid Hernon
Burke Comer Walsh

Conroy, Heaney, Sweeney, among the subs"
OMG!!

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 10/06/2023 13:58:29    2485256

Agreed he made that mistake in the Mayo game but IMO he's been one of our most impressive players since. Consistently breaking the line and scoring. His pace is electric and makes openings for others especially against packed defence.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 10/06/2023 14:03:41    2485257

Heaney would be one of the first names picked on the Galway starting team, are some still underestimating the importance of the role he has in the team and influence in matches?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 10/06/2023 14:41:25    2485269

Galway minors very very poor against Derry. 0-4 is a dreadful return. Hard to believe they went unbeaten through the Connacht round robin. Wheels have really come off the last two games.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 10/06/2023 16:49:58    2485304

Well beaten by a strong Derry minor team but that was one of Galways worst underage performances for a number of years. Fairly toothless without Jack Heneghan, Seán Walsh and Ross Coen sent off on 45 minutes ended whatever slim hope of a comeback.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 10/06/2023 16:58:51    2485306

Replying To Yondu:  "Well beaten by a strong Derry minor team but that was one of Galways worst underage performances for a number of years. Fairly toothless without Jack Heneghan, Seán Walsh and Ross Coen sent off on 45 minutes ended whatever slim hope of a comeback."
I remember people saying the same thing after Mayo hammered Galway in the Connacht final last year. Very difficult to judge U17.

MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 73 - 10/06/2023 17:33:44    2485309

Replying To Jellybaby:  "OMG!!"
OMG

MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 73 - 10/06/2023 17:35:30    2485310

Don't know what football games you are watching; many people's MoM v Tyrone, very good v Westmeath. Scored vital points in league matches. Has loads of pace, able to break tackle. A position will be found for him, probably as a half forward.

MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 73 - 10/06/2023 17:49:38    2485316