Pearse Stadium was a joke yestetday. The mud and puddles and potholes around the stadium a disgrace. All people around me were from terrace, so some stand ticket holders sat in the rain. No stewards around to help with seating as they have in Cadtlebar etc. westsidestory (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 21/05/2023 13:39:31 2479955 Link 0 |
Gleeson did have a good game, very brave - has obviously worked on high ball into his area. Having said that, he needs to improve on short fast kickouts. Thought we gave away a few silly scorable frees from poor tackling technique (from behind). One thing I find comical and annoying, is physio and her assistant coming in to assist a player who has got a small slap in the puss. Maybe they want to build up their "steps" stats. Really (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 21/05/2023 14:39:36 2479969 Link 0 |
Who tipped Mayo this year?
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 434 - 21/05/2023 14:49:09 2479971 Link 0 |
Every team does that now, just as most players are very easy to topple. A man with the build of Comer is never hitting the deck unless by personal choice. God be with the days when a player set himself for the incoming shoulder, and stayed standing ... but sure maybe we were the idiots - all those frees we didn't get : ) Awful conditions, but my reading of that game yesterday is that Galway still would have won even if we had had a full team. We just didn't make enough score chances. Kerry will improve, but you'd have to say Mayo, Dublin and Galway looking sharp at this stage. points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 283 - 21/05/2023 15:24:29 2479980 Link 0 |
Have a look around and you'll see the word forum or forums... Typical Mayo man , all talk no substance...
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/05/2023 18:21:23 2480104 Link 1 |
Good 2 win yesterday in poor condition one thing that would worry me is in second half especially when Galway scored they gave up kickouts snd Tyrone scored almost immediately with zero pressure I though Cathal sweeney really took hand to Tyrone and ran straight down the middle and set up lots scores , in second half Galway kept running Into corner on stand side it was not as if Tyrone were pushing them into corners they headed straight into them themselves I found it bit mad really Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 965 - 21/05/2023 19:05:16 2480128 Link 0 |
Its a bug bear of mine as well. Especially when you go to the Northern venues ,they always have someone lined up.(usually a scor winner )embarassing
fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 21/05/2023 19:44:20 2480150 Link 0 |
Sloppy game but we are happy to take the 2 points and move on to Westmeath in two weeks. LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 64 - 22/05/2023 08:15:28 2480280 Link 0 |
Following on from whats already been said, pearse stadium is normally bad and we nearly accept or laugh and joke but being in there yesterday was truly embarrassing. I was beside a couple from Tyrone who must have been thinking what is this carry on. as a poster mentioned, you watch games in the North and the announcer is on the ball with each name, the national anthem is always sung perfectly and gets the atmosphere going. were playing national anthem from a dusty tape bought in the nineties. Back to the football. Not one for the purists but the main thing was to win which we did well, three standouts I thought gleeson conroy and sweeney. Many quick to give out to Gleeson and also conroy lately, not seeing many posts from these people today when shoes on the other foot. Gleeson great coming off his line , looked like he was happy to take man and ball, thoroughly deserved man of the match for conroy, showed leadership and courage particularly with turnovers and that second score with left foot in second half, sweeney broke the lines with his pace which was needed as other forwards were off it on Saturday. Lets hope for a better performance in mullingar where Westmeath will be waiting for us. cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 22/05/2023 08:32:36 2480288 Link 0 |
Sure it was general admission. Everyone was entitled to sit in the stand if they so wished. Stand tickets were not sold separately.
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 22/05/2023 09:07:09 2480300 Link 2 |
Pearse stadium on match day is just managed poorly. jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 172 - 22/05/2023 09:47:23 2480317 Link 0 |
I was just coming online to say the same - I might even email Paul Bellew about this as well because in fairness he seems like a clued in guy but Pearse stadium on Saturday was a complete joke and an embarrassment. Stadium Itself: - Massive puddles around the walk-area close to the pitch barriers, a few loads of chippings would solve 90% of this. having to walk in puddles because of the crowd making them unavoidable is madness in this day and age. - The terraces (but especially behind both goals) are all overgrown with moss and weeds (a few lads with shovel's/scrapers and weedkiller would do a great job) - The terraces (the yellowed paint marking the stairs/steps looks original and it shows, it near worn off completely in some places (again easily fixed) Infrastructure - Theres no real club shop for gear (like Castlebar) where ya could buy a bitta merch (they'd have sold out of maroon poncho's on Saturday) - On Saturday we entered behind the stand and walked over behind the goal - no where enroot did we see a programme for sale and we woulda bought one/two. - There's no real place to go in a buy a tea/coffee apart from Supermacs Other issues: - The PA: First of all how the hell isnt there a dry-run done an hour before (this would be done in any small business hosting an event) - The PA: This whole system needs an upgrade, always issues - The announcer, how hard is it to get the message to him (subs announced 5-6-7mins after the happened) - the announcer, how hard is it to get a sentences straight in your head before just taking to the mic (example: "Substitution on the Galway team (awkward pause) # 23 XX in for (even longer pause) number ## (long pause) name" Bigger issues: - The stand/roof could use a good power wash - The stand could use a seat refurb (even heat them to bring back the color) - the stand needs a side barrier like McHale park even just the western stand as that's where the prevailing wind blows (even Kenny park has this!) - Crappy small timber sheds you'd have at home for the strimmer need to be replaced with a proper building in the 'Supermacs' corner have a prober building selling merch, food and a bit of a cover - The entrance to the ground needs a total refurb make is cool entrance nice and modern. The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 738 - 22/05/2023 10:10:04 2480334 Link 0 |
Re the ref: Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1894 - 22/05/2023 10:23:37 2480347 Link 0 |
Yondu must be having a great laugh at all the replies, he's from Roscommon. Definitely not from Galway anyway.
TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 287 - 22/05/2023 10:33:32 2480358 Link 0 |
Galway thread.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7704 - 22/05/2023 10:35:30 2480360 Link 0 |
To be fair to Frank Burns, I genuinely don't think he meant it. He is not a dirty player and is widely regarded as being hard but clean player in Tyrone club football. I don't believe he has ever had a straight red at inter County level either. But in real time it did look bad. Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 922 - 22/05/2023 10:49:52 2480376 Link 0 |
Looks bad on the tape too.....even in 'unreal' time.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 22/05/2023 11:05:17 2480389 Link 0 |
By jaysus. the football team themselves must be going fairly well, if that's the crib list you came away with.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 22/05/2023 11:20:43 2480407 Link 1 |
I don't think he meant it either. He had him lined up for a hit, but got it wrong and ended up catching Glynn on the jaw. Small margins, but players need to be conscious of what can happen if the timing is a bit off. The pass Glynn got wasn't great and left him fairly open. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2223 - 22/05/2023 11:21:45 2480409 Link 0 |
As Trump would say "Sleepy Joe!" - lol
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 22/05/2023 11:52:03 2480428 Link 0 |