Galway Football thread

Replying To fishpond:  "as one who is thoroughly confused with the playoff system how does it work' Does the four grooup winners go on to the semi finals or is there another layer of games"
Top team goes to 1/4 final.
2nd place team has to play a third place team in another group in a playoff to qualify for 1/4 final.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 04/05/2023 23:14:03    2475812

Not sure about McDaid going back to wing back but I suppose Maher has played himself into a starting spot in midfield.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 05/05/2023 08:51:48    2475823

It was hard to ascertain precisely who/what was at fault for Ciarán Murtaghs's bountiful haul at the semifinal. Perhaps Sweeney wound up being the fall guy?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 05/05/2023 10:42:23    2475847

Replying To fishpond:  "as one who is thoroughly confused with the playoff system how does it work' Does the four grooup winners go on to the semi finals or is there another layer of games"
Layers of games. 24 games in fact, to eliminate 4 teams, and two of those 4 will be Sligo & Westmeath on all known form. A bit like the group stages of the soccer world cup, tons of games with very little riding on any of them.

I think the success/failure of this football round robin will be measurable. If the preliminary qfinals and qfinals are very competitive, that'll be a huge positive. If they're not, or if even 2or3 of them aren't competitive, then it's really just a whole lot of games for very little value add, except in GAA coffers of course.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 05/05/2023 11:42:16    2475870

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Layers of games. 24 games in fact, to eliminate 4 teams, and two of those 4 will be Sligo & Westmeath on all known form. A bit like the group stages of the soccer world cup, tons of games with very little riding on any of them.

I think the success/failure of this football round robin will be measurable. If the preliminary qfinals and qfinals are very competitive, that'll be a huge positive. If they're not, or if even 2or3 of them aren't competitive, then it's really just a whole lot of games for very little value add, except in GAA coffers of course."
thanks for the info the fog is clearing up a bit

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 05/05/2023 16:22:09    2475954

My prediction for this Sunday.

Galway 1-22 Sligo 0-13

Scorers

Galway - S Walsh 0-8 5fs, D Comer 0-5 1M, J Heaney 1-0, M Tierney 0-3 1 45, I Burke 0-1, C McDaid 0-1,P Cooke 0-1,R Finnerty 0-1, J Maher 0-1, P Conroy 0-1

Sligo - N Murphy 0-5 4fs, P O'Connor 0-3 1f, P Spillane 0-2,Sean Carrabine 0-2,L Towey 0-1

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 05/05/2023 17:12:29    2475970

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It was hard to ascertain precisely who/what was at fault for Ciarán Murtaghs's bountiful haul at the semifinal. Perhaps Sweeney wound up being the fall guy?"
To be fair we did a number on Enda Smith and most of the others which was effectively what won us the game. I can see something similar happening tomorrow with Sligo focusing on stopping Comer and Walsh. Could be a day for Tierney or Ian Burke to go well scoring wise

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 06/05/2023 11:25:45    2476038

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "My prediction for this Sunday.

Galway 1-22 Sligo 0-13

Scorers

Galway - S Walsh 0-8 5fs, D Comer 0-5 1M, J Heaney 1-0, M Tierney 0-3 1 45, I Burke 0-1, C McDaid 0-1,P Cooke 0-1,R Finnerty 0-1, J Maher 0-1, P Conroy 0-1

Sligo - N Murphy 0-5 4fs, P O'Connor 0-3 1f, P Spillane 0-2,Sean Carrabine 0-2,L Towey 0-1"
Why don't you go the whole way and do man of the match, yellow, black and red cards, plus blood subs etc etc

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 06/05/2023 12:28:48    2476060

Replying To eoinog:  "Why don't you go the whole way and do man of the match, yellow, black and red cards, plus blood subs etc etc"
I tend to stick to score lines and possible scorers. This time last year I predicted Galway 4-20 Leitrim 1-10 the actual score was Galway 4-20 to 0-9.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 06/05/2023 15:13:33    2476100

Replying To eoinog:  "Why don't you go the whole way and do man of the match, yellow, black and red cards, plus blood subs etc etc"
Just to clarify GAA Lover is a Roscommon man / fan!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 07/05/2023 11:21:59    2476298

Replying To tommy k:  "Just to clarify GAA Lover is a Roscommon man / fan!"
There's a few " foreign" posters on here and they float around counties basically stirring up sh t.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 07/05/2023 13:17:05    2476353

Well done on back to back titles. Accomplished performance. Thought Cook was a work horse and Comer. Matty Tierney getting back to his best. Shane Walsh not at the races.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 07/05/2023 15:23:16    2476394

Replying To smallfrank:  "To be fair we did a number on Enda Smith and most of the others which was effectively what won us the game. I can see something similar happening tomorrow with Sligo focusing on stopping Comer and Walsh. Could be a day for Tierney or Ian Burke to go well scoring wise"
I think that's the first time I've be been right on here

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 07/05/2023 15:26:21    2476398

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "My prediction for this Sunday.

Galway 1-22 Sligo 0-13

Scorers

Sligo - N Murphy 0-5 4fs, P O'Connor 0-3 1f, P Spillane 0-2,Sean Carrabine 0-2,L Towey 0-1"
Well done GAA lover, you gave it a fair shot. Any chance you'd take up punditry full-time. You could replace that Tomas O'Se, or is it Marc? It's hard to tell the difference as robotic 'yes' men all sound the same.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 07/05/2023 15:50:41    2476413

Replying To tommy k:  "Just to clarify GAA Lover is a Roscommon man / fan!"
Wrong, New York born and bred and no fan of any team. You seem to have Roscommon on the mind a lot of some reason though. Expected straight forward win for Galway this afternoon and didn't need Comer,Walsh to score from play. I predicted 12 point win won by 14. Galway to scored 1-22 (25) and scored 2-20 (26) and was nearly spot with Sligo's scoring total. Keep tuned as predict the upcoming group games.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 07/05/2023 15:58:06    2476424

Replying To eoinog:  "There's a few " foreign" posters on here and they float around counties basically stirring up sh t."
So one has to be Irish born or from a county to be posting on here? I stirred up no sh t, gave an honest prediction to how i felt the match would play out. A little bit of respect instead of the insults wouldn't go a miss from you.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 07/05/2023 16:00:47    2476428

Replying To smallfrank:  "I think that's the first time I've be been right on here"
Not quite SF, but your modesty is admirable. Good call.

Nice win for the lads, and hopefully with a step up in divisions next year Sligo till continue to grow stronger. They put in a solid performance today, but the difference in tempo between the divisions was telling.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 07/05/2023 16:57:31    2476451

Ciaran Murtagh should have been man of the match.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 07/05/2023 18:08:17    2476473

Well done today. The loss of form for Shane Walsh must be a concern for ye. Appears to have the weight of the world on his shoulders and not enjoying his football at all

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 07/05/2023 18:49:28    2476488

Replying To eoinog:  "Well done today. The loss of form for Shane Walsh must be a concern for ye. Appears to have the weight of the world on his shoulders and not enjoying his football at all"
I believe he spent two days in bed this week sick, and Joyce I'm sure probably didn't need to start him..
Ian Burke was again excellent along with many more.. Tierney 2 7 was unreal..
Forwards playing in Castlebar scoring for fun; not something that stadium is used to

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 07/05/2023 19:28:42    2476503