Galway Football thread

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Moycullen with another transfer for the season. Former Offaly senior captain.

Must have 10 blow ins by now."
10 is an exaggeration . But 4 or 5 really good ones on top of a huge local base is massive. Looks like 9 current Galway panelists + 1 Offaly player as well as at least 1 ex county player and a few potential future ones coming through from minor / u20.. It might become harder to earn the green jersey than the maroon one.
But it's a trend and it can't really be stopped.
Kilmacud , with one of the largest memberships in the country were able to take in Shane Walsh.
For us purists , it's hard to take, but I'm afraid it can't be stopped. You just cant force people to stay playing in home club if they are living miles away.. Training ( including warm ups, physio, warm down, after training meetings) are now becoming 2-3 hour stints and for guys with day jobs you cant expect them to travel a couple of hours each way to training on top of this. Likewise , you cant mandate that someone locating to Galway transfers to a weaker team.
All we can do is rejoice in the fact that our top teams are getting stronger and it will make the latter end of our championship of higher quality as well as increase re chance of Frank Fox winners being successful externally.
It may become a bit demoralising for the more traditional rural teams who are going to become progressively less competitive, but thats the nature of sport, I guess.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 12/04/2023 17:35:32    2470624

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "D'ont know where this theory came from. Whoever came up with it obviously was not in Castlebar last Sunday where both teams went at it 100%. Diarmuid O' Connor or Aiden O Shea and the other Mayo players did not seem too happy with the result.
Should be a great game in the Hyde in two weeks time. Davy Burke will be happy that we are not given much chance again with the bookies. (2-1)
Wonder how the Galway training camp is going.
How is Shane Walsh getting so much time off again from his studies/exams?

Question 1. If Roscommon go on to win Connacht (1st seeds) can they be in the same group as Mayo (3rd seeds)
Question 2. If Galway win Connacht (1st seeds) can they be drawn in the same group as Roscommon (3rd seeds) - Similar question!
Question 3. Is Croke Park or Parnell Park Dublin's home ground? For the super 8's some years ago was Croke Park deemed to be a neutral ground. Surely Dublin can't have Croke Park as both their home and neutral ground?

May the best and most deserving team win in the Hyde. Hopefully it will be a great and sporting game."
1 Yes
2 Yes.
It's already been mooted that Dublin's "neutral" game may be held in Croke Pak.
Up to C C delegates to put their foot down before that becomes a fait accompli

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2028 - 12/04/2023 17:49:54    2470630

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "D'ont know where this theory came from. Whoever came up with it obviously was not in Castlebar last Sunday where both teams went at it 100%. Diarmuid O' Connor or Aiden O Shea and the other Mayo players did not seem too happy with the result.
Should be a great game in the Hyde in two weeks time. Davy Burke will be happy that we are not given much chance again with the bookies. (2-1)

Question 1. If Roscommon go on to win Connacht (1st seeds) can they be in the same group as Mayo (3rd seeds)
Question 2. If Galway win Connacht (1st seeds) can they be drawn in the same group as Roscommon (3rd seeds) - Similar question!
Question 3. Is Croke Park or Parnell Park Dublin's home ground? For the super 8's some years ago was Croke Park deemed to be a neutral ground. Surely Dublin can't have Croke Park as both their home and neutral ground?

May the best and most deserving team win in the Hyde. Hopefully it will be a great and sporting game."
I'm expecting a good second half. Maybe a brilliant second half hopefully. But a turgid cagey first half with both teams sitting back defending. And the customary side to side hand passing. But hopefully we'll get to see the best of both teams attackers.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 174 - 12/04/2023 18:08:38    2470635

Replying To Galway4ever:  "There is a theory that Mayo had no interest in winning last Sunday as they can now go of and concentrate on the All Ireland c'ship for the next 6 weeks with the league title already salted away. I didn't think that was a plausible idea but after further review it makes perfect sense.
They won't risk any injuries with no further participation in th Connacht c'ship, will go into group stages of c'ship fresh, even in a group with Kerry or Dublin qualification for knockout is almost a certainty and could probably avoid these teams again until very late in championship, this scenario would work for many other counties in Div 1&2 and it will be interesting to see how this c'ship pans out especially with only 4 of the 16 teams getting eliminated at the group stage."
True about less chance of injuries but Mayo will need to arrange challenge matches and injuries can still happen, muscles can be pulled or torn. David Burke did his cruciate in training a month ago.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 174 - 12/04/2023 18:12:15    2470636

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That theory doesn't tie in with McStay's demeanour or body language after the game."
The opposite of McStay's demeanour or body language during the game on the side line which including riling up the home support on a number of occasions. I'd take with a pinch of salt what he says or does in front of the camera he knows better than most on how to play the media. Saying all that I expect Mayo to make the best of their long break now and be in the business end of the championship.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3926 - 12/04/2023 18:45:29    2470652

To answer your 3 questions first, I believe Mayo/Galway can not be in the same group as Ross if they win Connacht and in regards to the Dubs, it's one game at home, one away and one at a neutral venue as is the case for all the teams who qualify for Sam Maguire.
With all due respect Roscommon have not backed up any of their good displays in Connacht with a big performance in Croke Park and that is something I know they will definitely have on their minds as the championship progresses.
There is no formula or blueprint for this current c'ship structure so it's going to be really interesting to see if a front runner that wins their province, tops group and wins it out or a battle hardened team that gets knocked out of their provincial c'ship early, gets a month of training under their belt finishes 2nd or 3rd in their group and hits a grain of form and wins it that way ……….we'll see

Galway4ever (Galway) - Posts: 217 - 12/04/2023 18:49:28    2470654

Replying To Galway4ever:  "There is a theory that Mayo had no interest in winning last Sunday as they can now go of and concentrate on the All Ireland c'ship for the next 6 weeks with the league title already salted away. I didn't think that was a plausible idea but after further review it makes perfect sense.
They won't risk any injuries with no further participation in th Connacht c'ship, will go into group stages of c'ship fresh, even in a group with Kerry or Dublin qualification for knockout is almost a certainty and could probably avoid these teams again until very late in championship, this scenario would work for many other counties in Div 1&2 and it will be interesting to see how this c'ship pans out especially with only 4 of the 16 teams getting eliminated at the group stage."
I don't buy that for a minute. A competitive game every 2 weeks is far better than 6 weeks filled with training and challenge matches.
You say they'll be fresh, someone else will day they'll be rusty.
In 2021 Kerry had a 5 week wait to play Tyrone in the All-Ireland semi final. They certainly weren't shouting about the benefits of being fresh after they were beaten unexpectedly.
No team with any self-respect goes out to lose a match. Now you can say it wasn't the be-all and end-all for them (it wasn't for Roscommon either), but they absolutely went out to win that match.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2227 - 12/04/2023 19:01:42    2470660

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Moycullen with another transfer for the season. Former Offaly senior captain.

Is there not a better way of doing this in terms of transfers? The best team in Galway get the services of the former Offaly captain. More than likely based on relationship with the Moycullen manager who worked with NUIG among other factors. How is this fair to other teams fighting for survival? How is this encouraged in Moycullen who have such a dept of young talent? and yes it is sower grapes as our club would do anything to have this type of talent and leadership join us.
There has to be a better way!!!!!

galwaygoal (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 12/04/2023 19:52:26    2470666

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That theory doesn't tie in with McStay's demeanour or body language after the game."
McStay wanted to win on Sunday. No doubt. Similarly, Padraic Joyce and Davy Burke want to win on Sunday week. No doubt.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2308 - 12/04/2023 20:03:19    2470667

And salthill, oughterard, barna, micheals, claregalway. Recruitment and sweeteners is the way GAA will go in the next decade. Moycullen and salthill already have a club official fully dedicated to recruitment and adult level and has a wide range of "sweeteners" to swing the transfer

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 226 - 12/04/2023 20:32:06    2470674

I not 100% sure of the answers to your questions but I will make an educated guess

Question 1 & 2 is the same question.
No statement has been made about avoiding repeat fixtures. I expect that the Provincial Finalists and the runners up from the same province will be in separate groups , which is consistent with previous years where repeats of Provincial finals have been avoided. But I would say that there is nothing to stop repeats of earlier rounds. The only thing conclusive is that the losers of Galway v Ros will be third seeds along with Mayo and cannot be in the same group as them. But the winner of that game ( whether they end up winning Connacht - 1st seeds, or lose final , 2nd seeds, could end up in a group with either of the 2 Connacht third seeds.

Question 3
Dublin will play 2 games in CP , unless I am severely mistaken. I'm not agreeing with it , but it will be the case.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 13/04/2023 09:48:00    2470703

Replying To anotheralias:  "10 is an exaggeration . But 4 or 5 really good ones on top of a huge local base is massive. Looks like 9 current Galway panelists + 1 Offaly player as well as at least 1 ex county player and a few potential future ones coming through from minor / u20.. It might become harder to earn the green jersey than the maroon one.
But it's a trend and it can't really be stopped.
Kilmacud , with one of the largest memberships in the country were able to take in Shane Walsh.
For us purists , it's hard to take, but I'm afraid it can't be stopped. You just cant force people to stay playing in home club if they are living miles away.. Training ( including warm ups, physio, warm down, after training meetings) are now becoming 2-3 hour stints and for guys with day jobs you cant expect them to travel a couple of hours each way to training on top of this. Likewise , you cant mandate that someone locating to Galway transfers to a weaker team.
All we can do is rejoice in the fact that our top teams are getting stronger and it will make the latter end of our championship of higher quality as well as increase re chance of Frank Fox winners being successful externally.
It may become a bit demoralising for the more traditional rural teams who are going to become progressively less competitive, but thats the nature of sport, I guess."
Forgive my facetious nature. 10 is an exaggeration of course. I do recall that they had 4 from the 2020 team who won the final as blow ins. But you 100% make some good points all the same.

There is a clique of Don Connellan, Kieran Murphy, Maurice Sheridan etc who appear to have fingers in every pie going.. Moycullen, NUIG, Claregalway Secondary School and even Mayo 20s. And they appear to be very prolific in the transfer market.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 40 - 13/04/2023 09:55:31    2470707

question #3 would be a gates receipt thing I suppose. Dublin are and always will be an exception to any rule because they are so crucial to our national games and the money. Also, the GAA need flexibility for double headers with hurling etc.
April 23 should be a cracker of a game, its a toss up.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1218 - 13/04/2023 10:22:11    2470718

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Forgive my facetious nature. 10 is an exaggeration of course. I do recall that they had 4 from the 2020 team who won the final as blow ins. But you 100% make some good points all the same.

There is a clique of Don Connellan, Kieran Murphy, Maurice Sheridan etc who appear to have fingers in every pie going.. Moycullen, NUIG, Claregalway Secondary School and even Mayo 20s. And they appear to be very prolific in the transfer market."
4? Who were the 4 ??? I'm sure you can inform us, as I have been led to believe it is 2 or possibly 3, some new intakes I hear on the junior teams also over the last 10 or so years.I also wonder why people involved involved in club ,college, schools and county teams are seen as cliques? would DD96 be giving his support cliques in charge of county teams if they should manage to get to all Ireland finals.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 13/04/2023 11:33:51    2470766

Replying To backtooldwall:  "4? Who were the 4 ??? I'm sure you can inform us, as I have been led to believe it is 2 or possibly 3, some new intakes I hear on the junior teams also over the last 10 or so years.I also wonder why people involved involved in club ,college, schools and county teams are seen as cliques? would DD96 be giving his support cliques in charge of county teams if they should manage to get to all Ireland finals."
The numbers might not be correct as per jersey , but in terms of positions it was
1. Donegal
2. Mayo
13. Antrim
14. Cavan

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 13/04/2023 12:24:40    2470783

I'd rather win any trophy with lads born and reared in the locality. But each to their own.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 13/04/2023 12:26:00    2470785

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I don't buy that for a minute. A competitive game every 2 weeks is far better than 6 weeks filled with training and challenge matches.
You say they'll be fresh, someone else will day they'll be rusty.
In 2021 Kerry had a 5 week wait to play Tyrone in the All-Ireland semi final. They certainly weren't shouting about the benefits of being fresh after they were beaten unexpectedly.
No team with any self-respect goes out to lose a match. Now you can say it wasn't the be-all and end-all for them (it wasn't for Roscommon either), but they absolutely went out to win that match."
Mayo definitely wanted to win the game. No team goes out not to win. The 6 week layoff could suit them though. The difference between Kerry in '21 and Mayo this year is that Kerry had a 5 week break between a munster final (where they weren't tested) and a semi-final vs battled hardened Tyrone. 5 week gaps don't suit teams going into semi-finals. Munster hurling championships found that gap between games very difficult in the old format.
Whereas, Mayo have a 6 week gap and are guaranteed 3 games where they will definitely get through to a preliminary quarter final at the very least. They could have 4 or 5 championship games before they play a top team in a knockout match.
Obviously you want to be playing games but you don't want too many either. Galway hurlers in '18 where they just ran out of gas and loads of players were half injured in the final being a prime example.
Again i'm not saying Mayo wanted to lose, they didn't but the new format may suit them. There are flaws with this new system which will become evident soon.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 138 - 13/04/2023 12:27:23    2470787

Imagine a player not fancying commuting home for training and matches and has a club with a genuine chance of winning an All Ireland only on his doorstep, it works both ways!!

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 287 - 13/04/2023 12:34:23    2470789

Great win for Sligo in the U-20 semi final. Comprehensively beat Mayo. After already beating Roscommon. Final against Galway in Tuam next week. Make no mistake, Galway will probably be underdogs heading into that game. Probably as good a Sligo underage side that has ever left the county.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2308 - 13/04/2023 12:36:42    2470790

Replying To anotheralias:  "The numbers might not be correct as per jersey , but in terms of positions it was
1. Donegal
2. Mayo
13. Antrim
14. Cavan"
To be fair. Friel the goalie in 2020 is from Donegal but is first cousins of the Kelly's and built a house beside them.
Midfielder from Mayo not No 2.Garda
Gallagher Antrim - NUIG Sigerson-Doc in Galway
Walsh - Cavan - Garda

galwaygoal (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 13/04/2023 12:47:15    2470795