Galway Football thread

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Never? Did the rossies not back up their win against Mayo in MacHale park in 2019 by beating Galway in the Connacht final in Pearse stadium?"
Didn't ruffle a feather in the Super 8's afterwards.

When's the last time they made an All-Ireland semi final?

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 332 - 04/04/2023 19:01:47    2468886

Galway U20s into the Connacht final. Was looking dodgy at 7-6 on 50 minutes but prevailed 2-8 to 0-6 in difficult playing conditions, 2nd goal came deep into injury time with the last kick of the game.

Two week break to the final while the other three battle it out over the next few weeks, a schedule and draw that's strong in Galways favour.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 04/04/2023 19:54:26    2468899

I think Mayo have to be favourites to win the all Ireland now. The short run up from the frees is unreal! . If I were a Mayo man I'd be psyched. Sure they only need to turn up v the Rossies and Kevin McSthhay can blame fixtures if they loose. Best goalie in the land. Not that its enjoyable to see Mayo piped at the post every time but Id like to see them in the all ireland again.. and win or loose. LOL. Ref gave Mayo a lot the last day . AOS played well and was founded alright at times but so was Damo at the other end. I watched the match with a Mayo man and he admitted Mayo won a lot of soft frees but that ref is a good ref and it was a fast game so Galway left it behind them... On the subject of the ref, I think Galway protested too much. They need to learn from that and find a way to manage that ref. If they fisted the chances they got over the bar they would have won handy but not to be. They have loads to work on. Shane Walsh needs to get back practising the frees cause he missed a good bit but no better man to turn things around you would hope. I think they need to up things considerably vs the Rosies or Mayo to get to a connaught final.

OhReally (Limerick) - Posts: 24 - 04/04/2023 20:18:43    2468904

Replying To drumalee11:  "Didn't ruffle a feather in the Super 8's afterwards.

When's the last time they made an All-Ireland semi final?"
Easier to say you were wrong on that never remark. The match on Sunday is Connacht Quarter final between two Div 1 teams and not All Ireland semi final.

I watched Galway v leitrim U20 match tonight. Not the best of quality of games. Leitrim was giving a good account of themselves but didn't have the fitness and fell away after 50 minutes, Final scoreline was not reflective of that match> Anyone know why was that semi final was played before Quarter final?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3520 - 04/04/2023 20:37:31    2468911

Replying To drumalee11:  "Didn't ruffle a feather in the Super 8's afterwards.

When's the last time they made an All-Ireland semi final?"
I'll answer that for you. Roscommon's last All Ireland semi final was against Meath in 1991. Lost by a point. Last All Ireland final was 1980. Lost to Kerry by 3. How long. Too long.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2308 - 04/04/2023 21:14:41    2468922

Replying To Belclare:  "Ah Martin Joeseph you are in cuckoo land if you are not worried about Mayos lack of scoring the last day..
If you think Galways defence were poor in giving away frees I'd love to see ye up against ultra defence Derry .. 1 point from play in the second half and that with the last kick of the game..
Remember albeit it was a final it still is league football, we got bet by the Rossies in div 2 final last year , came out 2 weeks later and bet Mayo in Castlebar..
Ye were opened up time and again the last day and if you call one on one goal chances half chances ! What's a full chance? We had 5 one on ones !!!
Poor finishing on our behalf was the only difference between losing by 3 and winning by 6 or 7..
We'll improve in time to be ready for the Rossies in 3 weeks."
I am sorry to differ with you Belclare, but the reason I designated the goal attempts as half chances was due to the shots being at very tight angles, in the case of Comer, and from outside the square in the case of Cooke. You are quiet right regarding the improvement shown last year from league final to Connacht championship, but you are overlooking the impact that the loss of Silke and Molloy are going to have. I do not think ye would have beat us last year without them. Silke is an all star and has probably been the best man marker in the game along with Lee for the past several years. Molloy probably deserved an all star ahead of Comer, and while Joyce has unearthed a few decent players it is doubtful if they are going to cut it at the highest level. McHugh handles lots of ball and makes few mistakes, but he was exposed in the League final, unable to break the tackles and get into a shooting position. Paddy Durcan hardly had a glove left on him as ran through the middle several times. I still expect Galway to reach the latter stages and would tip them for the ultimate prize but for the loss of the 2 Corofin backs. I see us getting over the Ross with a bit to spare, they are likely looking at taking down a big team to get to the last 8 in the playoff games, which is something they are well capable of. The Salthill game will be close but I hope we can prevail, I see the bookies have Galway slight favorites while at the same time we are a shorter price for SAM than Galway are. On the teacup side of the draw I really hope Leitrim come though to the final.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 519 - 05/04/2023 08:11:18    2468935

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Easier to say you were wrong on that never remark. The match on Sunday is Connacht Quarter final between two Div 1 teams and not All Ireland semi final.

I watched Galway v leitrim U20 match tonight. Not the best of quality of games. Leitrim was giving a good account of themselves but didn't have the fitness and fell away after 50 minutes, Final scoreline was not reflective of that match> Anyone know why was that semi final was played before Quarter final?"
The pitch was terrible and a real leveller on the wet night, ball wouldn't hop and it was tough on the players. Whatever about doing up Tuam Stadium, I would start with the pitch.
I thought the full back Donoghue was good.
The 2 midfielders won us the game, 2 different types of players, Egan is a baller and O'Neill is big mobile and athletic and kicked 2 points, can see him being involved with the seniors. I thought the half back and half forward lines was where we struggled. I was impressed with Slattery, he was accurate when he got a chance. Bermingham seems to have the talent but took a few pot shots when he really should have been working the ball to someone else and missed frees in the first half. He came good in the end though. Highlight was the first goal from Moughan, did it all himself and at a crucial stage in the game.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 443 - 05/04/2023 09:01:25    2468944

Replying To smallfrank:  "The pitch was terrible and a real leveller on the wet night, ball wouldn't hop and it was tough on the players. Whatever about doing up Tuam Stadium, I would start with the pitch.
The 2 midfielders won us the game, 2 different types of players, Egan is a baller and O'Neill is big mobile and athletic and kicked 2 points, can see him being involved with the seniors. I thought the half back and half forward lines was where we struggled. I was impressed with Slattery, he was accurate when he got a chance. Bermingham seems to have the talent but took a few pot shots when he really should have been working the ball to someone else and missed frees in the first half. He came good in the end though. Highlight was the first goal from Moughan, did it all himself and at a crucial stage in the game."
O'Neill would be definitely worth a look in the league at senior next year. Fairly similar style to James McLaughlin. Liam O'Conaghaile is a big loss for this year's u20 team.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 05/04/2023 10:18:33    2468963

Replying To smallfrank:  "The pitch was terrible and a real leveller on the wet night, ball wouldn't hop and it was tough on the players. Whatever about doing up Tuam Stadium, I would start with the pitch.
The 2 midfielders won us the game, 2 different types of players, Egan is a baller and O'Neill is big mobile and athletic and kicked 2 points, can see him being involved with the seniors. I thought the half back and half forward lines was where we struggled. I was impressed with Slattery, he was accurate when he got a chance. Bermingham seems to have the talent but took a few pot shots when he really should have been working the ball to someone else and missed frees in the first half. He came good in the end though. Highlight was the first goal from Moughan, did it all himself and at a crucial stage in the game."
While two midfielders look two very talented players. I felt they wasted some amount of ball along with 11 going on head down solo runs and Hail Mary long range shots. Lot of players playing for themselves rather than taking right option. Jake slattery was least selfish with ball and we rewarded with his points. Fullback was excellent, power in the corner had a tough night surprised prendergast kilconly didn't get game time

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1310 - 05/04/2023 10:19:05    2468964

Replying To martinjoe:  "I am sorry to differ with you Belclare, but the reason I designated the goal attempts as half chances was due to the shots being at very tight angles, in the case of Comer, and from outside the square in the case of Cooke. You are quiet right regarding the improvement shown last year from league final to Connacht championship, but you are overlooking the impact that the loss of Silke and Molloy are going to have. I do not think ye would have beat us last year without them. Silke is an all star and has probably been the best man marker in the game along with Lee for the past several years. Molloy probably deserved an all star ahead of Comer, and while Joyce has unearthed a few decent players it is doubtful if they are going to cut it at the highest level. McHugh handles lots of ball and makes few mistakes, but he was exposed in the League final, unable to break the tackles and get into a shooting position. Paddy Durcan hardly had a glove left on him as ran through the middle several times. I still expect Galway to reach the latter stages and would tip them for the ultimate prize but for the loss of the 2 Corofin backs. I see us getting over the Ross with a bit to spare, they are likely looking at taking down a big team to get to the last 8 in the playoff games, which is something they are well capable of. The Salthill game will be close but I hope we can prevail, I see the bookies have Galway slight favorites while at the same time we are a shorter price for SAM than Galway are. On the teacup side of the draw I really hope Leitrim come though to the final."
You say that the players Joyce has unearthed this year may not cut it at the highest level? The absolute same can be said for Mayo.. There's no guarantees that many of those young lads will cut it at championship level..
If that was Kerry , Dublin, Tyrone or even Derry to a degree Mayo would have been bet.. It shows how poor of a conversion rate we had.
Take away the five goal chances, we missed 8 frees/45s something teams won't be as generous in the championship.
Conor Loftus at 6 , is a weak link and with Keegan and Mullen gone this will be Mayos problem area starting Sunday I'd imagine

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 05/04/2023 10:27:26    2468968

Donoghue was excellent alright but I thought that the midfielders killed any forward play. I dont blame them as they are probably told to play that way, as they are young, but their first inclination is to solo the ball and most of the time across the field. They both also very very one sided which is crazy. How does an young lad get to under 20 elite level and only kick one sided. Is that a reflection on what type of player we are picking in the academy (or a reflection that the academys dont work). I was even more surprised that one of the midfielders was from Corofin as they are sticklers in making all their players both sided. There was also a sitter missed in from of goals when an extra solo was taken by a midfielder when the pass was on. Again I blame coaches for that. A forwards run is ruined by that extra solo out the field. I am afraid we will get hammered around the middle against Roscommon, Mayo or Sligo if we have the same type of play around the middle. Forwards are only as good as the supply they get and it was poor yesterday. Remember this is Leitrim there a bigger population in Oranmore or Claregalway or Salthill Franchises and one of the midfielders was 17. Saying that I thought Slattery was the only forward that looked good, Now that said I was one of a hand full of people at the match who was not a family member which is bad for Galway football. Playing in the home of Galway football.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 85 - 05/04/2023 10:50:02    2468979

Replying To Belclare:  "You say that the players Joyce has unearthed this year may not cut it at the highest level? The absolute same can be said for Mayo.. There's no guarantees that many of those young lads will cut it at championship level..
If that was Kerry , Dublin, Tyrone or even Derry to a degree Mayo would have been bet.. It shows how poor of a conversion rate we had.
Take away the five goal chances, we missed 8 frees/45s something teams won't be as generous in the championship.
Conor Loftus at 6 , is a weak link and with Keegan and Mullen gone this will be Mayos problem area starting Sunday I'd imagine"
I dont always agree with you Belclare, but you are 100% correct.
Mayo defense is weak. An underfiring Galway tore strips through them and could have racked up a serious score. Imagine if Cillian McDaid was driving through them and Heaney/Comer playing the full game.
Roscommon can do damage on them but I think Mayo will scrape through.
The rhetoric from Mayo supporters is laughable. On one hand they are playing it down...it's only the league..we have a lot of improvement to do etc... But on the other hand they cant stop boasting about how good they were in the league, best team in the country, beat Galway at their ease,,,,, will beat Roscommon easy 7/8 points , or even 20 points suggested by 1 poster.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 05/04/2023 11:07:00    2468986

Difficult conditions last night, O'Conaghaile was a big loss in the forwards and we lost a lot of our firepower. I watched a lot of colleges football last year and a lot of the team last night were playing for Jarlath's and Claregalway. Cogger played midfield for Jarlath's and I think in the half forward line for Corofin seniors later in the year and I'm a little surprised he is at 6, his clubmate Greaney started last year for the Galway U20's and Claregalway college but we haven't seen him this year yet, he would be a solid 6 as Daniel O'Flaherty appears be in PJ's plans and may not be available for the Connacht ginal as he'd also be an option at centre back. Kilcommins is an option in the middle with O'Neill and that would let Egan go to half forward line, he has a great habit of coming onto ball and getting goals, he played some games there in the John Kerins tournament. Birmingham is a talented player and he will improve but we've got to factor in he has to do it all for his club as is he their biggest star in years and it is hard to change, he is programmed to go for it and that is a good thing. We want confident "cocky" forwards, PJ was never shy. But for me Sam O'Neill looks a player and is similar to a type of Brian Fenton. A big plus is that he is at Jimmies and what a role model Paul Conroy will be for him.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 777 - 05/04/2023 11:08:45    2468988

Replying To galway19:  "O'Neill would be definitely worth a look in the league at senior next year. Fairly similar style to James McLaughlin. Liam O'Conaghaile is a big loss for this year's u20 team."
What happened to o conghaile? He was 3rd top scorer in club last year so for a young lad was expecting the see him in maroon for the future

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 226 - 05/04/2023 11:52:22    2469003

Looking at the overall u20 squad, it would seem the minor team will be exceptionally strong this year? I know McGlinchey is underage again but are Eanna Monaghan, Cillian Trayers, Colm Costello and Tomas Farthing all still minor for this year if they aren't with the under 20 panel?

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 05/04/2023 11:54:18    2469004

Replying To galway19:  "Looking at the overall u20 squad, it would seem the minor team will be exceptionally strong this year? I know McGlinchey is underage again but are Eanna Monaghan, Cillian Trayers, Colm Costello and Tomas Farthing all still minor for this year if they aren't with the under 20 panel?"
No they are all overage. Minors not meant to be particularly strong this year from what I hear.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 05/04/2023 12:30:29    2469021

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "What happened to o conghaile? He was 3rd top scorer in club last year so for a young lad was expecting the see him in maroon for the future"
Not sure what the injury is but Ducky said he won't be available for the U-20's this year so must be out for a while.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2304 - 05/04/2023 12:33:46    2469023

Replying To GDL:  "Difficult conditions last night, O'Conaghaile was a big loss in the forwards and we lost a lot of our firepower. I watched a lot of colleges football last year and a lot of the team last night were playing for Jarlath's and Claregalway. Cogger played midfield for Jarlath's and I think in the half forward line for Corofin seniors later in the year and I'm a little surprised he is at 6, his clubmate Greaney started last year for the Galway U20's and Claregalway college but we haven't seen him this year yet, he would be a solid 6 as Daniel O'Flaherty appears be in PJ's plans and may not be available for the Connacht ginal as he'd also be an option at centre back. Kilcommins is an option in the middle with O'Neill and that would let Egan go to half forward line, he has a great habit of coming onto ball and getting goals, he played some games there in the John Kerins tournament. Birmingham is a talented player and he will improve but we've got to factor in he has to do it all for his club as is he their biggest star in years and it is hard to change, he is programmed to go for it and that is a good thing. We want confident "cocky" forwards, PJ was never shy. But for me Sam O'Neill looks a player and is similar to a type of Brian Fenton. A big plus is that he is at Jimmies and what a role model Paul Conroy will be for him."
I saw one of the John Kerins Cup games this year & thought O'Conghaile was outstanding that day. He was the freetaker but his general play was a level above anyone else that day.
Is the injury serious? Huge loss.
O'Neill at midfield was also excellent that day.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 05/04/2023 12:52:26    2469031

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Donoghue was excellent alright but I thought that the midfielders killed any forward play. I dont blame them as they are probably told to play that way, as they are young, but their first inclination is to solo the ball and most of the time across the field. They both also very very one sided which is crazy. How does an young lad get to under 20 elite level and only kick one sided. Is that a reflection on what type of player we are picking in the academy (or a reflection that the academys dont work). I was even more surprised that one of the midfielders was from Corofin as they are sticklers in making all their players both sided. There was also a sitter missed in from of goals when an extra solo was taken by a midfielder when the pass was on. Again I blame coaches for that. A forwards run is ruined by that extra solo out the field. I am afraid we will get hammered around the middle against Roscommon, Mayo or Sligo if we have the same type of play around the middle. Forwards are only as good as the supply they get and it was poor yesterday. Remember this is Leitrim there a bigger population in Oranmore or Claregalway or Salthill Franchises and one of the midfielders was 17. Saying that I thought Slattery was the only forward that looked good, Now that said I was one of a hand full of people at the match who was not a family member which is bad for Galway football. Playing in the home of Galway football."
This is very harsh.
Conditions were appalling so the midfielders were retaining possession rather than giving it away cheaply. Both one sided!!! O'Neill kicked points with either foot and Egan looked every inch the Corofin footballer, his close control, handling and ability to evade a tackle made him stand out last night.
Lastly then you blame the coaches.
The same coaches that brought 2 Minor teams to All Ireland Finals and won an All Ireland U20. 13 of that U20 team have become senior footballers, I think any other county would take that standard of coaching

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 443 - 05/04/2023 13:21:24    2469047

Replying To galwayman2:  "I saw one of the John Kerins Cup games this year & thought O'Conghaile was outstanding that day. He was the freetaker but his general play was a level above anyone else that day.
Is the injury serious? Huge loss.
O'Neill at midfield was also excellent that day."
O'flaherty mentioned ankle ligaments torn last night so I'd imagine season over for ocongahile. Farthing is playing with Connacht rugby so may be lost to gaa. It's a massive jump from u17 to u20 so very few make the jump in their first. For perspective trayers who's a super young player was a sub at stages for claregalway u19 last year so it's a lot to expect they'd be in best 26 u20 in Galway at age 17 or 18

For people at game last night would it have been playable if ET or penalties required ?looked dark on tv toward end. Embarrassing situation for Galway gaa no proper facilities to host night games

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1310 - 05/04/2023 13:35:25    2469053