Replying To suckvalleypaddy: "yes we lost, no excuse for that, Mayo are a good side but June/July is where the action is now. Both counties need to improve and I hope Mayo win Sam if we can't close the deal. GAA have killed off provincial championships, that had a good run in fairness. When is the Portugal camp, anybody know?" Well I for one hope that Mayo never win an All Ireland. Ever. They are a league outfit.
PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 231 - 04/04/2023 13:53:55
Replying To hontherossie: "You should apply for Mystic Megs role!" In fairness to the Rossies theres always one big championship performance in them; can never back it up though.
drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 332 - 04/04/2023 14:18:25
Replying To unclegerry: "Mayo were only average yesterday.. Galway wasted the chances to win the game" Galway were unable to cope with the Mayo backs who had the better of their men. They came so far and then went back or sideways except for a handful of occasions. The 4 goal chances they created, which to me were really half chances, came from smart medium length passes that allowed a player to get inside. When they took the ball into contact in the first quarter as PJ himself alluded to afterwards, they were quiet easily overturned allowing Mayo to do what we do best break forward at speed. Some are trying to make a story out of Mayo scoring very little from play, but their is no story their except that to prevent us scoring from play Galway had to foul us in the scoring zone. It is believed that the top teams, teams in contention for SAM, are targeting certain games and going full tilt to try and win them, but not overly concerned about other games. Galway targeted the Armagh and Kerry games and were a bit lucky in both, scoring goals from long speculative shots, which were the difference. I expect they will target their next game and be much more tigerish than last Sunday. Be that as it may I think we will overcome them and Roscommon. Looking at the bigger picture I see Ourselves, Tyrone, Kerry and Galway getting to the last 4. The only scenario where I could Galway getting the better of us would the return of a fully fit Liam Silke, which may happen over the spring. Himself and Tom Sullivan are probably the only 2 players capable of keeping AOS out of the game, legally. I am discounting the Dubs, with their 6 points in a Croke Park final, a score they would rack up in 5 minutes a few years ago. The Ross pose a different threat than that of most other teams, in their ability to kick long range scores and the fact that they fear no team. I am sure we will be putting intense pressure on them anywhere near the 45 line, and think they simply do not have enough class players to do damage. They are 66/1 for sam ten times a bigger price than Mayo or Galway. I see Cavan's Noel Mooney is in charge of this fixture, he is not very experienced at the top level so hopefully all goes well for him.
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 519 - 04/04/2023 14:30:24
Replying To PierreBezuhov: "Well I for one hope that Mayo never win an All Ireland. Ever. They are a league outfit." Comedy gold in general
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2023 14:34:35
Replying To cocopop: "tommybacktracK" No backtracking here pop - I stand over all my comments!
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/04/2023 15:00:08
Replying To martinjoe: "Galway were unable to cope with the Mayo backs who had the better of their men. They came so far and then went back or sideways except for a handful of occasions. The 4 goal chances they created, which to me were really half chances, came from smart medium length passes that allowed a player to get inside. When they took the ball into contact in the first quarter as PJ himself alluded to afterwards, they were quiet easily overturned allowing Mayo to do what we do best break forward at speed. Some are trying to make a story out of Mayo scoring very little from play, but their is no story their except that to prevent us scoring from play Galway had to foul us in the scoring zone. It is believed that the top teams, teams in contention for SAM, are targeting certain games and going full tilt to try and win them, but not overly concerned about other games. Galway targeted the Armagh and Kerry games and were a bit lucky in both, scoring goals from long speculative shots, which were the difference. I expect they will target their next game and be much more tigerish than last Sunday. Be that as it may I think we will overcome them and Roscommon. Looking at the bigger picture I see Ourselves, Tyrone, Kerry and Galway getting to the last 4. The only scenario where I could Galway getting the better of us would the return of a fully fit Liam Silke, which may happen over the spring. Himself and Tom Sullivan are probably the only 2 players capable of keeping AOS out of the game, legally. I am discounting the Dubs, with their 6 points in a Croke Park final, a score they would rack up in 5 minutes a few years ago. The Ross pose a different threat than that of most other teams, in their ability to kick long range scores and the fact that they fear no team. I am sure we will be putting intense pressure on them anywhere near the 45 line, and think they simply do not have enough class players to do damage. They are 66/1 for sam ten times a bigger price than Mayo or Galway. I see Cavan's Noel Mooney is in charge of this fixture, he is not very experienced at the top level so hopefully all goes well for him." Mayo only scored 4 from play in the final. You should be discounting no team with a return like that.
SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 161 - 04/04/2023 15:04:01
Replying To martinjoe: "Galway were unable to cope with the Mayo backs who had the better of their men. They came so far and then went back or sideways except for a handful of occasions. The 4 goal chances they created, which to me were really half chances, came from smart medium length passes that allowed a player to get inside. When they took the ball into contact in the first quarter as PJ himself alluded to afterwards, they were quiet easily overturned allowing Mayo to do what we do best break forward at speed. Some are trying to make a story out of Mayo scoring very little from play, but their is no story their except that to prevent us scoring from play Galway had to foul us in the scoring zone. It is believed that the top teams, teams in contention for SAM, are targeting certain games and going full tilt to try and win them, but not overly concerned about other games. Galway targeted the Armagh and Kerry games and were a bit lucky in both, scoring goals from long speculative shots, which were the difference. I expect they will target their next game and be much more tigerish than last Sunday. Be that as it may I think we will overcome them and Roscommon. Looking at the bigger picture I see Ourselves, Tyrone, Kerry and Galway getting to the last 4. The only scenario where I could Galway getting the better of us would the return of a fully fit Liam Silke, which may happen over the spring. Himself and Tom Sullivan are probably the only 2 players capable of keeping AOS out of the game, legally. I am discounting the Dubs, with their 6 points in a Croke Park final, a score they would rack up in 5 minutes a few years ago. The Ross pose a different threat than that of most other teams, in their ability to kick long range scores and the fact that they fear no team. I am sure we will be putting intense pressure on them anywhere near the 45 line, and think they simply do not have enough class players to do damage. They are 66/1 for sam ten times a bigger price than Mayo or Galway. I see Cavan's Noel Mooney is in charge of this fixture, he is not very experienced at the top level so hopefully all goes well for him." That's a horrible synopsis MJ and a dreadful Summer ahead obviously! lol
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/04/2023 15:07:06
Replying To martinjoe: "Galway were unable to cope with the Mayo backs who had the better of their men. They came so far and then went back or sideways except for a handful of occasions. The 4 goal chances they created, which to me were really half chances, came from smart medium length passes that allowed a player to get inside. When they took the ball into contact in the first quarter as PJ himself alluded to afterwards, they were quiet easily overturned allowing Mayo to do what we do best break forward at speed. Some are trying to make a story out of Mayo scoring very little from play, but their is no story their except that to prevent us scoring from play Galway had to foul us in the scoring zone. It is believed that the top teams, teams in contention for SAM, are targeting certain games and going full tilt to try and win them, but not overly concerned about other games. Galway targeted the Armagh and Kerry games and were a bit lucky in both, scoring goals from long speculative shots, which were the difference. I expect they will target their next game and be much more tigerish than last Sunday. Be that as it may I think we will overcome them and Roscommon. Looking at the bigger picture I see Ourselves, Tyrone, Kerry and Galway getting to the last 4. The only scenario where I could Galway getting the better of us would the return of a fully fit Liam Silke, which may happen over the spring. Himself and Tom Sullivan are probably the only 2 players capable of keeping AOS out of the game, legally. I am discounting the Dubs, with their 6 points in a Croke Park final, a score they would rack up in 5 minutes a few years ago. The Ross pose a different threat than that of most other teams, in their ability to kick long range scores and the fact that they fear no team. I am sure we will be putting intense pressure on them anywhere near the 45 line, and think they simply do not have enough class players to do damage. They are 66/1 for sam ten times a bigger price than Mayo or Galway. I see Cavan's Noel Mooney is in charge of this fixture, he is not very experienced at the top level so hopefully all goes well for him." The only Galway forward that consistently likes to go forward and then goes back and sideways to paraphrase your post above is Peter Cooke. When he decides to go for a score the odd time he usually gets them which is very frustrating to watch from a Galway point of view.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/04/2023 15:22:58
Starting team for tonight's u20 championship game
James Egan - James' Luc O'Connor - Claregalway Eanna Donohue - Killererin Colm Mac Donncha - Leitir Mor Bernard Coen - Corofin Brian Cogger - Corofin Jack Folan - James' Patrick Egan - Corofin Sam O'Neill - James' Matthew Thompson - Salthill Cillian O Curraoin - Micheal Breathnach Fergal O Se - Cheathru Rua Charlie Power - Salthill Sean Bermingham - Headford Jake Slattery - Dunmore
galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 04/04/2023 15:28:20
Replying To martinjoe: "Galway were unable to cope with the Mayo backs who had the better of their men. They came so far and then went back or sideways except for a handful of occasions. The 4 goal chances they created, which to me were really half chances, came from smart medium length passes that allowed a player to get inside. When they took the ball into contact in the first quarter as PJ himself alluded to afterwards, they were quiet easily overturned allowing Mayo to do what we do best break forward at speed. Some are trying to make a story out of Mayo scoring very little from play, but their is no story their except that to prevent us scoring from play Galway had to foul us in the scoring zone. It is believed that the top teams, teams in contention for SAM, are targeting certain games and going full tilt to try and win them, but not overly concerned about other games. Galway targeted the Armagh and Kerry games and were a bit lucky in both, scoring goals from long speculative shots, which were the difference. I expect they will target their next game and be much more tigerish than last Sunday. Be that as it may I think we will overcome them and Roscommon. Looking at the bigger picture I see Ourselves, Tyrone, Kerry and Galway getting to the last 4. The only scenario where I could Galway getting the better of us would the return of a fully fit Liam Silke, which may happen over the spring. Himself and Tom Sullivan are probably the only 2 players capable of keeping AOS out of the game, legally. I am discounting the Dubs, with their 6 points in a Croke Park final, a score they would rack up in 5 minutes a few years ago. The Ross pose a different threat than that of most other teams, in their ability to kick long range scores and the fact that they fear no team. I am sure we will be putting intense pressure on them anywhere near the 45 line, and think they simply do not have enough class players to do damage. They are 66/1 for sam ten times a bigger price than Mayo or Galway. I see Cavan's Noel Mooney is in charge of this fixture, he is not very experienced at the top level so hopefully all goes well for him." The only scenario? Sure of the lads had taken points instead of goals on the weekend and we hadn't missed some fairly handy chances we would have almost certainly have won. O'Shea had some impact, but he was a non-factor for large chunks of it. Comer left at least 1-2 behind him and was blatantly fouled for another shot.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2227 - 04/04/2023 15:31:53
Replying To martinjoe: "Galway were unable to cope with the Mayo backs who had the better of their men. They came so far and then went back or sideways except for a handful of occasions. The 4 goal chances they created, which to me were really half chances, came from smart medium length passes that allowed a player to get inside. When they took the ball into contact in the first quarter as PJ himself alluded to afterwards, they were quiet easily overturned allowing Mayo to do what we do best break forward at speed. Some are trying to make a story out of Mayo scoring very little from play, but their is no story their except that to prevent us scoring from play Galway had to foul us in the scoring zone. It is believed that the top teams, teams in contention for SAM, are targeting certain games and going full tilt to try and win them, but not overly concerned about other games. Galway targeted the Armagh and Kerry games and were a bit lucky in both, scoring goals from long speculative shots, which were the difference. I expect they will target their next game and be much more tigerish than last Sunday. Be that as it may I think we will overcome them and Roscommon. Looking at the bigger picture I see Ourselves, Tyrone, Kerry and Galway getting to the last 4. The only scenario where I could Galway getting the better of us would the return of a fully fit Liam Silke, which may happen over the spring. Himself and Tom Sullivan are probably the only 2 players capable of keeping AOS out of the game, legally. I am discounting the Dubs, with their 6 points in a Croke Park final, a score they would rack up in 5 minutes a few years ago. The Ross pose a different threat than that of most other teams, in their ability to kick long range scores and the fact that they fear no team. I am sure we will be putting intense pressure on them anywhere near the 45 line, and think they simply do not have enough class players to do damage. They are 66/1 for sam ten times a bigger price than Mayo or Galway. I see Cavan's Noel Mooney is in charge of this fixture, he is not very experienced at the top level so hopefully all goes well for him." Ah Martin Joeseph you are in cuckoo land if you are not worried about Mayos lack of scoring the last day.. If you think Galways defence were poor in giving away frees I'd love to see ye up against ultra defence Derry .. 1 point from play in the second half and that with the last kick of the game.. Remember albeit it was a final it still is league football, we got bet by the Rossies in div 2 final last year , came out 2 weeks later and bet Mayo in Castlebar.. Ye were opened up time and again the last day and if you call one on one goal chances half chances ! What's a full chance? We had 5 one on ones !!! Poor finishing on our behalf was the only difference between losing by 3 and winning by 6 or 7.. We'll improve in time to be ready for the Rossies in 3 weeks.
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2023 15:50:14
Anyone know when Sean Mul is due back? He's on the line as water boy every game. Also will Kieran Molloy have any hope of getting back later in the round robin. September cruciate would likely be June return.... Sounds too ambitious? And one more, is Michael Daly around this year? Just sussing out who is potential to rejoin this squad. Mcdaid the obvious plus for 3 weeks time and a fitter comer/walsh/Glynn
daveof84 (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 04/04/2023 16:07:55
Replying To daveof84: "Anyone know when Sean Mul is due back? He's on the line as water boy every game. Also will Kieran Molloy have any hope of getting back later in the round robin. September cruciate would likely be June return.... Sounds too ambitious? And one more, is Michael Daly around this year? Just sussing out who is potential to rejoin this squad. Mcdaid the obvious plus for 3 weeks time and a fitter comer/walsh/Glynn" Daly is and will not be part of the squad.. Mulkerrins won't play this year, Molloy is rehabilitation away and part of every match day but doubtful we'll see him togged this year, but he is pushing
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 04/04/2023 16:22:10
Replying To Belclare: "Ah Martin Joeseph you are in cuckoo land if you are not worried about Mayos lack of scoring the last day.. If you think Galways defence were poor in giving away frees I'd love to see ye up against ultra defence Derry .. 1 point from play in the second half and that with the last kick of the game.. Remember albeit it was a final it still is league football, we got bet by the Rossies in div 2 final last year , came out 2 weeks later and bet Mayo in Castlebar.. Ye were opened up time and again the last day and if you call one on one goal chances half chances ! What's a full chance? We had 5 one on ones !!! Poor finishing on our behalf was the only difference between losing by 3 and winning by 6 or 7.. We'll improve in time to be ready for the Rossies in 3 weeks." 6 or 7 might be a bit extreme, but im glad someone agrees with me that we were the better team and should have won....maybe by 2 or 3.
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 04/04/2023 16:24:47
Molloy is a serious loss as he was at the top of his game and can cover a multitude of roles in the team... same story with Silke...Michael Daly ( unluckily for him, good footballer) has had a bad run of injuries and hasn't been a consistent starter/player/squad member much over the last 3-4 years so therefore is not a current"loss" as such surely ? I hope Sean Mulkerrins gets back to his previous level before that serious injury as he will have a big future with Galway if he does ... I'm not sure how much Championship football he has played with Galway but don't think it's too much yet ?. Is he one for the near future rather than another "loss" to the current team ?... Odds are heavily stacked against these lads getting back this season so I'd say we already have our Championship 26-30 inside with the group
Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 04/04/2023 16:32:55
On a seperate note about the Championship 26-30. Does anyone know what Paul Kelly or Eoin Gallagher did to upset Management ?...both got plenty of game time last year and both gave good accounts of themselves... for some reason they seem to have slipped right down the pecking order . Likewise Billy Mannion who also looked up to it in any of the few bits of games he got last year ?
Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 04/04/2023 16:37:22
Great for Galway to get a game in Croke Park against the hardest running team in the Country. Teams like Mayo and Dublin are built for Croke Park. If Maher can keep up his good form and match players like Ruane maybe he should start with McDaid in midfield then bring on Conroy for the last 30 minutes. Finnerty is another who could be brought on in games played in Croke Park has he struggles to track men like last years AI. I would bring in Eoin kelly,Gylnn,Mcdaid,Comer for Mcgrath,Hernon,Conroy,Finnerty
brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 04/04/2023 16:48:11
Replying To drumalee11: "In fairness to the Rossies theres always one big championship performance in them; can never back it up though." Never? Did the rossies not back up their win against Mayo in MacHale park in 2019 by beating Galway in the Connacht final in Pearse stadium?
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3520 - 04/04/2023 16:58:04
Replying To daveof84: "Anyone know when Sean Mul is due back? He's on the line as water boy every game. Also will Kieran Molloy have any hope of getting back later in the round robin. September cruciate would likely be June return.... Sounds too ambitious? And one more, is Michael Daly around this year? Just sussing out who is potential to rejoin this squad. Mcdaid the obvious plus for 3 weeks time and a fitter comer/walsh/Glynn" Mulkerrin is almost back but unlikely to play any part with the county this year as championship is almost upon us now and he's over a year out of football. I'd say he's targeting getting back playing with the club come the Summer first. Hopefully then an intercounty return early next year.
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2304 - 04/04/2023 18:16:12
Replying To brisbane: "Great for Galway to get a game in Croke Park against the hardest running team in the Country. Teams like Mayo and Dublin are built for Croke Park. If Maher can keep up his good form and match players like Ruane maybe he should start with McDaid in midfield then bring on Conroy for the last 30 minutes. Finnerty is another who could be brought on in games played in Croke Park has he struggles to track men like last years AI. I would bring in Eoin kelly,Gylnn,Mcdaid,Comer for Mcgrath,Hernon,Conroy,Finnerty" Your back! Did you ever congratulate your nemesis Liam Silke on his All Star or his performances last year. How is your friend Charlie from Kerry?
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 777 - 04/04/2023 18:51:50