Replying To foreveryoung: "Nobody on TSG said it was red, definitely black but not red. Canavan said it could even be red, but that's as neat as we got to them saying it was red. And it definitely wasn't red, anyway. Watch TSG again!" I did watch it and I think they were mainly agreeing it could have been a red or at least a black and Joanne Cantwell said that it could even have been a penalty with the new rule in place of a goal being likely to be scored if the foul was not committed but the ref chose to ignore that rule also. Peter Canavan (who mentioned a red could have been shown) thought there were a couple of Mayo defenders back not to grant a penalty but from what I saw of the incident there didn't appear to be any defenders present if Heaney's shot had been between the uprights instead of drifting wide.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/04/2023 15:41:35
Replying To galway19: "This is the way I would like to see us line out for the provincial semi final.
Power Glynn Kelly McGrath McHugh Daly O'Flaherty Maher McDaid Cooke Heaney (if not fit then Sweeney comes in to perform same role) Tierney Walsh Comer Finnerty" Sweeney is no Heaney. Chalk and cheese. Heaney is a unsung hero of Galway and a brilliant workhorse. I still don't know what Sweeney's role is in the Galway team. He is a very good club player and we have seen that many good clubs players never make the transition. and they are usually from stronger clubs. What I mean about that is take the likes of Lundy, Sice, Steed (Corofin) serious club players but did not make real impact in the county. It is because if one of them have a bad day then there was enough good players to fill the gap and their club would still win. These players weakness in county (like Sweeney) is that they dont have to be in top form all the time. The county player you need is a player that is a leader in his club team (Like Heaney, Comer, Walshe, Conroy, ) If they don't turn up for their club the club looses. You can see that even with Kelly from Moycullen he plays bad Moycullen loose. Same with John Daly. Search around the club seen and there are plenty of that sort of player (ex county underage) who when they play against the bigger clubs are double marked because the bigger club can afford to leave some of his less talented teammates free. That player will play fullback, Midfield, Centre Forward mark the best opposition player and generally play anywhere the team needs him. Sweeney et al just played at wing back and in fairness not many wing forwards at club level would have been able for him but county is different.
LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 85 - 03/04/2023 15:43:05
Replying To LottoPlus: "Watching the match the referee was not giving the free initially to Heaney but he must have looked at the replay and then gave the free. We should be taking a look at what the rugby do in dangerous situations like that. Watch again on the video on big screen, and bring in linesmen and watch the replay for make a decision. The Goalie actually moved towards Heaney to make sure he took him out, In rugby that would be a straight red. And why were Galway not awarded a penalty (the rule of a certain goal) Does the GAA make up the own rules or use them when it suits them. Watching the Sunday game and the pundits were giving out about the mark Cavan got that was not a mark. The linesmen was 5 metres away and said nothing. (I dont think they are allowed, correct me if I am wrong, is the linesmens role just to say that there is a lineball) GAA players deserve more. Referees in county need to be professionals and trained properly. I have said this before everything has moved on in GAA except the refereeing standard. Getting very frustrating." Not sure where he would have seen a replay of it because the big screens in CP didn't show a reprise of the incident at any stage. He might have gotten a word in his ear from the hawkeye official. All the players had retreated out the field because they thought the game was to be restarted with a kick out.
Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 159 - 03/04/2023 15:46:57
Replying To tommy k: "Sorry I meant to say Conroy and Tierney underperformed on a dry day in Croke Park yet again..." conroy kicked 6 points from play in the division final last year, was it a wet day
cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 38 - 03/04/2023 16:14:24
Replying To cocopop: "conroy kicked 6 points from play in the division final last year, was it a wet day" League games are only big days for small time counties.
PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 231 - 03/04/2023 16:39:25
Replying To LottoPlus: "Sweeney is no Heaney. Chalk and cheese. Heaney is a unsung hero of Galway and a brilliant workhorse. I still don't know what Sweeney's role is in the Galway team. He is a very good club player and we have seen that many good clubs players never make the transition. and they are usually from stronger clubs. What I mean about that is take the likes of Lundy, Sice, Steed (Corofin) serious club players but did not make real impact in the county. It is because if one of them have a bad day then there was enough good players to fill the gap and their club would still win. These players weakness in county (like Sweeney) is that they dont have to be in top form all the time. The county player you need is a player that is a leader in his club team (Like Heaney, Comer, Walshe, Conroy, ) If they don't turn up for their club the club looses. You can see that even with Kelly from Moycullen he plays bad Moycullen loose. Same with John Daly. Search around the club seen and there are plenty of that sort of player (ex county underage) who when they play against the bigger clubs are double marked because the bigger club can afford to leave some of his less talented teammates free. That player will play fullback, Midfield, Centre Forward mark the best opposition player and generally play anywhere the team needs him. Sweeney et al just played at wing back and in fairness not many wing forwards at club level would have been able for him but county is different." I think your comment is a bit harsh on Cathal Sweeney . He's not a Johnny Heaney yet , but he's on upward trajectory , and in the years to come he could become as effective . I do agree with you in general re the quality of top county players when playing with club with a small side comment below.
John Daly has been and is a crucial player for Galway. But ironically his brother Michael, Eoin Finnerty and Barry McHugh are all much more vital to Mountbellew, and the stats support this statement . I guess in a club like Mountbellew with a small enough panel the scoring burden falls very heavily on these 3 players , whereas it's slightly easier ( at club level) to replace a defender. 2021 - With Michael Daly, Mountbellew comfortably beat Corofin & Moycullen 2022 - Without Michael Daly, Mountbellew luckily scrape over Corofin by 1 point and lose to Moycullen by 3 goals.
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 03/04/2023 16:59:12
Replying To anotheralias: "I think your comment is a bit harsh on Cathal Sweeney . He's not a Johnny Heaney yet , but he's on upward trajectory , and in the years to come he could become as effective . I do agree with you in general re the quality of top county players when playing with club with a small side comment below.
John Daly has been and is a crucial player for Galway. But ironically his brother Michael, Eoin Finnerty and Barry McHugh are all much more vital to Mountbellew, and the stats support this statement . I guess in a club like Mountbellew with a small enough panel the scoring burden falls very heavily on these 3 players , whereas it's slightly easier ( at club level) to replace a defender. 2021 - With Michael Daly, Mountbellew comfortably beat Corofin & Moycullen 2022 - Without Michael Daly, Mountbellew luckily scrape over Corofin by 1 point and lose to Moycullen by 3 goals." Yes I agree Michael Daly in good scoring form is a big loss to Galway as there are not enough consistently "scoring" forwards there at the moment.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/04/2023 17:18:31
heaney hadn't control of the ball reape had every right to contest it and if you look it was at the last second heaney got the boot to it to send the ball away from reape he had already committed .pj is whinging after every game about refs but when you set up your team as defensive as he does then you are goin to struggle to get scores maybe he should look at that more than watching what the ref does
mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 03/04/2023 17:18:36
Replying To mayo_123: "heaney hadn't control of the ball reape had every right to contest it and if you look it was at the last second heaney got the boot to it to send the ball away from reape he had already committed .pj is whinging after every game about refs but when you set up your team as defensive as he does then you are goin to struggle to get scores maybe he should look at that more than watching what the ref does" No Reape was not aiming to get the ball which would be fair enough but to "do" Heaney deliberately which should be a red card as Heaney had to subsequently leave the field with a quad injury. They pointed that out in TSG last night.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/04/2023 17:36:16
Replying To mayo_123: "heaney hadn't control of the ball reape had every right to contest it and if you look it was at the last second heaney got the boot to it to send the ball away from reape he had already committed .pj is whinging after every game about refs but when you set up your team as defensive as he does then you are goin to struggle to get scores maybe he should look at that more than watching what the ref does" Well done on the win . Absolutely the better team won.
Your goalie didn't contest a ball .he took a man out of the game. Take off the rose tinted glasses and be happy with the win. He was going for heaney not the ball.
galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 03/04/2023 17:44:11
Our keeper had a bit of good and bad yesterday. Took a brilliant high ball in the 1st half in his own square which is kind of thing we are all looking for, then in the second half he almost put the ball into his own goal while trying to tip a high ball over for a point.! He got a couple of quick kickouts away well in the 1st half in particular but he really finds it hard to disguise his intentions and also seems to give the ball to the under pressure defender an awful lot of the time. Surely both those things should be improved by now ? Where is the coaching aspect ?
Biggest problem for me though is how little he is involved in general play.. we must be the only County team that dosent use the keeper out on the 20/40 m line as an option during general play ? Several times yesterday the defenders had to bring the ball into contact as a way of breaking out and they chose that rather than turn and use the keeper ... often these situations arise from the wrong man receiving the keepers pass in the 1st place ! Again , where is the coaching ?
Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 03/04/2023 17:45:25
Replying To anotheralias: "I think your comment is a bit harsh on Cathal Sweeney . He's not a Johnny Heaney yet , but he's on upward trajectory , and in the years to come he could become as effective . I do agree with you in general re the quality of top county players when playing with club with a small side comment below.
John Daly has been and is a crucial player for Galway. But ironically his brother Michael, Eoin Finnerty and Barry McHugh are all much more vital to Mountbellew, and the stats support this statement . I guess in a club like Mountbellew with a small enough panel the scoring burden falls very heavily on these 3 players , whereas it's slightly easier ( at club level) to replace a defender. 2021 - With Michael Daly, Mountbellew comfortably beat Corofin & Moycullen 2022 - Without Michael Daly, Mountbellew luckily scrape over Corofin by 1 point and lose to Moycullen by 3 goals." Weren't Mountbellew also missing Moran, who looked a fair detail any time I saw him in 2021?
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3914 - 03/04/2023 17:54:19
Replying To mayo_123: "heaney hadn't control of the ball reape had every right to contest it and if you look it was at the last second heaney got the boot to it to send the ball away from reape he had already committed .pj is whinging after every game about refs but when you set up your team as defensive as he does then you are goin to struggle to get scores maybe he should look at that more than watching what the ref does" Look, Most rational Galway people are prepared to give Reape the benefit of the doubt and agree that a yellow card was fair an that there was no need for more severe punishment. But coming on this ( Galway) thread with silly statement suggesting that he had every right to do what he did is just going to an extreme that reflects the complete bias towards Mayo that is at almost epidemic proportions. I really enjoy Mayo football and their team is a breath of fresh air in the GAA. I genuinely hope Mayo win the AI if Galway dont. But the bias of an increasing percentage of Mayo supporters is starting to irk me. Please take off the red and green tinted glasses the odd time.......and stop booing opposition freetakers while ye are at it..
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 03/04/2023 18:02:42
Reape jumped into Heaney and he took him out of it.He knew he couldn't get to ball before him.It was dangerous play and got away with it.It would have been red in soccer or alot of other sports.Doesnt mean that Mayo weren't the better team on the day.
Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 03/04/2023 18:06:32
Replying To mayo_123: "heaney hadn't control of the ball reape had every right to contest it and if you look it was at the last second heaney got the boot to it to send the ball away from reape he had already committed .pj is whinging after every game about refs but when you set up your team as defensive as he does then you are goin to struggle to get scores maybe he should look at that more than watching what the ref does" Contest yes... injure the player no
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/04/2023 18:13:13
Replying To LottoPlus: "Sweeney is no Heaney. Chalk and cheese. Heaney is a unsung hero of Galway and a brilliant workhorse. I still don't know what Sweeney's role is in the Galway team. He is a very good club player and we have seen that many good clubs players never make the transition. and they are usually from stronger clubs. What I mean about that is take the likes of Lundy, Sice, Steed (Corofin) serious club players but did not make real impact in the county. It is because if one of them have a bad day then there was enough good players to fill the gap and their club would still win. These players weakness in county (like Sweeney) is that they dont have to be in top form all the time. The county player you need is a player that is a leader in his club team (Like Heaney, Comer, Walshe, Conroy, ) If they don't turn up for their club the club looses. You can see that even with Kelly from Moycullen he plays bad Moycullen loose. Same with John Daly. Search around the club seen and there are plenty of that sort of player (ex county underage) who when they play against the bigger clubs are double marked because the bigger club can afford to leave some of his less talented teammates free. That player will play fullback, Midfield, Centre Forward mark the best opposition player and generally play anywhere the team needs him. Sweeney et al just played at wing back and in fairness not many wing forwards at club level would have been able for him but county is different." The difference between Johnny Heaney and Cathal Sweeney is that Cathal Sweeney is a footballer and Johnny Heaney is a distance runner.
PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 231 - 03/04/2023 18:16:14
A lot in that performance yesterday to be positive about. Mayo are there to be got at when you run at them through the middle and we created a fair few goal scoring opportunities. I don't think their back line will be exposed come championship. In saying that even when going just a point down at various stages I never really felt we would push on and get a leveller, it was strange.
Disappointing not to get the win but 2nd in the league has been a positive.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1635 - 03/04/2023 18:26:54
Replying To mayo_123: "heaney hadn't control of the ball reape had every right to contest it and if you look it was at the last second heaney got the boot to it to send the ball away from reape he had already committed .pj is whinging after every game about refs but when you set up your team as defensive as he does then you are goin to struggle to get scores maybe he should look at that more than watching what the ref does" What was the free in for then
Albara (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 03/04/2023 19:05:46
why yesterday's result/performance wasnt great all is not lost..we've 3 weeks to prepare for mayo/ros..i hope we get a few lads back from injury in that time., i.e. eoghan kelly.,mulcahy and mcdaid. personally i think eoghan has done enough to start on the first 15 i think he has has a very good league and i would also make a few positional switches. hope we also can get our fitness levels up to championship pace also as mayo seemed that bit more ahead of us in that regard.. my team for 3 weeks time is. 1.power 2.eoghan kelly 3.sean kelly 4.mccrath 5.mchugh 6.daly 7.o flaherty 8.maher 9.conroy 10.mcdaid 11.heaney 12.cooke 13.tierney 14.walsh. 15.comer
subs.,16.power.,17.,fitzgerald.18,glynn.19,mulcahy.20,finnerty.21,p.kelly.,22.,patrick kelly.,23.,heron.,24.,i.burke.,25.,sweeney.,26.,tomo
gbay (Galway) - Posts: 264 - 03/04/2023 20:06:35
Replying To tommy k: "Yes I agree Michael Daly in good scoring form is a big loss to Galway as there are not enough consistently "scoring" forwards there at the moment." Tbh, I can't remember M. Daly being anything other than bang average at IC level.
Imo, similar to McHugh, and other very good club forwards, his lack lack of athleticism and genuine pace was cruelly exposed - rendering him to low percentage potshots from near impossible positions.
In fairness to young Sweeney, he performed very well v Kerry, cutting through, leaving pacey defenders in his wake, before fisting a very important point, just as Kerry were coming back at us.
Really (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 03/04/2023 20:07:35