Galway Football thread

We lost because we were very sloppy. Unforced errors, hand passes behind players, easy blockdowns, kicking wides, missing 5 goal chances (to be fair they were not all easy) etc.

Re the Heaney thing, I don't think it was a penalty even with the new rule because the ball was gone. However it was not a simple collision. It was a deliberate act. Either a black (taking a man out after he plays the ball) or a red card (depending on the seriousness of the hit). Would it have made a difference...... probably because Reape had a great game with his shot stopping and his frees.

But I'm sure there are a hundred things in a game that could have been judged differently. At the end of the day we need to take care of our own ****. cut out the sloppy stuff. We didn't deserve to win, end of story.

I was impressed with Fitzgerald and Maher again.

Disappointed with Hernon. He never took his man on and had plenty of opportunity. He seemed nervous, play it safe mode.

Conroy, don't know if he has the legs for CP anymore. He would make a great last 20 player. Maher & McDaid give us greater dynamism and Conroys class when others are slowing would be priceless.

In many ways we may be lucky we didn't win playing sloppy because it may have papered over the cracks. Knuckle down and get a bit slicker on the ball lads.

I noticed Shane looked a bit out of puff yesterday. Not sure if it is a fitness thing or because he was back in our half so much. Either way I would like to see him a bit closer to goal. I'm sure Portugal will solve any fitness issues.

I'd say PJ didn't want Comer on so early but as he came through it ok he will benifit from it.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1895 - 03/04/2023 11:09:41    2468473

Watching the match the referee was not giving the free initially to Heaney but he must have looked at the replay and then gave the free. We should be taking a look at what the rugby do in dangerous situations like that. Watch again on the video on big screen, and bring in linesmen and watch the replay for make a decision. The Goalie actually moved towards Heaney to make sure he took him out, In rugby that would be a straight red. And why were Galway not awarded a penalty (the rule of a certain goal) Does the GAA make up the own rules or use them when it suits them. Watching the Sunday game and the pundits were giving out about the mark Cavan got that was not a mark. The linesmen was 5 metres away and said nothing. (I dont think they are allowed, correct me if I am wrong, is the linesmens role just to say that there is a lineball) GAA players deserve more. Referees in county need to be professionals and trained properly. I have said this before everything has moved on in GAA except the refereeing standard. Getting very frustrating.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 85 - 03/04/2023 11:42:10    2468479

not as bad as it looked live watching back on tv. some awful wides cost us, better to miss in the league than in the championship whether its roscommon/mayo in a few weeks time thought midfield cancelled each other out, ruane was anonymous for the entire game. shane seemed to miss quite a lot with his left foot, matthew tierney was very quiet maybe should go back on the frees from right hand side to keep him in the game??? comer coming on and having durcan on him stopped his forward runs, damien looked a bit raw and his kicking was not up to scratch. cooke disapointing again, really needs to improve his handing, lost alot of possesion . mcgrath grew into the game after a slow start on o'donoghue. Aidan O'Shea got far too many soft frees with referee looking for any excuse to stick hand up for a free, conroy for mayo got soft free also in second half , tackling is allowed unless rules have changed. although not at fault for anything yesterday power should be starting in goals, the kickouts are very pedestrian from our side and no disguise when gleeson turns his body we all know where the balls going. power and comer in to start the next day.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 03/04/2023 12:00:30    2468487

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Watching the match the referee was not giving the free initially to Heaney but he must have looked at the replay and then gave the free. We should be taking a look at what the rugby do in dangerous situations like that. Watch again on the video on big screen, and bring in linesmen and watch the replay for make a decision. The Goalie actually moved towards Heaney to make sure he took him out, In rugby that would be a straight red. And why were Galway not awarded a penalty (the rule of a certain goal) Does the GAA make up the own rules or use them when it suits them. Watching the Sunday game and the pundits were giving out about the mark Cavan got that was not a mark. The linesmen was 5 metres away and said nothing. (I dont think they are allowed, correct me if I am wrong, is the linesmens role just to say that there is a lineball) GAA players deserve more. Referees in county need to be professionals and trained properly. I have said this before everything has moved on in GAA except the refereeing standard. Getting very frustrating."
I don't see it as a penalty at all, because Heaney had his shot an eternity (in split second terms!!), before he was assaulted. That sort of tackle, with that apparent intent, had to be a red card every time though imo. The keeper is desperately late there, and so absolutely nowhere near the ball. He also showed zero remorse. His body language didn't at any point convey the idea that his contact was accidental. That is a red card for me, fitting well within the range of dangerous play.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3914 - 03/04/2023 12:11:39    2468493

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Freetaking is about conversion rate, and nothing else.

When freetaking becomes about showing off, artistic impression, or learning the exact same lesson in adversity for the umpteenth time, then your freetaker is a problem, and frankly it's not a good look for the management team either to be letting it go to pot, after such a clean performance in this specific area in 2022.

Freetaking is about conversation rate, and nothing else."
The decision to go on left, from the turf, when really there is no issue with the angle is silly stuff. Cost us, I believe...

In fairness to the lads, after the big performance in Salthill a week earlier, it was always going to be difficult to repeat the intensity one week later. Contrast that to Mayo's option of resting players v Monaghan.

Plus from the day: Maher is developing into a fine midfielder - so competitive, can score, and will get better.

Negative: That's 3 finals lost in CP in twelve months.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 03/04/2023 12:31:44    2468496

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I don't see it as a penalty at all, because Heaney had his shot an eternity (in split second terms!!), before he was assaulted. That sort of tackle, with that apparent intent, had to be a red card every time though imo. The keeper is desperately late there, and so absolutely nowhere near the ball. He also showed zero remorse. His body language didn't at any point convey the idea that his contact was accidental. That is a red card for me, fitting well within the range of dangerous play."
I think enough has been said about the incident. It was absolutely not a penalty. A red or black card would have been harsh. A yellow just about fair.
Most important thing now is that Johnny Heaney is okay . Has anybody an update on this?

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 03/04/2023 12:42:22    2468505

Heaney was taken out and it should have been red. Thank God Heaney was able to walk after that.
Mayo won on merit and were the better team
on the day however. I was not happy with the official but that is no fault on Mayo.
Galway have plenty to play for this year.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 03/04/2023 12:42:50    2468506

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Heaney was taken out and it should have been red. Thank God Heaney was able to walk after that.
Mayo won on merit and were the better team
on the day however. I was not happy with the official but that is no fault on Mayo.
Galway have plenty to play for this year."
The ref didn't even think it was a free until he was told from someone upstairs to give a free and a booking.
Just look at his reaction in real time.
Unfortunately in both hurling and football the rules are what the referee says they are, not what they are supposed to be. No 2 referees are the same in any way in any game.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 03/04/2023 13:03:11    2468515

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Watching the match the referee was not giving the free initially to Heaney but he must have looked at the replay and then gave the free. We should be taking a look at what the rugby do in dangerous situations like that. Watch again on the video on big screen, and bring in linesmen and watch the replay for make a decision. The Goalie actually moved towards Heaney to make sure he took him out, In rugby that would be a straight red. And why were Galway not awarded a penalty (the rule of a certain goal) Does the GAA make up the own rules or use them when it suits them. Watching the Sunday game and the pundits were giving out about the mark Cavan got that was not a mark. The linesmen was 5 metres away and said nothing. (I dont think they are allowed, correct me if I am wrong, is the linesmens role just to say that there is a lineball) GAA players deserve more. Referees in county need to be professionals and trained properly. I have said this before everything has moved on in GAA except the refereeing standard. Getting very frustrating."
Yes it was a straight red card no doubt and the TSG analysts felt the same last night. There was no attempt to block the ball but to take Heaney out with the "follow-through" and to give a yellow is only a cop-out as it means nothing and is not really penalizing the guilty party who went on the win the MOTM. I feel there should be something like in the rugby with a TMO for such incidents. Hawkeye covers whether there is a score or not but there is no such check in GAA for foul play / possible red cards etc. Re the game itself yes Galway were sloppy and the turnovers leading directly to scores in the first half were very avoidable. They let Mayo have the ball uncontested in all their kick-outs but Mayo pushed up on all of Galway's kick-outs. Surely PJ and the management could see that and should have adjusted their tactics as what they were doing wasn't working. When Mayo were put under pressure like Galway did for much of the second half they were no great shakes and I thought Galway had all the momentum but were not putting it on the scoreboard where it counts. The 4 goal efforts were all straight at the goalie in the main and so were very "save-able". They should have all been aimed for the corners. 10 of the Mayo 14 points were from sloppy frees and marks given away. The ref was giving frees to Mayo like confetti at a wedding for the same "fouls" that he wasn't giving to Galway and that is just biased refereeing. Saying all of that, the likes of Conroy and Heaney underperformed on a dry day in Croke Park yet again which is becoming a bit of an unwelcome habit at this stage. I felt that Silke, Molloy and McDaid were really missed yesterday for the first time since the championship last year although the likes of Fitzgerald and Maher did perform well given their relative inexperience.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/04/2023 13:30:25    2468526

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Forwards were very poor yesterday, no movement at all. Well done to our goalie yesterday who had a good game, 4 clean sheets out of 7 games"
I see Dublin had 2 of their 3 goalies out through long-term injuries, and Cluxton came back in.

As far as I know, Galway have just Gleeson and Power. So, it might be worth looking at other options. Gleeson hasn't a twin brother - who'd fit the bill?

Really (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 03/04/2023 13:32:24    2468527

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Forwards were very poor yesterday, no movement at all. Well done to our goalie yesterday who had a good game, 4 clean sheets out of 7 games"
You need to re look at the game on the TG4 player, why come on here and justify rubbish, you were in hiding last week. His restarts are always slow, and often put the receiving player under pressure, he allowed Mayo set up the press on every kickout and this then then reduced his own options. He actually missed the Mayo strike for goal, it hit his head by accident and in injury time he again didn't deal with one in and around the cross bar, instead of just catching it he went with one hand and fumbled it and then ended up in a heap. I'm just waiting now for you to start a change.org petition to ensure your man is selected in three weeks.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 777 - 03/04/2023 13:34:52    2468528

Paul Conroy is a critical player for us this year.
It's great to have options because there will always be lads carrying
knocks. Paul is on my starting 15.
Gaillimh Abu

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1218 - 03/04/2023 13:35:34    2468531

Replying To GDL:  "You need to re look at the game on the TG4 player, why come on here and justify rubbish, you were in hiding last week. His restarts are always slow, and often put the receiving player under pressure, he allowed Mayo set up the press on every kickout and this then then reduced his own options. He actually missed the Mayo strike for goal, it hit his head by accident and in injury time he again didn't deal with one in and around the cross bar, instead of just catching it he went with one hand and fumbled it and then ended up in a heap. I'm just waiting now for you to start a change.org petition to ensure your man is selected in three weeks."
He will be starting in 3 weeks simple as that

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 03/04/2023 13:39:34    2468533

Big Aidan going on about Galways tough defensive system, numbers back etc, when the TG4 interviewer hit him with the stat 4 points from play for ye in the game he was speechless...
Galway can improve on their shooting , Mayo couldn't even get in to scoring positions.
Cut out the frees and I'd fancy us beating the Rossies in the semi final!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/04/2023 13:43:37    2468536

This is the way I would like to see us line out for the provincial semi final.

Power
Glynn
Kelly
McGrath
McHugh
Daly
O'Flaherty
Maher
McDaid
Cooke
Heaney (if not fit then Sweeney comes in to perform same role)
Tierney
Walsh
Comer
Finnerty

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 03/04/2023 14:06:32    2468548

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes it was a straight red card no doubt and the TSG analysts felt the same last night. There was no attempt to block the ball but to take Heaney out with the "follow-through" and to give a yellow is only a cop-out as it means nothing and is not really penalizing the guilty party who went on the win the MOTM. I feel there should be something like in the rugby with a TMO for such incidents. Hawkeye covers whether there is a score or not but there is no such check in GAA for foul play / possible red cards etc. Re the game itself yes Galway were sloppy and the turnovers leading directly to scores in the first half were very avoidable. They let Mayo have the ball uncontested in all their kick-outs but Mayo pushed up on all of Galway's kick-outs. Surely PJ and the management could see that and should have adjusted their tactics as what they were doing wasn't working. When Mayo were put under pressure like Galway did for much of the second half they were no great shakes and I thought Galway had all the momentum but were not putting it on the scoreboard where it counts. The 4 goal efforts were all straight at the goalie in the main and so were very "save-able". They should have all been aimed for the corners. 10 of the Mayo 14 points were from sloppy frees and marks given away. The ref was giving frees to Mayo like confetti at a wedding for the same "fouls" that he wasn't giving to Galway and that is just biased refereeing. Saying all of that, the likes of Conroy and Heaney underperformed on a dry day in Croke Park yet again which is becoming a bit of an unwelcome habit at this stage. I felt that Silke, Molloy and McDaid were really missed yesterday for the first time since the championship last year although the likes of Fitzgerald and Maher did perform well given their relative inexperience."
Nobody on TSG said it was red, definitely black but not red. Canavan said it could even be red, but that's as neat as we got to them saying it was red. And it definitely wasn't red, anyway. Watch TSG again!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2124 - 03/04/2023 14:54:57    2468572

Great display by Gleeson yesterday. He has developed into a first class goalkeeper. We are fortunate to have both him and Power. It is imperative that we now beat either Mayo or Roscommon in semi-final and go on to win Connacht title and hopefully Sam. We have the team and panel to do so. Cut down on giving away soft frees and improve our own scoring rate. Stop this sending long-range frees harmlessly wide. A least drive them into the goalmouth and allow Comer etc to get on the end of them. The Mayo goalkeeper getting the man of the match says it all about yesterday's game. Had we taken some of the goal chances we could have won by 6 points even though playing only at about 50% capability. Gaillimh Abū.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 03/04/2023 15:02:41    2468576

One thing I notice is PJ needs to control the hubris when being interviewed. Being candid is fine, but when you come out with a statement that motivates the opposition, without McStay having to say a word is just silly. I'm referring to his post-Kerry match comment that Galway won't be "pulling any handbrakes" in the final. This immediately puts all the pressure on the players. Why not just trot out "Mayo are formidable opposition...".

I remember the sports journalist Con Houlihan (Rip) had a wonderful phrase he often invoked: "Never cast aspersions on the crocodile's mother, before you cross the river.."

One thing I found strange yesterday was Finnerty being subbed - thought he was our one genuine scoring threat. Maybe he picked up an injury. Tierney wasn't there.

Aside from our own game, Dublin looked very efficient yesterday when they increased the tempo. Great at creating goal chances - although they left a "sitter" behind too. So, I expect them to be the standard-setters come June/July. Bottom line, that's the level we need to start aiming for, and it starts NOW!

Really (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 03/04/2023 15:15:54    2468578

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes it was a straight red card no doubt and the TSG analysts felt the same last night. There was no attempt to block the ball but to take Heaney out with the "follow-through" and to give a yellow is only a cop-out as it means nothing and is not really penalizing the guilty party who went on the win the MOTM. I feel there should be something like in the rugby with a TMO for such incidents. Hawkeye covers whether there is a score or not but there is no such check in GAA for foul play / possible red cards etc. Re the game itself yes Galway were sloppy and the turnovers leading directly to scores in the first half were very avoidable. They let Mayo have the ball uncontested in all their kick-outs but Mayo pushed up on all of Galway's kick-outs. Surely PJ and the management could see that and should have adjusted their tactics as what they were doing wasn't working. When Mayo were put under pressure like Galway did for much of the second half they were no great shakes and I thought Galway had all the momentum but were not putting it on the scoreboard where it counts. The 4 goal efforts were all straight at the goalie in the main and so were very "save-able". They should have all been aimed for the corners. 10 of the Mayo 14 points were from sloppy frees and marks given away. The ref was giving frees to Mayo like confetti at a wedding for the same "fouls" that he wasn't giving to Galway and that is just biased refereeing. Saying all of that, the likes of Conroy and Heaney underperformed on a dry day in Croke Park yet again which is becoming a bit of an unwelcome habit at this stage. I felt that Silke, Molloy and McDaid were really missed yesterday for the first time since the championship last year although the likes of Fitzgerald and Maher did perform well given their relative inexperience."
Sorry I meant to say Conroy and Tierney underperformed on a dry day in Croke Park yet again...

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/04/2023 15:17:51    2468579

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Nobody on TSG said it was red, definitely black but not red. Canavan said it could even be red, but that's as neat as we got to them saying it was red. And it definitely wasn't red, anyway. Watch TSG again!"
Why wasn't it red? What was 'unred' about that challenge? You kick out two or three feet above ground, at an opposition player's lower legs(plus the headon momentum aspect too), with the ball nowhere in the vicinity? What's worse, the footage isn't kind to 'the grim REAPEr' at all imo, because it looks like he makes a late split second 'flightpath adjustment' to ensure that he delivers a crippling whack on Heaney, at a point when he knows well that he won't be playing the ball. If that not a red card offence everytime, then imo it should be.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3914 - 03/04/2023 15:39:29    2468584