Galway Football thread

Great win for Galway today. Next game v Armagh is effectively League Quarter Final....victory would see us with 8pts going into last game v Kerry.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/03/2023 14:25:47    2461922

Nice win against Monaghan. Especially with a man down. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 05/03/2023 14:26:36    2461924

great win9 usual suspicts conroy kelly daly,,

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 26 - 05/03/2023 14:33:35    2461926

Great win with 14 men. Pity the big names had to come off the bench but still it's great there was a spread of scorers.
It's mad how the 2 points for a win still doesn't put daylight between Galway and the bottom teams. We're still only a loss against Armagh from looking down again at the relegation spots. We still need a win from the next 2 games. Tyrone winning today has muddied the waters. Though we've got the head to head advantage on both Monaghan and Tyrone.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 05/03/2023 14:35:23    2461927

Replying To Kickitout:  "Galway by 6 v Monaghan not a hope they only scored 9 points 2 day and unless Finnerty and Walsh play next day it be 8-11 max can not believe how bad our full forward line is in all the games 1 score in 3 games is it the worse in Ireland surety is ,"
Paddy Power may start refusing to take further bets..lol. Great win.. here we go..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 587 - 05/03/2023 14:41:57    2461930

Good performance. Thought we controlled the game from start to finish and the only time I had doubts was when Cooke was sent off.

Cookes red was infuriating. Yes he struck out but when are refs going to punish a guy for pinning a man to the ground with the forearm across the neck. Cooke needs to learn from it as well. He could have given him a dunt without striking. A red card would normally cost u the game.

We will be much better for this league. A lot of players got good amounts of game time.

Still a little tight at the bottom. The head to head rule should allow us to breath a bit easier

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1828 - 05/03/2023 15:23:31    2461948

Replying To jam83:  "Great win with 14 men. Pity the big names had to come off the bench but still it's great there was a spread of scorers.
It's mad how the 2 points for a win still doesn't put daylight between Galway and the bottom teams. We're still only a loss against Armagh from looking down again at the relegation spots. We still need a win from the next 2 games. Tyrone winning today has muddied the waters. Though we've got the head to head advantage on both Monaghan and Tyrone."
'We still need a win from the next 2 games.'

Surely we don't?

The chances of 2 of Tyrone, Monaghan and Donegal finishing ahead of us are very small, even if we do lose both of the last two. If there isn't a draw next up between Monaghan and Tyrone, the loser is pretty much down, and then the winner of that would need to get a point the following round again. And while all of these results are going against us, Donegal would need to beat both Mayo and Roscommon.

TheHuckleBuck (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 05/03/2023 15:27:02    2461950

Showed good character after going 14 men down, then again bringing in 2 all stars in McDaid and Walsh helped!

Much improved 2nd half performance, Monaghan some silly shot selection 2nd half and a few bad wides. Overall Galway full value.

Onward to Armagh.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 05/03/2023 15:32:31    2461952

Replying To TheHuckleBuck:  "'We still need a win from the next 2 games.'

Surely we don't?

The chances of 2 of Tyrone, Monaghan and Donegal finishing ahead of us are very small, even if we do lose both of the last two. If there isn't a draw next up between Monaghan and Tyrone, the loser is pretty much down, and then the winner of that would need to get a point the following round again. And while all of these results are going against us, Donegal would need to beat both Mayo and Roscommon."
Two wins would see a Galway v Mayo League Final

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/03/2023 15:34:21    2461953

Good win though Cathal sweeney was very good

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 05/03/2023 15:52:14    2461959

Great character shown in the 2nd half, when things were going against us. We saw the game out quite comfortably too which was a nice relief.
Fair play to Johnny Heaney. He stepped up with another crucial goal today, not for the first time.
The group is so tight that a league final or relegation are still in play, but today was an important win regardless.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 05/03/2023 17:05:47    2462012

Definition of a game of two halves. For all the football played by Galway in that first half, and for all the time we spent inside Monaghan's 65, the number of times we came away with no score was frustrating. Lads mad keen to play football but no-one seemed interested in taking the shot. If we'd lost that game, that first half performance would have been the reason.
Cooke's sending off seemed to inject a sense of urgency, and whatever hesitation they had in taking on scores disappeared. Great second half.
On Cooke's sending off, that was a red card no question. But you'd have to wonder what the ref was doing. He was only yards away and you could see him dithering over what to do as the two lads wrestled on the ground. His waiting for someone to actually get hurt before acting was ridiculous and did both players a disservice.

Well done lads, good win.

Gaillimh Abú!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 05/03/2023 17:10:49    2462015

Good win against a woeful Monaghan side. Hard to see them not going down, probably with Donegal. Six points should be safe but it is score difference rather than head to head that we should be looking at if we don't win either of the last two games. It is very likely that if a team was to go down with 6 it would be as part of 3/4 teams on 6 points rather than 2 teams with how tight it is.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 05/03/2023 17:22:34    2462022

Replying To festinog:  "Definition of a game of two halves. For all the football played by Galway in that first half, and for all the time we spent inside Monaghan's 65, the number of times we came away with no score was frustrating. Lads mad keen to play football but no-one seemed interested in taking the shot. If we'd lost that game, that first half performance would have been the reason.
Cooke's sending off seemed to inject a sense of urgency, and whatever hesitation they had in taking on scores disappeared. Great second half.
On Cooke's sending off, that was a red card no question. But you'd have to wonder what the ref was doing. He was only yards away and you could see him dithering over what to do as the two lads wrestled on the ground. His waiting for someone to actually get hurt before acting was ridiculous and did both players a disservice.

Gaillimh Abú!"
Wouldn't disagree with any of that. Except to add that some of Monaghan's antics in the 2nd half were as bad if not worse than Cooke. How Dessie Ward managed to stay on the pitch only Conor Lane knows.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 05/03/2023 18:34:04    2462051

Great win and pretty much ensures safety.

Thought we actually started playing well when down to 14 men. Deserved red card and its a definite learning experience . He's lucky it actually seemed to give the lads a kick up the ar$e and Monaghan it has to be said were not great

Plenty to work on . Great for tomo to be back . I'd really like him to get a good run of it. Sweeney had a brilliant game

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/03/2023 18:34:14    2462052

For all the grief he gets on here, Gleeson was very good today. Thought Johnny McGrath and Sweeney were both excellent, as was Rob Finnerty's shooting.

Re Galway kicking in the first half, there was an awful wind at pitch level as anyone who has ever played in Pearse will attest to. It was extremely difficult kick into that goal. Same people who were shouting "shoot" from the stand would be the ones giving out if we dropped 3/4 short.

A win is a win, solid performance and we move on.

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 05/03/2023 18:48:30    2462058

Gleeson unfortunately let two bad passes astray again in possession but aside from that excellent under highball and kick outs mainly solid. He was very good today overall.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 05/03/2023 19:00:16    2462063

Let's try and beat Armagh and aim for a league final..
Comer is close and should be togged next week..
Really impressed with Sweeney and Johnny Mc Grath , he has great pace!.
We actually have conceded the least overall score in the division so just work on our shooting etc, keep everyone fit and all good.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 05/03/2023 19:07:51    2462064

Replying To festinog:  "Definition of a game of two halves. For all the football played by Galway in that first half, and for all the time we spent inside Monaghan's 65, the number of times we came away with no score was frustrating. Lads mad keen to play football but no-one seemed interested in taking the shot. If we'd lost that game, that first half performance would have been the reason.

Gaillimh Abú!"
I think you're out of touch with the prevailing conditions in Salthill Festy, over there in Colorado and all. Did you see Monaghan's 2nd half efforts at scoring into that goal? Only their goalkeeper scored into that wind 2nd half. Would explain Galway's shot selection activity in the 1st half surely.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3418 - 05/03/2023 19:16:33    2462068

Replying To Donaldtrump:  "For all the grief he gets on here, Gleeson was very good today. Thought Johnny McGrath and Sweeney were both excellent, as was Rob Finnerty's shooting.

Re Galway kicking in the first half, there was an awful wind at pitch level as anyone who has ever played in Pearse will attest to. It was extremely difficult kick into that goal. Same people who were shouting "shoot" from the stand would be the ones giving out if we dropped 3/4 short.

A win is a win, solid performance and we move on."
If you kick the ball high on a windy day in Pearse the ball can go anywhere. It's a swirling wind, very difficult to play in.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/03/2023 19:54:45    2462086