Galway Football thread

Replying To honda15:  "What is the feel in Galway around Walsh? Totally understand he had a very long and brilliant year, but so did the Glen guys as well as the Cliffords and guys in Kerry. Very frustrating for other guys if Walsh comes in later on and starts playing after them doing the dirty work the last couple of weeks in the league. May cause unwanted frustration.
Feel f they get him back very soon with Comer and Finnerty back too Galway are going to be coming at the right time but any later may cause issues."
I would say PJ is not best pleased unless this was all agreed upon before his season finished with Kilmacud and everyone was ok with it but from listening to PJ's interviews and the rumour's that are circulating around the county I dont think it looks or sounds good.

No issue with him taking the 3/4 weeks out to go travelling which was led to believe but sounds like he might have extended his stay and it has not gone down well. All rumours of course unless someone can come out and clarify what is actually going on and when will he return.

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 28/02/2023 14:01:20    2460958

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Kelly plays closer to goal for Mountbellew quite a lot and can certainly finish a goal. He has scored quite a few goals in the club championship. For a man of his size, I don't think he's best utilised tracking runners up an down the pitch all day. This obviously has to be done by all players, but I think we're still trying to get the best out of him.
Davoren is good under the high ball, but he doesn't seem to be suited to winning ball that isn't hanging in the air. His marker was out in front or got a hand in to spoil most ball kicked in to him. Given his strengths, it's strange we didn't try him much as a kickout option.
One of the main characteristics of an inside forward is movement. Knowing when to make a run, how to find space etc. We didn't have those types of players playing in the inside line on Sunday."
Re your last few sentences re we didn't have real inside forwards, I would have thought Ian Burke was the archetype inside forward but he just isn't showing the type of form he did 5 or 6 years ago when he could score regularly, set up scores, see and give astute passes very quickly etc. With the poor form he is showing currently he isn't really worth a place on the team and I would have been a fan of his in the past.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 28/02/2023 14:21:25    2460969

Replying To Jellybaby:  "I would say PJ is not best pleased unless this was all agreed upon before his season finished with Kilmacud and everyone was ok with it but from listening to PJ's interviews and the rumour's that are circulating around the county I dont think it looks or sounds good.

No issue with him taking the 3/4 weeks out to go travelling which was led to believe but sounds like he might have extended his stay and it has not gone down well. All rumours of course unless someone can come out and clarify what is actually going on and when will he return."
PJ definitely sounded a bit cranky when asked about Shane after the match on GBFM the last day. Didn't say anything but it was more what he didn't say. Just said "we have what we have" and he moved on immediately. Didn't say we hope to have Shane back by such and such a time.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 28/02/2023 15:06:14    2460988

Replying To tommy k:  "Re your last few sentences re we didn't have real inside forwards, I would have thought Ian Burke was the archetype inside forward but he just isn't showing the type of form he did 5 or 6 years ago when he could score regularly, set up scores, see and give astute passes very quickly etc. With the poor form he is showing currently he isn't really worth a place on the team and I would have been a fan of his in the past."
I would agree but you'll see the best of Ian Burke during the summer months. He will make the likes of Shane & damo better players when they play together

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 28/02/2023 15:20:42    2460991

Replying To allstars23:  "I would agree but you'll see the best of Ian Burke during the summer months. He will make the likes of Shane & damo better players when they play together"
He won't be in the team if everyone is fit. He is an inside forward and can't play anywhere else. Has he shown anything lately to suggest he is a better option in there than Rob Finnerty?

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 28/02/2023 15:40:55    2461000

I don't care who opts off the Galway panel, I only wish the best for them and thank them for great service that is owed to nobody. Its their decision. Galway need to focus on the 40 or so lads who are putting their hand up now. My thoughts and prayers goes out to lads that are battling injury or other circumstances preventing them from playing.
Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 28/02/2023 15:56:16    2461004

Rumour was that he had decided to take a year and do some more travelling, however I don't think this is true. He is 30 now and knows that the squad may never be this strong again in the time he has left at inter county.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 338 - 28/02/2023 17:42:05    2461028

Replying To Marooned:  "PJ definitely sounded a bit cranky when asked about Shane after the match on GBFM the last day. Didn't say anything but it was more what he didn't say. Just said "we have what we have" and he moved on immediately. Didn't say we hope to have Shane back by such and such a time."
Wasn't the plan and in Joyce own words at the start of this league for Walsh too return for the final two against Armagh,Kerry. I'd be annoyed if asked the same question when already answered.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 28/02/2023 18:26:38    2461034

Replying To gaillimhboy:  "Rumour was that he had decided to take a year and do some more travelling, however I don't think this is true. He is 30 now and knows that the squad may never be this strong again in the time he has left at inter county."
Must be finished his course then.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 217 - 28/02/2023 19:10:06    2461048

Replying To giveitlong:  "
Replying To Mayonman:  "I see the world is ending again and the doom merchants are out.

On the Donegal game
Thought Gleesons kick outs were much improved. But they obviously needed to be. He was badly at fault for the penalty. It should have been a kick out because of the foul on McDaid (I think it was Mcdaid). He was pushed in the back and into the keeper. however Gleeson should have been much more dominant and taken all before him. He was passive on the line.

P Kelly looks miles off the pace. He is a good footballer and definitely I/C level so I think it is worth giving him the minutes he needs to get back up to speed even if there is short term pain.

Great to see Tierney being so good again. He looks to have a bit more meat on him this year. I think he has a huge ceiling.

Davoren didn't seem to impact much. Probably give him another run to be fair to him.

People complaining about PJ's substitutions. I am happy enough to see him trying players. I thought Sweeney was reasonable impressive again. Brings a bit of dash to the game. I think it will suit him even more when the ground gets a bit better.

If we find a couple of players, and I think we have, we will be there or there abouts come championship. We seem to have found a few defenders. And Cooke isn't a find as such but certainly a big addition.

A lot of people have rightly pointed out that our depth of scoring forwards is now our problem. We are better than most with our main men injury free but we cannot depend on that. Ian Burke has not got back to his previous levels yet. I think he is worth persisting with because he has the class and it will be worth it if we can get him back to his best.

The way the league is going we need a minimum of 1 more win. Next week has to be all about the win. Park trying lads out and go all out to put Monaghan away. then we can experiment a bit in last 2 games. I wouldn't like to be going away to Armagh or last game against Kerry needing to get something.

Championship is all about confidence and momentum and if we can finish the league with a couple of new players, injury free panel and a mid table position .....mission accomplished."
Its the League and still February. PJ and Co are hardly going to show their full hand at this stage both in terms of starting players and subs and also re kickouts. There is a chance that Molloy will be back for the championship, certainly the round robin games so baring injury that would be just one man down from what was available last summer, albeit a key all star L Silke. It was widely agreed that lack of depth was the difference between us and the kingdom in the final with their bench getting them over the line. We have to find 2 or 3 players. As of now it looks like Cooke is going to be involved in the big days. He had got a good spell already and was very good v Mayo in Limerick. The other newcomers are inexperienced with 3 making debut yesterday against a division 1 team at home in desperate need of points. All 3 were quiet poor but surely deserve at least 1 more chance. Eoghan Kelly has being doing well and should be fine tuned by the end of the league. Sweeney is also likely to be starting or close to starting though his defending needs work. Being without or first choice full forward line may yet be a blessing in disguise as it is allowing others get crucial game time. Other teams in the league are starting close to their top 15 at this stage while we are without one of the best players we have ever seen and Comer . Had they been playing it is fair to say we would be unbeaten thus far in the league. Indeed had Cooke or McDaid not been substituted we would have got the 2 points yesterday, but throwing the newbies in at the deep end was the right call. Re the kickouts, do any posters here really think that our management are not aware of the bad return we are getting from long kickouts? We have to have a plan in place for the big days in Salthill and hopefully crooker later on. If we can grind out a win next Sunday we should be ok."
wishful thinking. reminds me of everyone saying Ireland were playing crap before the last world cup because they had all these plans held back for the big one. Ireland continued to be rubbish during the world cup. They are not holding back some kick out plan. The plan is to kick it long to the big men in the middle. joyce stated as much against tyrone when he complained about gleeson looking for short kick outs twice. Also some People complaining about gleeson kicking it long when he is being told to is very unfair on the guy.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 28/02/2023 20:57:03    2461064

Replying To tommy k:  "Re your last few sentences re we didn't have real inside forwards, I would have thought Ian Burke was the archetype inside forward but he just isn't showing the type of form he did 5 or 6 years ago when he could score regularly, set up scores, see and give astute passes very quickly etc. With the poor form he is showing currently he isn't really worth a place on the team and I would have been a fan of his in the past."
I agree with you 100%.

I still think we should persist with him because if we can get him back to his best form he is a huge addition to the team/squad.

In the second half against Tyrone his movement was excellent, but we haven't seen enough of that.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 01/03/2023 08:38:53    2461070

Replying To jam83:  "Ah it just shows how poor the sports department is on Galway Bay. I'd give the hurling the thumbs up, I think Sean Walsh, Farrell, Cyril and Niall Canavan are good quality. But the football commentators and the general sport presenters on Galway Bay are very poor.
Donegal had 18 wides so no man in a backline would get man of the match any day."
Not being pedantic but I think the wide figure was closer to 10 with two kicked into our goalies hands. Yes though the motm was clearly Matthew Tierney. John Daly in fairness has being solid though since his return from injury and a key player for us.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/03/2023 10:15:39    2461104

Replying To kiloughter:  "Not being pedantic but I think the wide figure was closer to 10 with two kicked into our goalies hands. Yes though the motm was clearly Matthew Tierney. John Daly in fairness has being solid though since his return from injury and a key player for us."
John Daly is a super player. Fully deserved All Star in 2022 and a key player for Galway. But certain journalists form opinions and can only see the good in certain players and only the bad in others. Its not a phenomenon unique to GBFM or unique to Galway journalists.
John Daly is one such player and he is a media darling.
Most of his reputation is well deserved as he combines being remarkably consistent and dependable along with occasional brilliance..
But if we are to reach ultimate success we need to be ( or at least our management needs to be) constructively critical of all players , including our best ones.
People on forums and media are too quick to criticise marginal players and wont touch the stars.
John Daly has continued to be solid in 2023, but we haven't seen much of the 2022 brilliance. I thought against Donegal that he did too much cross field passing/running and not enough driving through the middle. Dylan McHugh and Cathal Sweeney are doing this more effectively than John , but unfortunately in doing so they turned over a bit of ball.
We need John Daly to do more of what he was doing in 2022....maybe Comer's absence is leading to less options for the incisive deliveries that he is renowned for?
Also I have to call a spade a spade and say that we were cut open through the middle several times by Donegal. Not sure if that is any individuals problem , but the CHB has to take some responsibility for this.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 01/03/2023 12:59:43    2461180

I saw a post in the commentators on Galway bay FM an I tend to agree. The Hurling commentators are miles ahead of the Football commentators they do their research on the teams and know every player. Last year the commentators in football knew no one. It was actually embarrassing, they knew the one or 2 seniors players on the team and nothing else. Number 7 gives to to number 5 who gives it to Kelly etc. And a lot of the time they got the scorer wrong. Then came the pod cast that they do after each championship weekend (I think George McDonagh) was embarrassing to say the least. Then you listen to Niall Canavan, Sean Walshe Cyril Farrell and you say why are the football commentators so poor. It is just laziness.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 54 - 01/03/2023 16:16:00    2461246

Replying To anotheralias:  "John Daly is a super player. Fully deserved All Star in 2022 and a key player for Galway. But certain journalists form opinions and can only see the good in certain players and only the bad in others. Its not a phenomenon unique to GBFM or unique to Galway journalists.
Most of his reputation is well deserved as he combines being remarkably consistent and dependable along with occasional brilliance..
But if we are to reach ultimate success we need to be ( or at least our management needs to be) constructively critical of all players , including our best ones.
People on forums and media are too quick to criticise marginal players and wont touch the stars.
John Daly has continued to be solid in 2023, but we haven't seen much of the 2022 brilliance. I thought against Donegal that he did too much cross field passing/running and not enough driving through the middle. Dylan McHugh and Cathal Sweeney are doing this more effectively than John , but unfortunately in doing so they turned over a bit of ball.
We need John Daly to do more of what he was doing in 2022....maybe Comer's absence is leading to less options for the incisive deliveries that he is renowned for?
Also I have to call a spade a spade and say that we were cut open through the middle several times by Donegal. Not sure if that is any individuals problem , but the CHB has to take some responsibility for this."
I would agree with that assessment and to me its too easy to run through the middle against Galway and get off point / goal scoring chances as the Galway defenders seem to be marking space instead of their men which is in marked contrast to the way Mayo players defend which is very much getting in the opposition players' faces and tackling aggressively in numbers swarming around the player in possession but still not giving away too many frees. Galway have to learn how to do that yet.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 01/03/2023 16:40:13    2461253

Replying To anotheralias:  "Oughterard is not in the Gaeltacht.
Moycullen is technically in the Gaeltacht but I don't think its widely spoken and would have small percentage of native ( or otherwise) Irish speakers. You need to go further west to hear Irish spoken with any degree of regularity."
Another Senior Footballer from Offaly, living in the city, transferring to his new "local" club, Moycullen. We're starting to look like soccer clubs.

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 01/03/2023 17:02:11    2461265

Replying To LottoPlus:  "I saw a post in the commentators on Galway bay FM an I tend to agree. The Hurling commentators are miles ahead of the Football commentators they do their research on the teams and know every player. Last year the commentators in football knew no one. It was actually embarrassing, they knew the one or 2 seniors players on the team and nothing else. Number 7 gives to to number 5 who gives it to Kelly etc. And a lot of the time they got the scorer wrong. Then came the pod cast that they do after each championship weekend (I think George McDonagh) was embarrassing to say the least. Then you listen to Niall Canavan, Sean Walshe Cyril Farrell and you say why are the football commentators so poor. It is just laziness."
You would do well to find better club, underage and inter county coverage in any other county than the hurling lads on Galway Bay. Canavan is involved in the Galway academy set up as far as I know and Farrell is at every game in Galway, same as Sean Walsh. It's noticeable outside of their own knowledge that they make an effort to look at the other teams outside Galway. Compare that to your Ollie Turner, Jonathan Higgins, Barry Cullinane bunch and it's safe to say if you have listened to any of the football league games on the radio you wouldn't have a clue who is playing or how they are playing. George McDonagh is hard to listen to on GAA.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 01/03/2023 17:06:45    2461267

Replying To anotheralias:  "John Daly is a super player. Fully deserved All Star in 2022 and a key player for Galway. But certain journalists form opinions and can only see the good in certain players and only the bad in others. Its not a phenomenon unique to GBFM or unique to Galway journalists.
Also I have to call a spade a spade and say that we were cut open through the middle several times by Donegal. Not sure if that is any individuals problem , but the CHB has to take some responsibility for this."
What John Daly has is football intelligence.
I can vividly remember being in the stand in Tralee a few years ago 2020 I think and Stephen O'brien kept making a diagonal run away from goal towards the stand. Daly never followed him once, Kerry would recycle and O'brien would trot back in. I remember thinking, if that's Bradshaw or O'Donnell they are following the runner, centre wide open, goal for Kerry.
You would never normally see or appreciate that but that's the sort of thing he brings to this team. Just awareness and a natural defender with a football brain.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 01/03/2023 18:16:06    2461292

Replying To galway19:  "You would do well to find better club, underage and inter county coverage in any other county than the hurling lads on Galway Bay. Canavan is involved in the Galway academy set up as far as I know and Farrell is at every game in Galway, same as Sean Walsh. It's noticeable outside of their own knowledge that they make an effort to look at the other teams outside Galway. Compare that to your Ollie Turner, Jonathan Higgins, Barry Cullinane bunch and it's safe to say if you have listened to any of the football league games on the radio you wouldn't have a clue who is playing or how they are playing. George McDonagh is hard to listen to on GAA."
I find the biggest problem with ollie Turner is that he is continually waffling on abut things that has very little relevance to the game he is covering often going on for a few minutes as the game continues half the time you wouldn't now the score with him

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 01/03/2023 18:42:12    2461306

Replying To galway19:  "You would do well to find better club, underage and inter county coverage in any other county than the hurling lads on Galway Bay. Canavan is involved in the Galway academy set up as far as I know and Farrell is at every game in Galway, same as Sean Walsh. It's noticeable outside of their own knowledge that they make an effort to look at the other teams outside Galway. Compare that to your Ollie Turner, Jonathan Higgins, Barry Cullinane bunch and it's safe to say if you have listened to any of the football league games on the radio you wouldn't have a clue who is playing or how they are playing. George McDonagh is hard to listen to on GAA."
Yeah the live hurling coverage is very very good. Fair play to the lads.

Yeah the football lads sound like they turn up on the day with no prep done as if it's a job for life.
George McDonaghs "area of expertise" is greyhound and horse racing. You'd be throwing money away if you heeded the tips he gives on a daily basis. His safe/I'veSeenItAll mentality gets on the nerves for the racing stuff, but to hear that know-it-all attitude when GAA topics are discussed is just a waste of time, there's proper analysis for free on podcast from Off the Ball, Irish Examiner, Sports Joe and then Second Captains is just a fiver a month.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 01/03/2023 20:40:44    2461332