Replying To Yondu:  "Team I'd expect Joyce to start against Tyrone

Conor Gleeson
Jack Glynn Sean Kelly Eoghan Kelly
Dylan McHugh John Daly Cathal Sweeney
Paul Conroy Matthew Tierney
Cillian McDaid Peter Cooke Johnny Heaney
Ian Burke Eoin Finnerty Dessie Conneely

A team that contains 9 of the All-Ireland final starters. Eoghan Kelly a more than capable replacement having already played on successful Moycullen and Sigerson cup winning teams. Many was expecting Cathal Sweeney (2020 U20 All-Ireland winner) to have held down a starting spot by now, this his opportunity to do so now.

Cooke, Burke are welcome additions and an impact will be required for both now in the upcoming games. Eoin Finnerty, Dessie Conneely are two of the top scoring club forwards in Galway the next couple of weeks will show if they can bring such form or Div 1 inter County level a step up for them."
Just wondering if Johnny Heaney and Paul Conroy are adding anything positive to the team this year as both have been largely anonymous in the last couple of games. I know they have been great servants to Galway football down through the years but you can't be picked based on some good things you did in previous years. Paul shot the lights out in the league last year and played well enough up to the AI final but he was very poor in that game and has been poor since. Johnny has been picked in starting Galway teams more often than any other player in the last 7 years but he certainly hasn't covered himself in glory for the last few years and counting. For instance he didn't score anything in the Connacht championship in 3 appearances in 2020 and 2021.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 15/02/2023 11:24:40    2458368

Replying To tommy k:  "Just wondering if Johnny Heaney and Paul Conroy are adding anything positive to the team this year as both have been largely anonymous in the last couple of games. I know they have been great servants to Galway football down through the years but you can't be picked based on some good things you did in previous years. Paul shot the lights out in the league last year and played well enough up to the AI final but he was very poor in that game and has been poor since. Johnny has been picked in starting Galway teams more often than any other player in the last 7 years but he certainly hasn't covered himself in glory for the last few years and counting. For instance he didn't score anything in the Connacht championship in 3 appearances in 2020 and 2021."
Lets be honest, hes not there for his amazing footballing ability. Hes there to fill a gap and work. An honest player who has come up with some big scores for Galway down through the years but thats about it i think

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 40 - 15/02/2023 11:29:53    2458371

Replying To tommy k:  "Just wondering if Johnny Heaney and Paul Conroy are adding anything positive to the team this year as both have been largely anonymous in the last couple of games. I know they have been great servants to Galway football down through the years but you can't be picked based on some good things you did in previous years. Paul shot the lights out in the league last year and played well enough up to the AI final but he was very poor in that game and has been poor since. Johnny has been picked in starting Galway teams more often than any other player in the last 7 years but he certainly hasn't covered himself in glory for the last few years and counting. For instance he didn't score anything in the Connacht championship in 3 appearances in 2020 and 2021."
think you're being harsh. conroy was good against Mayo, alot dirty work and scored a great score heaney quieter than this year (still only february ) but had his moments last year also They are also two leaders on this team something this time is majorly lacking one and two on list who have played most minutes for Pj, are you seeing something PJ is missing each week? Two regulars under KW as wel.

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 38 - 15/02/2023 12:04:47    2458378

Replying To Donaldtrump:  "Would agree. His man management of players leaves a lot to be desired at times."
I would agree with that. Rumours are rife that PJ lost the plot after the first half performance by Galway against Mayo in the FBD. He looked at all the injured players and dropped them all. There was a number of quad tears including our club man Conor Campbell that was caused by excess training or poor training methods moving from hard ground to soft ground etc. McWalter from Tuam had ankle injury ( also caused by training on hard ground). What I have heard was that the injured players had to look after their own Physio bills after been dropped. That does not seem fair, getting injured during county training, getting dropped and having to look after your own physio.
Now we have players dropping all over the place with injuries that is seriously questioning Training methods being employed.
I am hoping that we are not like the 2010 Down team. A one hit wonder but it looks like we are.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 85 - 15/02/2023 12:06:02    2458379

Replying To cocopop:  "think you're being harsh. conroy was good against Mayo, alot dirty work and scored a great score heaney quieter than this year (still only february ) but had his moments last year also They are also two leaders on this team something this time is majorly lacking one and two on list who have played most minutes for Pj, are you seeing something PJ is missing each week? Two regulars under KW as wel."
I did say they had been great servants for Galway, however you can't keep getting picked based on past reputation / achievements but the form you are showing currently. Paul is primarily a midfielder but he hasn't caught any high balls or kick-outs in a long time as far as I can remember. Johnny usually plays at left half forward but again he has rarely collected breaking ball from kick-outs etc. If you can't win possession you're at nothing as possession is "nine tenths of the law" in football these days. You mention they are leaders but they didn't show any leadership when the game was going away from Galway in the AI final (and they were both subbed off in the second half) nor have they shown much leadership in the last 2 league games and I know people usually say "its only the league" but if Galway get relegated this year they may not be playing for the Sam Maguire next year. Does anyone know if Niall Daly is part of the Galway squad this year as he showed some good glimpses of his ability last year?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 15/02/2023 12:29:54    2458385

agree with some of ur points. heaney particuley needs to improve around breaking ball, think all wing forwards win backs on galway team do as their isnt any high balls being won in today's modern game . when i played we completely relied on midfielder to catch ball but it s different game now. i would argue again that conroy stepped up against mayo in league. they didnt play well in AI final and wouldnt say they did but would they have got there without heaneys goal or conroy in extra time against armagh. need to balance these things out. would like to see daly get more game as well but easy to say these lads should not play but who is coming in to replace them.will see how they fare against tyrone on sunday two points and people will might thinkdifferently

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 38 - 15/02/2023 12:54:20    2458391

Is there any more of that under 20 team that could make an impact? I would have expected Tomo Culhane to be near enough the team at this stage but I suppose getting 5/6 from that team is alright returns.
Where is Eoghan Kerin from Annaghdown, is he not on the panel anymore?
On another note of discussion, I imagine most counties would take Johnny Heaney in their team in a heartbeat

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 276 - 15/02/2023 13:26:08    2458395

Replying To hashtag2017:  "Did GOD transfer or just permission to play. Recollect but maybe wrong that he continued to line out for Gort Hurlers from time to time,"
He'd be training with the Gort hurlers when Tuam would be knocked out but I don't think he's ever actually played a championship or eve league game for them since he was minor. Wasn't there for county finals in 2008, 2011,2014,2016,2017. Would mostly just train for fitness with them and suffered a but with injuries. Was decent underage hurler and won an all Ireland u16 and a nice few Connacht medals with Gort CS. The parents were from Mayo originally and worked in the bank in Gort. He played with ST Colmans until around 2008 ish but then they disbanded around then too and haven't fielded a team since really, maybe one or two sporadic years as southern gaels. Not exactly the best prep for an intercounty footballer. So Tuam was the most logical one for him with the family connections.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 291 - 15/02/2023 13:38:19    2458397

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "Is there any more of that under 20 team that could make an impact? I would have expected Tomo Culhane to be near enough the team at this stage but I suppose getting 5/6 from that team is alright returns.
Where is Eoghan Kerin from Annaghdown, is he not on the panel anymore?
On another note of discussion, I imagine most counties would take Johnny Heaney in their team in a heartbeat"
In fairness to PJ he has tried most of them, but it takes time to get up to the required S&C and county ball just isn't for some people with the massive commitment. I've seen the following play in various games, Conor Flaherty, Jonathan McGrath, Sean Fitzgerald, Jack Glynn; Tony Gill, Cathal Sweeney; Paul Kelly, Matthew Tierney, Patrick Kelly,Tomo Culhane and Jack Kirrane who came on in the U20 final for Cathal Sweeney who got injured. We haven't seen Cian Monahan, Conor Raftery, Cian Hernon, Ryan Monahan or Matthew Cooley. Monahan was in the subs versus Roscommon in the league, Cooley is deadly but possibly too small and light, Raftery hasn't really kicked on yet but I think he will, the engine room is an awful big step up when you get to adult football. Cian Heron is the one I though was the most likely to make it but I haven't seen him play ball recently.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 776 - 15/02/2023 13:56:29    2458402

Replying To LottoPlus:  "I would agree with that. Rumours are rife that PJ lost the plot after the first half performance by Galway against Mayo in the FBD. He looked at all the injured players and dropped them all. There was a number of quad tears including our club man Conor Campbell that was caused by excess training or poor training methods moving from hard ground to soft ground etc. McWalter from Tuam had ankle injury ( also caused by training on hard ground). What I have heard was that the injured players had to look after their own Physio bills after been dropped. That does not seem fair, getting injured during county training, getting dropped and having to look after your own physio.
Now we have players dropping all over the place with injuries that is seriously questioning Training methods being employed.
I am hoping that we are not like the 2010 Down team. A one hit wonder but it looks like we are."
A lot of topics in this post!

I would hope PJ lost the plot after first half in FBD game against Mayo.

Can't comment about the physio bills. County board should be looking after that.

Regarding players dropping like flies and questioning the training methods, I may have agreed with you a couple of years ago but sense Cian O'Neill got involved it all seems very professional to me. Comers & Finnertys injuries were impact related. Mulchay seemed to do his shoulder. Thats hardly training related.

Potentially others in the panel got injured that I am unaware of. I know Tomo got injured in Sigerson but i am unaware of the nature of his injury. Who else got injured that maybe training related? (I am not doubting you, I just don't know)

Is Tomo close to a return. I think he has something to offer but, and I hope I am wrong, I don't think Eoin finnerty or Dessie or up to the top level. They may do ok in some league games but I don't think you are winning an AI with them.

Conroy has lost any pace he had. Still a gifted footballer and I think it is up to the mgt team to best utilise his gifts. Maybe last 20 minutes when others are slowing down. His lack of pace may not be such an issue then and his footballing ability could cut a team open. Or even at 14, he has the physique, is a super striker of the ball and has very intelligent movement. I could see him winning 3 or 4 marks in a game and being such a threat in that regard that he would occupy defenders potentially giving space for Comer etc.

Re Heaney, he's a big game player. Even in AI Final it took a super block from Stephen O'Brien to deflect his goal bound shot over the bar (watching it live i thought it was a bad miss but when i saw it on tv.... O'Brien barely touched the ball but did enough ..... a game of inches or millimeters in this case....would have changed the game) ...... ahh **** u have me replaying the game in my head again!!

His goal finish against Mayo in Castlebar (not for the first time). He is a serious threat to the opposition and an intelligent player. I'm not judging him on league so far (cause I would be dropping 12 of them if I did!!)

A win on Sunday would take a bit of pressure off.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1895 - 15/02/2023 14:09:17    2458406

Very hard find new players when no proper trials at all just bring in same players ever year then drop them never look at any players outside senior clubs ,conroy best days we'll gone impact maybe no kickouts strategy at all after 3 years I know Galway missing lots of players but still no new scoring forward found , I'm beginning think management not really much of a. Clue , there whole game plan is Walsh , Comer Finnerty that's it without them prob top 4/5 in division 2 ,, 10 score v mayo with comer 8 v Ross that's cat in 76 mins ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 968 - 15/02/2023 14:32:10    2458412

Tyrone are no world beaters. Conceded a huge score to Roscommon but Is the Galway forward line for this game able to get 15 or 16 points? I dont think so unless they get big games from Cooke, Tierney and somebody in the full forward line. They have to take on shots. Tyrone likely to put a massive press on Gleeson's kickouts which will spell trouble.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 15/02/2023 14:49:57    2458415

Replying To Kickitout:  "Very hard find new players when no proper trials at all just bring in same players ever year then drop them never look at any players outside senior clubs ,conroy best days we'll gone impact maybe no kickouts strategy at all after 3 years I know Galway missing lots of players but still no new scoring forward found , I'm beginning think management not really much of a. Clue , there whole game plan is Walsh , Comer Finnerty that's it without them prob top 4/5 in division 2 ,, 10 score v mayo with comer 8 v Ross that's cat in 76 mins ,"
Yes I'm not happy about it and most Galway football fans are not happy with the team and management currently. As mentioned a few times here it seems the players are afraid to shoot for points etc. in case they get a telling off from PJ.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 15/02/2023 15:00:18    2458416

Replying To Kickitout:  "Very hard find new players when no proper trials at all just bring in same players ever year then drop them never look at any players outside senior clubs ,conroy best days we'll gone impact maybe no kickouts strategy at all after 3 years I know Galway missing lots of players but still no new scoring forward found , I'm beginning think management not really much of a. Clue , there whole game plan is Walsh , Comer Finnerty that's it without them prob top 4/5 in division 2 ,, 10 score v mayo with comer 8 v Ross that's cat in 76 mins ,"
Try and name 3 players from junior or intermediate clubs who would improve the current squad. I can't think of any. Just because you score 5 or 6 points at junior/intermediate level doesn't mean you can step up. Players from all clubs are being monitored in the academy from U14. Each club decides who they send in, it isn't the county board so they all get the opportunity, I've seen players in there that just aren't good enough and they find out soon enough themselves (many have been put in there by mammy or daddy), players of county ability stand out. Most of the current players have been in development since the Ted Webb competition. A simple example of how different the standard is Ougherard they won the All Ireland intermediate a few years ago (a very good team), they played the Senior All Ireland Chanpions, Corofin in their first senior Championship that Summer and got hammered, all of their big players got destroyed excluding Matt Tierney who had a very good game.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 776 - 15/02/2023 15:36:38    2458421

Replying To GDL:  "Try and name 3 players from junior or intermediate clubs who would improve the current squad. I can't think of any. Just because you score 5 or 6 points at junior/intermediate level doesn't mean you can step up. Players from all clubs are being monitored in the academy from U14. Each club decides who they send in, it isn't the county board so they all get the opportunity, I've seen players in there that just aren't good enough and they find out soon enough themselves (many have been put in there by mammy or daddy), players of county ability stand out. Most of the current players have been in development since the Ted Webb competition. A simple example of how different the standard is Ougherard they won the All Ireland intermediate a few years ago (a very good team), they played the Senior All Ireland Chanpions, Corofin in their first senior Championship that Summer and got hammered, all of their big players got destroyed excluding Matt Tierney who had a very good game."
If most of current forwards have being in development squads since under 14 what were they developing definitely not scoring think about it 76 mins 5 forward never scored from play not backs forwards , against mayo 10 scores in 75 mins if u think that's a good standard fair enough,, everyone entitled to opinion,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 968 - 15/02/2023 16:34:23    2458426

Replying To Kickitout:  "If most of current forwards have being in development squads since under 14 what were they developing definitely not scoring think about it 76 mins 5 forward never scored from play not backs forwards , against mayo 10 scores in 75 mins if u think that's a good standard fair enough,, everyone entitled to opinion,"
Give me 3 names then so, you've got to remember we lost Damo after 5 mins, that affected the gameplan, when you take the other 3 missing forwards from the All Ireland final, it is no wonder we scored so little. Kerry had the same problem up in Donegal the week before. Good forwards are hard got. Roscommon got one more score.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 776 - 15/02/2023 17:16:27    2458432

Replying To Kickitout:  "If most of current forwards have being in development squads since under 14 what were they developing definitely not scoring think about it 76 mins 5 forward never scored from play not backs forwards , against mayo 10 scores in 75 mins if u think that's a good standard fair enough,, everyone entitled to opinion,"
I recently heard a podcast by John Maughan where he states that galway are not even a top 5 team and goes on to say that they over achieved last year and would not feature in the business end of the championship this year unfortunately I have to agree with him from what we have produced so far this year

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 15/02/2023 17:24:32    2458435

All Ireland finalists last year and now some of ye turn around saying management have no clue. I think the people who have no clue are in this thread!!!!!

3rd week of Feb lads, calm down.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1635 - 15/02/2023 19:41:05    2458444

Replying To minor77:  "I recently heard a podcast by John Maughan where he states that galway are not even a top 5 team and goes on to say that they over achieved last year and would not feature in the business end of the championship this year unfortunately I have to agree with him from what we have produced so far this year"
I recently formed the opinion that Galway are not even a top 5 team and that they over achieved last year and would not feature in the business end of the championship this year. That was before I heard that John Maughan was of the same opinion.
But now I'm happy to change my mind because he is never correct.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 16/02/2023 08:32:55    2458456

tommy, I don't think I have ever agreed with anything you have posted on here, but in this instance you are 100% correct.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 231 - 16/02/2023 09:04:27    2458459