Galway Football thread

Replying To Oldtourman:  "But maybe that is a good thing. In Adare in West Limerick, a club that won five Senior Hurling Championships in the oughties and is the club of Declan Hannon, it is now almost gone over entirely to Football. We had a three in a w row U 21 All winning winning Hurling team but a number of them were on the only Limerick U21 Football Team that got to an All Ireland Final. This proved to be a disaster as a good number of them got it in to their heads that they could both codes at Senior Inter county Level. This proved to a total failure and feck all was won in either code."
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport-columnists-gaa/arid-40998407.html

People should read this brilliant article by Liam Sheedy.

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 07/11/2022 13:17:40    2446740

Corofin under 19s picked up the North board title, great to see them get past Claregalway .. in reality these two still dominant forces in under age North with great work also been done in Dunmore..
Another interesting result recently was a great win for Milltown in u 17 C.. In fairness to a few down there they are working extremely hard with that group.
Corofin play Oranmore this weekend in u 17 a q final, with the big guns of Claregalway, and Moycullen lying in wait there..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 07/11/2022 18:12:45    2446792

Replying To Belclare:  "Corofin under 19s picked up the North board title, great to see them get past Claregalway .. in reality these two still dominant forces in under age North with great work also been done in Dunmore..
Another interesting result recently was a great win for Milltown in u 17 C.. In fairness to a few down there they are working extremely hard with that group.
Corofin play Oranmore this weekend in u 17 a q final, with the big guns of Claregalway, and Moycullen lying in wait there.."
Moycullen will be hard to beat in that u17 competition.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 09/11/2022 11:28:11    2446948

Replying To galway19:  "Moycullen will be hard to beat in that u17 competition."
Claregalway had 5 or 6 starters on the Galway minor AI champions so will be hot favourites

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 09/11/2022 19:16:37    2447031

So as the dust settles on the club championship and the scramble starts for new managers and trainers is their any good exciting prospects out there who should we be looking out for??

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 102 - 10/11/2022 10:32:27    2447063

Exciting weekend ahead. I think.Moycullen on a good day can beat Westport from what I've seen . Will it be a good day though. Well aware that luck played a part in the salthill game but I do feel we have the talent to go far but I won't be looking beyond tomorrow. The nerves have kicked in

St James supporters would want to get their ***** to Tuam Sunday because a club that size and the crowd they brought the entire 20 min drive to moycullen on a nice saturday afternoon for a relegation game was pathetic. Outnumbered massively by Oughterard who absolutely helped their team. Players deserve better. These players are battling for senior survival and they deserve support regardless of the outcome.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 11/11/2022 10:48:00    2447155

Replying To Kickitout:  "One thing that strikes me is the lack of players from intermediate or junior clubs on Galway panel , of the team that started all Ireland 2 from intermediate clubs Gleason and Shane Walsh (he now plays senior ) and goalie will next year with Dunmore,, I know the teams in senior relegation have a player each bar carraoe,, so it does seem if u play for intermediate club or junior u prob need transfer to senior club otherwise not a hope of getting chance ( I don't agree with it but looks like it only option unless they run a Kerry type championship))"
When will Peter Cullen get the call up ? He's been shooting the lights out all year for Clifden . Surely only a matter a time before PJ brings him in

Oranmorereferee22 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 11/11/2022 11:45:54    2447168

Unfortunately in Galway he prob has no chance if u not play senior u not get looked at just as well the cliffords not in Galway or they be playing no county football,, didn't hear of any trials at all management must be happy with lasts years panel even with the loss of silke and molloy ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 11/11/2022 14:58:58    2447200

Replying To Oranmorereferee22:  "When will Peter Cullen get the call up ? He's been shooting the lights out all year for Clifden . Surely only a matter a time before PJ brings him in"
Great point Oranmorereferee22, it's time he gave the lad a right chance. He won't turn his back on his club like other lads in the county as well

LoveTheWife (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 11/11/2022 15:01:39    2447201

Someone mentioned the Kerry championship system . I have to admit don't khow it works . Lads like the cliffords seem to be playing for two teams . As Dunmore man l was nice to see Belclare give us some praise for doing nice work at underage. I would like remind him that Dunmore and a few other had to fight croke park to initiate the all Ireland club championship that Corofin win a lot of them I always support the Connacht team involved each year

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 11/11/2022 16:56:58    2447224

Replying To fishpond:  "Someone mentioned the Kerry championship system . I have to admit don't khow it works . Lads like the cliffords seem to be playing for two teams . As Dunmore man l was nice to see Belclare give us some praise for doing nice work at underage. I would like remind him that Dunmore and a few other had to fight croke park to initiate the all Ireland club championship that Corofin win a lot of them I always support the Connacht team involved each year"
It's actually not that complicated.
If you play for a club that isn't senior in its own right - then you are eligible to play for one of the divisional sides in the county championship.
If not - you play for your own club in the county championship. Pretty straightforward

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 11/11/2022 18:20:02    2447237

Replying To galwayfball:  "Exciting weekend ahead. I think.Moycullen on a good day can beat Westport from what I've seen . Will it be a good day though. Well aware that luck played a part in the salthill game but I do feel we have the talent to go far but I won't be looking beyond tomorrow. The nerves have kicked in

St James supporters would want to get their ***** to Tuam Sunday because a club that size and the crowd they brought the entire 20 min drive to moycullen on a nice saturday afternoon for a relegation game was pathetic. Outnumbered massively by Oughterard who absolutely helped their team. Players deserve better. These players are battling for senior survival and they deserve support regardless of the outcome."
James have been the worst team after carraroe all year and will make the drop. They have a lot of other sports that pull from their resources but they are still a very big club and will be disappointed when they go down this year. Very competitive at inter level next year.
On a side note I heard the jimmy faithful at a couple of games this year and they don't do themselves any favours or win over many neutral fans, heard a few older men rare up on a young opposing fan for shouting a positive message to his team, that says enough to me about james

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 12/11/2022 07:21:52    2447264

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "James have been the worst team after carraroe all year and will make the drop. They have a lot of other sports that pull from their resources but they are still a very big club and will be disappointed when they go down this year. Very competitive at inter level next year.
On a side note I heard the jimmy faithful at a couple of games this year and they don't do themselves any favours or win over many neutral fans, heard a few older men rare up on a young opposing fan for shouting a positive message to his team, that says enough to me about james"
I've never had an issue with any of their supporters. Nor have they been abusive in front of me win, lose or draw. Granted every club usually has one or two eejits so you shouldn't tar an entire club based on the actions of a few. Its the lack of them from a big club at an important game a mere 20 mins drive away that I just found awful for their players.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 12/11/2022 11:28:02    2447280

Well done Moycullen - big win. Mayo county board should award Dessie the Freedom of McHale Park.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 13/11/2022 14:59:29    2447377

That was some performance and win from Moycullen, dare i say better than they produced in any match in Galway this year?

No Peter Cooke today making it all the more impressive.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 13/11/2022 15:22:21    2447383

That Mayo championship must be muck.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 13/11/2022 15:49:44    2447387

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "James have been the worst team after carraroe all year and will make the drop. They have a lot of other sports that pull from their resources but they are still a very big club and will be disappointed when they go down this year. Very competitive at inter level next year.
On a side note I heard the jimmy faithful at a couple of games this year and they don't do themselves any favours or win over many neutral fans, heard a few older men rare up on a young opposing fan for shouting a positive message to his team, that says enough to me about james"
Called that wrong! Jimmy's are safe.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 13/11/2022 15:52:22    2447388

Replying To TanCanRan:  "That Mayo championship must be muck."
Have to question the level in Mayo alright..
Westport were very poor, same old story with Mayo teams kicking shocking wides .

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 13/11/2022 17:02:39    2447398

What a great player and captain Seán Kelly is. Looking at him play I am sure he will be the next Galway man to lift Sam. Absolutely no doubt. He is inspirational. Not sure how long though Moycullen can keep going in the club championship. Leinster and Ulster teams are very strong.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 13/11/2022 17:25:19    2447401

Replying To galwayford:  "What a great player and captain Seán Kelly is. Looking at him play I am sure he will be the next Galway man to lift Sam. Absolutely no doubt. He is inspirational. Not sure how long though Moycullen can keep going in the club championship. Leinster and Ulster teams are very strong."
Eh; win a Connacht title!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 13/11/2022 17:32:15    2447402