Galway Hurling thread

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Chin probably the best hurler in the country at the moment. Wexford had 4 players from the minor panel in'19 that were hammered by Galway starting last Saturday. How many from that fine team have Galway managed to bring through. Was talking to Galway supporters on Saturday and their feeling was that there's been too much loyalty shown to players from 2017/18 and the panel needs to be freshened up. You'll have the knowledge whether that's a fair assessment or not."
You might as well be asking the question as to why Cork and Tipperary, who have shared 5 of the last 6 U20 All Ireland titles, are struggling.

Cork have won 3 of the last 4 AI U20 titles.

Now I would put it to you that if Cork and Tipperary are struggling to bring U20's through to improve their senior sides, which are struggling, why would it be a scandal if Galway boys from successful minor teams aren't breaking through?

It's not a loyalty issue. The players there are the best we have available.

The risible thing is that this is always and forever being thrown at Galway whereas Cork and Tipp get a free pass. TBF Tipp have senior All Ireland medallists in their ranks, Cork do not. When did AI winning minor teams consistently translate to successful senior teams en masse? That would be never.

My working theory is that many of these minor titles were won in Croke Park in the days when they were played before senior finals so they remain in people's memories, whereas U20 All Irelands are won on Saturday afternoons in Thurles where they don't get national attention. But that's just a theory, maybe I am being too generous to the media who never seem to raise this matter when they are busy walloping on about Shefflin imposing his 'iron will' or some such guff.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 09/05/2024 08:16:18    2543765

Replying To Viking66:  "They weren't up to much anyway. They got hammered by our young lads in the Walsh Cup final."
One Walsh Cup game doesn't define players or a team as noone remembers who won Walsh Cup finals anyway apart from some weaker teams perhaps. As one of your fellow posters stated earlier "Wexford had 4 players from the minor panel in 2019 that were hammered by Galway starting last Saturday" so just because a team gets "hammered" in one game doesn't mean they will still get "hammered" going forward!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3400 - 09/05/2024 09:43:03    2543783

Fair play to whoever done that U20 draw. Kilkenny v Offaly, Galway v Dublin

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 698 - 09/05/2024 10:32:05    2543792

Replying To tommy k:  "One Walsh Cup game doesn't define players or a team as noone remembers who won Walsh Cup finals anyway apart from some weaker teams perhaps. As one of your fellow posters stated earlier "Wexford had 4 players from the minor panel in 2019 that were hammered by Galway starting last Saturday" so just because a team gets "hammered" in one game doesn't mean they will still get "hammered" going forward!"
Weaker teams at Senior Intercounty? Like those who have less All Irelands won, or have a worse championship head to head record with a stronger county?
Walsh Cup Finals don't mean anything in themselves. But every year every county that enters it hopes to find some new players, usually younger Senior age lads, who put their hand up for selection for the Senior Intercounty team going forward. I know both Wexford and Galway approached the Walsh Cup that way. Not many Galway lads did put their hand up though, which is what I meant in the post you answered. Alot were dropped from the panel afterwards. The 9 or so lads who played that day and were on the panel Sunday were already playing Senior Intercounty last year, and most for many years.
As a Galway man you should know better than most that Minor success, or lack of, means very little when it comes to Senior success. Not one of the current Limerick team won a minor AI for example.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12272 - 09/05/2024 14:00:45    2543840

Replying To Viking66:  "Weaker teams at Senior Intercounty? Like those who have less All Irelands won, or have a worse championship head to head record with a stronger county?
Walsh Cup Finals don't mean anything in themselves. But every year every county that enters it hopes to find some new players, usually younger Senior age lads, who put their hand up for selection for the Senior Intercounty team going forward. I know both Wexford and Galway approached the Walsh Cup that way. Not many Galway lads did put their hand up though, which is what I meant in the post you answered. Alot were dropped from the panel afterwards. The 9 or so lads who played that day and were on the panel Sunday were already playing Senior Intercounty last year, and most for many years.
As a Galway man you should know better than most that Minor success, or lack of, means very little when it comes to Senior success. Not one of the current Limerick team won a minor AI for example."
I think you get my point even though you are pretending not to. You can't define players by previous results as your county has proven by either being awful (defeats to Westmeath last year and Antrim this year) or being very good (beating KK last year and Galway this year). If you defined players by being awful in one game, then Wexford would have had to pick a brand new team of players after the Westmeath and Antrim games and we all know that wasn't going to happen.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3400 - 09/05/2024 14:40:29    2543847

Replying To tommy k:  "I think you get my point even though you are pretending not to. You can't define players by previous results as your county has proven by either being awful (defeats to Westmeath last year and Antrim this year) or being very good (beating KK last year and Galway this year). If you defined players by being awful in one game, then Wexford would have had to pick a brand new team of players after the Westmeath and Antrim games and we all know that wasn't going to happen."
I'm not defining them by how they played in one game. Your management let them go, I didn't. The topic being discussed was are your management doing a good job, or are they to blame for your indifferent performances this year. One of the points made was are they ignoring players, but I think it's fair to say they tried a good few different players in the Walsh Cup, but they didn't show Henry that they were good enough to be on your championship team, because they lost heavily to our younger/newer lads in the Walsh Cup final.
Our players are largely consistent when we have the ones of them who are in the best form on the pitch. A good few of our players played well against Dublin and Antrim, but the single biggest difference maker for us in the Galway game was getting Liam Ryan back. We also dropped 3 other lads with over 25 years championship experience to the bench because their form wasn't great, and brought in Jacko who is experienced, and 2 of the young 21/22 year old lads who did well in the Walsh Cup. Both played well on Saturday evening. We started 2 lads who were u20 last year, 2 who were u20 the year before, 1 of whom who never made our minor team. These lads brought great energy. Winning the Walsh Cup is worthless in itself, but getting extra gametime into lads like these is priceless.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12272 - 09/05/2024 16:02:09    2543864

Replying To tommy k:  "I think you get my point even though you are pretending not to. You can't define players by previous results as your county has proven by either being awful (defeats to Westmeath last year and Antrim this year) or being very good (beating KK last year and Galway this year). If you defined players by being awful in one game, then Wexford would have had to pick a brand new team of players after the Westmeath and Antrim games and we all know that wasn't going to happen."
I'm not defining them by how they played in one game. Your management let them go, I didn't. The topic being discussed was are your management doing a good job, or are they to blame for your indifferent performances this year. One of the points made was are they ignoring players, but I think it's fair to say they tried a good few different players in the Walsh Cup, but they didn't show Henry that they were good enough to be on your championship team, because they lost heavily to our younger/newer lads in the Walsh Cup final.
Our players are largely consistent when we have the ones of them who are in the best form on the pitch. A good few of our players played well against Dublin and Antrim, but the single biggest difference maker for us in the Galway game was getting Liam Ryan back. We also dropped 3 other lads with over 25 years championship experience to the bench because their form wasn't great, and brought in Jacko who is experienced, and 2 of the young 21/22 year old lads who did well in the Walsh Cup. Both played well on Saturday evening. We started 2 lads who were u20 last year, 2 who were u20 the year before, 1 of whom who never made our minor team. These lads brought great energy. Winning the Walsh Cup is worthless in itself, but getting extra gametime into lads like these is priceless.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12272 - 09/05/2024 16:03:02    2543865

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm not defining them by how they played in one game. Your management let them go, I didn't. The topic being discussed was are your management doing a good job, or are they to blame for your indifferent performances this year. One of the points made was are they ignoring players, but I think it's fair to say they tried a good few different players in the Walsh Cup, but they didn't show Henry that they were good enough to be on your championship team, because they lost heavily to our younger/newer lads in the Walsh Cup final.
Our players are largely consistent when we have the ones of them who are in the best form on the pitch. A good few of our players played well against Dublin and Antrim, but the single biggest difference maker for us in the Galway game was getting Liam Ryan back. We also dropped 3 other lads with over 25 years championship experience to the bench because their form wasn't great, and brought in Jacko who is experienced, and 2 of the young 21/22 year old lads who did well in the Walsh Cup. Both played well on Saturday evening. We started 2 lads who were u20 last year, 2 who were u20 the year before, 1 of whom who never made our minor team. These lads brought great energy. Winning the Walsh Cup is worthless in itself, but getting extra gametime into lads like these is priceless."
We need positivity flowing from their mind down their arms and legs here in Galway and the rest will take care of itself.
I'll stick with my original prediction for Leinster......Galway (Champions) Kilkenny (runners up) and a hello Antrim (3rd place).

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2254 - 09/05/2024 16:14:11    2543872

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm not defining them by how they played in one game. Your management let them go, I didn't. The topic being discussed was are your management doing a good job, or are they to blame for your indifferent performances this year. One of the points made was are they ignoring players, but I think it's fair to say they tried a good few different players in the Walsh Cup, but they didn't show Henry that they were good enough to be on your championship team, because they lost heavily to our younger/newer lads in the Walsh Cup final.
Our players are largely consistent when we have the ones of them who are in the best form on the pitch. A good few of our players played well against Dublin and Antrim, but the single biggest difference maker for us in the Galway game was getting Liam Ryan back. We also dropped 3 other lads with over 25 years championship experience to the bench because their form wasn't great, and brought in Jacko who is experienced, and 2 of the young 21/22 year old lads who did well in the Walsh Cup. Both played well on Saturday evening. We started 2 lads who were u20 last year, 2 who were u20 the year before, 1 of whom who never made our minor team. These lads brought great energy. Winning the Walsh Cup is worthless in itself, but getting extra gametime into lads like these is priceless."
Well to reach the Walsh Cup Final, the "young" Galway players must have played half decently at least to beat Offaly and then Dublin so you can't say that they were all completely useless. I know the management dropped these players but I thought at the time it was a but rash on some of them and Henry has now said that he will revisit the broader panel of players to give some of them a chance. Of course the likes of the injured Darren Morrissey, Cathal Mannion and Kevin Cooney should also contribute if / when they return. Daithí Burke may have to be switched back to fullback, a position he has already won 1 AI and 5 Allstars. Having players in their best / most effective positions is a start. This championship is not over just yet - not until the fat lady sings or is that not politically correct?! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3400 - 09/05/2024 16:31:45    2543878

Replying To tommy k:  "Well to reach the Walsh Cup Final, the "young" Galway players must have played half decently at least to beat Offaly and then Dublin so you can't say that they were all completely useless. I know the management dropped these players but I thought at the time it was a but rash on some of them and Henry has now said that he will revisit the broader panel of players to give some of them a chance. Of course the likes of the injured Darren Morrissey, Cathal Mannion and Kevin Cooney should also contribute if / when they return. Daithí Burke may have to be switched back to fullback, a position he has already won 1 AI and 5 Allstars. Having players in their best / most effective positions is a start. This championship is not over just yet - not until the fat lady sings or is that not politically correct?! lol"
Tommy :-D. I never said they were useless. I only said they got hammered in the Walsh Cup final. I was only offering a possible reason for them being dropped. You could yet win the All Ireland. You haven't become a bad team in a year. How about that for positivity Katser?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12272 - 09/05/2024 21:10:37    2543907

Replying To Viking66:  "Tommy :-D. I never said they were useless. I only said they got hammered in the Walsh Cup final. I was only offering a possible reason for them being dropped. You could yet win the All Ireland. You haven't become a bad team in a year. How about that for positivity Katser?!"
I wouldn't bother, Viking, as they say, when you're explaining, you're losing

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 10/05/2024 09:50:30    2543935

I am disappointed in the backlash I received with my comment on the Wexford game. I did not mean to be disrespectful. If Galway don't win Leinster, I always hope it's Wexford. Big fan of the county and some great hurling heads down there

I really enjoyed the game even with how poor Galway were, great atmosphere. Wexford were hungrier from the first minute, first to every ball even when they went down to 14. They were full value for their win, both with effort and quality

My comment has unfortunately been taken out of context of what I was getting at. The reaction to the loss shows what I was trying to say. It was Galways first loss to wexford in almost 30 years in the championship. If you look at the reaction of Galway fans at the game and on social media, Shefflin has lost his support from a huge amount of them. It is a disastrous result for them

Wexford have good hurlers, there was a good shakeup from the management and Lee Chin is probably the best in the country on form. I still think Galways panel at this moment in time is far superior but if they don't have the hunger then what use is that?

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 142 - 10/05/2024 10:04:44    2543940

Replying To Viking66:  "Tommy :-D. I never said they were useless. I only said they got hammered in the Walsh Cup final. I was only offering a possible reason for them being dropped. You could yet win the All Ireland. You haven't become a bad team in a year. How about that for positivity Katser?!"
You say "we haven't become a bad team in a year"
I always maintain We are a very good team.
We are not playing good at the moment but We can play very good.
Regarding the All Ireland......well I made a interesting prediction at the start of the Championship, Galway v Waterford All Ireland Final ?

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2254 - 10/05/2024 12:08:23    2543963

Replying To Kinvara:  "I am disappointed in the backlash I received with my comment on the Wexford game. I did not mean to be disrespectful. If Galway don't win Leinster, I always hope it's Wexford. Big fan of the county and some great hurling heads down there

I really enjoyed the game even with how poor Galway were, great atmosphere. Wexford were hungrier from the first minute, first to every ball even when they went down to 14. They were full value for their win, both with effort and quality

My comment has unfortunately been taken out of context of what I was getting at. The reaction to the loss shows what I was trying to say. It was Galways first loss to wexford in almost 30 years in the championship. If you look at the reaction of Galway fans at the game and on social media, Shefflin has lost his support from a huge amount of them. It is a disastrous result for them

Wexford have good hurlers, there was a good shakeup from the management and Lee Chin is probably the best in the country on form. I still think Galways panel at this moment in time is far superior but if they don't have the hunger then what use is that?"
If our management stopped trying to reinvent the wheel in the shape of a triangle it would be a start.

Picking players where they are comfortable operating would immediately make us better and requires almost no thinking at all.

Antrim is the ideal game to have next up, particularly away from home, it's a game we ought to win but it would be no harm if things were shaken up a bit as Shefflin has promised. Maybe this shaking up will involve picking players in positions they can play well in :)

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 10/05/2024 12:12:58    2543966

Replying To katser:  "You say "we haven't become a bad team in a year"
I always maintain We are a very good team.
We are not playing good at the moment but We can play very good.
Regarding the All Ireland......well I made a interesting prediction at the start of the Championship, Galway v Waterford All Ireland Final ?"
galway and waterford to meet in the all ireland final ?.... in the camogie id say.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1111 - 10/05/2024 12:57:36    2543970

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "I wouldn't bother, Viking, as they say, when you're explaining, you're losing"
Of course you always explain and lose stool - good man yourself! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3400 - 10/05/2024 13:50:21    2543978

Replying To tommy k:  "Of course you always explain and lose stool - good man yourself! lol"
Pointless trying to explain anything to you, son. I have neither the time nor the crayons

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 10/05/2024 20:02:58    2544009

Replying To munsterchamps:  "galway and waterford to meet in the all ireland final ?.... in the camogie id say."
Or maybe the FAI cup final.
Now that would be more likely.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 304 - 11/05/2024 08:07:08    2544020

Replying To Magpie2:  "Or maybe the FAI cup final.
Now that would be more likely."
About as likely as Antrim beating Wexford......

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 605 - 11/05/2024 12:06:37    2544044

How many of ye will go to Corrigan Park? Great place for a game. I was there years ago.

Tommy K will hit to Pearse, I'd say, because I know that he follows the footballers, too.

Katser will stay in her rocking chair, I bet!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1946 - 11/05/2024 12:58:42    2544050