0-16 for Ger Farraher against Craughwell last night galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 881 - 06/09/2023 05:46:02 2503224 Link 1 |
You obviously didnt see the Limerick game a few months ago where Galway were bullied out of it by a much more physical and stronger team. A few Johnny Glynns added into the Galway team is exactly what we need. Limerick are winning all around them because they have hard men who can hurl. Glynn fits this mould. And they dont grow on trees, especially in Galway. Sheflin should be doing all he can to get him on board. Big men will always beat small men at the end of the day.
clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 441 - 06/09/2023 08:55:09 2503231 Link 1 |
Galway have had plenty big men over the last 15 years. It didn't stop Richie Hogan cleaning us out a few times, al 5'7'' of him.
SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 342 - 06/09/2023 10:03:15 2503239 Link 1 |
Was at the game. He played really well. Lots of frees but still contributed in open play very well. Greg Thomas had a very good game as well. Caught almost everything and if I got my scores right he got around 1.05 from play. Might be worth a look at for Galway
Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 06/09/2023 10:21:54 2503243 Link 2 |
You mustn't have watched the 18 final where a clearly shorter Mike Casey didn't give Glynn a sniff
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 06/09/2023 10:38:17 2503246 Link 2 |
I must have watched a different Limerick game this year where we could not win a single puckout and got utterly dominated in the air.
PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 233 - 06/09/2023 11:08:17 2503255 Link 2 |
Glynn cant do it on his own. Limerick 18 team were a good bit bigger and stronger than the Galway 18 team overall. Your pointing out one of the very few exceptions. And I acknowledge the role of the small lads, they wont win you much. Not in the modern game anyway. 2 or 3 small lads (less than 6 foot) would be adequate if I was picking a team.
clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 441 - 06/09/2023 11:31:54 2503260 Link 1 |
Glynn is all hustle + bluster. Theres not many who would swap intercounty hurling for a chance to play football in New York. At this stage he wouldn't get within a country mile of the Limerick bench, let alone team and still he's being touted as Galways Messiah. You couldn't make it up. Shows where Galway have descended to.
Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 06/09/2023 11:58:21 2503269 Link 5 |
Almost as bad as Mayo footballers - NOT! lol
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 06/09/2023 13:17:30 2503291 Link 2 |
TJ Reid and Patrick Horgan are both 35 and I didn't hear that they have retired up to now at least! I never remember Jamie Ryan getting any kind of run in a Galway senior team apart from as a sub in one of the Leinster games this year. You might enlighten us if he has.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 06/09/2023 13:28:23 2503296 Link 2 |
Glynn won one ball I recall after 20mins or so, and didn't get a sniff of a free either. Laughably imo, had a free awarded against him by Owens.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4117 - 06/09/2023 13:50:43 2503301 Link 1 |
I don't think Limerick were that much bigger and stronger but they were certainly fresher than Galway not having played as many games and they were also coming in "under the radar" as they were not that well known nationally at the time so had the advantage of being underdogs.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 06/09/2023 14:05:47 2503306 Link 1 |
You are obviously watching a different game than I was, what I saw from Limerick is a multi faceted team that were a lot fitter than Galway. A team that was able to tweak its game strategy (after Quaid pretended to be injured) mid game and didn't give Galway a snuff after. I saw a jaded Galway team that didn't have a Plan B and were gassed with 20 minutes to go. The Limerick full back line are small men but haven't seen anyone take them apart, they are physically strong, have great anticipation and ball skills and play to a strategy (half back line can play deep). How many big men were able to stop Tony Kelly, Richie Hogan, Conor Whelan, Mike Casey? Yes players are getting bigger (in height) and its one of the weapons that Limerick have in their arsenal but to pick that as the primary reason they are successful is a disservice to this brilliant team. Glynn would not even make the subs bench for Limerick, hes too slow, dosent score enough and dosent have the temperament as evidenced last Sunday
BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 06/09/2023 14:52:11 2503317 Link 1 |
We lost every puck out because we had a single game plan and no Plan B. Our goalie took so long and was so predictable to puck out he could put a ground mail stamp on them. We won the first 10 minutes of puck outs but once Limerick changed strategy (in game) we didn't get a look in. Most puckouts are not won in the air, they are ball to hand short pucks or become breaking ball which requires strategy, unbelievable ball control skills and pace not exactly Glynns nor Galway's strong points in 2023.
BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 06/09/2023 14:59:13 2503320 Link 2 |
In 18 I do think they caught Galway by surprise, Galway in 18 were close to Limerick. They were still young, extremely fit, big and played to a strategy (taking point, low goal opportunities) and if the game had a couple of more minutes they could have caught them. But I think this was the beginning of the demise of this great Galway team and the ascension of the Limerick team.
BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 06/09/2023 15:11:06 2503325 Link 2 |
Limerick full back line are small men? Dan Morrisey certainly is'nt
Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 06/09/2023 16:35:19 2503350 Link 2 |
ah here, hav'nt we a rockstar sideline crew! though no Michèal O Domhnaill type, to nail those TG4 interviews as gaeilge. Galway have us on that 1 in fairness
Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 06/09/2023 18:18:58 2503357 Link 1 |
Fair play to him. He's not getting any younger either. lol.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2488 - 06/09/2023 19:09:15 2503364 Link 0 |
Limerick seem to win a few in the air. I would be in favour of having at least one forward who can catch the ball over his head.
PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 233 - 06/09/2023 19:23:12 2503365 Link 1 |
ah here, hav'nt we a rockstar sideline crew! though no Michèal O Domhnaill type, to nail those TG4 interviews as gaeilge. Galway have us on that 1 in fairness
Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 06/09/2023 19:58:49 2503367 Link 1 |