Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Jackson88:  "Galway were out on their feet from 45 mins.
They didn't have the conditioning to match Limerick"
yeah but there was a clear and obvious reason for that. i.e. Limerick are way bigger, stronger and more physical which requires tons more energy to play against. The Galway team were conditioned just fine, but were being hit hard, very hard by a much more physical team which is energy sapping in itself and then it requires so much more energy to hit them back.

Im tired saying it here over the past 2-3 years tbh but Galway need 4 or 5 more lads 6 foot 3 or more especially around the middle. and they are within the club structure in Galway it just takes serious effort to develop them. Im so sick of the minors and u20s winning with small lads who can hurl cause there not able to deliver all irelands. MOD did it in 17 when he picked Glynn, McInerney, J Cooney, N Burke (sub). None of these lads were regular starters under Cunningham. Fahy was a great find this year at Center Forward. but need more. Niland is a top class hurler but he doesnt do enough from play, and maybe im wrong but it looks to me its because of his size and strength. . I dont like criticizing lads cause they do so much for the county. it would just be nice to win another few all irelands.

Fair play Limerick, Kiely and Kinnerk are top top class at what there at.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 441 - 10/07/2023 14:05:36    2493578

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yeah I'm half sick thinking about it. Our Galway vs Clare dream is over for now. Sigh."
Over for this year and can blame ourselves both teams self destruction.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2483 - 10/07/2023 14:07:42    2493579

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I'd agree with you in general. The players are putting in an incredible effort, but were simply not good enough to challenge Limerick on Saturday. There was a clear gulf between the teams from late in the 1st half right through to the end.
What I will say though is that there are bigger failings in Galway hurling as a whole. Far removed from the current players and management.
We have a good pool of underage hurlers every year, in terms of numbers. We are generally failing to bring of them through in terms of quality and quantity to succeed at senior level.
Now you can argue that Cork are failing too, but that's their issue and they have started to win U20 titles recently, a grade we've failed badly at for over a decade.
I know there's huge work going in behind the scenes, but it hasn't reaped much reward at senior intercounty. I'm hoping that our setup is being reviewed and scrutinised.
We have to do better to give our players every chance of succeeding."
For the most part I agree with you but keep in mind almost NOBODY has beaten Limerick in a meaningful match since 2018 and before that you had that incredible Kilkenny team which almost NOBODY beat in a meaningful match. I know it's no comfort but we happen to be in an era between two dynasties.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2283 - 10/07/2023 14:23:37    2493583

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "There's a real whiff of keyboard warrior about this post.

I would like to see you say any of the above to a Galway player face to face. I reckon I'd be a while waiting, though.

There is no shortage of hunger or will to win, otherwise they wouldn't have pulled back the deficits they have this season alone

We were beaten by a better team on the day who worked us out and were able to squeeze the life out of us. It's disappointing but it happens. What do you want the players to do, apologise to you?

Is it only the teams who win who have this 'hunger' and 'will to win' that you speak of? what happens if it's a draw, do both teams have equal hunger and will to win, or maybe neither of them had enough of it?

Galway and Clare were similar enough at the weekend, they both had huge hunger and will to win, it was a semi final FGS, but they didn't execute well enough or 'control the controllables'. In both games, the better team won because they were able to execute better when it mattered.

That tends to be the way in GAA."
Good man stoolie - keep sending us your "predictions" of the big games that you usually get wrong so we can all have a laugh! If there's anyone that has been a "keyboard warrior" down through the years "responding" with smartass remarks to posters on different sites (like your "buddy" popebenedict) its definitely you. That's your auld "hobby" it seems - you definitely have too much time on your hands! If you were so "smart" and know a lot about hurling you might at least have got 50% of your "predictions" correct but not so I'm afraid!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 10/07/2023 14:33:27    2493586

Very disappointing performance on Saturday, but not a result that surprised too many galway followers in truth , anytime we travel to Dublin hoping we "click" invariably leads to disappointment, a lot of credit and awe going towards Limerick but if we look at what they have done to transform their culture and development then these are things are are just not overly complicated, simply recruiting competent academy coaches, a fit for purpose s&c development programme , and as has been mentioned previously someone in the mould of Caroline Currid to work with these clearly talented galway players, . The problem in Galway is that very few players are tactically, physically or mentally prepared at the same level as the current Limerick team and that makes it virtually impossible to compete. And please don't mention finances , if galway were serious about winning, competing for money to support these structures is part of the job for those who put themselves forward for these roles within county boards . As an example, our goalkeeper is being criticised for his performances this year , but having been a problem position for years , why isn't there a specialised goalkeeping academy?? Remember when Ireland rugby had no prop forwards .., they recruited best in class coaches and now are recognised as having the best group of same in word rugby ,, this is not financial, just a bit of vision ,

Bib (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 10/07/2023 14:44:05    2493590

it was an average year for Galway. Need to add a few players to panel.
Defense needs to be tighter. Never understood strategy of dropping long balls
on top of opposition. This could be tweaked. There are positives for sure.
Thank you to players and management.
Gaillimh Abu.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 10/07/2023 14:53:16    2493593

Limerick are a class team with a great system in place, they don't seem to panic, make a tweak here and there and continue on. Like the great Kilkenny teams, they lose key players through injury (Cian Lynch last year, Hannon on Sunday) but seem to be able to plug the gaps and keep going. Yes teams have got within a point of two of them, some should have beaten them but didn't. The only thing I can see stopping them is father time eventually, but to win 4 of last 5 AIs and going for 5 of 6, some might say downright unlucky not to be 5 in a row in a modern competitive era is remarkable.
Galway done as good as they could do on Sunday, its unfortunate that they got hammered in the end, but they did not lack effort they simply were not good enough. We can say we rattled them for 20 minutes and we did but Limerick weather storms and stick to their system and generally persevere. How many of the Galway team would make the Limerick panel? 2-3 max.
Now having sang Limerick's praises one thing I did notice on Sunday, was the way Limerick players used their hurl to "swat" away tackles or attempts to swarm one of their players, anyone else notice this? Is this legal or just something no pays attention to like the "handpass"

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 10/07/2023 15:02:43    2493597

Replying To Bib:  "Very disappointing performance on Saturday, but not a result that surprised too many galway followers in truth , anytime we travel to Dublin hoping we "click" invariably leads to disappointment, a lot of credit and awe going towards Limerick but if we look at what they have done to transform their culture and development then these are things are are just not overly complicated, simply recruiting competent academy coaches, a fit for purpose s&c development programme , and as has been mentioned previously someone in the mould of Caroline Currid to work with these clearly talented galway players, . The problem in Galway is that very few players are tactically, physically or mentally prepared at the same level as the current Limerick team and that makes it virtually impossible to compete. And please don't mention finances , if galway were serious about winning, competing for money to support these structures is part of the job for those who put themselves forward for these roles within county boards . As an example, our goalkeeper is being criticised for his performances this year , but having been a problem position for years , why isn't there a specialised goalkeeping academy?? Remember when Ireland rugby had no prop forwards .., they recruited best in class coaches and now are recognised as having the best group of same in word rugby ,, this is not financial, just a bit of vision ,"
Ireland fielded a whopping 4 players born down under in their 7 man back division during this year's Grand Slam win. We must have been so busy 'growing' props that we had to buy in half of our back division. We should open a 'half-forward line academy' as well, while we're at it. Clearly an area of need v Limerick's back row/halfback line.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3912 - 10/07/2023 18:37:08    2493657

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "yeah but there was a clear and obvious reason for that. i.e. Limerick are way bigger, stronger and more physical which requires tons more energy to play against. The Galway team were conditioned just fine, but were being hit hard, very hard by a much more physical team which is energy sapping in itself and then it requires so much more energy to hit them back.

Im tired saying it here over the past 2-3 years tbh but Galway need 4 or 5 more lads 6 foot 3 or more especially around the middle. and they are within the club structure in Galway it just takes serious effort to develop them. Im so sick of the minors and u20s winning with small lads who can hurl cause there not able to deliver all irelands. MOD did it in 17 when he picked Glynn, McInerney, J Cooney, N Burke (sub). None of these lads were regular starters under Cunningham. Fahy was a great find this year at Center Forward. but need more. Niland is a top class hurler but he doesnt do enough from play, and maybe im wrong but it looks to me its because of his size and strength. . I dont like criticizing lads cause they do so much for the county. it would just be nice to win another few all irelands.

Fair play Limerick, Kiely and Kinnerk are top top class at what there at."
Burke was an ever-present championship no11 under Cunningham in 2012.

Big and all as MODs additions were to ACs aleeady big '15 side, I don't think our 2017 champion side would have beaten this Limerick side either. Imo, they wouldn't have had the fitness or endurance to see them off over 75mins. We were just lucky that this Limerick steamroller didn't start up 2 years earlier than it did.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3912 - 10/07/2023 18:52:35    2493660

well its all over and we all have our regrets we lost and we will have to wait another year. I just have a bone to pick with some expert from the hurling part of the county who said what would someone from DUNMORE know about hurling they should confine themselves to football. I would say that the hurlers have tremendous support in the so called football area after all it is pride in THE MAROON AND WHITE whether it is ladies/mens football or Camogie.Multible bus loads from our area were in Croke Park saturday.I suppose it was an educational trip they all wanted to see what a hurley looks like. When i say Gaillimh Abu I mean THE WHOLE COUNTY

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 11/07/2023 16:44:33    2493842

Players who didn't feature this year who should be on the panel next year and be part of the rebuild:

Ian McGlynn - an obvious choice who has looked an intercounty midfielder since minor. Has to be involved next year.

Alex Connaire - should be getting bigger and stronger now. Darragh O'Donovan prototype and is too classy to not get a chance at some stage

Ronan Murphy - Injury plagued but will be involved in the panel next year if he can stay fit. A hardy lad that can hurl. Exactly what we were missing

Paddy Rabbitte - it would seem foolish not to try a new goalkeeper. Good hand and good puck outs

The other obvious one would be Rory Burke but he might be a year away. He is probably already 6"1 and well able to hurl. Great in the air and good free taker but will be only 19.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 12/07/2023 10:40:30    2493923

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Limerick are a class team with a great system in place, they don't seem to panic, make a tweak here and there and continue on. Like the great Kilkenny teams, they lose key players through injury (Cian Lynch last year, Hannon on Sunday) but seem to be able to plug the gaps and keep going. Yes teams have got within a point of two of them, some should have beaten them but didn't. The only thing I can see stopping them is father time eventually, but to win 4 of last 5 AIs and going for 5 of 6, some might say downright unlucky not to be 5 in a row in a modern competitive era is remarkable.
Galway done as good as they could do on Sunday, its unfortunate that they got hammered in the end, but they did not lack effort they simply were not good enough. We can say we rattled them for 20 minutes and we did but Limerick weather storms and stick to their system and generally persevere. How many of the Galway team would make the Limerick panel? 2-3 max.
Now having sang Limerick's praises one thing I did notice on Sunday, was the way Limerick players used their hurl to "swat" away tackles or attempts to swarm one of their players, anyone else notice this? Is this legal or just something no pays attention to like the "handpass""
It's hard to make a case we "didn't lack effort".

We scored 6 points in around 50 minutes. That's completely unacceptable IMO.

Winning breaking ball from pucks outs or rucks is not a skill our players should be lacking in.
Limericks real strengths kick in when they have ball in hand, when they don't have the ball we should be equally as competitive yet won literally no ball for over a full half.

Henry needs to go IMO and someone to come in with an understanding of what Limerick are doing and how to replicate elements of it, and combat it on your own end.
If you want to beat Limerick you need someone to come in that realises that elements of soccer coaching is required(ball retention, playing the ball into space, one two passes etc), the days of lads whacking ball with their heads down is long gone.
Passes can't be played anymore than 45 metres, you'll rarely see Limerick trying to hit the FFs from their own HB line for a good reason.

Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 12/07/2023 11:02:13    2493929

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "It's hard to make a case we "didn't lack effort".

Winning breaking ball from pucks outs or rucks is not a skill our players should be lacking in.
Limericks real strengths kick in when they have ball in hand, when they don't have the ball we should be equally as competitive yet won literally no ball for over a full half.

Henry needs to go IMO and someone to come in with an understanding of what Limerick are doing and how to replicate elements of it, and combat it on your own end.
If you want to beat Limerick you need someone to come in that realises that elements of soccer coaching is required(ball retention, playing the ball into space, one two passes etc), the days of lads whacking ball with their heads down is long gone.
Passes can't be played anymore than 45 metres, you'll rarely see Limerick trying to hit the FFs from their own HB line for a good reason."
Trapattoni is still alive...sounds like a 'role' for him the way you've framed it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3912 - 12/07/2023 11:33:30    2493942

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "It's hard to make a case we "didn't lack effort".

Passes can't be played anymore than 45 metres, you'll rarely see Limerick trying to hit the FFs from their own HB line for a good reason."
Speaking to KCLR's Full Time on Monday, Waterford legend Mullane said there is not a more suitable candidate for the managerial position than the Ballyhale Shamrocks clubman Shefflin.

"I think if Henry has the appetite to keep going up the road for the next year and possibly the year after, there's no better man, I mean, who else is out there? You are not going to get any better."

"It's effectively down to Henry, and when he does have the conversation with The Galway, the county board, like, is he going to stay on for one year? Is he going to stay on for the next two or three years?"

"If he stays on the next two or three years, you're looking at a rebuild."

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3912 - 12/07/2023 15:27:11    2493986

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Speaking to KCLR's Full Time on Monday, Waterford legend Mullane said there is not a more suitable candidate for the managerial position than the Ballyhale Shamrocks clubman Shefflin.

"I think if Henry has the appetite to keep going up the road for the next year and possibly the year after, there's no better man, I mean, who else is out there? You are not going to get any better."

"It's effectively down to Henry, and when he does have the conversation with The Galway, the county board, like, is he going to stay on for one year? Is he going to stay on for the next two or three years?"

"If he stays on the next two or three years, you're looking at a rebuild.""
I always wonder when I read anyone that wants Shefflin gone SPECIFICALLY WHO would they prefer that is willing and able to take it?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2283 - 12/07/2023 16:30:23    2494000

Replying To Trump2020:  "I always wonder when I read anyone that wants Shefflin gone SPECIFICALLY WHO would they prefer that is willing and able to take it?"
The only thing is that Galway have always performed better with Galway managers. Obviously Cyril Farrell and Michael O'Donoghue won AI's and got to other AI finals but the likes of Noel Lane, Conor Hayes and Anthony Cunningham at least got their teams to AI finals in their time which outside managers like Babs Keating, Ger Loughnane, John McIntyre, Shane O'Neill and Henry Sheffin (so far anyway) have failed to do so that should also be taken into account.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 12/07/2023 19:11:31    2494020

Replying To Trump2020:  "I always wonder when I read anyone that wants Shefflin gone SPECIFICALLY WHO would they prefer that is willing and able to take it?"
Please let us not go down the road of 90s and early 00s of a new manager every second year with zero wins to show for it

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 12/07/2023 19:56:24    2494026

Forgot to mention Jarlath Cloonan was another Galway manager that helped the team reach the AI final in 1993.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 12/07/2023 20:27:13    2494028

Replying To fishpond:  "well its all over and we all have our regrets we lost and we will have to wait another year. I just have a bone to pick with some expert from the hurling part of the county who said what would someone from DUNMORE know about hurling they should confine themselves to football. I would say that the hurlers have tremendous support in the so called football area after all it is pride in THE MAROON AND WHITE whether it is ladies/mens football or Camogie.Multible bus loads from our area were in Croke Park saturday.I suppose it was an educational trip they all wanted to see what a hurley looks like. When i say Gaillimh Abu I mean THE WHOLE COUNTY"
Well said. A few right hurling snobs among the posters here. You wouldn't mind but a few of them wouldn't know the heel of a hurley from a bus. And yes, I meant bus not bás.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2124 - 13/07/2023 03:11:27    2494052

Cyril Farrell

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 441 - 13/07/2023 08:38:40    2494056