Galway Hurling thread

Replying To systematic:  "You're the whole time defending Gleeson on the football page but giving out about goalie now that it's hurling? WUM"
Systematic ! go back to bed like a good man and don't be overtaxing your brain cell with both football AND hurling. This forum is for adults only. It is very clear to anybody with a modicum of cop on that Eanna Murphy was carrying out Henry's instructions by going long with the puck-outs. It's really simple. Bringing Gleeson into it is petty.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 09/07/2023 11:41:12    2493300

Replying To ecad123:  "Ifs are only ifs and not reality, no team have beat them since 2019 in a knock out game and that is not an if that's a fact. They are the best team to ever play the game!"
I thought KK 2006 to 2009 were the best team to ever play the game. Seriously though Limerick are a serious outfit and may well better KK's achievement.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 09/07/2023 11:50:55    2493303

No lengthy eulogy from me. We simply aren't good enough and there is no harm in that once you accept it. I can't see us pushing on much more but I can see the chasing pack in Munster overtaking us, we are so clueless majority of the time. Launch and hope, reminds me of the Irish soccer team. Always proud to get days out like yesterday, there was that glimmer of hope we'd reach the final. We go again next year.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 499 - 09/07/2023 11:56:27    2493306

Replying To backtooldwall:  "The game changed after the Limerick goalie took an 'injury"break and team reorganised to claw back lead before halftime, meanwhile Galway continued to do the same thing in the new situation which was not working any more. Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different outcome is generally called ~Insanity."
No they didn't do the same thing - Shefflin decided to go with only Whelan up front bringing the others brought back to try to "counteract" Limerick flooding the middle-third as its called now. Joe Canning stated many times that you have to be brave and "push up" on Limerick as most of their attacks start from their backline out with the short stick passes / triangles etc. Big mistake by Henry and co. and it shows that he has still a lot to learn in his managerial career. Also why were the likes of Glennon and Fahy left on so long as they were clearly struggling in that half-forward line? Monaghan livened things up a bit when he was brought on but it was too late then and Collins was just thrown to the wolves altogether towards the end. Fintan Burke and TJ Brennan should have started as they would have the physicality required for Limerick and Joseph Cooney should have been replaced much sooner as the game passed him by completely. Henry was too cautious this year picking out of form players and not giving new / fresh players like Jamie Ryan, Tiernan Killeen (I know he was injured for a while) and Adrian Tuohy who are all fast and direct a chance to prove that they could be better than what was there already. All ifs and buts now and "there's always next year" as Donal Og Cusack sarcastically remarked before the game!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 09/07/2023 12:17:37    2493310

Replying To KnockaineyAbú:  "I would say a lot of posters have egg on their faces tonight.

Two years ago when Henry was appointed it wasn't a question of "if", rather a question of "when" Galway would win Leinsters and All-Irelands.

I pointed out his lack of intercounty management and was dismissed by many posters. Even Limerick ones.

Two years on - Galway still haven't won silverware.

Rest my case!"
Bring your case to Limerick, I'm sure you'll get a full hearing there. Wasting your time here lad.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 09/07/2023 13:01:37    2493313

The simple matter is the way hurling has gone you need 15-18 that can hurl..and hurl well. We don't have a team like that. We have maybe 9 that are at the level of intercounty and the rest are just there
because of their physical characteristics. That won't cut it at the business end of intercounty hurling

Jackson88 (Galway) - Posts: 72 - 09/07/2023 13:12:27    2493315

Replying To tommy k:  "No they didn't do the same thing - Shefflin decided to go with only Whelan up front bringing the others brought back to try to "counteract" Limerick flooding the middle-third as its called now. Joe Canning stated many times that you have to be brave and "push up" on Limerick as most of their attacks start from their backline out with the short stick passes / triangles etc. Big mistake by Henry and co. and it shows that he has still a lot to learn in his managerial career. Also why were the likes of Glennon and Fahy left on so long as they were clearly struggling in that half-forward line? Monaghan livened things up a bit when he was brought on but it was too late then and Collins was just thrown to the wolves altogether towards the end. Fintan Burke and TJ Brennan should have started as they would have the physicality required for Limerick and Joseph Cooney should have been replaced much sooner as the game passed him by completely. Henry was too cautious this year picking out of form players and not giving new / fresh players like Jamie Ryan, Tiernan Killeen (I know he was injured for a while) and Adrian Tuohy who are all fast and direct a chance to prove that they could be better than what was there already. All ifs and buts now and "there's always next year" as Donal Og Cusack sarcastically remarked before the game!"
You are 100% correct. Henry needs to be ruthless of he stays for a 3rd year and yield the axe and blood new players that perform and have performed in the club championship year in year out and drop players that aren't performing much sooner. There is no room for sentiment if you want to win an all Ireland.

Jackson88 (Galway) - Posts: 72 - 09/07/2023 13:30:19    2493319

Replying To tommy k:  "No they didn't do the same thing - Shefflin decided to go with only Whelan up front bringing the others brought back to try to "counteract" Limerick flooding the middle-third as its called now. Joe Canning stated many times that you have to be brave and "push up" on Limerick as most of their attacks start from their backline out with the short stick passes / triangles etc. Big mistake by Henry and co. and it shows that he has still a lot to learn in his managerial career. Also why were the likes of Glennon and Fahy left on so long as they were clearly struggling in that half-forward line? Monaghan livened things up a bit when he was brought on but it was too late then and Collins was just thrown to the wolves altogether towards the end. Fintan Burke and TJ Brennan should have started as they would have the physicality required for Limerick and Joseph Cooney should have been replaced much sooner as the game passed him by completely. Henry was too cautious this year picking out of form players and not giving new / fresh players like Jamie Ryan, Tiernan Killeen (I know he was injured for a while) and Adrian Tuohy who are all fast and direct a chance to prove that they could be better than what was there already. All ifs and buts now and "there's always next year" as Donal Og Cusack sarcastically remarked before the game!"
Yes Tommy, if we'd started fellas we didn't start, and not started fellas we did start, I've no doubt we'd have toppled 4 in a row chasing Limerick. It's daft picking the same players all of the time......anyone would think that they were the top players in the county.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3912 - 09/07/2023 14:07:14    2493321

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Yes Tommy, if we'd started fellas we didn't start, and not started fellas we did start, I've no doubt we'd have toppled 4 in a row chasing Limerick. It's daft picking the same players all of the time......anyone would think that they were the top players in the county."
Top players on the county based on what? Because it's not from performances in the club championship... Most of the players didn't even perform well in the club championship

Jackson88 (Galway) - Posts: 72 - 09/07/2023 14:26:51    2493326

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "I don't know what match you were watching. How many times have we seen Limerick figuring out teams in the first half and blow them away in the second half. Galway are just not good enough... fact."
There was nothing to figure out because Galway just collapsed and stopped hurling in the 2nd half. All their scores came from Galway mistakes, poor puck outs, not contesting the high ball, not pushing up or going man v man ect ect. I would love to know what was said at half time because something must have happened in the dressing room for us to self destruct like that.
We were more than good enough to win that game but we blew it.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2482 - 09/07/2023 15:15:42    2493331

Replying To Trump2020:  "I agree we could have been up by more at halftime but we weren't and part of the reason is because they woke up. They beat us to every loose ball in the second half and they kept turning us over. Since 2018 they have been the best team in Ireland and they are not going away any time soon. Good luck to Clare and KK trying to beat these lads."
We went to sleep and I'd love to know why?
We threw it away again.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2482 - 09/07/2023 15:19:17    2493332

Replying To katser:  "There was nothing to figure out because Galway just collapsed and stopped hurling in the 2nd half. All their scores came from Galway mistakes, poor puck outs, not contesting the high ball, not pushing up or going man v man ect ect. I would love to know what was said at half time because something must have happened in the dressing room for us to self destruct like that.
We were more than good enough to win that game but we blew it."
Galway were out on their feet from 45 mins.
They didn't have the conditioning to match Limerick

Jackson88 (Galway) - Posts: 72 - 09/07/2023 15:41:22    2493335

Replying To Jackson88:  "Galway were out on their feet from 45 mins.
They didn't have the conditioning to match Limerick"
Rubbish

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2482 - 09/07/2023 15:53:48    2493338

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Yes Tommy, if we'd started fellas we didn't start, and not started fellas we did start, I've no doubt we'd have toppled 4 in a row chasing Limerick. It's daft picking the same players all of the time......anyone would think that they were the top players in the county."
Less of the smart-ass remarks there your holiness! Picking out of form players and players who have consistently not delivered at intercounty are not "the top players in the county".

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 09/07/2023 15:53:48    2493339

Replying To katser:  "Rubbish"
Absolutely not rubbish rewatch the match and you'll see it yourself the full back line were three yards behind their men but what do you expect Limerick had a 4 weeks break Galway had 1

Jackson88 (Galway) - Posts: 72 - 09/07/2023 16:10:15    2493343

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Systematic ! go back to bed like a good man and don't be overtaxing your brain cell with both football AND hurling. This forum is for adults only. It is very clear to anybody with a modicum of cop on that Eanna Murphy was carrying out Henry's instructions by going long with the puck-outs. It's really simple. Bringing Gleeson into it is petty."
You blaming good hard working players is what's petty! Hardly any hurling in dunmore so I don't know why you're worrying so much about Henry's long puckout strategy.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 119 - 09/07/2023 16:50:03    2493355

Replying To katser:  "We went to sleep and I'd love to know why?
We threw it away again."
Yeah I'm half sick thinking about it. Our Galway vs Clare dream is over for now. Sigh.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 09/07/2023 18:03:18    2493369

Just after watching the kilkenny clare game and looking at the reaction of TJ Reid at the full time whistle with all he has won the passion he shows to win is something that's sadly missing in our make up they won't beat limerick but by god they will make them earn it something we didn't

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 09/07/2023 18:04:00    2493371

Replying To katser:  "We went to sleep and I'd love to know why?
We threw it away again."
Threw it away?
When you're completely outplayed and outmuscled for all bar the first 25 minutes of a game you can hardly claim to have thrown the game away FFS.
Limerick are just better than Galway end of story.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 09/07/2023 18:40:06    2493389

Replying To minor77:  "Just after watching the kilkenny clare game and looking at the reaction of TJ Reid at the full time whistle with all he has won the passion he shows to win is something that's sadly missing in our make up they won't beat limerick but by god they will make them earn it something we didn't"
Absolutely. I'll never forget the 2015 final when a kilkenny team loaded with all Ireland medals out fought and out foraged a galway team with none. It simply shouldn't have happened but that's Cody and his legacy lives on.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 09/07/2023 18:46:06    2493393